Election Opinions

LEGENDARY RADGE
Its happening.

Mine, I think the tories will win, sweep up in England, there are simply not enough people who believe a Corbyn/ SNP/ Others coalition would work, especially down south.

I am a left wing Scottish Nationalist, for me the only way forward for our country is independence.

Positives are we should clear this country of tory representation and hopefully have the yellow tory Swinson lose her seat.

What are your thoughts?

So I put up a Hibs Livi post, you put up a Hibs Livi post, I put up a general election post you put up a general election post.WTF?

Its happening.

Mine, I think the tories will win, sweep up in England, there are simply not enough people who believe a Corbyn/ SNP/ Others coalition would work, especially down south.

I am a left wing Scottish Nationalist, for me the only way forward for our country is independence.

Positives are we should clear this country of tory representation and hopefully have the yellow tory Swinson lose her seat.

What are your thoughts?

I’m like you but I’m unconvinced that the snp are the leaders of the independence movement. I’ve never liked the cult of Nicola mind.

I think all we do North of the Border is vote out the unionists.
They're already suggesting a return to the tactics of the last couple of elections..vote for the unionist candidate with the best chance of winning a particular seat.
England is probably going Tory simply because of you know what.
How a single soul can trust Johnson is beyond my comprehension, but they will.
Flyer through the door today from Ruthie. It said the only way to stop the SNP in my constituency is to vote C & U.
Nothing else.
It's on it's way back to Edinburgh......minus a stamp.

I think all we do North of the Border is vote out the unionists.
They're already suggesting a return to the tactics of the last couple of elections..vote for the unionist candidate with the best chance of winning a particular seat.
England is probably going Tory simply because of you know what.
How a single soul can trust Johnson is beyond my comprehension, but they will.
Flyer through the door today from Ruthie. It said the only way to stop the SNP in my constituency is to vote C & U.
Nothing else.
It's on it's way back to Edinburgh.....minus a stamp.

In fairness i wouldnt trust Swinson or Corbyn either.

Its about time that swamp got drained!

Its happening.

What are your thoughts?
My thoughts are fairly similar to yours.
Prepare for five years of Boris led Tory majority rule at Westminster....with Britain then fairly quickly hauled out the EU in the worst possible terms.
SNP will win almost all the seats in Scotland. Tories will be wiped out up here.
Another scottish referendum within two years.

Unfortunately I think boris will win down here and I put the blame squarely at the doors of corbyn and swinson for trying to overturn the majority decision to leave the EU and unfortunately that will be the main reason people decide who to vote for . Dont like the liberals, dont trust corbyn and never voted tory in ma puff so my card'll be getting marked " fuck off the lot of you ".

Oddly, I trust Corbyn as a person. It's some of the blairite bastards I'm not keen on.
As for Swinson and her band of jumping jacks.....they dont know what they want.

How can he be a very vocal Euro-Sceptic for decades....Then suddenly change?

Im sure a quick look at EU payments to his bank account would clear that one up.

How can he be a very vocal Euro-Sceptic for decades....Then suddenly change?

Im sure a quick look at EU payments to his bank account would clear that one up.
Fuck knows. You tell me.
How can Johnson have two speeches prepared.
One for remain ,and one for leave, then plump for leave.
The fact hes a compulsive liar on everything possibly means I trust Corbyn more than Johnson.
I wouldn't vote for either of them because they're both unionists.
Intent on strangling Scotland and its inhabitants.
They can both go to fuck for me.
And take their shitty brexit with them.

Think the Lib Dem’s will do well. They’ll keep maybe 4 seats in Scotland- seriously doubt swinson will lose, labour will keep Ian Murray and the tories will probably keep a couple of the borders seats.

Overall in the uk there won’t be a clear majority and nothing really will change

I think it's pretty pathetic that SNP/Lib Dems/Labour have given that serial liar what he wants. Shame on them after giving excellent opposition to Brexit.

The Tories will get an overall majority. And we will Brexit the end of Jan. The SNP will win every seat in Scotland. And Boris will ignore all attempts for the request for Indy Ref 2. The SNP should make it clear that every vote for the SNP is a vote for that referendum and independence. However, she won't.

Sadly I fear Scotland will be joined at the hip as the UK embarks down a pro U.S market knows best route.

I truly cannot understand , however hard I try, that anyone watching Westminster for the last 3(0) years that they are happy to be part of it .
apart from it being the biggest clusterfuck, or self obsessed baastards, they quite simply don't give a fuck about Scotland .
The Tories will win a large majority , with the help of the brexit party , and will put through all policies and practices they choose . The blinkered right wing of Englandshire will applaud blindly then rebel in years to come when they realize they have no industry except making fukin sandwiches.
surely then, the Scottish people will grow some balls, and leave them to their wars , bombs , and right wing shite , and we can make a country built on morals and not just cash for those we leave behind.

