Earliest Memory?

Parking my toy pedal car beside my Dads van behind our house in Eyemouth in 1968 or 69. My parents thought someone had nicked it.

News would probably be the power cuts of the early 70's?

Fitba is the smell of tobacco, pies and pish as you reached the top of the old east terrace and the sight to behold below.

Earliest memory probably attending nursery on Frogston Road

Earliest news event is the Piper Alpha disaster

Fitba is mid-80's clambering about the seats in the old main stand with my brother (much to the annoyance of our Dad). Also remember the stamping of feet on the old wooden stand to "Hi-Bees!" duh-duh-duh! being pretty scary!

Earliest memory is the aftermath of a house fire. I wasn't there thankfully, I was at my grans, but I remember going back my house with my mum and dad and seeing all the damage, I was about 4.

Earliest news event is Chernobyl. I was young and it could probably have passed me by but I remember my dad explaining to me what had happened while the news was on the TV. Was pretty scary stuff.

Earliest sporting memory is nothing to do with football, it is watching Jocky Wilson beat Eric Bristow with my dad and him going tonto when Jocky won, jumping about the living room, whooping like a madman (he loved Wilson and hated Bristow).

Earliest Hibs memory is watching us beat Aberdeen at Easter Road in 89. I was 7 and, while I'd been to football games before, that's the first time I remember really watching the game and being fascinated by it. I've been stupidly optimistic ever since.

Earliest memory... Running around the Calton Centre playgroup I think..

Football memory is my first game, Sheffield Wednesday friendly. Well, being squished in the Coopers Rest corner at the dart board is... Must've been about 5 year old, can't remember much about it other than it was them and I was looking at the old West stand. Have this image of the 2 sheds either side of the tunnel.

Earliest news memory that really stands out is the Dunblane shooting 🙁
I can remember having to watch the news when I was younger with my grandad, but don't remember anything other than the face of the channel 4 news guy.

Earliest memory, Edinburgh corporation transport Xmas party and being scared of Santa.

Earliest news, JFK

Earliest football memory, Bobby Charlton scoring from 25 yards but I don't remember who against. I can still see it though. Him, Law and Best were my sporting heroes.

Earliest memory; Being at the pre-school playgroup in Restalrig Road, just beside the Sleigh Drive roundabout. That would have been in the late 60's because I started primary school in 1970.

News memory; I remember watching the government educational programmes on TV when decimalisation was about to happen.

Football memory; Me and my brother being taken to our first Hibs game at Easter Road v Falkirk. We won 6-0. Found out recently through records that was 1971.

Earliest memory: I was 4 when my parents got our first family home (we’d lived at my maternal grandmother’s until then). Neighbour of my gran had set himself up as a painter and decorator so he was tasked to paint the wooden sash windows in our new house. So, he’s done the undercoat in the bathroom and stands back admiring his work for 20 minutes. By this time my mother asks him what he’s waiting for and he replies that he was waiting for the paint to dry before applying the gloss top coat. 🤯 There we’re still 10 other windows to be done. 🤣 Suffice to say he was a Hearts fan.

Earliest news would have been the moon landing

Earliest football memory would be me playing happily in the garden of the aforementioned house until hearing that Scotland had just been beaten by England in one of the old home championship matches. Spent the rest of the day greeting my eyes out.

Earliest Hibs memory was my mother taking me to Easter Road for a birthday treat. The Tornadoes beat Dundee United that day. I’ve been masochistic ever since.

Memory, On holiday in Oban, bought a torch , in the first shop I went intae, for 14/6 off my £1 that was tae dae me the week and my auld man going radge. It had buttons on it tae change colour and everything.
News, probs Winston Churchill dying, was at my mates grannies in Arthur Street when the funeral was on tv.
Fitba, another mates dad took us tae a Derby at Easter road, they were Jambos, Hibs won so I was a Hibee from that day tae this.

In bed in same room as brother and parents..teo roomed flat in Salisbury Street..so far back I wonder sometimes if it is true. Left there at 2 year old.

Most significant early news was probably 1974 commonwealth games ar meadowbank

Earliest hubs memory..the 7.0 game and watching Hibs return home with a dryborough cup..or was it the league cup? Seriously cant remember .

