For anyone in any doubt about our so called local neutral newspaper

SKII

https://twitter.com/The_FoH/status/363044608353120256

In a week where this institution have been shown up to be as bent as a ten bob note it looks like our local rag is going to up the propaganda tomorrow?

They're never done kicking Hibs in the nuts at the moment...and yet shameful activities at the Bus Shelter effectively get endorsed?

Just in case the hard of thinking at the local paper have failed to grasp the obvious, the fans are not victims in this case. They gloated, goaded and dined out on the Romanov administration. They lorded it, they were arrogant and they were no better than an extra in a Lithuanian version of the Emperor's New Clothes. They are still saying "it was worth it".

Let's stop pretending that this is anything other than a shameful attempt to save an organisation that deserves no less than the Huns. Time for people to make a stand at the EEN's involvement in this whole sorry episode.

Maybe the news is printing a list of unsupervised swing parks in Edinburgh and the details of the latest Gary Glitter concert?

Agree 100%. This "victims" shit is getting more than a bit tiresome.

Johnston Press are an utter joke.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2

In a week where this institution have been shown up to be as bent as a ten bob note it looks like our local rag is going to up the propaganda tomorrow?

They're never done kicking Hibs in the nuts at the moment...and yet shameful activities at the Bus Shelter effectively get endorsed?

Just in case the hard of thinking at the local paper have failed to grasp the obvious, the fans are not victims in this case. They gloated, goaded and dined out on the Romanov administration. They lorded it, they were arrogant and they were no better than an extra in a Lithuanian version of the Emperor's New Clothes. They are still saying "it was worth it".

Let's stop pretending that this is anything other than a shameful attempt to save an organisation that deserves no less than the Huns. Time for people to make a stand at the EEN's involvement in this whole sorry episode.

Unbelievably, gunt fans call it a Hibs rag - never has a decent thing to say about the gunts. It's much the same as their cousins over in govan calling the record the daily rhebel.

How refreshing to actually read the truth, amphibology is their style. I would like to support my local newspaper, but feel they have badly lost their way. The papers today are awful, no wonder they're losing out to the net. Agree with all above.

:applause:

How refreshing to actually read the truth, amphibology is their style. I would like to support my local newspaper, but feel they have badly lost their way. The papers today are awful, no wonder they're losing out to the net. Agree with all above.

:applause:

Amen to that.

It makes a complete mockery of the 'write without fear or favour' mantra they were shouting from the rooftops when the Leveson report was published. 'Write without biting the hand that feeds you' is more commonplace nowadays. Shower o' charlatans, most of them.

" The history books record their successes, four league titles and eight Scottish Cups among them. The sacrifice of both players and fans in the First World War in particular. "

No other clubs lost players and fans during the war, ye know. And if the club was that proud of it they might have paid their debts to the poppy factory instead of having it paid by someone else.

That entire article is stomach-turning pish. There`s really not a lot you can say about it........there are no words.

Incidentally, did the Scotsman/EEN ever print anything similiar to this telling Mercer to back off from Hibs..?

Incredibly desperate, ignorant and ill-informed.

I don't blame the EN for appearing sympathetic to Hearts and their fans, it is merely giving customers what they want, but the FOH do not have sufficient funds to either get the club or run it if they miraculously do.

I've read it again. It looks like it was written by FoH and the EEN have tried to edit it to appear like it is an editorial except they have some of the grammar from what I suspect may have been the original propaganda piece from FoH. Rotten to the core.

How can they even begin to claim they speak on behalf of the Edinburgh public...Edinburgh Evening News - the Hearts' personal Pravda. danni

And, once again, they use WWI in their propaganda. No shame. Really, no shame.

I've read it again. It looks like it was written by FoH and the EEN have tried to edit it to appear like it is an editorial except they have some of the grammar from what I suspect may have been the original propaganda piece from FoH. Rotten to the core.

How can they even begin to claim they speak on behalf of the Edinburgh public...Edinburgh Evening News - the Hearts' personal Pravda. danni

It does indeed. An MP involved in the attempted bribery and intimidation of a rival.....who`d have thought?

I wonder if the party he represents are proud of his efforts.

So Massone the front runner in this handicap then? Foundation of Hearts and / or Edinburgh Evening News seem very concerned that they won't get their grubby mitts on The Savile Dome and he'll get his grubbier mitts on it instead.

It is absolutely scandalous that they would include the sacrifice of people connected to the club during the First World War in their Honours 'won' on the field.

Maybe a thread on the main board giving the many reasons for Hibs fans to boycott the paper is in order....

What's the actual world war story?
Surely they don't believe they were the only club with players who went and fought?

Genuinely don't know this story btw, just that's how they put it across every time I hear about it.

Maybe a thread on the main board giving the many reasons for Hibs fans to boycott the paper is in order....

The club are not quite boycotting the paper...but they no longer cooperate with them to the extent they used to. The paper allowing Hardie to attack Fenlon this week (whether people agree with points in the article) demonstrates where we are at present.

