Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Crime

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

Haruki

Saying as we're having an IW day.

Which book of his do you like best?

I know Marabou Stork Nightmares resonates with a lot of Hibees but I didn't think it was his best. Not even close.

My vote will have to go to "Trainspotting". A life changing book to my young eyes. Captured so much of what was going on in Scotland at the time. I've never had smack but Irvine caught the time of my youth perfectly. Brilliant book.

In my eyes he's only come close when he sticks to the same formula. "Glue" was brilliant. "Porno" not quite, but nearly. IMHO his attampts at diversifacation haven't worked?

He's a brilliant short storyist and the collections have been very readable. But I could throw a blanket on a few of his other novels. Didn't like them that much. But that's just me.

He's still one of the funniest writers out and he's ours. That'll do.

God bless Irvine.

Glue was amazing. The way he tied it all together blew my mind. Thinking about re-reading it because I'm sure I missed some things the first time around.

I've thoroughly enjoyed every one of Irvine Welsh's books and short stories but his later ones I find harder to "get into" whereas "Trainspotting" stands out for me as "unputdownable" and remains my favourite. I still revisit the "Acid House" video occasionally though. Also bought "Reheated Cabbage" yesterday and started reading it last night - so far so good.

Theres a lot of glue lovers on this forum:lookaround:

Never read Glue or Porno and I only think I read Acid House. I must go out and buy them so I can join in this thread properly. Reheated Cabbage sounds like a must read as well.

God, How I love IW's work...

As someone who could damn near narrate his books without a script, I would go for Porno as my favourite.

The Trainspotting and Glue gangs together! How could that fail..

I first read it by a Las Vegas poolside in 2002 (I'm not showing off, my kid brother lives in the US) , and the scene where Terry has his "accident" had me gasping for air! The lifeguard by the pool had to put me in the recovery position as I was beginning to turn purple..Honest!

All his works are excellent, and his latest "Crime" shows he can do entirely serious as well.

Some parts of his books are painted so vividly they sear the memory, my favourite bits are -

1. Juice Terry's accident in Porno.
2. Roy Strang being sent for chips in MSN.
3. Bruce Robinson making the phone calls to "Boonty Blades" and setting up "Brother Blades" in Filth.
4. The resturant scene in Trainspotting :spew
5. The Hibs-Hun game in Glue.
6. The Whole Kathryn Joiner escapade in Glue.
7. Christmas with Blind **** in A Smart ****.
8. The Rod Stewart scene in Porno

I could go on and on...

Irvine - We are not fecking worthy!!

:worthy

Theres a lot of glue lovers on this forum:lookaround:

Never read Glue or Porno and I only think I read Acid House. I must go out and buy them so I can join in this thread properly. Reheated Cabbage sounds like a must read as well.

Remind me the next time we are likely to be golfing and I can lend them to you...:Bible:

Could get a wee bounce tourney together for next weekend Stu.

You
Me
Tiger
Osmo
Ginty
Cavalier

Forza will be way at J and NCs wedding so that rules him out.

Anyone else?

Power is my caddy though.

What do you think?

God, How I love IW's work...

As someone who could damn near narrate his books without a script, I would go for Porno as my favourite.

The Trainspotting and Glue gangs together! How could that fail..

I first read it by a Las Vegas poolside in 2002 (I'm not showing off, my kid brother lives in the US) , and the scene where Terry has his "accident" had me gasping for air! The lifeguard by the pool had to put me in the recovery position as I was beginning to turn purple..Honest!

All his works are excellent, and his latest "Crime" shows he can do entirely serious as well.

Some parts of his books are painted so vividly they sear the memory, my favourite bits are -

1. Juice Terry's accident in Porno.
3. Bruce Robinson making the phone calls to "Boonty Blades" and setting up "Brother Blades" in Filth.
4. The resturant scene in Trainspotting :spew
5. The Hibs-Hun game in Glue.
6. The Whole Kathryn Joiner escapade in Glue.
7. Christmas with Blind **** in A Smart ****.
8. The Rod Stewart scene in Porno

I could go on and on...

Irvine - We are not fecking worthy!!

Was the polisman in Filth not Bruce Robertson? Maybe a character based on another shitehouse called Johnstone(sp) some bouncers of a certain age will know who I mean.

why are the acid house, ecstasy, if you liked school........ and reheated cabbage not in it, because they are compilations?

if you discount trainspotting which is bar far his best book i would go for Filth just for the sheer horrible unpleasantness of Robbo, liked bedroom secrets for its Dorian Gray storyline.

Could get a wee bounce tourney together for next weekend Stu.

You
Me
Tiger
Osmo
Ginty
Cavalier

Forza will be way at J and NCs wedding so that rules him out.

Anyone else?

Power is my caddy though.

What do you think?