In bed in same room as brother and parents..teo roomed flat in Salisbury Street..so far back I wonder sometimes if it is true. Left there at 2 year old.

Most significant early news was probably 1974 commonwealth games ar meadowbank

Earliest hubs memory..the 7.0 game and watching Hibs return home with a dryborough cup..or was it the league cup? Seriously cant remember .
1970 commonwealth games Davy 👍

I thought I remembered being born,but i've been told this would be impossible.So being in the bath with my wee sister covered in bubble bath is an abiding memory.There's still a photie,but I better not show it,never know who'se looking in.I also remember some toys,an elastic strung clown,cups that fitted inside cups and a fit the right shape in the right hole thing.

Didn't read the whole post.I remember a lot of upset when I was about 1,I later realise this was JFK being shot.Fitba' would be 66 and all that, and I remember being kept awake by the Speedway at Meadowbank.

Earliest memory is the aftermath of a house fire. I wasn't there thankfully, I was at my grans, but I remember going back my house with my mum and dad and seeing all the damage, I was about 4.

Earliest news event is Chernobyl. I was young and it could probably have passed me by but I remember my dad explaining to me what had happened while the news was on the TV. Was pretty scary stuff.

Earliest sporting memory is nothing to do with football, it is watching Jocky Wilson beat Eric Bristow with my dad and him going tonto when Jocky won, jumping about the living room, whooping like a madman (he loved Wilson and hated Bristow).

Earliest Hibs memory is watching us beat Aberdeen at Easter Road in 89. I was 7 and, while I'd been to football games before, that's the first time I remember really watching the game and being fascinated by it. I've been stupidly optimistic ever since.
Our house burnt down in 1980.Was attending Stevenson College ,went to college smelling of burnt for weeks.Didn't really attend and failed the exams.

Earliest memories of the tenement at Elgin Terr. 3d ice lollies fae local sweet shop. Yes, a tin tub on kitchen/living room floor for bath. Ridiculous length and tiny breadth of our bathless toilet.

Sittin om ma dad's shoulders at a derby at ER, Dad was a jambo. Didnae understand why they had four sets ae goalposts (they used to have two at the halfway line for kids' penalties or some such). We lost by the odd goal, 2-3 in my mind but been tolt here before that that wisnae the score. Very young, 2-3 maybe? My age, no the score again cos o senility! 🤪

JFK and family moping and around same time I think seein ma granny lyin deid on display, had to go in and 'say a prayer'. Sciennes Hill somewhere.

Earliest memories of the tenement at Elgin Terr. 3d ice lollies fae local sweet shop. Yes, a tin tub on kitchen/living room floor for bath. Ridiculous length and tiny breadth of our bathless toilet.

Sittin om ma dad's shoulders at a derby at ER, Dad was a jambo. Didnae understand why they had four sets ae goalposts (they used to have two at the halfway line for kids' penalties or some such). We lost by the odd goal, 2-3 in my mind but been tolt here before that that wisnae the score. Very young, 2-3 maybe? My age, no the score again cos o senility! 🤪

JFK and family moping and around same time I think seein ma granny lyin deid on display, had to go in and 'say a prayer'. Sciennes Hill somewhere.
We lived in 1 Sciennes Hill Place until 1971, a tenament flat. We had a Baillie lived across the road. Had a big green lamppost outside his house to show he was a Baillie. Wasn’t a bad guy as he let all the kids in the street watch the 1970 WCF on his new colour tv.

I do remember being in a big pram out in the front garden when the rain came on and being able to dunk rusks in the puddle gathering on the the top cover when I was around four years old - smashin!
Earliest football memory was beating England 3-2 at Wembley and Scotland becoming World Champions when I was five.

Earliest memory was throwing pegs off the balcony at Grampian House flats.

Earliest news memory was probably Lockerbie. Was probably about 8-9 at the time.

Fitbaw memory was probably the derby at ER when Mercer was trying to take us over. I just remember that absolute hatred and poison in the air, fucking scary! Vivid memory was some young lad jumping up and hanging from the fence in the terracing. He had Mickey mouse shaved into the back of his napper.

Earliest memory was throwing pegs off the balcony at Grampian House flats.

