LEGENDARY RADGE
This thread is for the general discussion of the Article Just back and that was just not good enough..... Please add to the discussion here.
We do miss Cummings.. he gets wrongly shouted at from the stands sometimes. his job is to put the ball in the net.. which he does.. annoys me when I hear around me in stand that he doesn't do enough.. it's the players beside him that get away with murderWe played that whole game with four attackers on the pitch, lets be honest, none of them ever looked like scoring. OK Boyle did score but it was luck not judgement, the other goal was an OG and we missed a penalty taken by a player that often gave the impression of not giving much of a $#@!. Holt tries to foul or flick when he needs to be shooting, and Graham actually brought us something when he came on.
Anyone, I mean anyone, who cannae see what Jason brings to our team needs their head looked at, we are clueless in front of goal without him. Neither wonder Lennon was livid when we didnae sign Stokesy.
Dumbarton started time wasting after two minutes, the foul for their penalty was NOT inside the box, Marvin didnae need to commit, but it was outside the box. Ian Durrant remains an ugly wee hun farter to this day and Nade waddles nowadays, that fat gunt.
The referee was awful, he ignored the time wastng, he ignored fouls, he missed the fact the tackle was outside the box for their penalty, he was gash.
I think we got the set up wrong, we do not need Marvin Bartley in the team against Dumbarton, between him and Boyle its like starting with a man down. We really only started playing when Dylan came on, too little too late for me.
The Team
Rocky hardly had a thing to do except save the penalty, which he didnae and had no chance at their well taken second goal. I wish he would kick long when we are chasing the game.
David Gray, captain and winning goal scorer of Hibernian when we won the Scottish Cup on May 21st 2016, got forward but is stifled when Boyle is in front of him.
Darren strolled through the game, had a real battle with that fat gunt Nade. No sure if it was him or Efe who lost the ball to the self same fat gunt Nade when the Sons scored their second goal.
Efe also strolled through the game, andplayed some lovely fitba, especially second half. No sure if it was him or Daz who lost the ball to the self same fat gunt Nade when the Sons scored their second goal.
Lewis was up and down the line all day, as Shinnie drifted in and out the game. The perrenial issue of crossing and taking a man on showed its ugly head too much.
Bartley was poor, he brought very little and I was pleased when he was hooked for Dylan after an hour.
Shinnie had a couple of nice bits of football but today was not one of his Shinniesta games. Replaced my Graham with 10 minutes or so to go. No one really noticed.
I thought Boyle was rubbish, he beat his man twice, maybe thrice all day. OK he scored, but he fluffed an easy shot to win it. Frankly, nice guy but not good enough.
John McGinn was Hibs only active, real, live midfielder until Dylan came back for an irregular cameo. I thought John worked his socks off and gave his all as his fellow midfielders passed it among themselves.
Keats has been a good player this season. I though he stank today. His dead balls are often killer, today they were guff, he missed a penalty, good save to be fair but poor penalty. His body language was awful I felt, which is a pity as James is decent, but has to do much, much better.
Grant Holt has been good recently. Today he reverted to being $#@!e. He is so busy looking for fouls and fights, wee pishy 'Bobby Williamsonesque' tippy tappy pish. Couldnae score in Scorpio Leisure either.
The Subs
Dylan came back, replaced Marv and the metronome returned. He crafted, passed, moved, and looked more like an Iniesta than the Shinnie fellae ever could. Pity he has a knackered groin as Hibs are better to watch when Dylan plays.
Forster came on for Captain Dave with 10 to go to form a three as we chased the game. Jordon done fine but he is the fifth of five centre halfs at Hibs for me.
Brian Graham has never set the heather on fire at Hibs, but I thought he offered a lot when he came on today, more than the other strikers. He asked the goalie questions, who responded by making a fantastic save when Brian was clean through.
I thought that starting with Bartley was a mistake, it was proven so. Boyle has had so many chances and disnae do it for me. Both played and have done so for weeks. lenny did change it and we saved the game, but it was sair to watch and we are stuttering over the line, if we do get over that line.
Dumbarton came for a point and got a well earned one. Their goalkeeper was magnificent right up until he fluffed the save that gave us the equaliser. Nade is a fat fanny who waddles like a plump duck, a better ref would have sent the lump of lard off for the dug out time wasting. Ian Durrant is a Hun prick, he hasnae missed his a dinner for a couple of years either, not doubt washed down with bitter orange. Their number 10 was a handful.
The referee suited his blue shirt, $#@!ing useless is a compliment.
A surprisingly good crowd of 14, 093 with the 93 or so Sons fans having the best of the day.
Man of the match for me might have been Efe. Tell you what, if we go up, I reckon we would look good with a back three of Daz, Efe and Paul. I hope we could afford him, Ilike his way, he plays like the Hibs players I enjoy most. However, we have another laddie who plays like that, his name is John McGinn and for me, he plays the Hibernian way too. he carried his midfield colleagues through the game right up to the return of the other proper Hibs player, Dylan McGeouch came on. SJM was, for me our best player today.