It’s a real pity this election will be a vote on Brexit as Housing,NHS and poverty are way more important to folk and the Tories are getting away with treating folk like rubbish.

If low earners put the £10 an hour minimum wage that Corbyn is offering ahead of Brexit crap then it could get interesting but i think the Tories will win.

I’ll be voting SNP so hopefully Labour and SNP can come to some kind of agreement.

Conservative majority and Boris says no chance to independence vote in his tenure. Hard brexit to come, the only chance we have is an election on social policies after around 4 tough years of post brexit.

It’s a real pity this election will be a vote on Brexit as Housing,NHS and poverty are way more important to folk and the Tories are getting away with treating folk like rubbish.

If low earners put the £10 an hour minimum wage that Corbyn is offering ahead of Brexit crap then it could get interesting but i think the Tories will win.

I’ll be voting SNP so hopefully Labour and SNP can come to some kind of agreement.
Theres the rub, M.
This election is basically another vote on leaving the EU.
All else will be pretty much ignored.
Unless brexiters go completely off the scale and elect any of Farages lot.

A poll in The Herald today states that 57.57% will vote SNP at the upcoming election, and if there was another EU referendum, 84% would vote remain.
In a second Independence referendum 60% would vote yes to become independent, with 30% voting for the status quo.
10% undecided.
Boris is doing a fantastic job.

I think it's pretty pathetic that SNP/Lib Dems/Labour have given that serial liar what he wants. Shame on them after giving excellent opposition to Brexit.

The Tories will get an overall majority. And we will Brexit the end of Jan. The SNP will win every seat in Scotland. And Boris will ignore all attempts for the request for Indy Ref 2. The SNP should make it clear that every vote for the SNP is a vote for that referendum and independence. However, she won't.

Sadly I fear Scotland will be joined at the hip as the UK embarks down a pro U.S market knows best route.

This is highly unlikely. Murray will hold onto his seat. Infact, I think he might even increase his already massive majority. The Lib Dems will gain traction with their fairly robust pro EU stance with unionists, and The Tories will probably keep the borders.

Blackford made it very clear and obvious that any vote for them is a vote for independence yesterday, expect that to be the mantra. I actually think we'll see a step change in SNP aggression for a new independence vote late next year.

What is this going to achieve other than another hung parliament? This isn't a proper election, it's all about Brexit.

The Tories are not popular enough to win a majority even if they get a section of the Brexiteer vote.

Labour will go with a wishy washy middle of the road campaign that will win them no new support.

Lib Dems will likely see gains by hoovering up the Stop Brexit vote, but nowhere near enough to win an election.

SNP will just talk about What If... Scottish Independence scenarios and nothing else thus maintaining their stranglehold up here and strengthening their case for indy ref 2 after the inevitable clusterfuck following this election.

Just another delay in an endless line of delays.

Thing is rather than this media and pundit discussion being experts speculating, its really guessers guessing. Nobody knows whats going to happen.
My guess, the venal lib dems (in many ways the midwives of brexit with their austerity coalition government) will win up to 45-50 seats. But there will be a tricky position for many ardent remainers in constituencies where Labour are more likely to beat the Tories. If Europe is their only driving focus, do they vote lib dem even if it risks a tory MP, or do they vote Labour in the knowledge that they've said they'll put it back to a 2nd ref.
I think Southfield is right re Scotland. Can't see Labour doing anything here, the Tories will lose a few seats but won't be wiped out. One question is what the Brexit Party do. They seem to be hinting that they won't stand in all seats, so in theory that unites the Brexit vote, but will the election be just about Brexit, i'm not so sure. The Tories have a record to defend, and its a horrible record. How do working class leavers deal with the competing priorities of brexit Vs crumbling public services?
So non Tory or Lab MP numbers are likely to be 100 or more. That makes getting the magic number much more difficult, and post election the Tories have few friends, having done over the DUP their only hope is Swinson supports them in return for a 2nd ref.
And then we factor in winter, dark nights etc.
Who knows

The media narrative will be that this is the 'Brexit election'. And this is exactly what the Tories want. That and "It's Boris Johnson or Jeremy Corbyn propped up by the SNP" will be their tactical offering.

Unbelievably Boris is popular in England. Much more so than Jeremy Corbyn.

However, I think Jeremy Corbyn is a good campaigner. And if the media permits they'll try and get onto other issues. I expect the Labour offering to be the most radical manifesto put to the country in many years. And because of that the media will relentlessly go after Corbyn and his character, trustworthiness and integrity.