Earliest news memory was probably Lockerbie. Was probably about 8-9 at the time.

Fitbaw memory was probably the derby at ER when Mercer was trying to take us over. I just remember that absolute hatred and poison in the air, fucking scary! Vivid memory was some young lad jumping up and hanging from the fence in the terracing. He had Mickey mouse shaved into the back of his napper.
You’re lucky you only saw it on the news, I was at it

What’s your earliest memory?

Earliest news/real world event memory?

Earliest Football memory?
I heard this on the radio driving down south the other night - thought it was fascinating.

My earliest memory is around my sister being born. I was 3. I remember being in the hospital and also staying with my Aunt in the steamies in Bonnyrigg. There was a rabbit there and also stackable crate type things in the kitchen. I don’t remember my aunt living there outwith this memory.

My earliest real world events memories are a bit later. I remember the hot summer of 76 when I suppose I was 5, and also the queens jubilee a year later. I remember one particularly awesome boy signing a song to the teachers about building a bonfire and burning all the royal family. He was a year older than me, the teachers must have been horrified.

My earliest football memory was I thought watching the Peru game with a very drunken family when I was 7. However, by deduction, I’ve worked out I remember Bonnyrigg winning the junior cup in 78, and going to Linlithgow on the Monday afterwards to win the league which being the sad statto I am I now know was the month before. But, then I thought I remember the Scotland England game of 78 which would have been the month before that. These games were a big deal back then as they were the only live football games on the telly and Scotland games were it seemed a national celebration of alcohol and drunkenness.

Just reading this though, I can put together I remember watching the scottish cup final in 78 a fortnight before the Scotland England game. So that would be the first memory. But the timeline in my head is non linear now!

I like this sort of stuff. Its hard to disentangle real from false memories but i quite enjoy the fog.
One of my earliest memories is my brother being massacred my mosquitos after we slept in a church garden (graveyard really) in north Greece. I was untouched which made me very smug.
I remember Thatch winning the election in 79 when I was 6. It felt a big moment in our house and obviously led paved the way for many of the problems we still have today. The first political issues i felt more engaged with happened quite close together I think. The miners strike ( I remember being at collections and the Bilston Glen picket line), and for some reason the emergence of Cory Aquino against Marcos on the Philippines really grabbed me and I sought news on it for months.
One of my earliest football memories, I think, was a midweek game against Motherwell. For some reason my favourite player at that time was Bobby Flavell. Off we go to the game, being young i hadn't read any news and obviously no tinternet and I arrive at the game to find he's been swapped with Willie Irvine (the first one). My introduction to being fickle and a fickle thing as within minutes Flavell was a waste of space. We got the better deal there without a doubt. I also remember being really pissed off at the hard time Jackie Mac seemed to get in the early years. He was my favourite player for a long time and obviously I had no idea of the legend he'd replaced, but always felt the North Stand was just waiting to moan at him for not being Sir Pat.

Apparently

When you remember a memory, you don’t remember the actual event you remember the last time event as you last remembered it…hence why events can become distorted over time.

It's virtually impossible as the human brain isn't yet fully formed at birth so the mechanism isn't there yet. However it's not completely discounted for every human ever born. Many people worldwide have this memory.

I like this sort of stuff. Its hard to disentangle real from false memories but i quite enjoy the fog.
One of my earliest memories is my brother being massacred my mosquitos after we slept in a church garden (graveyard really) in north Greece. I was untouched which made me very smug.
I remember Thatch winning the election in 79 when I was 6. It felt a big moment in our house and obviously led paved the way for many of the problems we still have today. The first political issues i felt more engaged with happened quite close together I think. The miners strike ( I remember being at collections and the Bilston Glen picket line), and for some reason the emergence of Cory Aquino against Marcos on the Philippines really grabbed me and I sought news on it for months.
One of my earliest football memories, I think, was a midweek game against Motherwell. For some reason my favourite player at that time was Bobby Flavell. Off we go to the game, being young i hadn't read any news and obviously no tinternet and I arrive at the game to find he's been swapped with Willie Irvine (the first one). My introduction to being fickle and a fickle thing as within minutes Flavell was a waste of space. We got the better deal there without a doubt. I also remember being really pissed off at the hard time Jackie Mac seemed to get in the early years. He was my favourite player for a long time and obviously I had no idea of the legend he'd replaced, but always felt the North Stand was just waiting to moan at him for not being Sir Pat.
I have the most vivid false memory from when I was about 10. A light plane was in trouble and the pilot parachuted out before it crashed. This happened on a piece of wasteground opposite my house. I only started to believe it was false when I spoke to my mates about it maybe years later. Of course they hadn't a clue what I was talking about. I was adamant so checked with my Mum and she had no idea either. I can still bloody see it but I know it didn't happen.
Good thread this 👍🏻

