LEGENDARY RADGE
This thread is for the general discussion of the Article Just back and Hibs were shite. Please add to the discussion here.
Agree. As I said pre match, I had a horrible feeling about the game. All the hype about Martin / demonstration etc etc. It’s happened so many times. When I saw Raskin was back, I just ‘knew’. Having said that, I am not in the ‘DG’ isn’t good enough’ camp. It’s early days’. I am no good at tactics, but even I know Mulligan should be in the middle. Falkirk will not be easy…..Agree 100%
The performance and result was exactly as expected ahead of the game unfortunately.
We are mentally weak, if ever you are going through a bad run you want to play us. It’s been the same since I can remember.
The sad thing is we are also physically weak in certain areas as well. If Levitt and McGrath play once more in the same starting line up I’m going to start questioning our managers capabilities as well.
I'm no getting this. Can you explain what you mean by "It wisnae helped" You give an opinion on what you think the team should be and ask for others thoughts. My pick, Grant Hanley dug us out the shite numerous times including clearing a ball off the line.It wisnae helped by many Hibs fans desire to change goalies, drop Chris Cadden and play Mulligan out of position as a right half, keep Boyle in, he does well v the Huns etc., drop our best current centre half and replace him with 'a Scotland International'. None of those bright ideas worked,
Great assessment. The three centre halves didn’t cost us the game . Hanley made some crucial clearances and also think one off the line .The defence and the goalie didn’t cost us the game last night, they largely done their jobs. Hanley in particular defended the box well, although he’d probably be better in the Rocky position or in a back four.
The fault for both goals is with the midfield - Chaiwa allowing Raskin a free header, and McGrath not tracking the runner. Basic stuff that shouldn’t be happening at this level, I feel the mentality issue has returned from last season and the amount of goals we conceded in the last five minutes of a half is shocking.
The midfield has been our problem all season, Triantis covered for Levitt’s lack of mobility last season but now it’s exposed. I felt sorry for Chaiwa more than I’m critical of him, he was part of a midfield three but the only one of them capable of running, a thankless task.
Either way, David Gray rightly deserves criticism for the set up. It’s not worked all season, we’ve conceded far too many goals up to now. He needs to find the right balance in his current system, or change it.
Thought we defended well. We just didnae press them enough and like most people think, we missed Mulligan in the middle of the park.The fault for both goals is with the midfield - Chaiwa allowing Raskin a free header, and McGrath not tracking the runner.
While I only seen the first half due to prior engagement your assessment is pretty much spot on @1875There, I said it. We were shite. Poor tactics, poor team selection, dreadful performance, out the cup to a shite hun team in a half empty hunnery. They want to be ashamed of themselves.
David Gray has taken plenty plaudits the last year, well on this occasion he gets none. So many changes, to personnel, to shape, to tactics, none worked, we were easily dealt with by a team in turmoil in front of hun fans who were demonstrating to sack their manager pre match. Instead they got to sing about Hibs falling apart again, they were right, we did, what a fucking beamer.
It wisnae helped by many Hibs fans desire to change goalies, drop Chris Cadden and play Mulligan out of position as a right half, keep Boyle in, he does well v the Huns etc., drop our best current centre half and replace him with 'a Scotland International'. None of those bright ideas worked, Hibs were shite and never in it. We look like the Hibs team of this time last season, yet we have better personnel. Work that one out?
We left early having been told by Hibs that the official away car park was for buses and cars. We got there at 4pm, the Hun stewards including Cyclops, the hun that wears fitba boots to the games, turned all cars away excluding some disabled blue badge holders saying buses only. I was dropped off as I have a foot injury and stood at the gate to the car park and witnessed many blue badge holding Hibs fans turned away whilst the hun stewards let three separate car loads of hun fans into our car park, they didnae even hide their colours, two with hun tracky tops on, a third with a hun Subbuteo T shirt on. I challenged the thick cyclops guy, he said they were 'Rangers Staff', were they fuck, they had some kind of bar code that allowed them into the Hibs car park. As ever, Power came over and for the five minutes he was there, they let disabled blue badge holders in, as soon as he left doing the 101 things the poor guy has to do for the club, they stopped disabled Hibs fans getting in the car park. Dinnae look after the fans that go home and away every week, make sure the buses they organised get prime parking place instead, very good Hibs. No sign of the ex bizzy that is the Hibs Security man all day. Probably supping from the loving cup with his pals.
