Free tickets to current and ex forces

I appreciate it's short notice but ...

Just a reminder that current and ex forces personnel and their families can benefit from free tickets to the match on Saturday. There are still some left.

If you want to take advantage please pm me with a telephone number and I will arrange it.

Please do not use this thread to discuss the merits of the offer.

If anyone on here is eligible and gives me the info asked for I'll pass it on.

I think there's already some 700 have taken up the offer.

PS you can discuss the offer on here if you so wish :-)

I appreciate it's short notice but ...

If anyone on here is eligible and gives me the info asked for I'll pass it on.

I think there's already some 700 have taken up the offer.

PS you can discuss the offer on here if you so wish :-)

Jack, where was this offer made, is that a Hibs Net thing? I don't remember the Hibs Bot posting anything on the bounce?

My son got some tickets, most troops know of the website Home | Tickets for Troops He has had tckets also for Aston V and Man city and London shows

Cant find Hibs game though, maybe all tickets gone

Jack, where was this offer made, is that a Hibs Net thing? I don't remember the Hibs Bot posting anything on the bounce?

The initiative came from Working Together who have put it all together with the help of the ticket office.

PatHead and a couple of others from WT have been doing all the running around and I'm not sure he posts here.

I suspect I should have known about the detail from last months meeting and posted here but I was on holiday and that could also be the reason I can't point to any Hibs bot thingy.

Wee Wendy the WT secretary does post here though but she tells me she can't log on, so I suppose she doesn't post here :doh. This site log in wont accept any of the emails she generally uses. Your help with this would be appreciated. I said I would make enquiries with you and that I would post WT stuff in the meantime.

My son got some tickets, most troops know of the website Home | Tickets for Troops He has had tckets also for Aston V and Man city and London shows

Cant find Hibs game though, maybe all tickets gone

Hibs have used the Tickets for Troops site in the past for specific matches like Saturday, they have also gone to specific bits of the armed forces and said here's xxxx number of tickets.

I understand that after Saturday Hibs tickets will be a regular feature on the Tickets for Troops site. [Not sure if I'm allowed to say that yet so don't tell anyone :giggle:

Hibs should be having nothing to do with this. Tacit approval of the continuing wars Westminster instigates. All part of the poppy facism and jingoistic crap that goes on in this country. British armed forces are not fighting for "us" they are fighting for big business, arms manufactuers and those in power.

There has been a lot of talk about WW1 and what a waste it was of young lives, of working class men and boys. 100 years and nothing has changed.

Why should Hibs support war mongering? The UK has been under threat twice in the last 300 years once from Napoleon and once from Hitler, but the UK has invaded 90% of the worlds countries at one time or another and for what so the rich can get richer, certainly not to the benefit of the working class in this country.

The initiative came from Working Together who have put it all together with the help of the ticket office.

PatHead and a couple of others from WT have been doing all the running around and I'm not sure he posts here.

I suspect I should have known about the detail from last months meeting and posted here but I was on holiday and that could also be the reason I can't point to any Hibs bot thingy.

Wee Wendy the WT secretary does post here though but she tells me she can't log on, so I suppose she doesn't post here :doh. This site log in wont accept any of the emails she generally uses. Your help with this would be appreciated. I said I would make enquiries with you and that I would post WT stuff in the meantime.

Not really very joined up from the WT team Jack, is it? Shouldnae be reliant on you being round to ensure initiatives like this are properly advertised. If you could tell Wendy who I am, she has my email address, as I recently emailed her asking her not to send me Working Together stuff, :roll:, get her to pop me a note and we will see what is wrong?

Hibs should be having nothing to do with this. Tacit approval of the continuing wars Westminster instigates. All part of the poppy facism and jingoistic crap that goes on in this country. British armed forces are not fighting for "us" they are fighting for big business, arms manufactuers and those in power.

There has been a lot of talk about WW1 and what a waste it was of young lives, of working class men and boys. 100 years and nothing has changed.

Why should Hibs support war mongering? The UK has been under threat twice in the last 300 years once from Napoleon and once from Hitler, but the UK has invaded 90% of the worlds countries at one time or another and for what so the rich can get richer, certainly not to the benefit of the working class in this country.

Whilst I personally agree with some of what you say V, I would suggest that discussion is for the Frenchman's Cowshed.

My son got some tickets, most troops know of the website Home | Tickets for Troops He has had tckets also for Aston V and Man city and London showsCant find Hibs game though, maybe all tickets gone
It's definitely there, might have to put Edinburgh in the search box. Unless it's kow to late to receive. I just ordered mine on Monday with no hassle:). Can receive upto 4. I still have one spare if it helps??

