Israel

Anti fascist is these days usually a synonym for fascist with different favoured groups.

In Edinburgh, years back, the cops had to warn the Jewish community not to be out and about when the anti fascists were in town. I mean where do you even begin with that.

The green brigade should take themselves to Glasgow Uni’s student union rather than Celtic park.
Maybe your right.

Would that highlight the issues around the world the way it does at Celtic park ?

Football in general push politics outwith the green brigade because the audience is there to see it

More importantly it has fuckall to do with scottish football. You seem to think they are some bastion of righteousness speaking for the supporters of all football clubs. I see them as a bunch of irrelevant celtic fannies hiding behind masks and banners
What does Ukraine, black lives matter etc etc have to do with football . Nothing.

They may been celtic fannies or whatever but things they highlight aren't irrelevant the money to places like the Aida refugee camp and food bank drives aren't irrelevant

Maybe your right.

Would that highlight the issues around the world the way it does at Celtic park ?

Football in general push politics outwith the green brigade because the audience is there to see it
The green brigade just peddle the same shit as every second b list celeb on twitter ; it’s like there is nothing they won’t do for a pat on the head.

Tbf I understand some of them have gone to Palestine to help out with refugee camps, and fair play to those of them for that - that is actually doing some good for someone. But the rest is preening, ego buffing and predictable. It does less than zero to help the situation, given it’s the usual simplistic polarising take.

They are poster boy example for ‘why this conflict’ out of all the problems in the world. I have to try very hard to take people like them at their word, that it’s not as much about who is on the other side, as it is about the plight of the Palestinians. Not least given the language I have seen used by fellow travellers on the internet.

What does Ukraine, black lives matter etc etc have to do with football . Nothing.

They may been celtic fannies or whatever but things they highlight aren't irrelevant the money to places like the Aida refugee camp and food bank drives aren't irrelevant
Yes you are right, what do they have to do with football?

I must have missed their display asking for historical Paedophilia cases at the club to be answered and settled immediately. I must have missed their display demanding an immediate end to sectarian hatred amongst their own support. Funny that

Missed their display apologising to Hibs fans for one of their cretins throwing a CS gas canister into the East Stand at ER in 1988.
Or the apology for their club raping Hibs in the 1890's.

@JFP iirc you are Irish. If I’ve got that wrong please ignore the rest with my apologies.

If you are; where do you stand on the fetishising of the troubles within Scottish football, well, within Glaswegian football?

I’m sorry but - and please don’t overlook this part - while it may be brutal or wrong for Israel to carpet bomb civilian areas within which Hamas skulk, or to shoot stone throwing rioters…. It is not the same as murdering babies as a deliberate act.
I do get that I am not drawing equivalence. Each act and actor should be judged on its own.

I think with that Giles Fraser article you linked had many merits, and the pain is obviously raw and deep felt for which he and ordinary Israelis have my heartfelt sympathies but there is a but and it's not meant self righteously but with all humility and as someone acutely aware of the legacy if European oppression of both Palestinian and Jew. The but is only to ask why, how we have got here, which our remoteness grants us the privilege of asking, where with proximity there can only be pain and fury. Amos Oz argues for a 2 state solution in his book describing the conflict as a dispute over land where both parties have claims. I'm not convinced that he is correct that the claims are equal but I do think the Jewish people need a homeland so pragmatically the two state solution makes sense with some sort of reparations factored in. No-one I know views this as good versus evil, of course it's complex. That complexity is why Israel should stay her hand in its lust for revenge. The Palestinians are people too brutalised, just like the Jews, the worst of them committing atrocities I cannot fathom but they are not sub human as Ben-Gvir and his ilk would have it and with power comes responsibility. I cannot fathom how after 2 or 3 generations some Jewish people would be untermensching others, it's tragic.

300,000 troops gathered on the border, which is 36 miles long.

That means the best part of 10,000 troops a mile.

That sounds like a slaughter is upcoming that will be amongst the very worst ever seen on the planet.

I must have missed their display asking for historical Paedophilia cases at the club to be answered and settled immediately. I must have missed their display demanding an immediate end to sectarian hatred amongst their own support. Funny that
I don't know if there has been any kind of display for that but this isn't about point scoring

Fuck green brigade
I agree with alot of what they stand for
Celtic fannies
They still highlight things I agree with
Child abuse

That's pathetic. And also a bit disturbing to throw child abuse into a discussion about displays of solidarity

They are also an anti sectarian group so please educated me in what they do that is sectarian

@JFP iirc you are Irish. If I’ve got that wrong please ignore the rest with my apologies.

