LEGENDARY RADGE
This thread is for the general discussion of the Article Just back and Hibs win again. Please add to the discussion here.
What a difference Saturday night can be when your team is doing well - delightedI enjoyed that, as I said a few Just Backs ago, we have got our Hibs back. The change of shape has worked and even with a bare bones squad, some of the football today was first class. We are now in the top six. As I type this Just back, the chant David, David Gray to the tune of Daddy, Daddy Cool by Boney M is ringing round my napper. I am delighted for Sir David, I am delighted for the fans.
It was a tad milder in Leith than it is in frozen Livingston, but it did get cold by half time today. I reckon that is because I spend most of the first half applauding Hibs fine play, stopping at half time made me notice is was freezing. I should have known, the woolly hats were flying off the shelves of the club shop and the pies had sold out in the West Stand Lower before kick off. There was a heavy police presence and the Hibs Ultras were mobbed up more than normal following the pitched battle v Motherwell earlier in the season. Looking at the Motherwell end, I suspect the Well Boiz shat it today and had a no show? I met Spanish Hibs pre match, bronzed after his month in Andalusian pad, he looked like an ultra with his black hood up. We chatted briefly, but I needed to get in for a slash and some warming bovril, and settle down for was promised to be a decent game.
We didnae start as well or as fast as I thought we might, I am going to give Motherwell some credit here, they stopped us playing first 25 minutes, but following Boyler's opening and Nico Triantis' wonder goal, the Hibs were fantastic up until half time. I thought we might come out second half and batter Motherwell, we didnae and they clawed themselves back into it and only a few short weeks back, we would have been cacking it. Not this new Hibs, who went up the pitch and secured the third goal and a comfortable victory. Today, we saw some lovely fast passing, mostly from the brilliant Nico Triantis and excellent Dylan Levitt, Gayle moves wonderfully, Martin Boyle is back at his pomp, the Caddens both bring an attacking nous that means we have more going forward than defending and the back three are far more comfortable than we have seen since Lewis and Paul were starting, Rocky and Iredale are stand outs there. I am not sure any of the subs brought on were better than the players they replaced although both Beardy Cadden and Levitt were injured, Gayle had run his race and Josh Campbell admitted on the radio he was burst, but Chris Cadden for Miller wisnae one I would have chosen, possibly taking O'Hora off for Miller instead as it caused us some trouble for around 20 minutes second half. In saying that, we have Newell, Elie, Myko, Marv, and Ziggy injured. Wow.
I blethered with some good West Lothian Hibby's post match, we all agreed, the fast, accurate passing from Iredale, Triantis, Levitt, Boyle and Gayle is a a joy to watch, the mythical Hibernian way, its simple, it excites you, it helps us win.
After the game, many Hibs fans stay and applaud the team off, I love it, I stay and do it too. Today there were some young Australian Hibernian fans, with yellow and green scarves and an Australian flag. Millsy, Jack Iredale, Nico Triantis and Boyler joined the fans for photos post match to the travelling fans delight. Hibees here, Hibees there..!!
So, the team.....
Smith, well he was fine, although fuck only knows what he was doing at their free kick goal?
O'Hora brought stability on the right side. He is slow though, eh?
Rocky was Rocky, he loves his new role and thrives on it. I felt we gave him too much of the ball second half. Nae need, it creates opportunities for Rocky to make mistakes. Nae need.
Jack Iredale has really grown on me, what a smashing player he is. I would not be surprised if he is called up for Australia, along with Nico. He should be, he is a very calm, clever fitba laddie with a tough streak inside him. Advance Australia fair!
Nectarios Triantis is a joy to watch, he was brilliant today. He can pass, the ball sticks to his toe and is hard as nails. I love watching him and we need to get him into the club on a permanent transfer. Who the fuck wants to be a reserve at the mackems? What a fucking good goal that was.
Dylan Levitt has been underused at Hibs, many bouncers have said so. Today underlined why Dylan should be part of the club going forward, I thought he was magnificent right up until he went off injured. His skill on the ball and intricate passing ability is something that needs to stay in a green shirt. Give the laddie a game, he is a smashing fitba player.
Chris Cadden was taken off on the hour for Miller. Fuck knows why, Chris is far better and had been playing well.
