Do we need grammar and spelling police?

I’m appalled by the spelling and grammar on the Internet (including mines by autocorrect)

Should we try and enforce higher standards here?

For a few of us older bouncers it is a tad annoying. I'm sure Shrink , Dub and a few others remember getting spelling/ grammar tests on a daily basis , and having your paper returned with the dreaded SP in red pen.
Arithmetic was done on a daily basis too, just to keep you sharp. Reciting the times tables( after the lords prayer of course!), was never ending in primary school.
My grammar is far from perfect so I'm not slagging off people for their grammar, but it's the simple stuff that kills me on t'internet.
There now. I've said my piece.
Or should that read....
They're now. I've said my peace?
I'm of.....
You're turn.
Whoever your.

For a few of us older bouncers it is a tad annoying. I'm sure Shrink , Dub and a few others remember getting spelling/ grammar tests on a daily basis , and having your paper returned with the dreaded SP in red pen.
Arithmetic was done on a daily basis too, just to keep you sharp. Reciting the times tables( after the lords prayer of course!), was never ending in primary school.
My grammar is far from perfect so I'm not slagging off people for their grammar, but it's the simple stuff that kills me on t'internet.
There now. I've said my piece.
Or should that read....
They're now. I've said my peace?
I'm of....
You're turn.
Whoever your.

couldn’t of put it better myself.

In the past I've been guilty of grammar policing.But then I got Grammarly and quickly ditched it after seeing all my own mistakes.

Right a wee question for yous. I always thought when a word begins with a vowel you used an.

How come sometimes you read an hotel?

H isnae a vowel is it?

Right a wee question for yous. I always thought when a word begins with a vowel you used an.

How come sometimes you read an hotel?

H isnae a vowel is it?

It should be a hotel because you pronounce the H.

I’d guess historically the h wasn’t pronounced so it would then by an hotel and pronounced an otel

It shouldn't read an hotel.
A hotel because the H is pronounced.

Unlike an hour.
So hotel should always be spelt using a capital H?

So it should be an Hibees historic cup win against the orc forces of Greyskull?

So hotel should always be spelt using a capital H?

So it should be an Hibees historic cup win against the orc forces of Greyskull?

History is a weird one. It gets used
I'd go with a hard A over an because it feels weird 😅

English rules are stoopid

Bloody confusing sometimes. My mate in London was telling me about his auld granny years ago using an A-Z 😂😂😂

Born and bred in Hackney she couldn't find 'ackney anywhere in said A-Z.

Kirkcaldy speak makes sense then, spell it as it sounds when you say it . Like gawn doon tae the bookys 👍 so the grammar polis can dae wan IMO 👍

I balk at "an historical meeting" and nearly all 'an' before h-starting words. But thre is no real rule i think.

Goes both ways though: 'a nother' was/is still a thing apparently.

And not just English struggles with the letter h attge start of a word, French words starting with h are a nightmare to learn as you have to use a different word fir 'the' in front of them depending on... aspiration! Yeah, that helps! The h used to be pronounced centuries ago but now you can say 'un hôtel' as (roughly) unnotel but 'un hibou' (an owl) has to have a space in-between: un eeboo. Both masculine gender words but different historical origins in Latin.

So dry yer eyes, it could be worse! 😃

I balk at "an historical meeting" and nearly all 'an' before h-starting words. But thre is no real rule i think.

Goes both ways though: 'a nother' was/is still a thing apparently.

And not just English struggles with the letter h attge start of a word, French words starting with h are a nightmare to learn as you have to use a different word fir 'the' in front of them depending on... aspiration! Yeah, that helps! The h used to be pronounced centuries ago but now you can say 'un hôtel' as (roughly) unnotel but 'un hibou' (an owl) has to have a space in-between: un eeboo. Both masculine gender words but different historical origins in Latin.

So dry yer eyes, it could be worse! 😃
An no greetin, am no botherd 👍