Today is a new low - especially given the timing. Why today when the focus should have been on Lawrie Reilly's funeral?

Pretty much agree with everything you've said, J.

The HoF bid only offers limited recompense to the victims of the fraudulent business empire that caused this whole sorry episode. None of the honest businesses supporting this corrupt crew will get a bean if the offer is accepted. For that reason alone, I will fully support any campaign for them to be liquidated. For what it's worth, if Hibs found themselves in the same situation, I'd be saying exactly the same thing.

And, by printing this article, the EEN are endorsing every dodgy business's right to stiff taxpayers, local authorities and small businesses. I'll never buy another Scotsman, EEN or SoS as long as I live.

The only way Hertz fans can retain any sense of dignity is if a Newco forms and they start again from scratch. I'd actually support them being accepted in the SFPL League 2 if that was to happen.

Surely they don't believe they were the only club with players who went and fought?

Genuinely don't know this story btw, just that's how they put it across every time I hear about it.

Basically, what happened was, umpteen million hearts players and supporters went off to fight the Germans during the First World War while everyone else sat at home on their jacksies doing fuck all.

Hearts steamrollered the Germans 5-1 and that's why we continue to enjoy the freedoms we do today including the right to speak English and enjoy going to the games whenever television coverage dictates.

The club are not quite boycotting the paper...but they no longer cooperate with them to the extent they used to. The paper allowing Hardie to attack Fenlon this week (whether people agree with points in the article) demonstrates where we are at present.

Today is a new low - especially given the timing. Why today when the focus should have been on Lawrie Reilly's funeral?

J, Whilst I don't agree with the article, I do think Hardie was quite entitled to write it, and JP quite entitled to publish it.

the kaiser foresaw the signing of christian nade and immediately surrendered....and thats why we don't speak german

Poor show, again, from the EEN. Portraying Gunts as the victims simply isn't on.
The propaganda from this theiving, immoral shower of shite is truly something to behold.

Absolutely breathtaking. :pf:

the kaiser foresaw the signing of christian nade and immediately surrendered....and thats why we don't speak german

Basically, what happened was, umpteen million hearts players and supporters went off to fight the Germans during the First World War while everyone else sat at home on their jacksies doing $#@! all.

Hearts steamrollered the Germans 5-1 and that's why we continue to enjoy the freedoms we do today including the right to speak English and enjoy going to the games whenever television coverage dictates.

So they're telling the truth? :giggle:

It is their celebration/commemoration of the McCrae's Battalion (16th Royal Scots) who were actually generally known as The Sportsmans' Battalion who fought at the Battle of the Somme in 1916. The battalion was a typical "Pals' Battalion" and was made up of locals from the Edinburgh area but predominantly sports persons of the time (from a range of sports). At that time the British army was really toiling for recruits and there was a concerted campaign to get young men to sign up (you will have seen relics from that era "your country needs you" etc) with a lot of it being very difficult for people to ignore or refuse. Men of fighting age who did not join up were stigmatised in the community if they did not have a satisfactory reason for not signing up.

At that time, sportsmen were getting a hard time for not enlisting and, so the story goes, one day on their daily training run round Haymarket, 11 members of the first team at HMFC, ran to the recruiting office and signed up en masse. They joined the Sportsmans' Battalion.

On July 1st 2016, the "Big Push" on the Somme took place - the British army looking to push back the German lines in a number of places on the Western Front along the Somme river. McCrae's Battalion were at a village called Contalmaison not far from Albert, Newfoundland Park and the Thiepval Memorial (the most visited sites left from WWI). On that day, the battalion suffered horrendous casualties - just as the British Army did as a whole, it was the worst single day in British Army history and still is. In short, they were massacred.

A group marking the history of the Sportsmens' Battalion led by a historian called Jack Alexander, who wrote a book about it, have more recently looked to mark the battlefield at Contalmaison with a cairn made from stones exported from Scotland. It makes reference to the players and fans of other clubs (including 150 of our own) who died on July 1st at Contalmaison but it is predominantly used to commemorate Hearts losses. Each year on July 1st they have a remembrance ceremony over there and wreaths are laid - the last time I was out there I saw wreaths from The Scottish Govt (sent by Salmond), Hibs, Falkirk and Raith in addition to an array of maroon ones.

The singer Robin Laing has recorded a song called Geordie McCrae which is to the tune of Hearts, Hearts, Glorious Hearts...here are the lyrics

'Geordie McCrae'

Kaiser Bill he came marching o'er Belgium and France
To challenge the Empire with warlike advance
But the bravest of Hearts volunteered for the fray
And threw in their lot with old Geordie McCrae!

Come pack up your footballs and scarves of maroon,
Leave all your sweethearts in Auld Reekie toon.
Fall in wi' the lads for they're aff and away,
To take on the bold Hun with old Geordie McCrae

Oh, it's sad we are leaving but happy to go,
Now it's up wi' the Colonel and down wi' the foe,
And when victory's ours we'll be able to say,
That we fought by the side of old Geordie McCrae.