Beardy got hurt after 20 minutes, pity, I love watch the Bearded one tanning down the left. Its like watching a good Hibs team when Nicky plays for us! Him and his twin brother Chris may have been Lanarkshire Celtc fans as 'weans', bet they are Hibs men the rest of their life.
Josh Campbell is another good Hibby with oodles of skill and desire. He was interviewed on Radio Scotland post match, he was honest about his performances, but by Sauzee Josh is a Hibs man and I hope he continues his hard work to become a Hibernian legend.
Dwight Gayle is a simply a great fitba mind. His movement, touches and desire are first class, we missed him when he went off.
Martin Boyle is back with his people, he has been brilliant since he took that fucking wrist bandage off. Sir David talked about him post match on the radio, for me Boyley/ Boyler is one of those Hibs players that just needs to be contracted and loved, we will talk about him for decades after he goes. One of our own. I love Martin, his family and the love they have for our club. A fine Hibernian.
The subs
Worryingly the superb Beardy Cadden had to go off after 20 minutes. Bummer, Beardy Cads is good. Jordan Obita, who is not a personal favourite, had a smashing game when he came on. Just stop taking the borning, easy pass back option mate, you are better going forward.
A triple substitution on the hour, fucking hate them.
Levitt seemed to be hurt so Kwon replaced him. Pity as Dylan had been man of the match for me. Kwon done fine though.
Chrissy Cads for Lewis Miller is a downgrade, sorry. Lewis is a poor defender and decent right half, Cads is better in both positions. However Lewis done well to get the penalty to kill the game, good son.
Hoillet replaced Gayle. Dwight must be burst after the Hun game and today. He gives us more as an auldy than Junior, who is showing his age a bit?
NMW replaced Josh Campbell with 15 to go. He is no Josh but done well.
The Boss, David, David Gray, my hero, the finest Hibernian in a generation. The chants of his name echoing around Easter Road give me a lump in my throat and another in my breeks. This man gave us the greatest day of of Hibernian lives, bar none and he is now not only manager of the month but a Hibs manager who has lost one game in ten. Tactically astute, well spoken on the radio, protective of his players, stoney faced, David, I love you. I often talk of fine Hibernian's, he is one, this is a guy who should be spoken about in the way King Paddy and the Famous Five are spoken about, especially in these horrible modern times. David, David Gray.
Motherwell were pretty poor. I like their manager, he is honest and a decent guy. They have some good players too. Bet O'Donnell wishes he has signed for us when he could of, he let them down today though. Best wishes to Paul McGinn from the Hibs end, a Hibs man I would have kept, a decent person and player. I hope the injury isnae as bad as it looked. Poor support though.
The referee is a funny looking fucker, but I actually thing he is a pretty decent referee.
Hibernian Man of the Match, well it was Dylan Levitt for me right up to he got hurt. However how could I not chat about the reinvigorated Boyler/ Boyler and the magnificent specimen that is Nectarios Triantis? I give it to Nico, that laddie is brilliant. Dylan, so are you son, and Boyler, so are you n'all mate, I love you all, you are all proper Hibs men.
Next up is a Scottish Cup game v Clydebank at Easter Road. They have sold 1700, we have not sold many more. Get along folks, this is a Hibs team worth watching, the rise of the Hibernian Phoenix in our 150th year is right on front of us, prices are not too bad, get there if you can.
Top Six Folks, whodathunkit?
Super Hibs today mate. In spells, the warrior poets were back and Motherwell were all over the place marking shadows. Levitt's range of passing was off the charts at times and like you, I hope gets a lot more time playing for us. Triantis though was immense and this might be his best ever game for us, the icing on the cake being that goal.I enjoyed that, as I said a few Just Backs ago, we have got our Hibs back. The change of shape has worked and even with a bare bones squad, some of the football today was first class. We are now in the top six. As I type this Just back, the chant David, David Gray to the tune of Daddy, Daddy Cool by Boney M is ringing round my napper. I am delighted for Sir David, I am delighted for the fans.
