Glesga

joethehibby

Always thought it a bit of a dumpand many years since I’ve been . Was there on wednesday and still a dump

• 233EB3CE-8395-4965-B168-53D342AEE730.png
    233EB3CE-8395-4965-B168-53D342AEE730.png
    1 MB · Views: 31
To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

The place is a shitehole. Ruined by its inhabitants.
It's on a par with Bradford for the most litter strewn estates in Britain. If you ever are bored , take a drive through Govan to say Castlemilk , you won't believe your eyes.

The place is a shitehole. Ruined by its inhabitants.
It's on a par with Bradford for the most litter strewn estates in Britain. If you ever are bored , take a drive through Govan to say Castlemilk , you won't believe your eyes.
Jeez TH , we’re agreeing haha

I live in Glasgow and I'm married to a weegie. I'm rather fond of both.

The football culture is the only thing that really taints it for me (and it does in a big way, sadly). Other than that (tin hat on) I'd say its my favourite city in Scotland. Loads to do, good public transport, affordable place to live, council aren't 100% tourist focused (hence the shitey statues).

The weegies themselves do have that scouser thing of thinking they are the epitome of salt-of-the-earth realness, but I get a kick out of being an outsider in that realm and taking the piss.

I've always quite liked Glasgow as a city.
Always had better nightlife than Edinburgh IMO...and the place just seems more grounded and down to earth than Edinburgh.
Edinburgh is a more beautiful city to look at though....and is much more touristy.
Things that irritate about Glasgow though for me is first of all the obvious one of sectarianism...something which btw has absolutely nothing to do with religion per se. Most people who go in for that shite have never been inside a church in their lives. Then there is the humour which is overplayed. They think they have a monopoly on humour in Scotland which as I have said before is nonsense and gets on my nerves. Many Glaswegians are also born attention seekers.
I see many similarities between Glasgow and Liverpool...however whilst as I say I do like Glasgow, I much prefer Liverpool as a city for everything.

I used to spend a fair bit of time in Glasgow with various mates who were from or who stay(ed) there.

I also spent a lot of time at Celtic Connections which is just what's needed in crappy January.

So I've always enjoyed Glasgow to go and do things, but I doubt I'd head through on spec for a night out. In addition I hate the all pubs shutting and everyone on the street at midnight. It's carnage.

I much prefer Edinburgh. It's an ideal size and is such a fantastic city to walk in - nowhere in Scotland matches it.

The football culture is the only thing that really taints it for me (and it does in a big way, sadly). Other than that (tin hat on) I'd say its my favourite city in Scotland. Loads to do, good public transport, affordable place to live, council aren't 100% tourist focused (hence the shitey statues).

The weegies themselves do have that scouser thing of thinking they are the epitome of salt-of-earth realness, but I get a kick out of being an outsider in that realm and taking the piss.
I know you're married to a weedgie, My first wife was too. Are you ok with the in-laws patter? The jokes?

Tsk. The weege. Salt n vinegar. Savages.

Saying that there used to be a sign on the way back from darkheid for a sauna just out side the Welcome In (which we were never welcomed in) for the Sheik Ma Tadger sauna.

Doc might mind of it 😁

“One of my few successful ventures was when I opened up the Sheik-Ma-Tadger executive massage parlour over the road in the Schipka Pass. The deal was that any customer drinking 25 pints in the Calton was entitled to a free session.

Well done. I couldn't stand it and made excuses to never be in the same room. No surprise divorce followed 😂

I'll let the missus know that next time I'm cornered by some jabbering hundog uncle at a family party.

"Gonnae get Jimmy to fuck off. This is divocre-worthy."

I like Glasgow, remove the 2 big football teams and it would improve significantly. There's some shit parts, same can be said about Edinburgh. Having spent this last week working in Aberdeen, I'd live in Glasgow in a heartbeat over there, found it bleak and the folk just dour as fuck in general.

