Inflation.

greencol

Almost knackered radge.
Went for an easy supper tonight.
One fish supper ,and one single fish ( because the chips get wasted usually)
The grand total of 21 quid. This was to take home.
Not bad for the biggest white fish( and pelagic) port in Europe.
May have to turn to pasta ......

Jesus, in the blue toon tae. No idea what a fish supper costs in the Lothian to be honest.

Looking at £11.50 in Musselburgh for a fish supper though I ask for a single fish and bag of chips as I'm not wanting soggy batter.

Fish is aboot £8 up the road fae me. Supper is £11

Went for an easy supper tonight.
One fish supper ,and one single fish ( because the chips get wasted usually)
The grand total of 21 quid. This was to take home.
Not bad for the biggest white fish( and pelagic) port in Europe.
May have to turn to pasta ....
We had 2 fish suppers in Findhorn a couple of weeks ago - £32. No longer a cheap meal, more like a luxury these days.

Cannie think of a chippy in Findhorn 🤔

Best I had this year on ma hols in Cullen was the Portknockie chip shop, a close second was Linda’s on Cullen Main Street. Was disappointed in Drifters chippy in Buckpool as it’s usually superb

A fish supper here in this land-locked non-port comprising large* haddock £10 and chips £3.75 for a total of £13.75.
*the size formerly known as 'medium'.

I'd have one a little more often but it feels a lot of money doesn't it.

£10.50 for a fish supper at the one opposite Middies. No even that good, either.

I like a fish supper and my experience is in line with the above, 10 to 13 quid depending on poshness of the area.

Things are expensive as fuck generally, but all takeaway food took a leap in or post the Covid era iirc.

Best I had this year on ma hols in Cullen was the Portknockie chip shop, a close second was Linda’s on Cullen Main Street. Was disappointed in Drifters chippy in Buckpool as it’s usually superb
Jesus H!
Was this a 'Fish Supper Sampling ' holiday?
Yer arteries will be like a blocked drain man!

Jesus H!
Was this a 'Fish Supper Sampling ' holiday?
Yer arteries will be like a blocked drain man!
If you go to the seaside you eat the local produce. Keeps the locals employed.
Three fish suppers over two weeks isn’t that bad.
My biggest vice is the burger cabin next to Cullen golf club. Followed by a coffee from Andrew’s airstream Coffee at the Kings

Captain’sTable does takeaways -they used to have a chip van round the back

The chippy down my way is a greedy bastard. There's no way the cost of materials and fuel has went up to the extent of his recent hike. A supper is around £12. Couple of years ago it was around £8. He is pulling in thousands extra a night I reckon ( Its a busy chippy)
Also, anytime I go ( which isn't often, about once a month) and pay by card, they just offer the terminal without you being able to see what your actually paying. When I ask to see it, they give you look. If I was to pay cash and say to them " there is £25.30 there, " I'm fucking sure they would count it. 😉

The chippy down my way is a greedy bastard. There's no way the cost of materials and fuel has went up to the extent of his recent hike. A supper is around £12. Couple of years ago it was around £8. He is pulling in thousands extra a night I reckon ( Its a busy chippy)
Also, anytime I go ( which isn't often, about once a month) and pay by card, they just offer the terminal without you being able to see what your actually paying. When I ask to see it, they give you look. If I was to pay cash and say to them " there is £25.30 there, " I'm fucking sure they would count it. 😉
Sounds exactly the kind of place I wouldn't return to.

Yup, it’s certainly worth looking. Once got charged $45k for a coffee, which was memorable, and a waitress rang up 2 grand rather than 20 quid on me the other week.

This thread has got me thinking about Fish and chips over here. It wasn't/isn't really a thing until mostly British restaurant owners made it one.
One English guy in particular is doing well and now has 3 restaurants, all grossly overpriced (for Thailand) as is the way here with 'foreign' restaurants.
I haven't been for ages but he'll be around a tenner for takeaway fish, chips, mushy peas. His excuse is he has to import cod and haddock which you don't get here. Fair enough but it's local tatties and peas and of course it's frozen fish not fresh. Safe to say a rip off.

This thread has got me thinking about Fish and chips over here. It wasn't/isn't really a thing until mostly British restaurant owners made it one.
One English guy in particular is doing well and now has 3 restaurants, all grossly overpriced (for Thailand) as is the way here with 'foreign' restaurants.
I haven't been for ages but he'll be around a tenner for takeaway fish, chips, mushy peas. His excuse is he has to import cod and haddock which you don't get here. Fair enough but it's local tatties and peas and of course it's frozen fish not fresh. Safe to say a rip off.
Surely there is a local white fish he could use instead ?

I was about to say they all pretty much taste the same anyway, and then I remembered how superior the Scottish haddock supper is to the English cod. But still…

Ps I could imagine the Thais doing a cracking fish supper if adapted with their own cooking culture.

GraBong batter, tamarind based chippy sauce etc.

Surely there is a local white fish he could use instead ?

I was about to say they all pretty much taste the same anyway, and then I remembered how superior the Scottish haddock supper is to the English cod. But still…
Ah, that's the whole point of his business. It's to cater to ex pats for whom money is no problem and to the "two week millionaire" holiday makers. Mind you travelling half way across the world to eat British style fish and chips wouldn't be something I'd be doing.
Plenty local fish obviously and many sold in local markets. Fresh, grilled and served with noodles, different greens and herbs. Two quid.
If you go to a Thai restaurant which sells fish and chips it will usually be Pangasius which can be a wee bit slimey. That'll cost you a fiver max. Remember I live in a very tourist centric area, prices will be even cheaper in the more rural areas.

In Bali, if fish and chips is your thing, they use local Mahi Mahi most of the time and would cost you £2.50 to maybe a sky diver.

Fish supper round he is about a tenner , we can get a chinese over the road that does the two of us for less than that