Glastonbury

Can you give me an example of an unsafe gig with a point that you have attended. Not being snarky. I just want to understand.
I meant the music is safe not the gig.
An unsafe gig is a very bad thing.

I'm going to pick up on this lazy, tired assessment of Coldplay. I've seen them a couple of times and I think they are actually rather impressive. They deliver great fun anthemic pop. They have a number of killer hook driven songs that make for a great show. They put a terrific stadium show (and I hate stadium shows), give a real sense of occasion and really connect with their audience.

I find the vague, unspecified radicalism a bit irritating, but a Coldplay gig is remarkably unpretentious. It's just people out having a great time. And the sheer sense of joy there is at the gigs is a thing to behold.

But maybe that doesn't fit the narrative.

Archie just confirming his centrist Dad creds BK. I’ll say this for him though, it’s his ballsiest post that I can remember, coming out for the Kier Starmer of pop; hugely popular but a bit earnest and dull.
I’m with @Archie on this one — I like them! Particularly their first 2 or 3 albums.

I also very much enjoy how much they get under music snobs’ skins.

Spot on.

I like loads of different music, and that's important to me, but nobody else.
Bugger that!

I revel in the fact my mates think I've got a shite taste in music and take every opportunity to get some played when we're in the pub 😆

Fuck you - Lily Allen being one I like. They're not keen but like the message to racists etc.. I particularly like it when there's huns in the pub!
To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

Can you give me an example of an unsafe gig with a point that you have attended. Not being snarky. I just want to understand.
That, to be fair, is a brilliant come back. Nothing as cringey as the idea of less ‘safe’ music especially as ‘dangerous’ music invariably denotes the most conformist student grant wibble conceivable.

I think this has moved me to team Archie actually as my dislike of music snobbery trumps my view of Coldplay as the kind of band you’d get playing the evening entertainment at Davos.

Go Archie, go Archie!

I kind of agree. And I really don't fancy the Glastonbury vibe. But I know lots of people who have loved it. The thing is, because of the whole Euro festival swing it's the only place you can see many of the acts. Janele Monae, for example hasn't toured here in ages. She pulled out of a Manchester showcase and that's it.
I get that. I went to Knebworth in '79 because I knew it was the only way I was going to see Led Zeppelin.
Festivals are definitely a good way of trainspotting bands.
P.S. Janele Monae is someone who I would love to see. I bought The ArchAndroid album a long time ago and loved it.
Also, while it's pricey, it probably costs less than a premium seat at the forthcomong McCartney gigs.
Glastonbury is a relative bargain in comparison.
People need to accept they have long missed the boat on McCartney. I loved the guys voice and love his music but the former is long gone.
I used to have a rule of not going to see anyone over 64, especially singers, unless they were some old blues guy.
McCartney is in his 80's. He's a sudden death looking for a locus.
No one thinks that going to see Pat Stanton play with a football now would be anything like seeing classic Pat Stanton playing football.
I do prefer smaller venues. I was at the Barrowlands recently and even it was a bit mental.
Only once have I decided to bail from a crushing crowd near the front of a gig and that was at Morrissey at the Barrowlands. Truly mental!
Great venue.

So unsafe music?
See if the Idles came on and chanted in support of the tories rather than against them; that wouldn’t necessarily be unsafe, but would be a little bold. But it would never happen: because unsafe music is the safest music of all.

I don't think there's anything wrong with all age groups attending music festivals. We’ve all moved on from being our mums and dads of the 70’s.

However, what really pisses me off (and I’ve seen this countless times at festivals) is clearly middle class adults pretending they’re hippies for the weekend. Dressed up like fucking weirdos but in reality in life, as far removed from the hippy culture as possible.

Just be what you are ffs!

Bugger that!

I revel in the fact my mates think I've got a shite taste in music and take every opportunity to get some played when we're in the pub 😆

Fuck you - Lily Allen being one I like. They're not keen but like the message to racists etc.. I particularly like it when there's huns in the pub!

Couldnae tell you one of her songs but I’ve loved Lily Allen since I seen her with a Hibs tat on her arse. Cannae find the tattoo one but it was this pic. IMG_0815.jpeg

Bugger that!

Good pop song.
Coldplay and their ilk can only dream of being so succinct and hook laden.

I don't think there's anything wrong with all age groups attending music festivals. We’ve all moved on from being our mums and dads of the 70’s.
Have we? Do young people think that or is it old folk that think that? I suspect it’s the latter and always was.

I admit to being a bit snarky on this but I think it’s one thing for us mature sorts going to see bands of our time creaking around the stage. I suspect if I was a teenager I’d be a bit more bemused to see the old school rocking up to see the latest teen sensation.
However, what really pisses me off (and I’ve seen this countless times at festivals) is clearly middle class adults pretending they’re hippies for the weekend. Dressed up like fucking weirdos but in reality in life, as far removed from the hippy culture as possible.

Just be what you are ffs!
Here, I concur !

That, to be fair, is a brilliant come back. Nothing as cringey as the idea of less ‘safe’ music especially as ‘dangerous’ music invariably denotes the most conformist student grant wibble conceivable.

I think this has moved me to team Archie actually as my dislike of music snobbery trumps my view of Coldplay as the kind of band you’d get playing the evening entertainment at Davos.

Go Archie, go Archie!
OI - EGB - NO, JUST NO!

Have we? Do young people think that or is it old folk that think that? I suspect it’s the latter and always was.

