Edinburgh gems

egb_hibs

one of last seasons highlights for me, was the discovery of ‘Two Pound Pizza Slice’ on Albion Road, which to my mind is the finest pizza establishment in the city - especially the fireball, even if it’s three squid per slice is somewhat of a failure to honour an implied deal.

not too far away on Albert Street, the Sicilian bakery is one of Edinburgh / Leiths real gems, not just for the top notch cakes, pizzas and sarnies sold over the counter - if you ever need a special birthday, Christening, wedding cake etc, their efforts are simply unbeatable.

What other Edinburgh gems can bouncers offer up from local knowledge that you won’t find in the proverbial guide books - I’m sure all corners of the city are full of such gems, that people from other areas may not know about.

The problem with these places is they never seem to last.There was this Romanian place at the bottom of the Walk did really nice coffee and cake.I bought a big cake for my mum's90th which means it was over two years ago.The cake was amazing (although expensive) and the staff were nice,but due to lack of custom I expect; the place shut.Then it was a place doing fancy hamburgers,it's now shut; and now it's a shop where you can play games.I doubt it will last, also.However I'm glad to see the bookshop at the bottom of the Walk seems to be doing fine.

The problem with these places is they never seem to last.There was this Romaniun place at the bottom of the Walk did really nice coffee and cake.I bought a big cake for my mum's90th which means it was over two years ago.The cake was amazing (although expensive) and the staff were nice,but due to lack of custom I expect; the place shut.Then it was a place doing fancy hamburgers,it's now shut; and now it's a shop where you can play games.I doubt it will last, also.However I'm glad to see the bookshop at the bottom of the Walk seems to be doing fine.
Hopefully with Covid in the rear view mirror and the latest trams carnage winding down these places may have a better chance now Moaty, but it is a shame.

As above, if you need another cake for your mum and haven’t tried it, give the Sicilian bakery ago and it’s stood the test of time. It’s not cheap either mind, but also not expensive compared to getting a bespoke cake generally, which is an expensive business full stop.

one of last seasons highlights for me, was the discovery of ‘Two Pound Pizza Slice’ on Albion Road, which to my mind is the finest pizza establishment in the city - especially the fireball, even if it’s three squid per slice is somewhat of a failure to honour an implied deal.

not too far away on Albert Street, the Sicilian bakery is one of Edinburgh / Leiths real gems, not just for the top notch cakes, pizzas and sarnies sold over the counter - if you ever need a special birthday, Christening, wedding cake etc, their efforts are simply unbeatable.

What other Edinburgh gems can bouncers offer up from local knowledge that you won’t find in the proverbial guide books - I’m sure all corners of the city are full of such gems, that people from other areas may not know about.

Pizza slice place is barry. Got fries tae and we shared it between 3 of us the box was that big.

Mate always raves about that Sicilian place I'll need to give it a bash.

The Sicilian place was there when I lived in Albert St many moons ago.
It was brawsome.
Glad to hear it’s still going strong

When I lived in sunny Kingsknowe, Malones on Slateford Road was the regular scran stop on the way home when no taxis were to be had (the top of Ardmillan Terrace being my "fuck it - I'll just walk" cut off). Great rolls for the morning and braw steak pies - although I remember once waking up in my bed with one stuck to my back!

I lived in Albert Street from 1992 - 2004 and went to the Sicilian Pastry Shop quite often. It was very good but I have to say, most French bakers (pâtissiers) kick their arse.

Just remembered another one. Coming home late at night we often used Broughton road. Just at the top of the hill, close to powderhall, before the road dips down again to carry on to Bonnington Toll there was a wee steep downhill lane off to the left with an all night baker. Freshly cooked, still warm rolls were a regular treat after a night oot.

In terms of morning rolls, the Home Bakery on Groathill Road next to the Doocot, their rolls are lovely.

Used tae go in there for a cauld pie when I was working doon that way. They were barry.