If you are; where do you stand on the fetishising of the troubles within Scottish football, well, within Glaswegian football?
Can you elaborate?

Anti fascist, anti racist . Believe in a united Ireland, an independent Scotland.
Show solidarity for oppressed nations and raise money for charities within those nations.

That's my understanding of it.
Like I csaid take the football clubs away from that it's pretty much my beliefs.
Anti fascist- in what way.
Anti racist- seems to me they're very anti Israeli.
United Ireland- nothing tae dae wi' Scottish fitba' or indeed Scottish people, up tae the Irish.
Independent Scotland - only because the brain dead morons that support the other arse cheek want a united kingdom.

@gun ainm I was nodding along there until the end which rather subverts the rest. You expect the Israelis, descended from grandparents that were subject to the Nazi genocide, to respond to villages butchered, babies beheaded, young women raped and murdered, old grannies murdered with it live streamed to their families to mind their language?

As well as being redolent of recent western confusion where ‘language (or offence to some poppets feelings) is violence’, which obscures what violence really is, this holds Israel to an impossible standard - a tactic used by people who are more anti ‘Israeli’ than in sympathy with the Palestinians. That’s not you and IMHO you should leave it to them.

It’s also not simple for Israel in terms of how to respond - I agree with you that they should stay their hand. Then again that would be seen by their foes as weakness and presents dangers just as a reaction does. They really can’t win.

They are in a situation where they are deeply implicated in a land based conflict where everyone’s position has a grounding, and both parties are responsible for the shite that has arisen around it. However they are also now in a position faced by innumerable populations across the world who have territorial crossovers with the Islamic world, from Buddhists to Christians, to Yazidis to secularists - ie they are facing a merciless jihadi group who play by completely different rules.

Meanwhile they are increasingly hated by many European progressives not 100 years since one strain of European progressivism tried to wipe them from the face of the earth. German Marxist socialists started going after them before German national socialism was even cold in the grave - and I don’t mean east Germany - and these days, and as above, even in Edinburgh the fuzz warn them to keep their heads down when ‘anti fascists’ are in town. The British Labour Party were, and any number of right and left wing parties in Europe still are, dangerously flirting with anti semites.

Finally, Europe’s demographic is changing in other ways that will also make it difficult for this continent to offer support or an escape route before long. Oh, and America, that reliable back stop, is now brimming with left wing anti semites and right wing anti semites.

They are in a corner like no other, and their position is as desperate in its own way as the Palestinians, even if less immediately; before this century is out they are in deep deep trouble I fear. Some of the proposals on this thread for a harmonious single state, are simply not from the real world.

In closing, to re-emphasise, that responding to these things is not simple, remains no excuse for some of their barbaric actions.

Anti fascist- in what way.
Anti racist- seems to me they're very anti Israeli.
United Ireland- nothing tae dae wi' Scottish fitba' or indeed Scottish people, up tae the Irish.
Independent Scotland - only because the brain dead morons that support the other arse cheek want a united kingdom.
There have been many anti fascist display most recently last week.
Showing solidarity for an oppressed nation isn't anti Israeli- that's your problem that you can't distiguish between the 2.
United Ireland. There is a large proportion of fans that go are Irish. Just like there are alot in Scotland that are Irish/ Irish family that believe in a United Ireland.

The last part is just ridiculous.

Showing solidarity for an oppressed nation isn't anti Israeli- that's your problem that you can't distiguish between the 2.
United Ireland. There is a large proportion of fans that go are Irish. Just like there are alot in Scotland that are Irish/ Irish family that believe in a United Ireland.

And all that has got exactly what tae dae wi' Scottish fitba'?

Fetishing on the troubles
I’m not sure if you are pulling my leg dude. I of course refer to rangers and Celtic fans and their ‘party songs’, paramilitary cosplay and the rest. Then there is rangers football club itself, but also Celtic on occasion, playing to the gallery with everything from orange shirts to couplets from rebs used in marketing material.