I admit to being a bit snarky on this but I think it’s one thing for us mature sorts going to see bands of our time creaking around the stage. I suspect if I was a teenager I’d be a bit more bemused to see the old school rocking up to see the latest teen sensation.

I'm beginning to feel a bit like this with more youth-centric gigs (pop/dance). I've been enjoying Charlie XCX's latest album but there is part of me that just wouldn't feel right rocking up to her gig as a greying, beer bellied, middle aged fella. Incidentally, I was told by a younger, hipper female pal of mine at a gig on Saturday that I am being daft.

Indie/rock gigs not so much. They've had the ageing punks and hippies at them since I started going as a youngster in the grunge/britpop era and it's absolutely me and my mates turn.

See if the Idles came on and chanted in support of the tories rather than against them; that wouldn’t necessarily be unsafe, but would be a little bold. But it would never happen: because unsafe music is the safest music of all.
Actually I think the bands singing against the Tories or the king is a sign of how mature we are as a county. Insulting the King would get you jailed in Thailand and when the Wolfetones do their up the RA chants in Glasgow we just shake our heads.

Yeah but is hardly 'unsafe'. It's really rather predictable, not mentioning playing to the choir in front of an audience of thousands of middle class bohos.

Sure, though I doubt the Wolftones play to middle class bohos!

That's my youngest (24) just back and he had a great time although he says the line up didn't impress him much 😉

Luxury coach down and back, a private camp site with its own food places (free) and bar AND proper toilets and showers AND he was paid handsomely he tells me!

He was working the punter bars while his partner did the VIP bar, hobb nobbing with the celebs.

No [naughty word] danger he'd go as a punter he tells me!

Edit. The lad is seriously into his live music.

That's the thing that gets me, at the bottom of it all, about conspiracy theory. It overlooks the chaos and fuck uppery that are the central theme of humanity.

Perhaps it's comforting. In fact I think that's the main appeal, it's a comfort blanket because chaos is too scarey
Maybe conspiracy theories are a conspiracy?

Modern acceptance has this as a gender neutral term.
Behind the times there Archie. It's very much frowned upon as unwoke in the world of capitalism.

I still use it like you do but that's cos I'm punk rock Archie.

Well there is the point that the attendees are they/them/it or even §.

So Archie you AND eeg stand accused of the crime of pronounism.

I get that. I went to Knebworth in '79 because I knew it was the only way I was going to see Led Zeppelin.
Festivals are definitely a good way of trainspotting bands.
P.S. Janele Monae is someone who I would love to see. I bought The ArchAndroid album a long time ago and loved it.

Glastonbury is a relative bargain in comparison.
People need to accept they have long missed the boat on McCartney. I loved the guys voice and love his music but the former is long gone.
I used to have a rule of not going to see anyone over 64, especially singers, unless they were some old blues guy.
McCartney is in his 80's. He's a sudden death looking for a locus.
No one thinks that going to see Pat Stanton play with a football now would be anything like seeing classic Pat Stanton playing football.

Only once have I decided to bail from a crushing crowd near the front of a gig and that was at Morrissey at the Barrowlands. Truly mental!
Great venue.
Babyshambles or was it Libertines at Barrowlands felt unsafe and I was only sitting in my taxi picking up a hire. It was like a scene from a zombie film as the place emptied

Behind the times there Archie. It's very much frowned upon as unwoke in the world of capitalism.

‘Howzabout that then guys and gals?’Ooohooooh!’(I’m doing Jimmy Saville).

It very much isn't. Widely used in the US as a gender neutral term.

It was but I think you'll find times have moved on. Perhaps especially among the Americans; its considered better left to the 'problematic' era of 'Friends'. I speak from experience young man. Not that I give a shit about such blather. And I am not calling anyone 'colleagues' instead either which is one step away from citizens or comrades.

It's somewhat awkward that I am having to give you tips on adherence to these things Archie. But strange things happen at sea.

It was but I think you'll find times have moved on. Perhaps especially among the Americans; its considered better left to the 'problematic' era of 'Friends'. I speak from experience young man. Not that I give a shit about such blather. And I am not calling anyone 'colleagues' instead either which is one step away from citizens or comrades.

It's somewhat awkward that I am having to give you tips on adherence to these things Archie. But strange things happen at sea.
Yet in the States people use it all the time. Lads is also used in Ireland in a gender neutral way. Obviously I don't hang out with elitists in the way you do.

There are lots of things people do or say all the time that are no longer unacceptable. Indeed that's sort of the point.

But hey, don't listen to me, just Google it.

And then accept that this woke pish is irredeemable anti human rubbish, or else mend your ways. Or I'll report you to HR

There are lots of things people do or say all the time that are no longer unacceptable. Indeed that's sort of the point.

But hey, don't listen to me, just Google it.

And then accept that this woke pish is irredeemable anti human rubbish, or else mend your ways. Or I'll report you to HR
Well clearly they are acceptable - it's used all the time!

Sorry Archie, you don't get to decide and nor do your intentions matter. Especially as a middle aged white man.

Is this really the first time you've encountered 'woke'? Maybe now you'll understand why it peeves others.

In any case i have done my bit; if you end up in a modern workplace and get yourself in hot water, it won't be for the want of me trying to safeguard you.

Sorry Archie, you don't get to decide and nor do your intentions matter. Especially as a middle aged white man.

Is this really the first time you've encountered 'woke'? Maybe now you'll understand why it peeves others.

In any case i have done my bit; if you end up in a modern workplace and get yourself in hot water, it won't be for the want of me trying to safeguard you.
I see writing satire isn't really a career option for you.