• Welcome to the Bounce

A Place Full Of Radges!

Hello there & GGTTH

Renfrew_Hibby

What can I say? Not a natural Hibby. Raised in Ayrshire to a non footballing family, now firmly rooted in the wild west world of auld firm loving Renfrew.

For all that a Hibby non the less! I made my choices when a boy and the club will always be my first love.

First game - 1991 v Ayr on our way to the Skol Cup. First trip to ER? Well that was a non classic 0-0 v Celtic, a damp spring day in '94.

Sporadic season tickets and half season tickets have followed. Pretty much a regular traveller to home games from the mid '90s to the mid naughties, love, work and kids started to take over and visits became less frequent... but I have never lost that love, that joy, heartbreak the sheer blooming frustration of being a Hibee!

I won't be one of those regular almost resident type posters but I'll dip in and out of threads with my thoughts and queries so go easy on me!

GGTTH, John.

Welcome. Renfrew ye say, Christ that must have been some celebration party you had in May 2016. Bet the atmosphere in the ☎️ telephone box was buzzin'.!What tunes were playing Me myself I by Joan Armatrding,Party fears 2 by the Associates or Solitare by Andy Williams?🤪
Hope you manage to convince some of the younger ones to become Hibees too before they are dragged to the dark side.

Welcome. Renfrew ye say, Christ that must have been some celebration party you had in May 2016. Bet the atmosphere in the ☎️ telephone box was buzzin'.!What tunes were playing Me myself I by Joan Armatrding,Party fears 2 by the Associates or Solitare by Andy Williams?🤪
Hope you manage to convince some of the younger ones to become Hibees too before they are dragged to the dark side.
Aye was a special day, was on the pitch and got random hugs from Celtic fans i encountered as i made my way back home that day.
Tbh it was a good couple of years of pure seethe in the community. I'm not really a fitba top wearing guy but I'll cut about in a training top or a Hibs hoodie now and again, some of the reactions you wouldn't believe! But ive had it ever since i was a kid growing up in Ayr. It's like I'm the only black guy in 1940s newcastle or something... the looks you get. I can literally stop people in their tracks, instantly silence them when they spot me in their midst.

A wee side story... where I grew up in Ayr George Foukes had his then family home. He was the MP for the neighbouring constituency and his wife Liz was the Provost for either South Ayrshire or Carrick & Cumnock (canny mind which as it was the 90s when all the local authorities were reorganised) They knew my dad who was a local businessman and we even got Christmas cards from the Foukes!
Anyways I remember walking down the street, I was maybe 14 and sporting a Hibs top. The Foukes son, who was at least a couple of years older, was coming in the opposite direction. He then went on to unleash some amount of dogs abuse at me... worse than anything I've had in Renfrew or anywhere since.

Just goes to show you chose the right path mate otherwise it would be us you'd get dogs abuse from if you turned up at ER as part of the ugly sisters. GGTH.

Aye was a special day, was on the pitch and got random hugs from Celtic fans i encountered as i made my way back home that day.
Tbh it was a good couple of years of pure seethe in the community. I'm not really a fitba top wearing guy but I'll cut about in a training top or a Hibs hoodie now and again, some of the reactions you wouldn't believe! But ive had it ever since i was a kid growing up in Ayr. It's like I'm the only black guy in 1940s newcastle or something... the looks you get. I can literally stop people in their tracks, instantly silence them when they spot me in their midst.

A wee side story... where I grew up in Ayr George Foukes had his then family home. He was the MP for the neighbouring constituency and his wife Liz was the Provost for either South Ayrshire or Carrick & Cumnock (canny mind which as it was the 90s when all the local authorities were reorganised) They knew my dad who was a local businessman and we even got Christmas cards from the Foukes!
Anyways I remember walking down the street, I was maybe 14 and sporting a Hibs top. The Foukes son, who was at least a couple of years older, was coming in the opposite direction. He then went on to unleash some amount of dogs abuse at me... worse than anything I've had in Renfrew or anywhere since.

Had the son pished himself, its a family trait.