Reactions: NGP
Kebab Mahal Nicholson Square. Best naan ever.
Not been for ages but a smashing place IIRC. On naan’s specifically, and to help me test your claim; have you sampled them at the guru balti? It used to require a journey to darkest guntland but they have now moved to across from the Kings Theatre.

Big as an elephants ear and quite tremendous.

Not been for ages but a smashing place IIRC. On naan’s specifically, and to help me test your claim; have you sampled them at the guru balti? It used to require a journey to darkest guntland but they have now moved to across from the Kings Theatre.

Their nanns haven't changed but their menu has and sadly they're not nearly as good as they used to be when they were in guntland.

Masons, right at the bottom of Craighall road. Hopefully still there. I first went there more than 50 years ago for the Scotch pies. The best I ever had in Edinburgh.
We used tae go in there as bairns 60 odd years ago. Barry bridies and juicy scotch pies

The Sicilian patisserie is a fantastic little business and their products are superb. Guess I first went there under advice around 20 years ago and always try to get along there on visits up if possible. I love the fact it feels a little like a best-kept secret. A secret worth knowing indeed.

I haven't. Not sure I will given Jack's review!

A bit more expensive (but not out of control) the Wee Bhudda in Jamaica Street. The fusion food is brilliant.

I haven't. Not sure I will given Jack's review!
If you're a naan man you need to try it at least once. I disagree with Jack. The old place was a real cult favourite and was run by a great guy in a no frills environment, and with a huge menu.

The setting and staffing is now a bit more scrubbed up and thus imho, and I guess Jack's, a bit more bland and reminiscent of loads of other places.

However while the menu has shrunk in terms of options, I think the dishes that remain are as good as they were. The late lamented mushroom pakora remains a tragic loss though; and I don't even like mushrooms usually

If you're a naan man you need to try it at least once. I disagree with Jack. The old place was a real cult favourite and was run by a great guy in a no frills environment, and with a huge menu.

The setting and staffing is now a bit more scrubbed up and thus imho, and I guess Jack's, a bit more bland and reminiscent of loads of other places.

However while the menu has shrunk in terms of options, I think the dishes that remain are as good as they were. The late lamented mushroom pakora remains a tragic loss though; and I don't even like mushrooms usually
Yup. The food was a bit special. Nanns aside it's now no better than dozens of places in Edinburgh.

There is a wee, no frills baker at Carrick Knowe that does fantastic bran scones.
Also, Bains in Stenhouse cross for a fabulous pie.
Next tae the butchers, again went there when I was working oot that way. Jam scone magic.

The Jolly on Elm row.
Endless menu, big portions, wood fired pizza oven. You can get half pizza and pasta.
Pesce piccante is a good starter if you like sea food. Very reasonably priced. Don't be put off by the interior decor it hasn't changed since the 70s. Vito the owner wears gallous multi coloured waistcoat and looks like a bald peacock.

The Jolly on Elm row.
Endless menu, big portions, wood fired pizza oven. You can get half pizza and pasta.
Pesce piccante is a good starter if you like sea food. Very reasonably priced. Don't be put off by the interior decor it hasn't changed since the 70s. Vito the owner wears gallous multi coloured waistcoat and looks like a bald peacock.
£8.95 for a weekday 3 course lunch menu, can't remember the weekend charge.

I was there on Friday. Great value.

Jolly is a decent shout, on a similar vein The Caprice in Mussie does a good week day lunch, 3 courses £12.

Also pizza based, there’s a wee mobile van that stops on the prom in Joppa,bottom of Brunstane road north called wanderers kneaded, it’s nice but sells out fast and it’s fairly random times. A good alternative to the overpriced and over rated Civerinos

Mike English a good shout for this , but assume everyone knows about him

Pizza slice place is barry. Got fries tae and we shared it between 3 of us the box was that big.

Mate always raves about that Sicilian place I'll need to give it a bash.
I'd never swear by a Sicilian.Not with their connections.(Crude racial stereotyping a go go).

Haven’t been back since my ma passed.
Won’t be the same not grabbing a Shapla and having a wee blether.