Now five hundred good comrades lie buried in France,
And we who are left have to carry the scars,
Though our wounds might be sair, at the end of the day,
We would gang once again with old geordie McCrae.

We should all decide for ourselves what is romanticised guff and what is fairly certain fact.

As I understand it, Hibs 'allowed it' too?

They never had any choice M, which is exactly my point.

The sad truth of the matter is that on one hand the EEN have a hack who wrote a negative article about Hibs based on fact and opinion, whilst on the other hand are publishing an article that has all the hallmarks of a propoganda mail drop that the Nazis would be proud of. If there was also an article promoting alternative bids for them, I'd have accepted it as a paper taking a balanced view. But they didn't and almost certainly won't. I've no problem with newspapers campaigning for a hospital to remain open, for a worthy charity, etc., but to tie your sail to a mast which stiffs local businesses and taxpayers is quite beyond the pale.

That's why I'll never part with my cash to buy any of the Edinburgh JP publications again.

" The history books record their successes, four league titles and eight Scottish Cups among them. The sacrifice of both players and fans in the First World War in particular. "

No other clubs lost players and fans during the war, ye know. And if the club was that proud of it they might have paid their debts to the poppy factory instead of having it paid by someone else.

That entire article is stomach-turning pish. There`s really not a lot you can say about it........there are no words.

Incidentally, did the Scotsman/EEN ever print anything similiar to this telling Mercer to back off from Hibs..?

Well they werent the only footie team with army connections, and I bet there wasnt as much hoo ha when this team went down the pan http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Third_Lanark_A.C.

I've not clicked on any link on this thread, I refuse to contribute in any kind of way to the EEN/Scotsman and have done ever since they doorstepped my friend and work colleague in the immediate aftermath of the death of her baby...the way they treated her and her partner made me sick to the stomach.I refuse to buy any of their papers or advertise my business in any of their papers either ( which is a shame as they do employ some good guys)

Meh, I'm not going to get too worked up about it. It's a local paper writing an opinion piece. I doubt Massone gives a flying one about the EEN's opinion. It's a badly written loadycrap right enough which is probably why nobody put their name to it. The EEN has been $hite for years.

I've not clicked on any link on this thread, I refuse to contribute in any kind of way to the EEN/Scotsman and have done ever since they doorstepped my friend and work colleague in the immediate aftermath of the death of her baby...the way they treated her and her partner made me sick to the stomach.I refuse to buy any of their papers or advertise my business in any of their papers either ( which is a shame as they do employ some good guys)
Same here. I don't buy it or read it online anymore, it,s pish. I saw the headline in the shop today and shook my head in disgust. On the day an Edinburgh football legend is laid to rest they have a headline about a club that has shafted the taxman and several local businesses and cheated it,s way to limited success. What a rag of a paper.

Can I just say the paper has two departments, News, and Sport... Now if you get a bit of scandal then the News department gets first dibs over the sport department... I believe no love is lost in Johnstone Press between these two departments and every time the News runs this kind of story" usually written by someone who has no interest in football " the sport department are left with the flack with the two clubs..., as the news department don't have to deal with the clubs until the next scandal comes along..., also the gunt stuff love inn with the Jambos just now with certain writers has not gone down to well with other members of staff.. Had the pleasure of spending Saturday night with a few of them and it quite interesting to hear the views.,..

They think Barry Anderson's a twat? You can PM your reply if you like.

The paper is there to make money. The general feeling of the Hearts fans is that they are victims, while there has been a turning of the tide amongst the Hibs support against Pat Fenlon... Hence the recent articles.

It's pathetic, pandering journalism, but it sells. It's indicative of the problem within the Scottish football press - no one is willing to be controversial or hold a harsh opinion that goes against the grain.

Anyone in any doubt about the media bias against Hibs just now need only compare recent articles about us and the gunts.

Yeah we had probably the worst result in our history but the way we were treated you would think we were the devil incarnate. OK we deserved to get slaughtered but the abuse we got was vitriolic.

In the meantime the real devil incarnate, the poppy thieves,
I won't go a full list of their truly sewer level crimes, we all know what they are, are treated as though they're about to get a sainthood. Made worse by our local rag actually allowing them to write the front page!

http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.c...-create-a-fortress-The Saville Dome-1-3035675

More drum banging on behalf of the Gorgie hordes in the run up to a derby... danni
Linky no worky SKII but here it is...

http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.c...-create-a-fortress-The Saville Dome-1-3035675

I must admit I got a tad annoyed at their tubthumping but then I realised that Hibs will hump thum and that Anthony Brown fella, will cry himself to sleep in his bed Sunday night with Scot Wilson bubblin' on his side of the bed and Kyle greetin on the other.

3 adults to a single bed. That's how big they are folks

Edit: That link don't work either. Mibbes they've realised how cringy it all is and are trying to hide it.