Whoodathunk the Baldy Prick Duffy and his Morton team would be our closest condenders this year, given his shambles when at Hibs? We really have to beat Rancid Plookheed Houstons shower of hoofballers then beat Baldy Jims Morton to win this league, if we dinnae, spincters will atwich and beds will be pished around East Central Scotland and beyond, for $#@!s sake.
Still, you could be a Jambo eh?
I thought Boyle looked most likely to make something happen in the final third. Also thought SJM was ineffective.
Aside from that, agree on all counts.
Is there anything to suggest Graham would make a good second striker? I did a quick Googling and couldn't find anything to suggest he ever provided assists on a regular basis.It makes it all the more depressing that Dom is rotting on a bench in Italy instead of laying it on a plate for JC and scoring for us. Really miss the big fella.How do people feel that Graham plays alongside Cummings? It's been noticeable that while Jason and Holt have forged something of a working partnership and although Graham has not been everyone's cup of tea, he does pose more of a goal threat than Holt.It's frightening to think that there was quite some pressure on HIbs to keep Jason Cummings at the beginning of the season and how things might have transpired without him and his goals.
Looked a definite, needless, penalty from where I was sitting
Is there anything to suggest Graham would make a good second striker? I did a quick Googling and couldn't find anything to suggest he ever provided assists on a regular basis.It makes it all the more depressing that Dom is rotting on a bench in Italy instead of laying it on a plate for JC and scoring for us. Really miss the big fella.
Oooft. Such a shame. He was ideal for the Scottish game warts and all.Dom is currently not getting a game for Elche is Spains second division.
This is far from over and on current trajectories Hibs will only win it - if we do win it - through Morton running out of runway. Too many opportunities scorned now for me to believe we're going to switch up a gear and put it to be comfortably now. Feels like it's going to the wire I'm afraid.

I obviously didn't see the game today but I really can't grasp how Boyle takes so much stick. Ok, we all know he's lightweight but he's our second top scorer (by a fairly sizeable margin I imagine) & also sets up plenty of chances for others. Most importantly, though, he always feckin tries. I'd far rather have him in the side than an unpredictable Keatings or Shinnie...
Think this is broadly right in the 'runway' sense. I don't believe that at this point Hibs are somehow going to find an extra gear but then again I don't believe Morton are particularly capable of doing either. .
Going to the wire upholding anything like a six-point cushion - which i expect Hibs to - will do me just fine. I'm probably slightly more optimistic M., without being in any way over-confident. There is no great quality around outwith Hibs.
Morton have 9 games left and we have 8. If they get the same points as from their last 9 and we get the same haul as our last 8, we will both finish on the same points. If form over last half a dozen games each is replicated, they will also catch us and end up on level points. Any form projection from last 5 games on has them overtaking us.
They may run out of steam, but there is plenty of grounds for concern.
Three major 'ifs' in that assessment. I see perfectly good alternative arguments to say that none of those outcomes are necessarily likely. That would include your own former point about it being the end of Hibs' collapse and barren spell this time last year. Different team, different players of course.
I am not as confident in Morton's abilities as you might be. All conjecture though of course, we will see.
There was one time Efe was going mental waving to him to start running before he released the pass but boyle stayed deep and left himself too much to do...I have no idea what he was thinkingI know this'll not go down well but thought McGinn was poor. I don't know if he's trying to do too much or what but it's games like this your big players grab a game by the scruff of the neck but he doesn't. For the 2nd game in a row i felt we won a point rather than losing 2...and that's not good enough. We should be good enough to break down teams that come and sit in. 3 years now.
Because he should be making that wing his own but he doesn't. Why he stands stationary when he should take off and stretch the opposition I'll never know.
Where were you sitting Kev?
I still think we'll do it Stu, but I think it's going all the way, as I say I think Morton will run out of fixtures...just. I am so glad we have Falkirk and Morton up next...we need games our players deem big enough to shake a $#@!ing leg.
There was one time Efe was going mental waving to him to start running before he released the pass but boyle stayed deep and left himself too much to do...I have no idea what he was thinking
Def a pen was sitting in FF lower right in line. Bartley disnae need tae tackle him. His fault.
I like Keatings but he let himself down today.
Squirrel on the other hand - particularly when Dylan came on and fed him, was a real threat.
Pretty dire first half and we had very few real chances, although still enough to win.
Crap ref. I didn't think the penalty was in the box - although a def foul, but I'm surprised it wasn't a foul against the keeper for our second.
I would have started Dylan and brought on additional firepower earlier. Boyle put about half a dozen balls that needed finishing.
The allowed time wasting just annoys me.
Why refs allow it is as understandable as why Nade didn't get a red.
Was it?
I wasn't sure but a guy who had 'a perfect view' assured me it was outside.