It's that time of year again.

Findlayhibby

That time of year when if you don't want to wear the poppy you'll find yourself dropped,you'll not get on the BBC ,you'll get looks at bus stops,you might get accosted in a pub or at your work.Hertz will tell you they singlehandedly won the first world war and you'll have to zip your mouth for fear of ending up in A&E. Yes it's Poppy Fascism month.

I might seek out a white one.
A white keffiyeh ?

Come on Findlay, if you can overlook some of what that garment has been associated with, you can certainly overlook some of the foibles of the British army.

I don’t give a fuck about this annual brouhaha but those who make a point of consciously eschewing wearing a wee memorial for those who fought Hitler, as well as plebs who defended the country for good or ill in less clear cut wars - ie all of them - strike me as no less odd than the flag shaggers.

And that’s before we get to the subset who can overlook homicidal homophobia, religious totalitarianism, actual Nazism, and a banquet of other goodies with which the keffiyeh is associated, yet can’t get past the occasional atrocities committed by British squaddies.

am I to believe that folks are being accosted randomly for not having a poppy on. Or is this a figment?

Certainly hasn’t happened to me when I haven’t worn one, which is most years, and not through design but it just not being front of mind. And that includes all over Englandshire.

It seems to be the middle class leftie version of ‘you’re not allowed to say anyfink anymore guv’, except with less grouding in reality.

Still, Findlay is no middle class lefty …but I suspect he reads a lot of their output.

A white keffiyeh ?

Come on Findlay, if you can overlook some of what that garment has been associated with, you can certainly overlook some of the foibles of the British army.

I don’t give a fuck about this annual brouhaha but those who make a point of consciously eschewing wearing a wee memorial for those who fought Hitler, as well as plebs who defended the country for good or ill in less clear cut wars - ie all of them - strike me as no less odd than the flag shaggers.

And that’s before we get to the subset who can overlook homicidal homophobia, religious totalitarianism, actual Nazism, and a banquet of other goodies with which the keffiyeh is associated, yet can’t get past the occasional atrocities committed by British squaddies.
You know fine well I was talking about a white poppy.The fact that you choose to be obtuse about it isn't a failing on my part. As for the Kaffiyeh-the British Army have also worn them.They might have called them something different but a khaki checkered cloth round the neck is worn by British troops.I wear one to show solidarity with the Palestinian cause.I have many Palestinian comrades not once have they ever said anything homophobic towards me or have I heard them being anti semitic.But once again I notice you are first in there making crticism of anything I have got to say.I can almost guarentee who will join in on the pile up.It's getting to the point where I think I will chuck in the Bounce all together.It's not worth the angry headaches.

big huge guess you only get accosted when you are accosting those that wear them.

You know fine well I was talking about a white poppy.The fact that you choose to be obtuse about it isn't a failing on my part. As for the Kaffiyeh-the British Army have also worn them.They might have called them something different but a khaki checkered cloth round the neck is worn by British troops.I wear one to show solidarity with the Palestinian cause.I have many Palestinian comrades not once have they ever said anything homophobic towards me or have I heard them being anti semitic.But once again I notice you are first in there making crticism of anything I have got to say.I can almost guarentee who will join in on the pile up.It's getting to the point where I think I will chuck in the Bounce all together.It's not worth the angry headaches.
Well I hope you don’t, you are one of my favourite fellow bouncers. But you don’t need to talk to me about being popped at. Maybe right on positions aren’t as sacrosanct as they once were on here, but you aren’t subject to abuse for them - that remains a one way street. There’s no need to be angry either…nothing on here that I can recall has ever made me angry. Irritated ? For sure, loads of times. But not angry.

Talking of knowing things fine well, you know what my point was; that eschewing a poppy while being happy to don a keffiyeh is a bit radge. I’m assuming you would argue the former is because of reservations about some actions of the British army, but if so consistency of principle would certainly prevent you from sporting a keffiyeh.

The contrast is worth making because we all know that for 9 out of 10 people who make a fuss about not wearing a poppy, it’s not because of principle, and not out of pacificism, it’s out of anti British and wider anti western sentiment. And the keffiyeh point demonstrates it.

As i said before, at least to me that is no less odd than the hun types who want to be more poppier than thou.

That time of year when if you don't want to wear the poppy you'll find yourself dropped,you'll not get on the BBC ,you'll get looks at bus stops,you might get accosted in a pub or at your work.Hertz will tell you they singlehandedly won the first world war and you'll have to zip your mouth for fear of ending up in A&E. Yes it's Poppy Fascism month.
Why bring it up? I don't know anybody that gets bother for not wearing one, its usually the opposite

I will buy and wear a poppy. I see it much like 'taking the knee'.

