Fat.

Findlayhibby

As you can see from my pic I wasn't always.That's me aged about 16/17 at about 5 feet 10 and 9 1/2 stone.
Each decade I've put on approximately a stone.I was at Hibs fit thing yesterday and was weighed, I'm now 56 and weigh 88kg or 13 stone 12.How depressing is that!
I've been told I need to eat 18 thousand calories a day and do at least 10 thousand steps.I made a start today and avoided ,cakes, biscuits and ice cream.The steps have been a disaster,I was going to go for a walk round Arthur Seat, but then I saw the weather.
But I hope to have lost something by the time Monday comes round. I'm not saying it is easy.

Wish my diet was 18000 calories a day.

I’m back on the diet with an aim of losing a pound a week. Let us know how you get on.

As you can see from my pic I wasn't always.That's me aged about 16/17 at about 5 feet 10 and 9 1/2 stone.
Each decade I've put on approximately a stone.I was at Hibs fit thing yesterday and was weighed, I'm now 56 and weigh 88kg or 13 stone 12.How depressing is that!
I've been told I need to eat 18 thousand calories a day and do at least 10 thousand steps.I made a start today and avoided ,cakes, biscuits and ice cream.The steps have been a disaster,I was going to go for a walk round Arthur Seat, but then I saw the weather.
But I hope to have lost something by the time Monday comes round. I'm not saying it is easy.
You are overweight, but not disastrously so. The big thing is the exercise. Keep moving. Regardless of the weather!

The best thing I ever bought was a Fitbit. It makes sure you get off your bahookey, rain or shine. Even during the Beast from the East it got me determined to get outside. Most steps I've done in a day is about 65,000. Target I've set for a normal day is 11,000 minimum. I've managed to get there every day for 3 years and most days it's usually 15-18,000 I do.
The health benefits are top drawer. Most of it is walking but I go out jogging after work and at weekends to destress and clear the head. The 30 mins daily "active exercise" part of the Fitbit app takes care of that. I've also got brave enough to tackle very long distance endurance walks for charity. Walk like John Wayne the following few days as old age doesn't come itself but it's rewarding feeling able to do these things when your next big birthday number has a 6 in front of it.

I have being doing the Cambridge diet. You may have saw the the prog on tv about the priest and others.
I have thyroid problems so losing weight is a struggle in itself. So I stopped eating shite and drinking. And stopped smoking and erm the other bad stuff.
I started in May.. 14st 7lbs. Bordering on obscene :(
Weighed tonight at 11 10lbs in the healthy range. My target was 12 stone.
Will power and healthy eating weighing everything and calorie counting and amazing help and support from a dear friend.

Now its up to me to maintain.

I joined Edinburgh Leisure on Monday and plan to use the facilities and classes to the full to keep trim.

You can do this moaty but ffs do not eat 18000 cals :giggle:

The best thing I ever bought was a Fitbit. It makes sure you get off your bahookey, rain or shine. Even during the Beast from the East it got me determined to get outside. Most steps I've done in a day is about 65,000. Target I've set for a normal day is 11,000 minimum. I've managed to get there every day for 3 years and most days it's usually 15-18,000 I do.
The health benefits are top drawer. Most of it is walking but I go out jogging after work and at weekends to destress and clear the head. The 30 mins daily "active exercise" part of the Fitbit app takes care of that. I've also got brave enough to tackle very long distance endurance walks for charity. Walk like John Wayne the following few days as old age doesn't come itself but it's rewarding feeling able to do these things when your next big birthday number has a 6 in front of it.
Fitbits are ace eh.

Thinking of upgrading my charge 2 to charge 3.

The new one looks ace.

I have being doing the Cambridge diet. You may have saw the the prog on tv about the priest and others.
I have thyroid problems so losing weight is a struggle in itself. So I stopped eating shite and drinking. And stopped smoking and erm the other bad stuff.
Will power and healthy eating weighing everything and calorie counting and amazing help and support from a dear friend.

I joined Edinburgh Leisure on Monday and plan to use the facilities and classes to the full to keep trim.

oops!

Your looking fit Jamie.All that running up and down the stairs stuff must be doing some good.

I'm trying to get down to your weight Moaty. I'm nearly 56, 5'11 and I'm currently 17 stones. About 6 months ago the wife went to Scottish Slimmers. I didn't, but I wasn't going to eat what I did before so I could support her. Apart from a blip a couple of weeks ago when I was on holiday in Italy, my belt is in by 3 notches having changed my diet. I've got 2 Irish Setters so that takes care of the exercise.
Target weight on schedule for end of January.

Honestly?

Weight loss is easier than a lot of people make it. The reality is that most people are trying to sell you something so, as a result, they'll tell you they're sharing you a 'secret'. They're not. They're ripping you off. If you were to eat, say, 2,600 calories a day, but cut out all the garbage, then you'll steadily lose weight in most cases.

