Football Lads and Lassies against Fascism

Findlayhibby

This is a new initiative set up in the wake of the Football Lads Alliance and the Tommy Robinson debacle.The right are on the move across the world at the moment so I believe something has to be done about it.I can hear the responce coming in on this site'Aye fascism's bad but the isnae a problem at this club'.Well going by reports from Hibs Chat I would say this opinion is wrong.When players are being called niggers I think it is time to stand up and say no it's not happening at this club.I had a moment of concern myself today(okay you can't always make assumptions just on dress) but when someone turns up at a match in black combats,leather jacket complete with some badge with some sort of fascistic looking two headed eagle and a white t-shirt with some sort of message written in Polish in a Gothic script complete with bonehead I doubt very much he was a member of the lib dems.Anyway that aside the recent attacks in D mains and the arson attack on a Seihk temple is indicative that we no longer live in a happy go lucky society where everyone gets on together.Anyone interested can ask either myself or Newhoose for more information.

There was a chap wearing a native American wool blanket to the game yesterday.. How do you think he votes, Moaty?

Lock them all up, feckin Nazis. The far right is on the move all across America and Europe and needs to be countered before things get really ugly.

Where's eegiebeegie when you need him?
:icon-lol:
I deliberatley follow a total mixed bunch on Twitter(mainly Hibs fans obv) but i don’t block or unfollow because they support Trump/TR/Monarchy/Ireland or chug over Corbyn/Sturgeon/May.
Better to hear everyone’s views rather than live in your own echo chamber i reckon.

:icon-lol:
I deliberatley follow a total mixed bunch on Twitter(mainly Hibs fans obv) but i don’t block or unfollow because they support Trump/TR/Monarchy/Ireland or chug over Corbyn/Sturgeon/May.
Better to hear everyone’s views rather than live in your own echo chamber i reckon.
Yep. I miss eegiebeegie.

All I’ll say is,from the near 1k folk that I follow,that Intolerance is far from exclusive to the Right wing.
Better just to label someone a Tit rather than Left or Right.

The fact that the guy ha d a badge on with a double headed eagle carrying a fasces didn't indicate to me that he was a member of the tufty club.

didn't get a good view of it, but it was definitely an eagle carrying the fasces i.e. the bound bundle with the axe in the center used by the fascists

Isn't the two headed eagle a symbol of Austria or Albania?

Just Wiki'd it.
Double-headed eagle - Wikipedia
When Switzerland played Serbia in the world cup one of the Swiss players who was of Albanian descent scored. He then ran towards the Serb fans linking his hands to make the sign of the double eagle. The Serbs went radge and this caused a diplomatic incident. The Serbs and Albanians are both mega sensitive over Kosovo. They take things like double eagle symbols seriously in these parts.

of all the anti fascist demos i have been on in recent years I have never seen any more than shouting at the fascists from behind barriers 100 yards apart.I have however seen video evidence of Tommy Robinson and co.running amok in places like Westminster and Luton etc. The so called head of the campaign for free speech has a record sheet as long as my arm for affray,trying to enter the USA using a false passport;,hitting his partner,; and hindering the course of justice at least twice.
Yaxley Lennon(which may be his real name,it's kind of hard to pin down) is no more than an attention seeking fascist thug.

of all the anti fascist demos i have been on in recent years I have never seen any more than shouting at the fascists from behind barriers 100 yards apart.I have however seen video evidence of Tommy Robinson and co.running amok in places like Westminster and Luton etc. The so called head of the campaign for free speech has a record sheet as long as my arm for affray,trying to enter the USA using a false passport;,hitting his partner,; and hindering the course of justice at least twice.
Yaxley Lennon(which may be his real name,it's kind of hard to pin down) is no more than an attention seeking fascist thug.
He also did time for mortgage fraud.

Watching the marches and protests here, the left and ANTIFA instigate just as much if not more violence than the right.

Hold on this sounds in line with Trump's crap after Charlottesville when he said "there's blame on both sides," referring to the rally-goers — including neo-Nazis and members of the KKK — and the anti Nazis. In clashes at least 19 people were injured and a counter protester was killed.
Thank fuck there are decent people standing up against these bastards....

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

Your shit son will not wear on this side of the Pond mate.

See the would be Hitler on the above videos bubbling like a big bairn.

"

Hold on this sounds in line with Trump's crap after Charlottesville when he said "there's blame on both sides," referring to the rally-goers — including neo-Nazis and members of the KKK — and the anti Nazis. In clashes at least 19 people were injured and a counter protester was killed.
Thank fuck there are decent people standing up against these bastards....

Your shit son will not wear on this side of the Pond mate.

I could pull plenty YouTube videos showing both sides instigating violence. I don't discriminate, both sets of these protesters are fucking scum!

Sorry Torto I think you're way off here. These are bonafide fascists we're talking about here and you seem to be suggesting they are just left to do their stuff or else standing against them makes us as bad as them. How does trying to stop racism and fascism make you scum?
Even on the question of violence, you can't equate violence against people because of what they are (black, muslim etc) and violence against people because of what they do (attacking people because they are black, muslim etc). Its a completely false equivalence and as Big G said its Trumpian.