Charming :tuttut:

I'm not available next weekend ..

me and Mrs SG are supposed to be going away for a night or two...

it's our 28th wedding anniversary on the day that J & NC get spliced...

(I could try and tell Mrs SG that the 28th anniversary is the "Golf" anniversary.. but I dinny think she'll fall for it!)

This thread got me reading about Welsh's work that I haven't read yet, and I saw he's writing a prequel to Trainspotting, called Skagboys. It follows Sick Boy and Renton and how they descended into heroin addiction. Should be a great read.

Not sure if people here have heard of it, but this was the first I've seen of it. Set to release in 2009. Can't wait! :yeah:

Skagboys - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

This thread got me reading about Welsh's work that I haven't read yet, and I saw he's writing a prequel to Trainspotting, called Skagboys. It follows Sick Boy and Renton and how they descended into heroin addiction. Should be a great read.

Not sure if people here have heard of it, but this was the first I've seen of it. Set to release in 2009. Can't wait! :yeah:

Skagboys - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

A lot of the French characters become more prominent

what french characters?

This ones totally true when your a wee laddie round here,I've progressed to falling out the pub now :raisehat:

A lot of the French characters become more prominent

what french characters?

I was wondering the same thing. Was the big time dealer in Trainspotting French? Can't recall any French people, and I assume they would be from Trainspotting, since Skagboys will be its prequel. Perhaps Welsh had these characters planned out but never squeezed them in the first book? :detective:

Glue - quite simply the funniest book I have ever read, and the only one which has had me burst out laughing whilst reading! :giggle: :applause:

I was wondering the same thing. Was the big time dealer in Trainspotting French? Can't recall any French people, and I assume they would be from Trainspotting, since Skagboys will be its prequel. Perhaps Welsh had these characters planned out but never squeezed them in the first book? :detective:

I wonder was that supposed to be "fringe characters"

This ones totally true when your a wee laddie round here,I've progressed to falling out the pub now :raisehat:

Was the same when I was growing up..Getting sent for a "Black pudding supper" by your dad was one of the trials of Hercules for me. Big Coash Morrison and Danny Doig always hung about the entrance.

"Hiy you" they would roar ...

"Keep walking..keep walking" thought SH.

"Gees a chip, ya ****" they continued.

"Act deaf...Act deaf..."

Thank feck my dad went on a diet...phew

Acid hoose when ' happy howden ' is gettin done up the ass by his misses and recitin the auld hibs team ! Pure quality naw ?
(Posted fae ma mobile fone)

Glue - quite simply the funniest book I have ever read, and the only one which has had me burst out laughing whilst reading! :giggle: :applause:

Totally

I read it on holiday and its quite embarrassing when you are howling and laughing, look up and folk are starin at you:wow:

Trainspotting was an excellent read. Acid House and Maribou were pretty decent. Glue was terrible, very pedestrian mostly with the occasional flash of good stuff.

MSN for me although I think Trainspotting is just as good. I've enjoyed everything he's written although I thought Bedroom Secrets was pish. If you liked Work had some good stories in it, Kingdom of Fife was quality.

Danny Boyle is reportedly thinking of making a movie out of Porno...

Maybe they could cast me as "Juice" Terry as I have some of his physical attributes???

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/entertainment/8247815.stm

Robert Carlyle seems keen to reprise his Begbie! :taz:

I nearly choked on my Pizza Supper when I read that BBC headline. Thought that "Subo" was earmarked for some blue movies. These West Lothian lassies, they are up for anything.

Back on topic,

1 Marabou
2 Trainspotting
3 Porno

I think with MSN you need to be a Hibby to really appreciate that book and its parodies:

Sandy Jamieson (Jimmy Sandison)
Conrad Donaldson QC (Donald Findlay)
Lockart Dawson (Fat Tory bastard Mercer, who owns the Jambola Game Reserve and wants to take over the debt-ridden neighboring Reserve, Emerald Forest)

In fact, the parody of Mercer in Chapter 3 is fucking hilarious. And unless you are a Hibby (or indeed a Jambo) I doubt you would find it mildly funny.

:ura:

I nearly choked on my Pizza Supper when I read that BBC headline. Thought that "Subo" was earmarked for some blue movies. These West Lothian lassies, they are up for anything.

Back on topic,

1 Marabou
2 Trainspotting
3 Porno

I think with MSN you need to be a Hibby to really appreciate that book and its parodies:

Sandy Jamieson (Jimmy Sandison)
Conrad Donaldson QC (Donald Findlay)
Lockart Dawson (Fat Tory bastard Mercer, who owns the Jambola Game Reserve and wants to take over the debt-ridden neighboring Reserve, Emerald Forest)

In fact, the parody of Mercer in Chapter 3 is fucking hilarious. And unless you are a Hibby (or indeed a Jambo) I doubt you would find it mildly funny.

:ura:

His manservant "Diddy"!!! :yams: