How woke is too woke?

Rocky

Right I'm happy to admit to being the sort of sensitive soul that right wingers properly hate for being "woke". But increasingly I'm finding that the dial has swung a bit too far. Case in point would be Rosie Jones, the comedian. She has cerebral palsy which makes her speech a bit slow. Thus placing her in the 99.99% of the population who don't have the comedic timing to make a success of stand up comedy. So why tf is she on the telly all the time? Timing and delivery is everything in comedy, if you can't do that, regardless of whether it's due to disability or not, you're simply not going to be funny imo.

Am I growing old and Alf Garnetty? Genuinely if I'm being an arsehole with this post I'm fine to hear it.

Right I'm happy to admit to being the sort of sensitive soul that right wingers properly hate for being "woke". But increasingly I'm finding that the dial has swung a bit too far. Case in point would be Rosie Jones, the comedian. She has cerebral palsy which makes her speech a bit slow. Thus placing her in the 99.99% of the population who don't have the comedic timing to make a success of stand up comedy. So why tf is she on the telly all the time? Timing and delivery is everything in comedy, if you can't do that, regardless of whether it's due to disability or not, you're simply not going to be funny imo.

Am I growing old and Alf Garnetty? Genuinely if I'm being an arsehole with this post I'm fine to hear it.
I get what you are saying.
I have wondered if I try hard to like Rosie Jones because it feels the right thing to do.
She is obviously an intelligent woman but her disability means her delivery is difficult.
It's good that someone with celebral palsy is so prominently on TV. She is a great role model for folk with the same condition and it shows everyone else that the condition only affects the persons vocal delivery not their brain.
She's on Frankie Boyles New World Order show a lot and I prefer her to a lot of the unfunny badly dressed women that are on the show with her. There are other disabled comedians with delivery hurdles like the Lost Voice Guy Lee Ridley.

Never heard of her 🤷‍♂️

I agree, however there's a lot of comedians coming through I'm not that fussy about either who appear to be very popular among their peers.

I’ve seen trailers for her show. I cannie understand a word she says. That’s due to her disability. I dinnae like or dislike her.
As for comedians on tv, the only ones I would make a point of watching are Billy Connolly, Dave Allen, Peter Kay, Kevin Bridges and Dara O’Briain. That’s purely down to what makes me laugh.

She's selling out gigs so some folk must like her.

That said, I know she was a comedy writer before she was a stand-up so she'd have been known in TV circles.

Are inclusivity quota's getting her more TV gigs than other comedian's playing similar sized venues? I'm not so sure. When you look at the line ups on these panel shows you see white, male, straight, able comics of similar stature with no woke card to play - John Cairns on the latest Taskmaster for example.

I think not liking someone's art then saying the only reason they're successful is because of attribute x,y or z is a risky position to take without any evidence - it could just be your personal taste.

You're probably right, I suppose I'm looking at it from the black and white perspective of "delivery is everything" in comedy, and if your delivery isn't up to scratch regardless of whether it's because of talent, disability, language barrier (eg Connolly having to tone down the Weegie to get successful internationally) then you'll struggle to make a success of it. If I was to stand on stage and read out Tim Vine one liners it just wouldn't be funny as I wouldn't have the ability to deliver them properly.

But like you say, maybe it's just that her delivery isn't to my taste rather than it being fundamentally poor.

I'm not really used to being the gammony one round here, feels kinda liberating 😂

You're probably right, I suppose I'm looking at it from the black and white perspective of "delivery is everything" in comedy, and if your delivery isn't up to scratch regardless of whether it's because of talent, disability, language barrier (eg Connolly having to tone down the Weegie to get successful internationally) then you'll struggle to make a success of it. If I was to stand on stage and read out Tim Vine one liners it just wouldn't be funny as I wouldn't have the ability to deliver them properly.

But like you say, maybe it's just that her delivery isn't to my taste rather than it being fundamentally poor.

I'm not really used to being the gammony one round here, feels kinda liberating 😂
It's good to discuss stuff so your wokeness is safe.
The best comedy challenges the norms and the way we think.
It's why folk like Michael McIntyre are pointless.

Rosie Jones as a person with celebral pushes our boundaries every time she appears on TV which makes her relevant and important.
If you met a person with celebral palsy you might be less awkward and understand them more easily because you have watched Rosie Jones on TV. So when you watch her you are getting comedy and an education at the same time.

She does a travel show and writes children's books about an 11 year old girl with cerebral palsy.
So again a champion for children and adults that have celebral palsy.

The disabled and probably the transgender are by far the most marginalised folk now. I remember a gay guy at work jokingly complaining to me that there were too many out folk in our workplace which meant he no longer got special treatment.