It was a tad milder in Leith than it is in frozen Livingston, but it did get cold by half time today. I reckon that is because I spend most of the first half applauding Hibs fine play, stopping at half time made me notice is was freezing. I should have known, the woolly hats were flying off the shelves of the club shop and the pies had sold out in the West Stand Lower before kick off. There was a heavy police presence and the Hibs Ultras were mobbed up more than normal following the pitched battle v Motherwell earlier in the season. Looking at the Motherwell end, I suspect the Well Boiz shat it today and had a no show? I met Spanish Hibs pre match, bronzed after his month in Andalusian pad, he looked like an ultra with his black hood up. We chatted briefly, but I needed to get in for a slash and some warming bovril, and settle down for was promised to be a decent game.
We didnae start as well or as fast as I thought we might, I am going to give Motherwell some credit here, they stopped us playing first 25 minutes, but following Boyler's opening and Nico Triantis' wonder goal, the Hibs were fantastic up until half time. I thought we might come out second half and batter Motherwell, we didnae and they clawed themselves back into it and only a few short weeks back, we would have been cacking it. Not this new Hibs, who went up the pitch and secured the third goal and a comfortable victory. Today, we saw some lovely fast passing, mostly from the brilliant Nico Triantis and excellent Dylan Levitt, Gayle moves wonderfully, Martin Boyle is back at his pomp, the Caddens both bring an attacking nous that means we have more going forward than defending and the back three are far more comfortable than we have seen since Lewis and Paul were starting, Rocky and Iredale are stand outs there. I am not sure any of the subs brought on were better than the players they replaced although both Beardy Cadden and Levitt were injured, Gayle had run his race and Josh Campbell admitted on the radio he was burst, but Chris Cadden for Miller wisnae one I would have chosen, possibly taking O'Hora off for Miller instead as it caused us some trouble for around 20 minutes second half. In saying that, we have Newell, Elie, Myko, Marv, and Ziggy injured. Wow.
I blethered with some good West Lothian Hibby's post match, we all agreed, the fast, accurate passing from Iredale, Triantis, Levitt, Boyle and Gayle is a a joy to watch, the mythical Hibernian way, its simple, it excites you, it helps us win.
After the game, many Hibs fans stay and applaud the team off, I love it, I stay and do it too. Today there were some young Australian Hibernian fans, with yellow and green scarves and an Australian flag. Millsy, Jack Iredale, Nico Triantis and Boyler joined the fans for photos post match to the travelling fans delight. Hibees here, Hibees there..!!
So, the team.....
Smith, well he was fine, although fuck only knows what he was doing at their free kick goal?
Rocky was Rocky, he loves his new role and thrives on it. I felt we gave him too much of the ball second half. Nae need, it creates opportunities for Rocky to make mistakes. Nae need.
Jack Iredale has really grown on me, what a smashing player he is. I would not be surprised if he is called up for Australia, along with Nico. He should be, he is a very calm, clever fitba laddie with a tough streak inside him. Advance Australia fair!
Nectarios Triantis is a joy to watch, he was brilliant today. He can pass, the ball sticks to his toe and is hard as nails. I love watching him and we need to get him into the club on a permanent transfer. Who the fuck wants to be a reserve at the mackems? What a fucking good goal that was.
Dylan Levitt has been underused at Hibs, many bouncers have said so. Today underlined why Dylan should be part of the club going forward, I thought he was magnificent right up until he went off injured. His skill on the ball and intricate passing ability is something that needs to stay in a green shirt. Give the laddie a game, he is a smashing fitba player.
Chris Cadden was taken off on the hour for Miller. Fuck knows why, Chris is far better and had been playing well.
Beardy got hurt after 20 minutes, pity, I love watch the Bearded one tanning down the left. Its like watching a good Hibs team when Nicky plays for us! Him and his twin brother Chris may have been Lanarkshire Celtc fans as 'weans', bet they are Hibs men the rest of their life.
Josh Campbell is another good Hibby with oodles of skill and desire. He was interviewed on Radio Scotland post match, he was honest about his performances, but by Sauzee Josh is a Hibs man and I hope he continues his hard work to become a Hibernian legend.
Dwight Gayle is a simply a great fitba mind. His movement, touches and desire are first class, we missed him when he went off.
Martin Boyle is back with his people, he has been brilliant since he took that fucking wrist bandage off. Sir David talked about him post match on the radio, for me Boyley/ Boyler is one of those Hibs players that just needs to be contracted and loved, we will talk about him for decades after he goes. One of our own. I love Martin, his family and the love they have for our club. A fine Hibernian.