Corbyn was written off in 2017 and Labour ended up doing much better than expected although they didn't win the election. He is a brilliant campaigner but IMO not a leader and won't ever be Prime Minister. He will be able to drum up support (particularly amongst the young) because that is what he is very good at, but I can't ever see England (because it is England that will decide who is going to win this election) putting someone so far to the left as he is into Downing Street. His poll ratings are also far too low.

I think pollsters are already suggesting that the tories will struggle to gain a majority on the back of the seats they will lose in Scotland and the lack of winnable seats in England. That would be, pointless.

Voting SNP, Scottish Nationlist like my old man, will never vote for a unionist party, independence all the way.

Brucey bonus points. The Trumpet attacks Jeremy Corbyn live on the Flanges radio show, on the right wing LBC radio. Splendid.

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

Unpresidented in modern history that two leaders of nations attack publically a politician in Europe or anywhere that could be the next Prime Minister. Benjamin Netanyahu did it during the utterly contrived Anti Semitism attack by Blairite Labour Friends of Israel financed by the Israeli Embassy. Hold on, Corbyn's consistent support for the Palestinians is a coincidence.
The Trumpet knows that any trade deal would have the biggest employer in this country the NHS open to rape. All this and the shite which has been put out daiĺy for the past three years about the Labour Party and attacking Corbyn personally, we will see. The Tory rags will go mental over the next 6 weeks. However nobody reads them now.

Vote against the Tories.

I seem to remember before the 2017 election every MSM pundit from the Guardian through to the Telegraph said May was going to cake walk it.All opinion polls said May was going to cakewalk it,and just about everyone on here said May was going to cake walk it.What happened?Corbyn despite all the bile, despite all the nay sayers despite of all the 'experts' came within a bawhair of winning it.Now Corbyn has set out on day one.He has said we're going to protect the NHS, we're going to renationalise the railways, post,water and electricity,and he's going to make big business pay their fare share.Day 1 Trump wades in.If that doesn't tell you all you need to know what does?The idea that Boris is going to cake walk it is as deluded as the Jambos.If Corbyn makes this election more than just about Brexit he has a chance.In spite of what you all think.

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

Unpresidented in modern history that two leaders of nations attack publically a politician in Europe or anywhere could be the next Prime Minister. Benjamin Netanyahu did it during the utterly contrived Anti Semitism attack by Blairite Labour Friends of Labour, financed by the Israeli Embassy. Hold on, Corbyn's consistent support for the Palestinians is a coincidence.
The Trumpet knows that any trade deal would have the biggest employer in this country the NHS open to rape. All this and the shite which has been put out daiĺy for the past three years about the Labour Party and attacking Corbyn personally, we will see. The Tory rags will go mental over the next 6 weeks. However nobody reads them now.

Vote against the Tories.

I'm no fan or Corbyn but the way hes being attacked by our media, foreign media and forces is utterly ridiculous, talk about already trying to rig an election.

I seem to remember before the 2017 election every MSM pundit from the Guardian through to the Telegraph said May was going to cake walk it.All opinion polls said May was going to cakewalk it,and just about everyone on here said May was going to cake walk it.What happened?Corbyn despite all the bile, despite all the nay sayers despite of all the 'experts' came within a bawhair of winning it.Now Corbyn has set out on day one.He has said we're going to protect the NHS, we're going to renationalise the railways, post,water and electricity,and he's going to make big business pay their fare share.Day 1 Trump wades in.If that doesn't tell you all you need to know what does?The idea that Boris is going to cake walk it is as deluded as the Jambos.If Corbyn makes this election more than just about Brexit he has a chance.In spite of what you all think.
I'm all for renationalising rail, post and utilitys, we also need to fund police nhs, armed forces etc. Has he said how he's going to fund it or is this all pie in the sky being spouted just like every other politician that wants tae get elected

I'm no fan or Corbyn but the way hes being attacked by our media, foreign media and forces is utterly ridiculous, talk about already trying to rig an election.

do you remember David Cameron telling him to “just go man”.
He seen him off. He seen Theresa May off. And in six weeks time he might see Boris off.

I'm all for renationalising rail, post and utilitys, we also need to fund police nhs, armed forces etc. Has he said how he's going to fund it or is this all pie in the sky being spouted just like every other politician that wants tae get elected
The government found £100m quick enough to fund Brexit advertising at fairly short notice; they found the money to pay legions of civil servants for Brexit; they found £1bn to bribe the NI bigots; they found, then lost a chunk of millions for a fleet of ships that didn't exist and much, much more.

Over this Brexit crap I've come to the conclusion our government has money, plenty of it, but the Torys don't want to spend it on things that benefit anyone but themselves.