Aberdeen is a disgrace. More specifically the council is. Probably more money flowed through and spent there than many other cities and it's a grey shitehole. Some of Britain's most torn faced taxi drivers too.

Lods of twats, that are available in every city, spreading their shite but come on ...

The weegies themselves do have that scouser thing of thinking they are the epitome of salt-of-the-earth realness, but I get a kick out of being an outsider in that realm and taking the piss.
I'm with you most of the way THB and respect yer views with you having lived through here but there does appear to be a fair number of wallopers that are just 'down' on Glasgow with absolutley no experience with the place appart from being formed by going to see our team in Glasgow.

I have several friends who have made the move form Edinburgh to Glasgow and they will happily admit that it is a great place to live and a lot to offer that Edinburgh just does not do. If you exclude the pubs, night life and gig venues..... then yes....Edinburgh has a lot to offer but my one huge big 'bug bear' is why there is an 'East / West' divide, when no one through here in Glasgow appears to have an issue.
I generally agree with the views on here and HUGELY OBVIOUSLY the understandable hatred of the two cheeks but come on guys......lets separate the two things eh?

Who fancies a beer and a further chat if required in a foreign place in a months time?

I have several friends who have made the move form Edinburgh to Glasgow and they will happily admit that it is a great place to live and a lot to offer that Edinburgh just does not do. If you exclude the pubs, night life and gig venues..... then yes....Edinburgh has a lot to offer but my one huge big 'bug bear' is why there is an 'East / West' divide, when no one through here in Glasgow appears to have an issue.
I generally agree with the views on here and HUGELY OBVIOUSLY the understandable hatred of the two cheeks but come on guys......lets separate the two things eh?

Who fancies a beer and a further chat if required in a foreign place in a months time?
Little Englanders, little Scotlanders and little Edinburgers. Spot the difference, for the life of me I can't.

Where did you get to Joe?
TBF, it looks like I’ve opened up a hornet’s nest, apologies for that . Was only there accompanying our granddaughter for her dental nursing examination ( passed with flying colours ) , so it was queen street station, bath st, hope st, w george st ( witherspoons for lunch ) slumming it 🤪, argylle st ( primark- no me ) and cafe nero, back to george square with the seagull/pigeon shit clad statues, then queen street and back oot 🤣🤣
Never really had inclination to go back there and definitely not for ugly sister matches ( a know, part-time fan 😩)
Embra is our destination for wee days oot 👍
P.s. the trains between embra and glesga are brand new compared to the scrap heap rolling stock on the fife circle 😡
Are you still their FiieryJack 💤🤣

Jackanory over for the day 🤪

I will see you there ma pal!

TBF, it looks like I’ve opened up a hornet’s nest, apologies for that . Was only there accompanying our granddaughter for her dental nursing examination ( passed with flying colours ) , so it was queen street station, bath st, hope st, w george st ( witherspoons for lunch ) slumming it 🤪, argylle st ( primark- no me ) and cafe nero, back to george square with the seagull/pigeon shit clad statues, then queen street and back oot 🤣🤣
Never really had inclination to go back there and definitely not for ugly sister matches ( a know, part-time fan 😩)
Embra is our destination for wee days oot 👍
P.s. the trains between embra and glesga are brand new compared to the scrap heap rolling stock on the fife circle 😡
Are you still their FiieryJack 💤🤣

Jackanory over for the day 🤪
You live in Lochgelly Joe😂

There are some things that Glasgow does better than Edinburgh, the music scene being the main one for me, the number of good live venues it offers is fantastic.
Crispy morning rolls, just don't get them in Edina.
Some wonderful buildings, but they are lost in the general poor sprawl of the city.
I do find the place 'run down', travel in by train via Bathgate and it is pretty depressing when you go through the stations to Queen Street.
I do find the 'Glesga patter' a bit much sometimes and there are times it is hard to separate the football factor from the city.
I know there are good boozers in Glasgow, but for a town that so synonymous with drinking, I find there is a lack of good quality pubs compared to Edinburgh.