I've never got free tickets for troops.Free tickets for unemployed locals,kids and charities, aye, but employed folk earning a living? No ta.

There was a news article about it from the official site a couple of weeks back, read the link on here

Not really very joined up from the WT team Jack, is it? Shouldnae be reliant on you being round to ensure initiatives like this are properly advertised. If you could tell Wendy who I am, she has my email address, as I recently emailed her asking her not to send me Working Together stuff, :roll:, get her to pop me a note and we will see what is wrong?

To be honest LWT isn't what it was, even a few months ago.

There's been quite a number of people/organisations have left for various reasons, maybe some joined for the wrong reasons, not sure what I mean by that but can't think of a better way of putting it, or expected to get something that wasn't there.

Whatever, we are where we are and our very small disparate group will continue to work with the club, whoever is running it, for as long as we're wanted, for the benefit of the supporters and to enhance the reputation of our club in the wider community. [That's not a bad mission statement if we had one :-)]

It's obviously left gaps in how we go about getting information out. All I can say is that we try to do better.

PS PatHead has asked me to pass on his apologies for not posting on the Bounce earlier. He has now registered and is waiting on admin clearance :-)

Oh! It would be good if anyone was interested in the offer to get their fingers oot and have this done and dusted by Friday to avoid disappointment orra big shuge queue on Saturday.

Thanks

PS. Through a third party tickets were sorted out in a matter of hours earlier on today. Some things are working ;-)

Oh! It would be good if anyone was interested in the offer to get their fingers oot and have this done and dusted by Friday to avoid disappointment orra big shuge queue on Saturday.

Thanks

PS. Through a third party tickets were sorted out in a matter of hours earlier on today. Some things are working ;-)

Yup, I can concur.:wink:

Says vini from glasgow with a tri colour avatar. :detective:

Most of these troops have signed up for the forces through lack of options and poverty. You are correct, our government has sent them on some questionable missions and I would imagine most have seen things , and been through stuff that their pay certainly dosent reflect. It's not up to them too question right or wrong.
If any of them are Hibbies I'm glad our club recognises them. After all , their employers treat them like shite.

Most of these troops have signed up for the forces through lack of options and poverty. You are correct, our government has sent them on some questionable missions and I would imagine most have seen things , and been through stuff that their pay certainly dosent reflect. It's not up to them too question right or wrong.
If any of them are Hibbies I'm glad our club recognises them. After all , their employers treat them like shite.

If I was on a PC I'd like this.

There's the guys from the street that go to war and the politicians who send them. I admire the guys that take that job for whatever reason, the politicians ... white feather material.

Should be taking nothing to do with it is my personal opinion!

What about police/fire/social workers/doctors/coastguards etc.etc.etc. who all save and protect lives rather than taking them would seem a reasonable counter argument ?!! Have same opinion about adding a 1 to cost of programmes to go to help for heroes to be honest. 'Not in my name' and all that!

Have huge sympathy with those in wwi /wwii who had no option but to join etc. but can't see how we can glorify and celebrate the british colonial attacks on dozens of countries since then,which in the main have been about resources and money rather than humanitarian motivations.

Don't even get me started on the irish scenario!!oops-Forgot you're not meant to mention the 'I' word or that crucial part of hibs history on here though or you're cried a bigot!!:g:

Says vini from glasgow with a tri colour avatar. :detective:Most of these troops have signed up for the forces through lack of options and poverty. You are correct, our government has sent them on some questionable missions and I would imagine most have seen things , and been through stuff that their pay certainly dosent reflect. It's not up to them too question right or wrong.If any of them are Hibbies I'm glad our club recognises them. After all , their employers treat them like $#@!e.
Cheers bro, appreciated. I tried to reply but had to delete it!! Ive been in the forces 13 years and my reply would have been to offensive!!

Don't even get me started on the irish scenario!!oops-Forgot you're not meant to mention the 'I' word or that crucial part of hibs history on here though or you're cried a bigot!!:g:

I think you might be confusing the bounce with elsewhere on that point?

In fairness it's maybe more prevalent elsewhere-but the whole mindset that you're some ignorant republican 'celtic type' nutcase for honouring our irish heritage had reared it's head with posters on here as well mate, which is why I mention it.

I'm sure the thousands of irishmen and women who gave their lives i both world wars and since, and continue to serve honoured their irish heritage

If any of them are Hibbies I'm glad our club recognises them. After all , their employers treat them like $#@!e.

