Festive telly

Davy

Having not watched it on hogmany for years....bar a few mins last year, I decided to give it a try this year..surely it cant be that pathetic year after year? 10 minutes in and it really is that bad :coffee1:

Having not watched it on hogmany for years....bar a few mins last year, I decided to give it a try this year..surely it $%#@ be that pathetic year after year? 10 minutes in and it really is that bad :coffee1:

Absolute dig shite. Time for the BBC to put it out it’s misery

Did anyone catch this on BBC1. Think it was on before Only an excuse.
Old t.v. ads.
Really good, brought back a few memories. The Caledonia ad was good but the Irn Bru 'fanny ' one was the best (wonder if Warburton would have been included in it if he had been on the scene then).
Don't know if it's on BBC iPlayer but worth a watch, specially if you're still half cut from last night.
Happy New year.

Worth a watch.

I'm quite surprised how things can change in such a short time.

Irn Bru ran an ad in 2007 and it went down quite well. They ran it a year later to massive complaints from the LGBT community. The one where the perfect looking familys mum used to be a man.

All i watched last night was , Spectre, literally the 10 second countdown , fireworks, then Kevin Bridges....Bridges was brilliant ?????

I was waiting for the how pish was Only an Excuse thread.

Still watched it mind you, it's like collective self flagellation for the nation. A very Scottish way to finish the New Year I guess.

What struck me this year was that there weren't even many jokes, just statements delivered in a silly voice (Klopp, The Dr. Who/Brexit sketch). It was astoundingly poor.

Good to see Petrie as a character in it mind you.

I enjoyed the caricature of our ane Ian Blackford. As two headed boy says, its a collective self flagellation for the Scottish nation. Then there was Susan Calman afterwards, jeez.

I did enjoy the Hibby Jack Docherty and his advert show though. Brought back some good memories.

The night was saved by the ever excellent Jools Holland.

Worth a watch.

I'm quite surprised how things can change in such a short time.

Irn Bru ran an ad in 2007 and it went down quite well. They ran it a year later to massive complaints from the LGBT community. The one where the perfect looking familys mum used to be a man.
Still like that one.

Maybe gi' Only an Excuse a miss but check out Selling Scotland, shown on NY Eve, if you have I player. It's a brilliant compilation of Scottish tv adverts. Honestly it's a must see.... How many Bouncers ken whit a capstan is, from Capstan Full strength cigarettes(obviously without Googlin it?). Clue there wis one shown on the packet....

Ma Dad smoked 'em for years and if he couldn't get 'em, then Players (with the sailor on the front) and yes he was in the navy during the war... :28:

So I always knew what a capstan was... until now when I looked it up and find it wasn't a bollard after all :26:so thanks for the education!

Me. Used to save up old cigarette packets when I was a laddie. Capstan, Players, Willie Woodbine (my Dad's favourite) Craven "A", Camel, cannae remember many more. My mother hated them because I would usually find them in the gutter. A wonderful form of immunisation; that and getting covered in mud.

When I was convener of Shop Stewards in Leith Docks at SAI. Dobsons Tankers would come in to fill up with Nitric or Sulphuric acids . This driver in particular smoked Capstan Full Strength. Sort of orange packet. Would give me one,and although at that time I had smoked, Afghan, Morrocan, and rather non PC (I've used an racist word) Black. These fags knocked me sideways and heid spinning.

Just watched Michael Hutchence documentary on bbc, always thought he was a bit of a plum but associated with some great looking women, did not know he had a knock on the head in 90s in Copenhagen which really affected him.