The subs
Worryingly the superb Beardy Cadden had to go off after 20 minutes. Bummer, Beardy Cads is good. Jordan Obita, who is not a personal favourite, had a smashing game when he came on. Just stop taking the borning, easy pass back option mate, you are better going forward.
Levitt seemed to be hurt so Kwon replaced him. Pity as Dylan had been man of the match for me. Kwon done fine though.
Chrissy Cads for Lewis Miller is a downgrade, sorry. Lewis is a poor defender and decent right half, Cads is better in both positions. However Lewis done well to get the penalty to kill the game, good son.
Hoillet replaced Gayle. Dwight must be burst after the Hun game and today. He gives us more as an auldy than Junior, who is showing his age a bit?
The Boss, David, David Gray, my hero, the finest Hibernian in a generation. The chants of his name echoing around Easter Road give me a lump in my throat and another in my breeks. This man gave us the greatest day of of Hibernian lives, bar none and he is now not only manager of the month but a Hibs manager who has lost one game in ten. Tactically astute, well spoken on the radio, protective of his players, stoney faced, David, I love you. I often talk of fine Hibernian's, he is one, this is a guy who should be spoken about in the way King Paddy and the Famous Five are spoken about, especially in these horrible modern times. David, David Gray.
Motherwell were pretty poor. I like their manager, he is honest and a decent guy. They have some good players too. Bet O'Donnell wishes he has signed for us when he could of, he let them down today though. Best wishes to Paul McGinn from the Hibs end, a Hibs man I would have kept, a decent person and player. I hope the injury isnae as bad as it looked. Poor support though.
The referee is a funny looking fucker, but I actually thing he is a pretty decent referee.
Hibernian Man of the Match, well it was Dylan Levitt for me right up to he got hurt. However how could I not chat about the reinvigorated Boyler/ Boyler and the magnificent specimen that is Nectarios Triantis? I give it to Nico, that laddie is brilliant. Dylan, so are you son, and Boyler, so are you n'all mate, I love you all, you are all proper Hibs men.
Next up is a Scottish Cup game v Clydebank at Easter Road. They have sold 1700, we have not sold many more. Get along folks, this is a Hibs team worth watching, the rise of the Hibernian Phoenix in our 150th year is right on front of us, prices are not too bad, get there if you can.
He was born in Greenock.I thought Iredale was Irish
I think you've kind of twisted what Michael Stewart said or certainly his tone... I thought overall he was full of praise of us. He thinks we will finish above the Gunts as we have much more going forward. I thought what he said re Rocky, Boyle and Smith was true and accurate.Super Hibs today mate. In spells, the warrior poets were back and Motherwell were all over the place marking shadows. Levitt's range of passing was off the charts at times and like you, I hope gets a lot more time playing for us. Triantis though was immense and this might be his best ever game for us, the icing on the cake being that goal.
BBC radio Scotland must hate Hibs and I don't know what we have done to Mikey Stewart who was once quite a fair pundit but when it went to him after the game his comments were mainly;
Rocky - Always prone to making mistakes [He was a rock today with some lovely touches and decent passes but MS clearly couldn't see that]
Boyle - Should Hibs offer him another deal because "he really wants to go to Australia to end his career"
Smith - Should have saved that free kick. [I'm unsure if it took a deflection to put him off or not].
I cashed in my bet when we made 3 changes because like you, I'm not keen on that as I think it disrupts the flow of the game so I took my £35 and ran.
All in all a great day though and a great read.
I'm not twisting anything. He may have had two spells talking about us, I don't know because I changed channels but his first effort, if he had two, was as I said it was.I think you've kind of twisted what Michael Stewart said or certainly his tone... I thought overall he was full of praise of us. He thinks we will finish above the Gunts as we have much more going forward. I thought what he said re Rocky, Boyle and Smith was true and accurate.
What was going on when he didn't allow Boyle back on the pitch?The referee is a funny looking fucker, but I act
What did he say that was unfair or incorrect though? Rocky does have a mistake in him. Boyle is rumoured to have an Oz option and Smith was poor at the goal (again).I'm not twisting anything. He may have had two spells talking about us, I don't know because I changed channels but his first effort, if he had two, was as I said it was.