Not sure what Glasgow or a Tri-colour has to do with the point I was making.

BTW soldiers do have the right to refuse or question orders, which they believe to be illegal. It's in their contracts.

Totally agree J, but it's the "in" thing to support the forces. Total joke imo. Nobody forced them into the job, unlike the first 2 world wars.

Unemployment is a lifestyle choice for many too.

Meant to add tickets have been handed out to schools too.

A total of 147,609 Scots lost their lives in the four-year-long conflict between 1914 and 1918. While Scotland had just a tenth of the UK's population, its soldiers accounted for a fifth of Britain's war dead. Or, to put it another way, twice as many Scots died per head of population than was the case south of the border.

Most men who went off to fight did so willingly and with their spirits high. When war against Germany was declared, the Scottish recruiting offices were so over-run with volunteers that they told would-be soldiers to wait a month and then come back and try again

And no doubt there were more than a few Hibs fans and players who died in the saughter after "volunteering"

These are the men we are remembering on Saturday no matter what your view on the modern day politics of war is!

A total of 147,609 Scots lost their lives in the four-year-long conflict between 1914 and 1918. While Scotland had just a tenth of the UK's population, its soldiers accounted for a fifth of Britain's war dead. Or, to put it another way, twice as many Scots died per head of population than was the case south of the border.

Most men who went off to fight did so willingly and with their spirits high. When war against Germany was declared, the Scottish recruiting offices were so over-run with volunteers that they told would-be soldiers to wait a month and then come back and try again

And no doubt there were more than a few Hibs fans and players who died in the saughter after "volunteering"

These are the men we are remembering on Saturday no matter what your view on the modern day politics of war is!

There were in fact far more than we can imagine. Take for example the Jute workers in Dundee where 50% of the workforce who applied to join the forces were refused because of ill health due to the industry they worked in

Totally agree J, but it's the "in" thing to support the forces. Total joke imo. Nobody forced them into the job, unlike the first 2 world wars.

Maybe not, but it was unemployment and low paid jobs which ended up my son applying. I do get it though about the tickets and the fact most of these guys get paid enough to attend games, but that doesn't dwindle respect for the guys who do sign up.

Obviously if you had a debate about the glamourising the forces in multiple adverts with all the dross about travel the world, play football, ski-ing, mountain climbing etc then I would also see your point. The truth is in the case particularly of the infantry, the goverment target school leavers who have barely tasted life. If I had any anger at all it would be the goverment it as directed at. I am proud to wear a poppy and always will

Sorry Davy, I respect those who put their lives on the line to save others, not kill them. The majority of wars/situations our armed forces get invokved with nowadays is political or money orientated.

I do agree with what your saying, and yes the wars we have been involved in are dubious to say the least. But there is still the need for armies to rise up against tyranny. Not saying it always has to be us though, nor was the Iraq war in particular justified. I remember before the Afghan war though, plenty people wanting us to intervene where the mass persecution of woman was taking place. This is part of the problem, when something is wrong. many people rise up and shout do something...when people do something they get shot down. Problem is when no one does anything about anything you end up with mass genocides anyway.

So lets get this right... hibs are giving out free tickets to employed people? They do get paid aye? Yet hibs refuse to give a discount to unemployed people. Hardly seems fair :dunno:
So you want the unemployed to get discount??? Have a word!!! The only thing they should be doing is getting off their ass to find a job!!!As for the guy who said forces peoples have the right to question orders..... shite!!!! Do it 1st then ask questions, fact!!Tbh I'm very sad that so many of us hate or have question the armed forces. If it wasn't for the boys over in afghan the war would have been more in our face not just a couple of terrorist attacks!!!!!!!!!I personally know people who have gave their lives so we could live outs!!! Maybe it's the simpleminded Southern Irish (nazi sympathisers) or twats who think they are who dislike us..... Naw???

Genuinely saddened!!! Hope I never meet a fellow hibbys' with views like the above!!! Our troops gives their life's to protect our way of living, FACT!!! Hope you all enjoy walking about without a care!!!!

Away and support that poppy dodging team for across yonder!!!

Not sure what Glasgow or a Tri-colour has to do with the point I was making.

BTW soldiers do have the right to refuse or question orders, which they believe to be illegal. It's in their contracts.

Exactly the point i was making- that if you mention hibs irish heritage or similar, your met with accusations of being some west coast republican bigot on here(and elsewhere).

Genuinely saddened!!! Hope I never meet a fellow hibbys' with views like the above!!! Our troops gives their life's to protect our way of living, FACT!!! Hope you all enjoy walking about without a care!!!!