And all that has got exactly what tae dae wi' Scottish fitba'?
Me saying I agree with what they stand for isn't me saying it has anything to do with scottish football is it ?

But same applies to alot of things. Black lives matter as an example . Don't hear you crying about things like that

Chanting IRA songs and displaying images of hunger strikers really does add to the feeling of anti sectarianism.
Or maybe keeping it alive is their objective because without that and the obnoxious songs and images from the other arse cheek both clubs would become insignificant

Me saying I agree with what they stand for isn't me saying it has anything to do with scottish football is it ?

But same applies to alot of things. Black lives matter as an example . Don't hear you crying about things like that
BLM was harmful in British football I suspect though it’s impossible to measure. A deeply strange, possibly lockdown related phenomenon and possibly due to people spending too much time online and forgetting that in the real world, Britain is not America.

Importing American problems into a British context where they are largely (not wholly) inapplicable has been used by our own race baiters to help nurture divisions that were swiftly receding into the past. It’s a great example of why simplistic politics should be kept out of sport, especially when campaigns such as ‘kick racism out’ were already in place and doing the job nicely.

I’m not sure if you are pulling my leg dude. I of course refer to rangers and Celtic fans and their ‘party songs’, paramilitary cosplay and the rest. Then there is rangers football club itself, but also Celtic on occasion, playing to the gallery with everything from orange shirts to couplets from rebs used in marketing material.
IRA chants and songs have no place in a football ground
Irish "rebel" songs along the likes of fields of athenry I can see the justification of a club formed from Irishmen out of famine and oppression being sung in the stands.
But in my opinion nothing I've heard from celtic park is anti protestant whereas on the other side that isn't the case

The orange merchandise is obviously a nod to the orange order , an anti Catholic organisation not just from the North of Ireland but in Scotland too.

I'm sure a few on here Will be shaking there heads at that statement.
I was against the black lives matter movement but that was another arguement

IRA chants and songs have no place in a football ground
Irish "rebel" songs along the likes of fields of athenry I can see the justification of a club formed from Irishmen out of famine and oppression being sung in the stands.
But in my opinion nothing I've heard from celtic park is anti protestant whereas on the other side that isn't the case

The orange merchandise is obviously a nod to the orange order , an anti Catholic organisation not just from the North of Ireland but in Scotland too.
I agree with you that Celtic don’t sing anti Protestant songs. I didn’t say they do, I say they fetishise the Irish troubles. I also don’t have an issue with the fields of athenry, but it’s far from the only song in their book. And that’s before before we even get to the wee laddies and their dressing up in khaki parkas as if they are in some 1970 paramilitary brigade.

@gun ainm I was nodding along there until the end which rather subverts the rest. You expect the Israelis, descended from grandparents that were subject to the Nazi genocide, to respond to villages butchered, babies beheaded, young women raped and murdered, old grannies murdered with it live streamed to their families to mind their language?
What a terrible take - the language used to dehumanise Palestinians wasn't a response to the recent atrocities it was spoken by a government minister who leads a party called Jewish Power, who think Palestinians should either be subservient or exiled. A guy who on his first date with his future wife, visited the grave of Baruch Goldstein, an extremist settler who, in 1994, had gunned down twenty-nine Muslim worshippers at the Cave of the Patriarchs. Language is important especially that if people in authority., it is used to justify atrocities.

Chanting IRA songs and displaying images of hunger strikers really does add to the feeling of anti sectarianism.
Or maybe keeping it alive is their objective because without that and the obnoxious songs and images from the other arse cheek both clubs would become insignificant

Give me one line out of any song you hear that is sectarian.
BLM was harmful in British football I suspect though it’s impossible to measure. A deeply strange, possibly lockdown related phenomenon and possibly due to people spending too much time online and forgetting that in the real world, Britain is not America.