I would imagine Rosie Jones has done more for normalising celebral palsy in the minds of the British public than any other person.
Perhaps what makes her funny is that she is different to the norm and you have to wait for the laugh and work a bit harder to understand her delivery.

Would I go and see her comedy show live? No, I don't find her funny.
Do I think she is worth her space on TV? A massive yes for all the reasons above. Get rid of the saying nothing beige folk like McIntyre. There are hunners of them rotting the brains of the nation.

I like Rosie Jones because I find her funny.But I have found myself turning over because I'm sitting there with my 92 year old mum saying 'I can't understand a word she's saying'sometimes life gets embarrasing and awkward, that just the way things are.I couldn't give a fuck whether I was 'woke' or 'unwoke' because like 'snowflake' it's not a term I invented.

I think Rosie Jones just isn’t funny.
Even if she could bounce her quiff up and down ………

Steady. I said “quiff”.

That ‘bouncing’ seems to be Michael Macintyre’s talent that gets him airtime, cos it’s not the humour.

Only woke i know was in star wars... wtf is woke anyway, seriously?
I take it as having a certain empathy for those around you and those further afield. Obviously excluding anyone who doesn't have the potential of being a Hibby!

Its fine being woke if that is what dafties want to call you. I was at a work meeting today with senior people, mostly based in greater London. They started moaning about strikers and how it inconvenienced them, first rail workers to which I replied, well if they were given decent pay rises they wouldn't have to withdraw their labour, then nurses, to which I responded, if they were paid the wages they deserved they wouldn't have to go to foodbanks to supplement their shopping. The stony silence was very uncomfortable.

Up the wokers!

PS, I dinnae fine Rosie Jones funny and I would happily stand for hours punching Michael Macintyre in the coupon.

Don't really know what woke means to be honest.....except to say i'm glad I woke this morning.

Hate stand-up comedy so I cannae really give an opinion on any of them.

Anybody heard of the ChatGPT artificial intelligence thing? It seems a bit too woke for my liking. Certainly wouldn't go for a pint with it.

Screenshot_20221209_185801_Chrome.jpg

Bet it drives a Rover…..

or is it a them or a they?
It's not giving much away on those tbh

Screenshot_20221209_191709_Chrome.jpg
screenshot_20221209_191736_chrome-jpg.9967

• Screenshot_20221209_191736_Chrome.jpg
    Screenshot_20221209_191736_Chrome.jpg
    121.8 KB · Views: 405
Can't watch her , same with that guy on Emmerdale . Its just too frustrating

My wee brother had MS and it affected his speech badly. Took him 5 minutes tae tell a one liner. Even if the joke was shite we would laugh like fuck at him telling it. By the time he finished both of us were pissin ourselves 😁

Female stand up comedians are generally unfunny.
Don't know why that is , but very few make me laugh.
Do you think it's because we (men) are often the target of the joke?

I'm your typical stick on lefty pinko woke PC whatever but it is an unavoidable truth that my favourite comedians are all male. This isn't the case with other art where I enjoy plenty of female musicians, authors, actors etc... So it does make me wonder why comedy is different?

Do you think it's because we (men) are often the target of the joke?

I'm your typical stick on lefty pinko woke PC whatever but it is an unavoidable truth that my favourite comedians are all male. This isn't the case with other art where I enjoy plenty of female musicians, authors, actors etc... So it does make me wonder why comedy is different?
name a female comedian who makes you laugh like fuck , if you cant then stop worrying about it

I'm not worrying about it, it's just an interesting conundrum.

"Women aren't funny" seems a bit easy for me. I know plenty in real life that are.
very few on tv as far as i can see , few black swimmers in the olympics etc etc , just the way it is i guess

I agree, however there's a lot of comedians coming through I'm not that fussy about either who appear to be very popular among their peers.

Case in point: suzie McCabe - I’ve endured her a lot recently and it’s the same routine over and over and it was barely funny the first time.

I like when comedians use an up and coming as a warm up - but give me a genuine new person on th circuit that’s different.

Janey Godley is another…in with the establishment and dreadfully unfunny.

To be fair - English and American folk used to complain they couldn’t understand Billy Connolly

name a female comedian who makes you laugh like fuck , if you cant then stop worrying about it
Sarah Millican sometimes, I've been to see Janey Godley and thought she was quite funny. I quite like Katharine Ryan too (although in a further blow to my woke credentials that might be partly because she has tremendous baps. Kidding. Maybe).

TanyaLee Davis, that’s the one.

Funny women - I’ve seen Sarah Kendall loads of times - I’d make a point of seeing her if she was touring. Probably my favourite comedian actual. Woke angle - she’s ginger.