LEGENDARY RADGE
This thread is for the general discussion of the Article Just back and a winning start..... Please add to the discussion here.
I personally thought Newell done ok, Allan wasn't at his best though. But aye, Gogic was immense, especially first half. Not entirely convinced Docherty would have made a huge difference tbh. Put it this way mate, I reckon the Hibs of last season would have capitulated and either lost or drawn that game.Didn’t see the game but delighted with the three points, i believe Killie came out the traps in the second half and kept the ball from us which is disappointing, Michael Stewart hit the nail in the head where he said we lacked urgency in the midfield that Docherty would give us. He also said Gogic was doing the jobs of 3 players in our midfield, so by that I take it Alan & Newell doesn’t work?
And can I just add, MS can bugger off wi they daft comments. Whether Docherty would or wouldn't have made a difference is irrelevant, hes not a Hibs player. I'm sure Messi would have improved things too, but unfortunately he's no a Hibby either.I personally thought Newell done ok, Allan wasn't at his best though. But aye, Gogic was immense, especially first half. Not entirely convinced Docherty would have made a huge difference tbh. Put it this way mate, I reckon the Hibs of last season would have capitulated and either lost or drawn that game.
Think I've missed Just Back nearly as much as I've missed the fitba, thanks again for taking the time to do it.Just back fae the livingroom and I will take that. Sorry I am a bit late, there was traffic at the fridge. Good first half, pretty poor second but a win is a win. I have to say I hate watching Hibs on the telly, although I was joined by 3 of my wee band of 7 who normally take their seats in the West Lower. I am not looking forward to trying to write the game up, whilst you get the replays you get the game through the eyes of the camera person, you dinnae get to see the whole pictch and how the game is unfolding and what is going on off the ball. The quality of stream provided by Hibs was poor at best, they have to do much much better for the fans, no arguments. picture quality was iffy, sound quality dreadful, although I liked Tam and Cliff's commentary, having Tam run over from the south stand to the commentary area was stupid. Joelle is fine too, a Hibby and fitba person talking about Hibs. Who was the ugly auld get from Sydney on the telly at half time?
Best for Hibs for me were Boyler, Gogic, McGinn, Doig and Doidge when he came on. Nisbet is a handful, Wright was decent first half, reported missing second, Porto gets tore in, Rocky stick stays on his line too much. Decent debut for young Josh, he will get better I think, marking the mercurial Burke was a hard shift. Paul Hanlon was ok, and I was disappointed with the efforts of Allan, Newell and Horgan. Tactically I thought Jack made the wrong tweak at half time, he put Wright through the middle and Boyler wide and it did not work. We did have a stonewall penalty turned down but the referee is a known Hun bastard, so no surprise there.
So the team....
Marciano, couple of good saves, I felt he set his wall up badly and got his positioning wrong at the goal, all that said it was a peach. Still shaky at crosses though goalie.
McGinn strolled through the game and kept their young winger quiet.
Porto was very decent, some strong challenges at the end.
Paul was Paul, make of that what you will.
Josh Doig had a surprising and decent debut, that was some first shift you had to put in son.
Alex Gogic, I am impressed, quietly efficient and I loved seeing a player of his type back in a Hibs strip. More box to box than I expected too.
Scott Allan was quiet, other than one good ball for a goal he didnt really get going.
Joe Newell was pretty much the same as Scottie, althoughhe gave a bit more.
Wright was decent wide right first half, didnae work through the middle second half at all. Reminded me of a a beefier Ivan Sproule.
Boyler was on fire especially first half through the middle. Every goal adds another £100,000 to his value unfortunately.
Nissie had a quiet start but showed enough to suggest he will be a good signing.
Subs
Scottie came off for Horgan, Daryll does not play well in the middle of midfield.
Lewis replaced Doig and done fine, he always does.
Doidge replaced Wright and I felt Chris brought us back into the game, he worked really hard and was a menace. Holds the ball up well too.
Melker replaced Nissie with 6 to go and tightened up the defence, it worked and we saw the game out.
The Boss
First half Jack had us playing the Hibernian way, or certainly the one I like. I am slightly concerned he likes to sit on a lead, I dont think we are good enough to do that and parts of the second half reminded me of the days of us conceding late goals every game. Not that we did right enough. Take a win though, Killie are decent.
The Hibs TV Team
I thought Cliff was excellent, absolutely professional in everything he does, he could work on telly. Tam brought some decent jokey insight, Joelle speaks like a knowledgable fan which is good. Tanner, well he has to stop sounding so chuffed when reading out the Huns score, especially when they win, save the joy in your voice for when the bastards get beat pal. The quality of the picture and especially the sound was piss poor and need improved pronto. You have a few weeks thanks to Sky, sort it out Hibs, there is money to be made there.
As I said, feck only knows what that Aussie boy wi the Leith accent and his teeth oot was slavering about? (Hope you are well Fred, you certainly looked well fed!!).?
Killie were pretty decent after a slow start, I felt that their goal was a peach but the wall was poorly set up. Burke remains a player and it was nice to see Andy Millen on the bench, pity he didnae get on. Some good players there.
The referee is a Hun bastard, that is all on him, other than what the hell is going on with his hair?
Us, the Fans. No the same is it, first day of the season should be about the whole day, watching Hibs in your livingroom isnae the same for many of us, I didnae enjoy the experience, I did enjoy the win.
My Man of the Match was Boyler, only Gogic came close.
Next up is Livi away, always a tricky one. I hope Livi are smarter than Hibs and sell away fans an opportunity to watch their team. I will happily pay, I am sure 1000's more will.
Its my oldest laddies 22nd birthday today, HIbs never win on his birthday, they did today, I am happy about that! Hibby Burpday Sean!
And finally, this Just Back is dedicated to all the Hibernian fans who sadly lost their lives during this horrible Covid pandemic, your memory marches on! ?
And can I just add, MS can bugger off wi they daft comments. Whether Docherty would or wouldn't have made a difference is irrelevant, hes not a Hibs player. I'm sure Messi would have improved things too, but unfortunately he's no a Hibby either.
Tend to agree.Underwhelming and workmanlike. In my opinion we shouldn’t be getting bosses at home like that by a team with far less resources
Very naive to think just because we are a bigger club we should be rolling over smaller teams. I'll take a scrappy win over glorious defeatUnderwhelming and workmanlike. In my opinion we shouldn’t be getting bosses at home like that by a team with far less resources
Very naive to think just because we are a bigger club we should be rolling over smaller teams. I'll take a scrappy win over glorious defeat
Underwhelming and workmanlike. In my opinion we shouldn’t be getting bosses at home like that by a team with far less resources
I accept that, I just feeling our mentality and mindset needs to be better. I just don’t think we should be letting teams come to ER and control the game.Very naive to think just because we are a bigger club we should be rolling over smaller teams. I'll take a scrappy win over glorious defeat
We did just that against Killie last year chucked a 2 goal lead to draw 2-2To be honest we’ve been terrible at turning in “workmanlike” performances for years... we’re usually shite at grinding out results.
If we’re developing this quality, I’m happy. It’s great when it clicks and we play lovely attacking football, but that simply won’t happen every week. But being able to win games in all different ways is so important if we are actually going to challenge for a European place.
Make no mistake, we’d have thrown away that 2 goal lead last season. Yesterday, we got the 3 points.
We did just that against Killie last year chucked a 2 goal lead to draw 2-2