Importing American problems into a British context where they are largely (not wholly) inapplicable has been used by our own race baiters to help nurture divisions that were swiftly receding into the past. It’s a great example of why simplistic politics should be kept out of sport, especially when campaigns such as ‘kick racism out’ were already in place and doing the job nicely.
The point I'm trying to make is not about BLM it's the whole keep politics away from football.
Politics are in football all the time
I agree with you that Celtic don’t sing anti Protestant songs. I didn’t say they do, I say they fetishise the Irish troubles. I also don’t have an issue with the fields of athenry, but it’s far from the only song in their book. And that’s before before we even get to the wee laddies and their dressing up in khaki parkas as if they are in some 1970 paramilitary brigade.
And I'm not saying any different and have said in my reply the pro ira songs have no place in the stands

I don't know if there has been any kind of display for that but this isn't about point scoring

Fuck green brigade
I agree with alot of what they stand for
Celtic fannies
They still highlight things I agree with
Child abuse

That's pathetic. And also a bit disturbing to throw child abuse into a discussion about displays of solidarity

They are also an anti sectarian group so please educated me in what they do that is sectarian
Pure hypocrisy. Where did I mention they sang sectarian songs. I said what have the done to root out the sectarian element in their support, two completely different things. The things that REALLY do exist in Scottish football, they are surprisingly silent on.

What a terrible take - the language used to dehumanise Palestinians wasn't a response to the recent atrocities it was spoken by a government minister who leads a party called Jewish Power, who think Palestinians should either be subservient or exiled. A guy who on his first date with his future wife, visited the grave of Baruch Goldstein, an extremist settler who, in 1994, had gunned down twenty-nine Muslim worshippers at the Cave of the Patriarchs. Language is important especially that if people in authority., it is used to justify atrocities.
Ok I’ll apologise to you for the second time this morning (like buses…. ;)) )

As I have said before I am not preoccupied by Israel and don’t know who this guy is. I thought it was some army guy who was getting pelters for similar.

Everything else stands and is actually probably related to the rise of that lunatic fringe; they’re getting desperate, they can probably sense something coming.

Give me one line out of any song you hear that is sectarian.
This old line cracks me up. ‘Sectarianism’ is about divisions between sects or factions, not just religious ones. Stalinists and Trots engaged in sectarian spats, Nazis and communists, pro EU and anti EU tories etc.

IRA songs are very definitely sectarian.

The point I'm trying to make is not about BLM it's the whole keep politics away from football.
Politics are in football all the time

And I'm not saying any different and have said in my reply the pro ira songs have no place in the stands

Well this is the problem. Who gets to decide what gets an airing ? It just sews conflict. I’d argue Ukraine is different as it’s in our continent and may end up threatening us all. I’d accept others would disagree though. As I implied above, things like ‘kick racism out of football’ is definitely fine while it stays detached from any wider political agenda and linked directly to football.

Israel / Palestine is different. You only need to look at the language used on Celtic forums, if you have the stomach, which is entirely different to this thread, however passionate people have felt, to see the effect this constant drip drip of radical posing has on some people. Fuck, you only need to look at the prior labour iteration to see the effect it’s had.

Pure hypocrisy. Where did I mention they sang sectarian songs. I said what have the done to root out the sectarian element in their support, two completely different things. The things that REALLY do exist in Scottish football, they are surprisingly silent on.
You said eradicate sectarianism from their own support. I asked what do they do that is sectarian. No mention of songs.

Either way you've flipped the green brigade showing solidarity with Palestine to child abuse and sectarianism .

This old line cracks me up. ‘Sectarianism’ is about divisions between sects or factions, not just religious ones. Stalinists and Trots engaged in sectarian spats, Nazis and communists, pro EU and anti EU tories etc.

IRA songs are very definitely sectarian.

Well this is the problem. Who gets to decide what gets an airing ? It just sews conflict. I’d argue Ukraine is different as it’s in our continent and may end up threatening us all. I’d accept others would disagree though. As I implied above, things like ‘kick racism out of football’ is definitely fine while it stays detached from any wider political agenda and linked directly to football.

Israel / Palestine is different. You only need to look at the language used on Celtic forums, if you have the stomach, which is entirely different to this thread, however passionate people have felt, to see the effect this constant drip drip of radical posing has on some people. Fuck, you only need to look at the prior labour iteration to see the effect it’s had.
I have seen the language used on celtic forums I don't know what forum you've been on but haven't seen any radical stuff.

What I've seen is pretty much my viewpoint on it.

You said eradicate sectarianism from their own support. I asked what do they do that is sectarian. No mention of songs.

Either way you've flipped the green brigade showing solidarity with Palestine to child abuse and sectarianism .
His point is hypocrisy, though I think he is wrong because I think the green brigade intend to be sectarian - as above sectarian isn’t limited to religion.

