Is this man a football fan and should he represent Hibs?

What a terrible line of questioning. I'm really get fed up with the SNP

I think he is a turd of a man and I am no happy he tells folk he is a Hibby. Never seen him near ER. Last linked to fitba when he got supposedly mistakenly lifted in London in 2000 before being possibly drunk pre match.

To answer the 2 questions posed in the thread title Mark: 1- I've no idea, 2- Most definitely NOT.
However I'd be less than upset to see him blootered right in the baws for being a grade A bellend.

Just had a quick scan of his Twitter timeline, no mention of Hibs recently but mention of psg v chelsea on Tuesday night.

I've never seen hide nor hair of him at Easter Road, and I suspect he just wants to add a bit of glamour to his dull reputation by claiming to be a fan.
Why he was selected to be a figurehead for the HSL remains a mystery to me.

Whatever his stance on this particular topic, the bullying and hectoring style sways me to take exactly the opposite view - no matter what it was.

Comes across as a thoroughly obnoxious piece of work.
I have encountered him only the once in my professional life and I can't say that the impression given in that video is misleading in any way.

I never worked with him thankfully. I heard stories from folk that did that funnily enough agree with what Sir Doc said! What a coincidence!!!

the Offensive Behaviour Act should probably be amended but not abolished with an improvement in standards of policing at games urgently needed...

I'm just a bit suspicious that its mainly Old Firm fans who seem to be up in arms about the legislation, barely ever heard it mentioned by any Hibs fans

I'd prefer Smurfs bird Kezia,atleast she goes to games

She's busy....

I've never liked this MSP. Likes the sound of his own voice. Wonder why he left the Scottish Government in a hurry? Oh and he was a shite lawyer in his day letting my old boy down many years ago.

Before my own personal experience with this act, I thought the people against it were just old firm fans that wanted to sing offensive song's.

But after being banned from football for over a year, only to be found not guilty in a court, I am also up in arms about this legislation.

Had to spend a year of my life worried about futrue job prospects, attending court 6 times and having my phone confiscated. All cause I filmed a police officier and told him, I thought he was out of order.

You are guilty until proven otherwise under this law and it needs to be scrapped or changed majorly.

As long as the law bans yoochube Ultras setting of their wee half price pyro off, I'm happy. And its another chance for the NoKVD to have a pop.

Before my own personal experience with this act, I thought the people against it were just old firm fans that wanted to sing offensive song's.

But after being banned from football for over a year, only to be found not guilty in a court, I am also up in arms about this legislation.

Had to spend a year of my life worried about futrue job prospects, attending court 6 times and having my phone confiscated. All cause I filmed a police officier and told him, I thought he was out of order.

You are guilty until proven otherwise under this law and it needs to be scrapped or changed majorly.

Sounds horrendous.

That's disgusting.

Unless you were filming him through a hole in the toilet cubicle door, it sounds like you were in another toilet - like the The Hunnery.

the Offensive Behaviour Act should probably be amended but not abolished with an improvement in standards of policing at games urgently needed...

I'm just a bit suspicious that its mainly Old Firm fans who seem to be up in arms about the legislation, barely ever heard it mentioned by any Hibs fans

thats my sentiments tae

both Huns and Soap Dodgers want it binned, so it must be doing something right

The groups that represent each cheek of the same bigoted arse very rarely work together, apart from on this. Nil by Mouth is predominantly Celtc orientated, as is its opposite, Follow with Pride, a Hun group. One works exclusively for the Huns, the other only does Celtc stuff. Each claiming to fight bigotry yada yada, but never do anything really productive.

It might not be too well thought out, or administered, but the ones most concerned about it are the ones that will most likely fall by it, Huns and Soap Dodgers.

F'uck it, let them sweat over it.

The Act is well intentioned. He came over as a knob in the video but the Celtic fans pretending to be ignorant of IRA songs was much more knobish behaviour.

Problem with the Act is its got to be administered by cops who for some reason have started acting like the SS at football matches when there's barely a hint of violence at stadiums or instead completely ignore the law they're supposed to uphold.

Power-hungry cowards. A horrible combination.

it would probably be fair to assume the maker of the video above is in favour of pro IRA chanting at Scottish football matches.

I assume you are referring to the fact the video was released via the James Connolly Society, but I think it is filmed in the Scottish Parliament by employees there? My point was about McAskill's behaviour and the law is not been used to solely attack fans of the arse cheeks but as Faughnan points out, Hibs fans too.

Not comfortable with this guy being on HSL board.

I assume you are referring to the fact the video was released via the James Connolly Society, but I think it is filmed in the Scottish Parliament by employees there? My point was about McAskill's behaviour and the law is not been used to solely attack fans of the arse cheeks but as Faughnan points out, Hibs fans too.

would like to see the whole debate, is it available anywhere do you know?

have heard Jeanette Findlay on the radio before, she supports IRA songs being sung at games.

think its the case that Fans Against Criminalisation only represent hardline Celtic fans.

would like to see the whole debate, is it available anywhere do you know?

have heard Jeanette Findlay on the radio before, she supports IRA songs being sung at games.

think its the case that Fans Against Criminalisation only represent hardline Celtic fans.

I reckon they got the video on freedom of information? Who published it is really not the point, McAskills behaviour was my point. The act affects all football fans.

be interesting to see it with the context of what the two Celtic fans had to say, it seems likely both of them at some point would have said its ok for Celtic fans to sing IRA songs at Scottish football matches which may explain MacAskills reaction.

Or not?

Whether he's a Hibby or not, he did not listen to the argument and behaved like a prosecution lawyer rather than a political representative. His line of questioning was disingenuous as there has been little or no attempt in Scotland to stop sectarian singing, chanting and insults aimed at other fans. Celtic are certainly guilty of singing pro IRA songs and Rangers are even worse, their fans are almost never prosecuted, indeed the solutions from Police Scotland is to say all but 7 Scottish clubs have organised hooligan gangs in their support (aye right then) and the SPFL and Holyrood think the solution is facial recognician technology. Not deduction points, not arresting a significant number from the crowd every time it happens (and it happens all the time. Not to as stewards to point out the worst offenders, which is their job by the way. No none of these things are considered, just a hostile defence of a bad law that hasn't worked. I welcomed the initiatives against sectarianism in football when they were announced but now i feel if you don't use the law against the worst culprits, there is no point in having it.

bloody hell thats a cringey video - a couple of Celtic fans manage to make a government minister look an utter rocket in debate, never mind the subject at hand. So much for the arena of Holyrood and the quality of debate there, worse thing is macaskill clearly thinks he's strutting his stuff, when that women in particular makes him look like a whopper. Just a pity they didn't ask him if he thought relatives of Pan Am 103 victims were distressed by al megrahi's release and subsequent Libyan triumphalism.

As for the subject at hand - I'd love to see the back of sectarianism in Scottish football, but government authoritarianism is never a good answer to anything, as macaskill demonstrates. Nanny staters will use anything to extend their control. So the churchillian antics of Kenny Mac have managed to make me, sympathetic to the underlying issue, side against it in terms of lesser and greater evils. Sterling work.

He was defo at a game earlier in the season. West Upper. It's the only time I've seen him though.