Light exercise and eating properly. Don't pay people for 'advice' you don't really need.

[Post edited thanks to @stairways_second_coming and @Dub. I don't always type wonderfully. >.<]

Honestly?

Weight loss is easier than a lot of people make it. The reality is that most people are trying to sell you something so, as a result, they'll tell you they're sharing you a 'secret'. They're not. They're ripping you off. If you were to eat, say, 16,000 calories a day, but cut out all the garbage, then you'll steadily lose weight in most cases.

Light exercise and eating properly. Don't pay people for 'advice' you don't really need.
You'd have nade's build and levein ticker by the end of the month on 16000

2500 calories a day is the average recommended daily intake for a man. I suspect if you went for a diet on the intake you've mentioned you'd soon be a blimp.
Honestly?

Weight loss is easier than a lot of people make it. The reality is that most people are trying to sell you something so, as a result, they'll tell you they're sharing you a 'secret'. They're not. They're ripping you off. If you were to eat, say, 16,000 calories a day, but cut out all the garbage, then you'll steadily lose weight in most cases.

Sent from my F5121 using Tapatalk

That’s not dissimilar to me but slightly different order and without the spectacular end result. Thyroid problem, Fitbit, stopped smoking years ago and now stopped drinking since last year.

Weight loss wasn’t happening but I’ve kept at my fitness pal and trying to do 5000 steps a day and 10000 at weekends and slowly like a lumbering tanker I’ve started to arrest the weight gain of the lady two years and losing weight again.

The biggest struggle will be staying at your target weight. Oh so easy for the weight to go back on......then some.

That’s not dissimilar to me but slightly different order and without the spectacular end result. Thyroid problem, Fitbit, stopped smoking years ago and now stopped drinking since last year.

Weight loss wasn’t happening but I’ve kept at my fitness pal and trying to do 5000 steps a day and 10000 at weekends and slowly like a lumbering tanker I’ve started to arrest the weight gain of the lady two years and losing weight again.
Well done B, I actually started in May 2016... weighing in at 16 4lbs. No energy and lethargic as hell.
No I have more energy and have just done a 45 set routine prepped by a coach at EL.
I feel better althou sometimes need reminded that I am no longer "fat" and maybe a bit tooooo skinny.

Now off for a swim and steam and sauna

Best of Luck to you. It's hard but worth the results. Bit different for me but i had 2st baby weight to lose after my son was born in 2008, i was 11.11 and i am only 5'4, i used MyFitnessPal to lose it, tracked everything i ate for 6 month and it came off, i have now maintained in the bottom half of the 9st region for 6yrs. Yes you will have days you cave and eat rubbish but by tracking it, it gives you a kick up the backside and you realise it wasn't worth it. Especially at the end of each day the Myfitnesspal app tells you what you would weigh if you continued to eat what you did that day :icon-redface: it gives you a calorie goal based on your level of activity etc too. Lots of water aswell. 2-2.5litres is key to shift it. Yes refrain from all the nasties and try to meal plan and cook from scratch, it isn't as difficult as it seems at the start. Once you get into it,the first 2 weeks can be brutal,after that you hit the zone. Good Luck :)

Glad to report I walked right round Arthur Seat today.That's got to be 10,000 steps shirley. Spent a good half hour trying to download an exercise app onto my phone, not happening,don't know whether it's because my mum's got a low wifi speed or because i got a cheap phone or both.However Newhoose says I can get a stepometer from the 99p shop so will head there when I can.

I'm a feckin midget 5,3 according to my doc and a couple of years ago I was 13 st 6.
Due to Coeliac disease and my fitbit I got down to 11st dead.After over eating as a symptom of depression and sitting doing hee haw I'm back up to 11st 8.
Need to stop my destructive habits and get back to going my long walks.
@moathibby I'd be surprised if a walk round Arthur's seat was over 10k steps but that depends where you started

I'd be surprised if a walk round Arthur's seat was over 10k steps but that depends where you started
The Radical Road is roughly a 3 mile loop. So maybe 6000 or so steps. Definitely not 10,000 unless there was some sort of significant detour. It's one of my Sunday runs.

I'm a feckin midget 5,3 according to my doc and a couple of years ago I was 13 st 6.
Due to Coeliac disease and my fitbit I got down to 11st dead.After over eating as a symptom of depression and sitting doing hee haw I'm back up to 11st 8.
@moathibby I'd be surprised if a walk round Arthur's seat was over 10k steps but that depends where you started
Findlay Grove,then headed back there via Hibs club.

I needn't have worried, with Theresa May's food czar I'll lose weight nae bother.
Tap dancing was they 7 Wifies will keep the weight aff ye....forget the app....yer Ma's wifi signal would never go as far as Arthur's seat anyway

5'11, 14 stone and change at the moment. Its all lard too, none of that useful muscle shite. Brought it down from about 16 stone at one point a couple of years ago (relationship weight is a killer) but hit a plateau and haven't shifted for a while.