I have seen the language used on celtic forums I don't know what forum you've been on but haven't seen any radical stuff.

What I've seen is pretty much my viewpoint on it.
You’ve not been on enough, the constant stuff about Zionists occasionally tips into Jews. Tbf challenged by others. Of course ‘Zionist’ the way it’s used today is a neo Nazi euphemism adopted by the rest of the left, but I accept probably unintentionally in many cases.

Why do you feel so strongly about this cause in particular if you don’t mind me asking ? I mean I read your point about empathising with the oppressed, but are you similarly interested in the plight of Christians across the Middle East and parts of Asia, or the Uighurs in China, or the Kurds, or the people of Cuba?

I mean I have sympathy with all of them, but I’m not wrapped up in any of it. You seem particularly passionate about this one. Nothing wrong with that btw, there just seems a lot of it about which I find mysterious and perhaps you can help me understand it.

Does it really matter though if they are highlighting so people notice ?
Does it really matter when refugee camps are receiving much needed donations

Not really eh
You were talking about green brigade, I assumed you were referring to the Irish history, where it does matter that things have moved on and while it is good to learn from the past, it breeds nothing but hatred continuing to fan the flames. It is for people who live there to decide their future.

As to refugee camps, I have no issue with appeals, perhaps the green brigade would be better getting involved in charitable work then, perhaps they do already

You were talking about green brigade, I assumed you were referring to the Irish history, where it does matter that things have moved on and while it is good to learn from the past, it breeds nothing but hatred continuing to fan the flames. It is for people who live there to decide their future.

As to refugee camps, I have no issue with appeals, perhaps the green brigade would be better getting involved in charitable work then, perhaps they do already
They very much do I believe
You’ve not been on enough, the constant stuff about Zionists occasionally tips into Jews. Tbf challenged by others. Of course ‘Zionist’ the way it’s used today is a neo Nazi euphemism adopted by the rest of the left, but I accept probably unintentionally in many cases.

Why do you feel so strongly about this cause in particular if you don’t mind me asking ? I mean I read your point about empathising with the oppressed, but are you similarly interested in the plight of Christians across the Middle East and parts of Asia, or the Uighurs in China, or the Kurds, or the people of Cuba?

I mean I have sympathy with all of them, but I’m not wrapped up in any of it. You seem particularly passionate about this one. Nothing wrong with that btw, there just seems a lot of it about which I find mysterious and perhaps you can help me understand it.
I have sympathy with all.
Maybe the similarities with the North of Ireland, my upbringing, I may or may not have mentioned before I have lost family members and have friends who have lost family members to the British army/RUC who I see as terrorists .

The videos I have seen over the years not just the last week and no outpouring of condemnation in comparison to the condemnation of hamas ( I'm not in anyway condoning what they have done)

But for me especially children every life is sacred whether they are Israeli, Palestinian, Catholic, protestant .

More detail on Gaza casualties
As we reported earlier, the Hamas-run Health Ministry in Gaza says 1,055 people have been killed in the Gaza Strip and 5,184 injured since Israel began its air strikes.

Yesterday, it said 260 children and 230 women were among those killed. It also said six medical personnel had been killed and another 15 injured, and that eight journalists had also died.

The UN's Palestinian refugee agency says nine of its staff have been killed in Gaza since Saturday.

The Committee for the Protection of Journalists is collating reports of journalists that have been killed, injured or reported missing in both Israel and Gaza - it lists seven reported dead in Gaza.

there just seems a lot of it about which I find mysterious and perhaps you can help me understand it.
You keep hinting at this. I don't believe you do find it mysterious. You're not usually coy about putting forward your opinions, so why don't you just say what you think - which, I'm, guessing, is that it's rooted in anti-semitism?

Ok I’ll apologise to you for the second time this morning (like buses…. ;)) )

As I have said before I am not preoccupied by Israel and don’t know who this guy is. I thought it was some army guy who was getting pelters for similar.

Everything else stands and is actually probably related to the rise of that lunatic fringe; they’re getting desperate, they can probably sense something coming.
No bother here's a profile if you're interested

You keep hinting at this. I don't believe you do find it mysterious. You're not usually coy about putting forward your opinions, so why don't you just say what you think - which, I'm, guessing, is that it's rooted in anti-semitism?
You can go take a flying fuck to yourself if that is what you think I am.