A good Hibs support took over the area, barely a cinnamon bun in sight, topped off by the arrival of the young Hibs Ultras who had been chasing Huns around Govan, much to the annoyance of the 100 or so agitated bizzies who ran down to kettle them, well done lads. Into the ground, full of expectation, great chants, fans up for it. Out came Hibs, sadly they wurnae as up for it as the fans, bunch of shitebags.
Few players get pass marks, only Bowie, Obita and later when Chris Cadden, Klidge and Rudy came on. The rest were slow, ponderous, and rarely threatened. Boyle should have done better at the header, I understand he was unlucky with the handball at his goal, but he watches the game pass him by too much as Bowie does all the heavy lifting. Raskin ran the show for the stickies.
No idea which of our rotten defence was at fault for the hun goals. How can we come out second half and be worse than the first? Its the cup.
So the duff team.....
Salinger - Question answered, just play Smith for fuck sake. Cup goalies my hole.
Hanley - As slow as a week in Saughton. I really hope Warren O'Hora was injured, if he wisnae, not playing him was a criminal error.
Rocky, better going forward than defending. Ye get away with murder when you are a cult hero.
Obita done fine, tried to work it forward to the hapless beardy Cadden
Levitt, wrong choice for me, pissing about in the middle.
Chaiwa was guff most of the game.
McGrath offered little or nothing.
Mulligan at right half was a total waste of one of our best players, indeed the Huns chose to go at him. Nae need to drop Chris Cadden and we suffered for not having the normally excellent Josh in midfield where he is best. Stupid idea.
Beardy Cadden was hopeless, didnae get a cross in until an hour in the game. Totally off his game most of this season. A luxury we cannae afford.
Boyle, scored, might have scored with the header but for me he leaves Bowie to do all the work, No good enough and should have been replaced much earlier, although I think Gray must have forgot it was a cup tie.
Bowie, criticised by some Hibs fans, he was one of few who never stopped trying, battering into the huns but offered little or no help.
The Subs
Barlaser for Levitt on the hour. Made no difference with the way we set up.
Double sub on 70.
Obita off, Klidje on. Weird change, Boyle should have been hooked.
Hoilett for McGrath, Junior brings very little nowadays. meanwhile arguably our best midfielder Josh Mulligan is still left hanging at right half.
10 to go and a full 10 minutes or more too late at 2-0 down.
Chris Cadden for the poor Chaiwa finally allowing Mulligan back into midfield. Too little, too late although we showed more in the last 10 with Mulligan where he is best and Cads pushing down the right.
Rudy replaced Boyle, and done ok. My mate reckons Rudy isnae going to make it, I hope he does.
I didnae hear the manager after the game as we were kept in. I presume he apologised profusely to the Hibernian fans for the shite team selection, performance and tactics and is reimbursing us all. If he didnae, he should have. What a beamer losing so easy to that shite.
The Huns, well they remain dirty Hun bastards. I hope Terry Vegetables serves you and your king well after the win you fucking rat bastards. The weird dobber with his rage and the half and half star of david/ onion joke flag and 100% protestant scarf summed them up. Sadly a reflection on some Hibs fans too. I loved the drum beat from the Hibs Ultras, if ye ken, ye ken. The rousing rendition of "If ye hate the royal family" was brilliant. I do, I joined in.
The referee for all he is a Hun rat, didnae bother me, Hibs did. They let us down, no him.
Hibs man of the match was the tirelessly working Kieron Bowie. Some others maybe want to make the same effort.
Next up is a trip along the motorway to Falkirk, another group of Hun Bastards on Tuesday night. Go back to basics, shape up and play like we did in Belgrade, this latest guff isnae working David.
150 years of Hibernian
Erin Go Bragh!
Spot on , like I’ve said he’ll learn and get us going againQuestions around either mentality or concentration levels with the goals conceded either side of half time and at the death becoming a weekly habit.
Such a letdown today. Not for the first time a large Hibs support who made the effort despite the ugly locals/locale have been let down.
But....I have faith that SDG will sort it. He has shown he is willing and able to change things up.
We really need a win Vs Falkirk ahead of Parkgead and Swinie.