Sorry Torto I think you're way off here. These are bonafide fascists we're talking about here and you seem to be suggesting they are just left to do their stuff or else standing against them makes us as bad as them. How does trying to stop racism and fascism make you scum?
Even on the question of violence, you can't equate violence against people because of what they are (black, muslim etc) and violence against people because of what they do (attacking people because they are black, muslim etc). Its a completely false equivalence and as Big G said its Trumpian.

Both sets of "protesters" are just looking for a tear up. Everybody has the right to free speech and to believe in whatever they want, wether it's racism, fascism, gay pride events, doesn't matter. Either the left or the right turning up to the others peaceful protests achieves nothing but violence. They aren't changing anything, actually just making it more relevant. Solution. Completely black it out. No media attention, no news, nothing.

Its not about being free to believe what you want, its about whether you have the right to intimidate and attack people that your beliefs tell you are lesser human beings because thats what white supremacists and fascists do. Your argument suggests that, for example, those that stood against the blackshirts on cable street were just as bad as the blackshirts, you know, those guys who supported Hitler, or that those who opposed the NF and BNP and Combat 18 when they were literally killing people because of the colour of their skin were just as bad as them because we wouldn't cede the streets to them, or as Big G suggests neo-nazis in the US who believe that anyone not aryan is a lesser human being, a sub-human is the same as a non neo-nazi who doesn't think that. Like I said there is no moral equivalence.

Both sets of "protesters" are just looking for a tear up.
I think that is true in a lot of these incidents. I suspect a lot of people show up to these counter protests with motives others than genuine concern for the issue involved. More of a fashion statement than a political statement.

'Fighting fascism is a waste of time' both sides are as bad as each other' 'the right o free speech is sacrosanct' I seem to remember reading the same kind of arguments being said by our leaders back in the early twenties just after the beer hall putsch.Hitler must be allowed to make his speeches, the commies are worse,just as well my dad's generation ignored this bullshit in'39 and took up arms against this filth.
Just as well my like stood up against the fash in Cable St and just as well the likes of myself and big G stood up to the NF and then the BNP. ,At a time when the BNP were picking up more votes than the Liberals and ran councils such as the Isle of Dogs.
All the Football Lads and Lassies against Fascism are doing is putting up stickers on lamposts and saying we don't want FLA to get a foothold in Scotland.But ignore the fash at your peril folks.

Its not about being free to believe what you want, its about whether you have the right to intimidate and attack people that your beliefs tell you are lesser human beings because thats what white supremacists and fascists do. Your argument suggests that, for example, those that stood against the blackshirts on cable street were just as bad as the blackshirts, you know, those guys who supported Hitler, or that those who opposed the NF and BNP and Combat 18 when they were literally killing people because of the colour of their skin were just as bad as them because we wouldn't cede the streets to them, or as Big G suggests neo-nazis in the US who believe that anyone not aryan is a lesser human being, a sub-human is the same as a non neo-nazi who doesn't think that. Like I said there is no moral equivalence.

My argument is that neither side has the right to instigate violence, no matter what their beliefs are. And all I was pointing out was that both sides instigate violence and neither is any better than each other.

I think that is true in a lot of these incidents. I suspect a lot of people show up to these counter protests with motives others than genuine concern for the issue involved. More of a fashion statement than a political statement.

In my experience, people who turn up to anti-fascist protests are highly committed. Many have had first hand experience of racist abuse themselves. Others have seen it and are disgusted by it.

My experience of people on the other side is that they are often less committed and many have been swept along just to be one of the crowd. I remember an incident one day where a young skinhead said something horribly racist in the pub thinking he was in the company of nationalists. Unfortunately for him he was in the company of AFA redskins. He was roundly set about by the older lads. He was then picked up, dusted down and sat upon a bar stool and bought many a drink while it was explained to him exactly where he went wrong. After that, he remained part of the group and was even heard explaining to other youngsters why racism was evil.

My argument is that neither side has the right to instigate violence, no matter what their beliefs are. And all I was pointing out was that both sides instigate violence and neither is any better than each other.

Ok, let me give you a micro example and see where you stand, and this is a real one. Bunch of guys are walking down the street and they see blokes circling and harassing a young black lad, though no punches have yet been thrown. They have the option to either keep on walking or see if the lad needs help. They choose the latter. There follows lots of verbal back and forth and eventually it ends in a skirmish. In your view were both groups of lads as bad as each other?

Obviously the group that are harassing the black lad are out of order. Any group harassing and bullying someone is out of order. My point was to do with these so called "protesters" showing up and just looking to incite violence.

What's wrong with actively looking to stamp out extremism? It's the only language most of them understand and if they are ignored history has shown what happens.

He would just shoot them

What's wrong with actively looking to stamp out extremism? It's the only language most of them understand and if they are ignored history has shown what happens.

So your basically saying it's okay to use violence against people that have a different opinion than you? I'm not sticking up for either side here. I'm merely saying that on this side of the pond with the recent protests, BOTH sides have actively incited violence.

If that opinion incites violence against others i'm all for meeting it head on. Thousands on the streets in Germany recently giving banned salutes and slogans. Are they entitled to say what they want?

So it's okay to incite violence against these people because they are saluting and using banned slogans?