Away and support that poppy dodging team for across yonder!!!

Get a fucking grip of yourself, we all respect what the armed forces do for the country, as for you calling someone on here a Nazi, then you should be fucking ashamed of yourself.

why don't you fuck off you ignorant ****!

a
So you want the unemployed to get discount??? Have a word!!! The only thing they should be doing is getting off their ass to find a job!!!As for the guy who said forces peoples have the right to question orders..... $#@!e!!!! Do it 1st then ask questions, fact!!Tbh I'm very sad that so many of us hate or have question the armed forces. If it wasn't for the boys over in afghan the war would have been more in our face not just a couple of terrorist attacks!!!!!!!!!I personally know people who have gave their lives so we could live outs!!! Maybe it's the simpleminded Southern Irish (nazi sympathisers) or $#@!s who think they are who dislike us..... Naw???
Youre clearly a complete tosser pal!'Simpleminded southern irish, nazi sympathisers' -youre a F@#@in' disgrace to hibs name coming out with p$#$like that!
You made my point for me though,ill gie you that!

LTYC!!!

aYoure clearly a complete tosser pal!'Simpleminded southern irish, nazi sympathisers' -youre a F@#@in' disgrace to hibs name coming out with p$#$like that!You made my point for me though,ill gie you that!
100% agree, that **** is a disgrace.

There are times I wish I'd never started a thread ... would someone get me a taxi? Fuck! that was another.

This all got a bit too political.

It's not their fault they get sent to these places to do what they do.
End of the day they do risk their lives for the idea that is us, they deserve a little given back.

They're not the only ones that deserve something, but it shouldn't detract from the fact they should imo.

It might not be their fault Hammi, but anyone joining the Forces in the last 20 years would have known full well the places they could end up in, imo.

There's loads of good reasons for joining though. It's definitely one of the best ways to get a qualified skill and make a far better wage, they help when you're buying a house etc.

Fighting wars isn't the only reason to sign up, that's just a part of it. So when you have to go through all that I think you shouldn't be criticised when someone gives you something back.

The offer Hibs made was solely about giving these people something back during a time that's set aside to remember the sacrifices these people make. It has nothing to do with whether Hibs, us or anyone else agrees with the wars and actions of others.

So lets get this right... hibs are giving out free tickets to employed people? They do get paid aye?

Yet hibs refuse to give a discount to unemployed people. Hardly seems fair :dunno:

We also have this Defence Discount Service Official - The only official forces discount website for the Armed Forces, families and Veterans

unemployment forces a lot into it...15 to 20K a year isnt enough for what they do but its better than a lot of jobs others like myself did it as an option instead of Uni... as you get experience and an apprenticeship and most will get a good job out of it if you did a technical role in the army.

Strange comments but its not like we asked for these things but it is nice to be recognised for the good that has been done.... so I am all for it.

If yer calling me a nazi you can go and $#@! yourself asshole :pf:I have the greatest respect for the armed forces and what they do.
No wasn't calling you a nazi. My comment Was aimed towards vini!! His comment riled me lost mates in the forces, the comment was about the Southern Irish haters of the crown. Fact is there was a lot of nazi sympathisers during the war. And we have a minority from the west coast of Scotland with their heads kicked in who believe they are Irish and proud!! Sorry of I came across offensive to you wasn't aimed at you not posted on here a lot. I mostly read but was pissed off and pissed not a good combo!!

aYoure clearly a complete tosser pal!'Simpleminded southern irish, nazi sympathisers' -youre a F@#@in' disgrace to hibs name coming out with p$#$like that!You made my point for me though,ill gie you that!
So am a tosser with a point thanks. Hardly a disgrace to hibs tho! As I said I'm my reply to JFTB it wasn't to him but vini who's comment I found offensive lost people I know in conflict and feelings mixed alcohol lead to offensive replys. He comes across as a t1t and someone mentioned his tri colour avatar and being from Glasgow.... Southern Irish nazi sympathisers ( fact is there was a lot of them) or "twats who think they are..... "Think they are Irish cos they are ejits and completely let others lead them astray with their bigot ways!

Get a $#@!ing grip of yourself, we all respect what the armed forces do for the country, as for you calling someone on here a Nazi, then you should be $#@!ing ashamed of yourself. why don't you $#@! off you ignorant ****!
How can you comment for everyone on here? I asked the question maybe it's the west coast idiots with there heads kicked in you know all those bigot twats who shout we hate the crown etc who hate the forces....Might have not come across that way I agree and it wasn't directed at JFTB either!!