Really enjoyed reading that mate. See you on the 1st of Feb for the Aberdeen game. GGTTHI enjoyed that, as I said a few Just Backs ago, we have got our Hibs back. The change of shape has worked and even with a bare bones squad, some of the football today was first class. We are now in the top six. As I type this Just back, the chant David, David Gray to the tune of Daddy, Daddy Cool by Boney M is ringing round my napper. I am delighted for Sir David, I am delighted for the fans.
So, the team.....
The subs
I think Smith’s okay, but the wall for the free kick was wrong and Smith seemed to dive over the ball. MS said Boyle is keen to go to Australia and aged 31 might not be offered more than a years’ contract. Re Rocky, he said he is prone to errors, so was not sure if he would be offered a new contract. I reckon that’s all true.I'm not twisting anything. He may have had two spells talking about us, I don't know because I changed channels but his first effort, if he had two, was as I said it was.
Great post. I almost started a post about him then read this. Guy is a warrior and can pass a ball. Defends like his life depends on it. BrilliantI’d like to make a point about Iredale. In that Aberdeen game where we could place the beginning of our turn around, I thought his body language was tremendous. He looked really up for it and punching the air and stuff. It stuck out to me at the time because way back in those dark days of, oh weeks ago, I suspect I wasn’t alone in thinking there was a defeatist attitude among the players.
I wonder if the lad has played a role wider than his direct contribution in turning the mindset around. Imponderable perhaps but more power to him either way.
I enjoyed that, as I said a few Just Backs ago, we have got our Hibs back. The change of shape has worked and even with a bare bones squad, some of the football today was first class. We are now in the top six. As I type this Just back, the chant David, David Gray to the tune of Daddy, Daddy Cool by Boney M is ringing round my napper. I am delighted for Sir David, I am delighted for the fans.
So, the team.....
The subs
The whole point being that he didn't say anything about how good the victory was but went straight to criticism of a player who had a great game and followed that up with trying to cast doubt on Boyle remaining at Hibs. I concede that Smith could have done better at the goal.What did he say that was unfair or incorrect though? Rocky does have a mistake in him. Boyle is rumoured to have an Oz option and Smith was poor at the goal (again).
As I have said to Kenny. That's not the point I was making. Stewart didn't congratulate Hibs on the win or make any comment about it but went straight on the attack.I think Smith’s okay, but the wall for the free kick was wrong and Smith seemed to dive over the ball. MS said Boyle is keen to go to Australia and aged 31 might not be offered more than a years’ contract. Re Rocky, he said he is prone to errors, so was not sure if he would be offered a new contract. I reckon that’s all true.
Your arm can’t be offside, so onside, fannies on sportscene saying they need to get the lines right, they were right. MuppetsGreat JB again, another win. Exquisite finish by Triantis. Let's get injured players back. Levitt is a good player, think in the past he's often been part of a struggling team here. Just looking at the highlights you think how is Boyler not offside for the first goal, but as you can see from the VAR check he's so darn quick! Special mention to Hibs press which led to our second goal.
Law 11 OffsideYour arm can’t be offside, so onside, fannies on sportscene saying they need to get the lines right, they were right. Muppets
Exactly, if you cant use your arm / hand to score a goal, how can it be offsideLaw 11 Offside
1. Offside position
It is not an offence to be in an offside position.
A player is in an offside position if:
any part of the head, body or feet is in the opponents’ half (excluding the halfway line) and
any part of the head, body or feet is nearer to the opponents’ goal line than both the ball and the second-last opponent
The hands and arms of all players, including the goalkeepers, are not considered. For the purposes of determining offside, the upper boundary of the arm is in line with the bottom of the armpit.
Can somebody remind them of this, unless the rules have changed. Several times recently I've heard it said that an arm is offside.
There was a deflection for Well’s goal - it looked like it might have gone past the post otherwise.I think you've kind of twisted what Michael Stewart said or certainly his tone... I thought overall he was full of praise of us. He thinks we will finish above the Gunts as we have much more going forward. I thought what he said re Rocky, Boyle and Smith was true and accurate.
I thought he did praise us overall TBF. I agree though it's the mentality of that lot on BBC Sportsound to focus on the negative. And they do that for every team with the exception of the Gunts. St Mirren are more than punching above their weight and they go on as if they're in crisis.As I have said to Kenny. That's not the point I was making. Stewart didn't congratulate Hibs on the win or make any comment about it but went straight on the attack.