Bring back JB and LSWas horrible to watch after they took the lead. Up till then we were fine. Agree with most of OP, but not all. Hanley was an improvement in back 3. Maybe rest Rocky and push Hanley into the centre. Levitt is off the boil and leaves the defence exposed. Sorting midfield begins with finding the anchor at the back. If not Levitt then Barlaser or Manneh? Barlaser probably. But only cos we havent seen enough of him to write him off there yet.
Then there's right wing back. Chris Cadden is poor defending and his crossing is no longer effective most of the time so it made sense to play Mulligan there. It didnt work yesterday. If Mulligan moves into midfield with Barlaser then either Chaiwa or McGrath sits it out. A couple of weeks ago Chaiwa was the best thing since sliced bread. Yesterday thought he did more than most, got stuck in defensively, but wasnt great on the ball. The lad has it though. McGrath was another diamond, raved about at start of the season. We've seen how good both players can be so how come they were shite yesterday?
And our forward two dont seem to play off each other but operate more as individuals. There is no Garry O and Deeks thing going on with Boyler and Bowie. Maybe Klidje's movement would work better with either.
Agree Raskin and huns bossed the midfield. Alongside Raskin Aasgard cost about £4m. Both looked very decent. The wide player Gassama caused us problems and he cost over £2m. The striker who played for the sheep cost over £4m. They brought on over £12m of subs. Maybe they just have vast resources to buy better players than us despite all the turmoil.
SDG has big decisions to make. We have weaknesses in defence and on the flanks. We might be the only club in the league who wont play a flat back 4, cos we dont have any quality full backs, only wing backs. Our style of play has become predictable. One thing is for sure the early season euphoria is over. Now comes the hard bit. Still think the quality is there just needs the right balance.
Good post I totally agree with ur commentsThe defence and the goalie didn’t cost us the game last night, they largely done their jobs. Hanley in particular defended the box well, although he’d probably be better in the Rocky position or in a back four.
The fault for both goals is with the midfield - Chaiwa allowing Raskin a free header, and McGrath not tracking the runner. Basic stuff that shouldn’t be happening at this level, I feel the mentality issue has returned from last season and the amount of goals we conceded in the last five minutes of a half is shocking.
The midfield has been our problem all season, Triantis covered for Levitt’s lack of mobility last season but now it’s exposed. I felt sorry for Chaiwa more than I’m critical of him, he was part of a midfield three but the only one of them capable of running, a thankless task.
Either way, David Gray rightly deserves criticism for the set up. It’s not worked all season, we’ve conceded far too many goals up to now. He needs to find the right balance in his current system, or change it.
This is how I saw it.The defence and the goalie didn’t cost us the game last night, they largely done their jobs. Hanley in particular defended the box well, although he’d probably be better in the Rocky position or in a back four.
Consistently did his job through the whole game. One of our better performing players on the day. Just what's needed against a better team like the huns. He'll be dropped against Falkirk though, probably ok with that.Hanley was an improvement in back 3
Thanks for the just back M.There, I said it. We were shite. Poor tactics, poor team selection, dreadful performance, out the cup to a shite hun team in a half empty hunnery. They want to be ashamed of themselves.
David Gray has taken plenty plaudits the last year, well on this occasion he gets none. So many changes, to personnel, to shape, to tactics, none worked, we were easily dealt with by a team in turmoil in front of hun fans who were demonstrating to sack their manager pre match. Instead they got to sing about Hibs falling apart again, they were right, we did, what a fucking beamer.
It wisnae helped by many Hibs fans desire to change goalies, drop Chris Cadden and play Mulligan out of position as a right half, keep Boyle in, he does well v the Huns etc., drop our best current centre half and replace him with 'a Scotland International'. None of those bright ideas worked, Hibs were shite and never in it. We look like the Hibs team of this time last season, yet we have better personnel. Work that one out?
We left early having been told by Hibs that the official away car park was for buses and cars. We got there at 4pm, the Hun stewards including Cyclops, the hun that wears fitba boots to the games, turned all cars away excluding some disabled blue badge holders saying buses only. I was dropped off as I have a foot injury and stood at the gate to the car park and witnessed many blue badge holding Hibs fans turned away whilst the hun stewards let three separate car loads of hun fans into our car park, they didnae even hide their colours, two with hun tracky tops on, a third with a hun Subbuteo T shirt on. I challenged the thick cyclops guy, he said they were 'Rangers Staff', were they fuck, they had some kind of bar code that allowed them into the Hibs car park. As ever, Power came over and for the five minutes he was there, they let disabled blue badge holders in, as soon as he left doing the 101 things the poor guy has to do for the club, they stopped disabled Hibs fans getting in the car park. Dinnae look after the fans that go home and away every week, make sure the buses they organised get prime parking place instead, very good Hibs. No sign of the ex bizzy that is the Hibs Security man all day. Probably supping from the loving cup with his pals.