You either do or don't. I don't really care either way what someone does regarding poppies or knees.

I love when people point out that I'm not wearing a poppy and I get to tell them that I do this thing where I get to decide whether to wear one or not and to ignore cvnts that point out my lack of poppyage.

I shouldnae laugh but....
To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

Holy fuck🤣🤣🤣 He couldn’t carry a tune in a bucket.

I was at band rehearsal earlier. Wish I’d seen this before we went home. Our players would have pissed themselves laughing.

Never wore a poppy as far as I'm aware
Can't say anyone's said anything

It's only when you make a fuss that anyone gives a shit
Just do you, rest of the world passes by regardless.

Please do not chuck the Bounce. This is a much richer place when there is a variety of opinion and thought to bring balance. Your voice is as important as everyone elses.

Come on Moaty.
Don't let EGB browbeat you into submission.
Your opinions/ thoughts are as much a part of this place as his .
FWIW , I started wearing a poppy when my mum died.
On cleaning out the house I found a medal and a Death Penny.
On investigation, I discovered that my granny's brother died in WW1 due to wounds received in Flanders and France.
Enough of a sacrifice for me to honour those men who were called up and gave the ultimate sacrifice.
November 11th also happens to be the birthday of my eldest grandson.
Because of men like William Wilson Skene, I have children and grandchildren.
Something he, and many others did not experience.
You wear whatever you wish Angus.
I'll wear my poppy for a few days.
But I won't hassle or argue with those who don't.

I love when people point out that I'm not wearing a poppy and I get to tell them that I do this thing where I get to decide whether to wear one or not and to ignore cvnts that point out my lack of poppyage.
I’m a 73 year old ex serviceman that wears a poppy , and I’ve never called out anybody that disnae wear one. It’s a personal choice. I’ve usually found it’s those that are vehemently against the poppy that are the most vocal

I genuinely have no fucks to give about much these days. I've never worn a poppy and have no opinion about those who do.
I just wish the tv channels would grow a pair and stop making their presenters and guests wear them whilst on air. Reportedly the bins at the exits are full of discarded poppies.

I genuinely have no fucks to give about much these days. I've never worn a poppy and have no opinion about those who do.
I just wish the tv channels would grow a pair and stop making their presenters and guests wear them whilst on air. Reportedly the bins at the exits are full of discarded poppies.
I differ on that one. I don't give a hoot about whether regular people wear one or not. Perhaps confirming Jack's suspicions, I also feel like I live in a different world to some as I don't recall ever hearing anyone comment to anyone else one way or the other outside the Internet. And I sometimes wear one but usually don't largely because I don't get round to it rather than anything more considered.

But I do think it's entirely appropriate for public figures to commemorate the fallen of this country. Enough of the year is devoted to various cultish preoccupations of our time, and figureheads can and should commemorate our war dead imo.

It's probably now more relevant than it has been for a long long time. A long period of peace under the protective wing of the US has caused people to drift out of touch with some realities I think. It's particularly important today to remind people that freedom ain't free and all that jazz.

If the anecdote about binned poppies has substance, it rather corresponds with stereotypes about the msm. Well they can just suck it up imo.

The folk that won’t buy a poppy - or at least chuck a few bob in a RBL collection tin - would rather spend a fortune on stupid pumpkins, sugary shite and dressing their bairns in non-recyclable plastic garbage for one day.

I hope all non poppy wearers that go on about poppy fascists will note it wisnae a poppy wearer that started this thread about ,,,erm,,,poppies, which kinda backs up what I said in post 26

The folk that won’t buy a poppy - or at least chuck a few bob in a RBL collection tin - would rather spend a fortune on stupid pumpkins, sugary shite and dressing their bairns in non-recyclable plastic garbage for one day.
I went tae buy a costume for halloween today and the assistant handed me a Gunt strip. I said sorry you must have misheard me, I said I wanted to look like a COUNT.

Wore a poppy my whole adult life. My choice as it is not too and each to their own, we all have our reasons.

I agree, especially nowadays where opinion is so divided. Stick with us @Findlayhibby, your opinion matters.
I'd rather chuck it than be the source of findlay chucking it

However your point is the point; opinions differ. I've taken more than my share of brickbats for mine. Everybody is different though

Findlay if you read this come back on. I'll put you on ignore or not respond to you if you prefer. You are part of the soul of this place