The biggest problem I have is the cocktail of depression/unemployment/living alone, which makes going out and filling my days spontaneously pretty rare. Sitting in, watching sport and eating jaffa cakes is the path of least resistance, and its partly the lack of exercise but mostly the boredom eating that's doing for me. Should have my driving licence in a month or two, though, and I think that'll get me out and about more. (I live up a big hill and the tram stop is up a different hill, which you'd think would be handy free exercise but it means there's no escape from being a sweaty mess when I go anywhere. Even my actually-play-a-sport mates sound asthmatic when they visit)

Tap dancing was they 7 Wifies will keep the weight aff ye....forget the app....yer Ma's wifi signal would never go as far as Arthur's seat anyway
My mum's got the cheapest wifi we could find through the post office,i'm lucky to get a signal up in my old bedroom.

Disney sound as if ye hae too much weight to lose.Ye'll no half feel the could this winter if he lose much mare than ye hae....ye dinnae want take end up as Michael Flatline

5'11, 14 stone and change at the moment. Its all lard too, none of that useful muscle shite. Brought it down from about 16 stone at one point a couple of years ago (relationship weight is a killer) but hit a plateau and haven't shifted for a while.

The biggest problem I have is the cocktail of depression/unemployment/living alone, which makes going out and filling my days spontaneously pretty rare. Sitting in, watching sport and eating jaffa cakes is the path of least resistance, and its partly the lack of exercise but mostly the boredom eating that's doing for me. Should have my driving licence in a month or two, though, and I think that'll get me out and about more. (I live up a big hill and the tram stop is up a different hill, which you'd think would be handy free exercise but it means there's no escape from being a sweaty mess when I go anywhere. Even my actually-play-a-sport mates sound asthmatic when they visit)

Have you thought about getting a dog? Company and will make you get out the house in all weathers. I’m a cat person but will definitely get me a dug if or when my work becomes a bit more predictable.

I'm mainly at my mum'sand a dugs a no no in chez Moat.I don't think my mum could cope with another dog a t her age,she's got mobility and stability problems with vertigo,I spend a deal of time catching her in the kitchen keeling over.She has a hard enough time coping with a cat.My sister and brother with neices and nephews visit during the weekend quite often with dogs in towe,quite often I find that enough.

Sounds like you're in a bad old rut.I'm not the most industrious person there's ever been, but I find that work, no matter how mind numbing or pointless it may seem,even if it really pisses me off, gives life a structure and routine that stops me thinking about myself: if you're even busy cribbing about the work, you don't have time to think about it.It's therapeutic in that regard.I hate what I do for a living, but the botheration and nuisance of doing it has helped stop me from going under from a tragedy that struck last year.....that and the inspirational lyrics of S.O.L.

Had ballooned to over 18 stone, usual gradual gain where it creeps up without you really thinking about it. Few years back I could lose weight easily. Now with Thyroid issues, diabetes type 2 and age it wasn't enough to do weights at a gym. Radically changed my diet and went out running. Am 15 and half now so little more to go but I am tall so can carry that ok. Age does make a huge difference though and it is incredibly difficult when you hit the proverbial wall and cannot seem to get under certain weights. Don't really intend to give up drinking though, but will space them out further.

Glad to report I've lost a wee bit weight since last weigh in,only half a kilo but hey!But I'm not going to try and kid you I prefer ice cream to an apple,and my mum's malt loaf is very nice.But the long walks have continued,but what's his name has upped the step count to 11 thousand.Guess I'm going 3 times round Arthur seat.

Try and keep active pal, easy to say I know..considered a bit of volunteering in something you are interested in while out of work?

I'm 5' 10" and currently sitting at about 13 stone for mainly the same reason as you. My hips and back are currently goosed so I cant go out walking otherwise I definitely would. Instead, I sit in the house smoking weed and watching shite telly and theres almost alway a packet of biscuits or a bar of chocolate within easy reach. I try to counterbalance this with having a lot of salad, [mainly consisting of tomato, cucumber and olives, instead of chips or potatoes with my dinner.

I’m 5’6 and working down from 14 stone - I suppose I was a Scottish Ben Johnston

I'm 5ft 10 and 98kg... When I had my medical at work recently for my 50th I was told I was clinically obese for my height to weight ratio and I should only be about 12 stone. I've not been 12 stone since I was 12 and even now I have a low body fat index. I'm big-shouldered and heavy boned with very little fat. These medical indicators don't take into account body shape and are just standard measurements treating everyone the same.

Maybe go down the route of a fitness dvd etc, have a look at T25 or Insanity or something along these lines. If you can get into the routine of doing a session every night then you’ll feel much better for it, energy levels will go up and ultimately it will make you feel good about yourself, being positive about where u want go and how u get there will be a massive moral booster.