A good Hibs support took over the area, barely a cinnamon bun in sight, topped off by the arrival of the young Hibs Ultras who had been chasing Huns around Govan, much to the annoyance of the 100 or so agitated bizzies who ran down to kettle them, well done lads. Into the ground, full of expectation, great chants, fans up for it. Out came Hibs, sadly they wurnae as up for it as the fans, bunch of shitebags.
Few players get pass marks, only Bowie, Obita and later when Chris Cadden, Klidge and Rudy came on. The rest were slow, ponderous, and rarely threatened. Boyle should have done better at the header, I understand he was unlucky with the handball at his goal, but he watches the game pass him by too much as Bowie does all the heavy lifting. Raskin ran the show for the stickies.
No idea which of our rotten defence was at fault for the hun goals. How can we come out second half and be worse than the first? Its the cup.
So the duff team.....
Salinger - Question answered, just play Smith for fuck sake. Cup goalies my hole.
Hanley - As slow as a week in Saughton. I really hope Warren O'Hora was injured, if he wisnae, not playing him was a criminal error.
Rocky, better going forward than defending. Ye get away with murder when you are a cult hero.
Obita done fine, tried to work it forward to the hapless beardy Cadden
Levitt, wrong choice for me, pissing about in the middle.
Chaiwa was guff most of the game.
McGrath offered little or nothing.
Mulligan at right half was a total waste of one of our best players, indeed the Huns chose to go at him. Nae need to drop Chris Cadden and we suffered for not having the normally excellent Josh in midfield where he is best. Stupid idea.
Beardy Cadden was hopeless, didnae get a cross in until an hour in the game. Totally off his game most of this season. A luxury we cannae afford.
Boyle, scored, might have scored with the header but for me he leaves Bowie to do all the work, No good enough and should have been replaced much earlier, although I think Gray must have forgot it was a cup tie.
Bowie, criticised by some Hibs fans, he was one of few who never stopped trying, battering into the huns but offered little or no help.
The Subs
Barlaser for Levitt on the hour. Made no difference with the way we set up.
Double sub on 70.
Obita off, Klidje on. Weird change, Boyle should have been hooked.
Hoilett for McGrath, Junior brings very little nowadays. meanwhile arguably our best midfielder Josh Mulligan is still left hanging at right half.
10 to go and a full 10 minutes or more too late at 2-0 down.
Chris Cadden for the poor Chaiwa finally allowing Mulligan back into midfield. Too little, too late although we showed more in the last 10 with Mulligan where he is best and Cads pushing down the right.
Rudy replaced Boyle, and done ok. My mate reckons Rudy isnae going to make it, I hope he does.
I didnae hear the manager after the game as we were kept in. I presume he apologised profusely to the Hibernian fans for the shite team selection, performance and tactics and is reimbursing us all. If he didnae, he should have. What a beamer losing so easy to that shite.
The Huns, well they remain dirty Hun bastards. I hope Terry Vegetables serves you and your king well after the win you fucking rat bastards. The weird dobber with his rage and the half and half star of david/ onion joke flag and 100% protestant scarf summed them up. Sadly a reflection on some Hibs fans too. I loved the drum beat from the Hibs Ultras, if ye ken, ye ken. The rousing rendition of "If ye hate the royal family" was brilliant. I do, I joined in.
The referee for all he is a Hun rat, didnae bother me, Hibs did. They let us down, no him.
Hibs man of the match was the tirelessly working Kieron Bowie. Some others maybe want to make the same effort.
Next up is a trip along the motorway to Falkirk, another group of Hun Bastards on Tuesday night. Go back to basics, shape up and play like we did in Belgrade, this latest guff isnae working David.
150 years of Hibernian
Erin Go Bragh!
I think his distribution is better than Smiths and he seems less erratic. Unsure about number 1 though.Sallinger didn't do anything wrong to be honest and his distribution was good but Smith is our #1.