I heard this on the radio driving down south the other night - thought it was fascinating.

My earliest memory is around my sister being born. I was 3. I remember being in the hospital and also staying with my Aunt in the steamies in Bonnyrigg. There was a rabbit there and also stackable crate type things in the kitchen. I don’t remember my aunt living there outwith this memory.

My earliest real world events memories are a bit later. I remember the hot summer of 76 when I suppose I was 5, and also the queens jubilee a year later. I remember one particularly awesome boy signing a song to the teachers about building a bonfire and burning all the royal family. He was a year older than me, the teachers must have been horrified.

My earliest football memory was I thought watching the Peru game with a very drunken family when I was 7. However, by deduction, I’ve worked out I remember Bonnyrigg winning the junior cup in 78, and going to Linlithgow on the Monday afterwards to win the league which being the sad statto I am I now know was the month before. But, then I thought I remember the Scotland England game of 78 which would have been the month before that. These games were a big deal back then as they were the only live football games on the telly and Scotland games were it seemed a national celebration of alcohol and drunkenness.

Just reading this though, I can put together I remember watching the scottish cup final in 78 a fortnight before the Scotland England game. So that would be the first memory. But the timeline in my head is non linear now!
The Steamies ? They the miners cottages on the was oot tae Cockpen?

Good thread.

I have one very hazy memory of fishing with my dad, I think in Cornwall, I'd have been about 4 or 5. And I can remember nursery at Willowbrae (not there now).

News memories that are really clear are 1986 -- Chernobyl and the shuttle disaster, so I'd have been about 11 or 12. And the World Cup!

Earliest really abiding football memory is not actually of a particular game -- it's of being in the back bar of the RAF club on London Road post-match, listening to my dad and his mates have a crack, the smoke and the massive ashtrays, the pints of heavy, the Pink News, the swearing, the moustaches, the snooker table downstairs. Just a general atmosphere that's really nice to recall, of what really does feel like a bygone age to my now middle-aged self.

One of the last times my dad was over (he now lives in Texas), we actually went and chapped on the door of the RAF club before it finally closed. There was one old guy still doing the bar, but it was completely empty. We had a pint, and the guy let us wander about -- it was like the Marie Rose or something. The function room upstairs, where I remember attending the annual Christmas do every year and meeting Santa etc, still had beermats neatly laid out on every table. It was weird, and a little sad, but I'm glad my dad and I had that moment together.

Good thread.

I have one very hazy memory of fishing with my dad, I think in Cornwall, I'd have been about 4 or 5. And I can remember nursery at Willowbrae (not there now).

News memories that are really clear are 1986 -- Chernobyl and the shuttle disaster, so I'd have been about 11 or 12. And the World Cup!

Earliest really abiding football memory is not actually of a particular game -- it's of being in the back bar of the RAF club on London Road post-match, listening to my dad and his mates have a crack, the smoke and the massive ashtrays, the pints of heavy, the Pink News, the swearing, the moustaches, the snooker table downstairs. Just a general atmosphere that's really nice to recall, of what really does feel like a bygone age to my now middle-aged self.

One of the last times my dad was over (he now lives in Texas), we actually went and chapped on the door of the RAF club before it finally closed. There was one old guy still doing the bar, but it was completely empty. We had a pint, and the guy let us wander about -- it was like the Marie Rose or something. The function room upstairs, where I remember attending the annual Christmas do every year and meeting Santa etc, still had beermats neatly laid out on every table. It was weird, and a little sad, but I'm glad my dad and I had that moment together.
The RAF club.Was that the door with the big propeller outside?Used to pass it on the bus home and wonder what it was.