I think he has. It's fairly straightforward and done in alot of countries too. Actually make multinationals and billionaires pay their fair share in tax. Pay people more more, stimulate the economy by giving folk more money to spend on the high street.

If Corbyn supported independence I'd vote for him. But he can't obviously so I'm stuck with the SNP for now.

I think he has. It's fairly straightforward and done in alot of countries too. Actually make multinationals and billionaires pay their fair share in tax. Pay people more more, stimulate the economy by giving folk more money to spend on the high street.

If Corbyn supported independence I'd vote for him. But he can't obviously so I'm stuck with the SNP for now.
If I lived up the road I'd vote SNP anaw, the way I've always seen them is no' as a political party as such but a vehicle for independance. Once that's reached there'd be an election for Scots labour, Tories liberals or whatever IMO. Down here there's absolutely not one of the party leaders I'd feel comfortable voting for. Boris, he's a tory, which is a good enough reason in itself but I also think he'd sell us out tae trump. Corbyn I wouldnae cross the street tae piss on him if he was on fire, dont trust him as far as I could throw him., and as for Swinson, the most undemocratic of the lot, " I dont care what 17 million people voted for democratically, I'm going to ignore it ". As I said I think I'll return my ballot " fuck off the lot of ye ".

Corbyn I wouldnae cross the street tae piss on him if he was on fire, dont trust him as far as I could throw him.

What has made you feel that way? Is it a particular policy he's supports? I think he seems like a decent guy. Member of CND, supported guildford 4 and birmingham 6, got arrested for not paying poll tax, was against war in iraq, hates Blair, mainstream right wing media hate him and he's a bit of a shagger.

CND support brilliant, not paying poll tax,brilliant, against Iraq war, brilliant, hated Blair, brilliant, bit of a shagger, even brillianter. His failure to condemn terrorism, from wherever, not so brilliant. 10 innocent Irish men locked up for years after being fitted up for something they didn't do , while the IRA, who he supports, protected the real culprits.He'd sooner slag us off than condemn ISIS or Al Quaeda or hezbollah. Dianne Abbott in charge of intelligence and security, no thanks. So far I've had tory and liberal canvassers at my door and they've been fucked off in no uncertain terms, just waiting on labour and that dickhead Farages lot now ??

What specifically don't you like about Diane Abbott? She takes serious and dangerous abuse for no apparent reason I can see?

This is the right wing media attack-line. What evidence is there of Corbyn supporting the IRA? None I'd suggest. He has condemned British military occupation of NI but that's not the same thing, he has supported a united Ireland but that's not the same thing. Has he been reticent in condemning ISIS or Al Quaeda? Can't say I've noticed that either. Seems to me you accept and agree with his domestic politics but not his foreign policy beliefs. Fine re the former but isn't demilitarizing a broadly good thing? Shouldn't our government along with other supposedly developed liberal states be held to a higher standard than rag tag militias?
And I agree with Southfield on Abbott. I'm not sure she's a great performer but the abuse she gets is off the scale compared to posh white boys who are equally poor. Look at her mixing numbers up compared to Hammond at the last election, she was hammered and little was said about him.

This is the right wing media attack-line. What evidence is there of Corbyn supporting the IRA? None I'd suggest. He has condemned British military occupation of NI but that's not the same thing, he has supported a united Ireland but that's not the same thing. Has he been reticent in condemning ISIS or Al Quaeda? Can't say I've noticed that either. Seems to me you accept and agree with his domestic politics but not his foreign policy beliefs. Fine re the former but isn't demilitarizing a broadly good thing? Shouldn't our government along with other supposedly developed liberal states be held to a higher standard than rag tag militias?
And I agree with Southfield on Abbott. I'm not sure she's a great performer but the abuse she gets is off the scale compared to posh white boys who are equally poor. Look at her mixing numbers up compared to Hammond at the last election, she was hammered and little was said about him.
I agree re the personal abuse Abbott gets is wrong but it's not how she says things it's what she says. There are plenty posh white boys pish me off anaw, colour and accent have never been a barrier tae anybody having the ability tae piss me of. As for demilitarisation, great if everybody does it, but if somebody's trying tae kick ye in the nuts you need tha capability tae punch him in the mooth 1st. Our government should absolutely be held to a higher standard, we shouldn't chop heids off just cause they do. Blair being brought tae book would be a step in the right direction. But unfortunately as long as people have stuff somebody else is going to want it so we need a military and police, they might no' be perfect but we'd be fucked without them. Boris scares me ,he's s getting far to cosy wi' trump and that rant fae trump should have put another few hundred thousand on Corbyn's side Cannae vote tory on principle , cannae vote for corbyn cause once he's in I think he'll take us too far tae the left just as blair took us too far tae the right, and the less said about Swinson the better