In hospital

Bofahibee

So I’m currently spending a little time at Hotel NHS. Staff are fucking amazing. You can see all the little bits of maintenance that the tories ignored for years glaring at me. Plug sockets not working, showers leaking.. despite this, how lucky we are.

But

If I see the old bloke in the bed opposite me’s bollocks one more time I’m going to raise a complaint. It’s a mixed ward and he’s lying there with his lunch hanging out of his shorts.

To be fair he seems like a lovely old chap but I’m in here to try to get me eating again and it’s just not helping having to look at his old chap.

So I’m currently spending a little time at Hotel NHS. Staff are fucking amazing. You can see all the little bits of maintenance that the tories ignored for years glaring at me. Plug sockets not working, showers leaking.. despite this, how lucky we are.

But

If I see the old bloke in the bed opposite me’s bollocks one more time I’m going to raise a complaint. It’s a mixed ward and he’s lying there with his lunch hanging out of his shorts.

To be fair he seems like a lovely old chap but I’m in here to try to get me eating again and it’s just not helping having to look at his old chap.

So the meat and veg view isn't tempting you to scran?

Get well soon Bofa. Next time his sack is dangled in front of you, take heart from time honoured wisdom:

It's always darkest,
Before it goes pitch fucking black :coffee1:

But

Is that boy across from you called Jimmy?

Get well soon Bofa.

Thanks for the good thoughts. Made me smile. The old boy has gone home now replaced by a rather stern female who seems to be almost as unconcerned about who can see her underflaps makes me wonder what sort of hotel i’ve checked in to. It is Brighton after all.

Sadly kind offers of whisky - even delicious Knockando would have been turned away. I’m off the drink - certainly short term but maybe permanently. Fills me slightly with sadness but years of world-class boozing seem to have finally taken their toll.

Take care mate and a speedy recovery to you. It's only when you find yourself in hospital that you see how amazing the staff really are. Makes you feel a little humble.

I had a very brief stay in hospital at Christmas and felt grateful for the attentive way in which I was looked after. Straight across from me on the ward, a gent was brought in accompanied by no less that six guys, two of whom were handcuffed to him. I had an old geezer in the bed next to me who claimed he'd played for Forest in his day. A charity came round the ward and gave us all a gift of little bag of sweeties each. The auld lad was straight over to me and chored my bag of sweets saying, 'I'll have that then'. 🤣

Worst thing about the place was the extreme heat in there. It was like an incubator and with no windows opening. I was relieved to collect my togs and get a taxi home. Big up to the staff though.

I remember taking a old relative to A and E on a Friday night. You can imagine. Lowest point was when the cops brought a guy in handcuffs and instructed him to 'behave, there's sick people in here'. For the rest of the night he was bargaining with the cops as to what they would give him for info. A new house, a new name and on and on. But it was so loud I think the people he was offering to grass up would get to know. And by that time if they had taken him out my only thought was we'd get seen sooner.

As a few of you know I live 2 minutes from the Royal, last week my missus had tae go for a scan at the Western General, which is at the other side of town, for those of you who dont know Edinburgh, because that particular hospital deals with her particular problem.
Today she received another appointment for another scan, same one I got a year ago at the Royal, only her appointment is at ... The Golden Jubilee in fuckin Clydebank!
Mental.

As a few of you know I live 2 minutes from the Royal, last week my missus had tae go for a scan at the Western General, which is at the other side of town, for those of you who dont know Edinburgh, because that particular hospital deals with her particular problem.
Today she received another appointment for another scan, same one I got a year ago at the Royal, only her appointment is at ... The Golden Jubilee in fuckin Clydebank!
Mental.
Wow trot and a half mate. Is that the private hossie?

Hopefully all is well.

I got my left knee done at Murrayfield. Some barry scran they do there.

Aye my laddie done his knee playing fitba. He managed tae hobble intae his work on the Monday sat at the bottom of a pair of steps and his tradesman phoned their boss. :giggley:
His firm's insurance payed for his treatment at Murrayfield. Only down side was he missed oot on a cap and a trip tae Holland. Never quite got back tae the same level after that.

I got a back op there.
Got a baked tattie for lunch, and it was half baked (quiet Billy).
TV remote didnae work either.
The op was first class though.
Smoked salmon and scrambled eggs for brekkie was my favourite.

Nice wee room with a shower, bog and a telly.