Designer gear

joethehibby

As Mark (1875 ) was keen on designer products, thought I’d ask what bouncers preferences were 🤔
Lacoste for me 💚👍

Don't care really. If it's fake and cheap with no big logos or writing then all good. Most of my clothes are unbranded local clothes but if I want something a wee bit smarter then it's usually Adidas.

I wore nothing but designer for yrs now in my 60s still wear levi jeans but not to fussed about anything else
I have discovered Vinted so bought a few Boss polo last few weeks

I get cheapo jeans as they used to end up getting worn to work.

Got my Hugo Boss hat on today and my Aquascutom scarf.

Mark launched a comprehensive thread on this:

In one line Joe, I'd recommend Scandinavia for tops, Japan for trews, and her majesty's England for shoes.

Mark launched a comprehensive thread on this:

In one line Joe, I'd recommend Scandinavia for tops, Japan for trews, and her majesty's England for shoes.
Thought he had started one previously but thought I’d do a follow up for him 👍

Don't care really. If it's fake and cheap with no big logos or writing then all good. Most of my clothes are unbranded local clothes but if I want something a wee bit smarter then it's usually Adidas.
Dinnae like big logos on clothes, maybe something the hibs shop could take into consideration for us more mature folk. Maybe a bit more discreet badges etc.
Discreet no' the right word but I cannae think of it

In the early days, there was a number of great sports labels that we all use to purchase in Olympus sports, Ellesse, Lacoste, Fila, Sergio Tachnni etc. Then you had your clothing labels, Best Company, Ciao, Chippie, Fiorucci, Retour, Replay, Emporio Armani, Hugo Boss, C17, Chevingon, Navy Arctic, Boneville, CP Company, Stone Island. Purchased in Buzzini, Cruise clothes, Ecco.

Used to be a bit of a clothes horse and was into all sorts: Barbour, G-Star, Replay, AllSaints, AMI Paris, CP Company, Stone Island, Y3….. I could go on. In my late thirties now and have moved more towards things without logos from Blacksmith Store among others. Still enjoy a pair of Replay jeans and a nice CP Company jacket though - without the goggles!

In the early days, there was a number of great sports labels that we all use to purchase in Olympus sports, Ellesse, Lacoste, Fila, Sergio Tachnni etc. Then you had your clothing labels, Best Company, Ciao, Chippie, Fiorucci, Retour, Replay, Emporio Armani, Hugo Boss, C17, Chevingon, Navy Arctic, Boneville, CP Company, Stone Island. Purchased in Buzzini, Cruise clothes, Ecco.
Chevignon was brilliant

Used to be a bit of a clothes horse and was into all sorts: Barbour, G-Star, Replay, AllSaints, AMI Paris, CP Company, Stone Island, Y3….. I could go on. In my late thirties now and have moved more towards things without logos from Blacksmith Store among others. Still enjoy a pair of Replay jeans and a nice CP Company jacket though - without the goggles!
You must be one of the youngest on here, think I could be the second oldest 77 sunset strip 🤔

The spelling of bad mate honest. Years ago there was a load of snide Lacoste on the go and for some reason it seemed mainly to be socks.

The crocodile of course came off in the wash. Me and my mate used to stick the crocodile onto our white overalls and tell the young geezers that they were Lacoste ovvies.

The spelling of bad mate honest. Years ago there was a load of snide Lacoste on the go and for some reason it seemed mainly to be socks.

The crocodile of course came off in the wash. Me and my mate used to stick the crocodile onto our white overalls and tell the young geezers that they were Lacoste ovvies.
Lookee lookee Polo shirts were quite common 🤣

@egb_hibs recommendation a while ago about Uniqlo was a good one for me. If you want nicely made gear with minimal or no branding visible at a reasonable price give 'em a go. Think I got 2 polos, a linen shirt and a merino wool crew neck jumper for not much over 100 quid.
Good stuff. Anyone who goes to Next or whatever, should give it a go: far more bang for the buck and imo more tasteful.

Same for the designer chaps tbh.

C17, forgot about that, loved their stuff. Was Soviet not a decent brand back in the day? I'm sure there was another top brand called Matanique (or something like that)

I like some Lyle & Scott stuff, otherwise i quite like Lambretta polos and Adidas gazelles .

Lacoste ovvies with an Aquascutum scarf is a mind blowing look👏

C17, forgot about that, loved their stuff. Was Soviet not a decent brand back in the day? I'm sure there was another top brand called Matanique (or something like that)

Soviet no mate, but Matanique was as was Naf Naf, Benetton, Barbour etc.

Benetton is a funny one, never see it in Scotland anymore, but still v popular in Italy. The shop they had in Waverley was usually decent.
Other shop I liked was Ricci. A wee venture up the Bridges for a Woods haircut and a look in there on a Friday

Back in the day I liked some of the Burberry jackets.

Good stuff. Anyone who goes to Next or whatever, should give it a go: far more bang for the buck and imo more tasteful.

Same for the designer chaps tbh.
I mind when Next was Hepworths, my dad had an account there. He was separated from my mum and living in Aberdeen by then and would feel guilty so left his Hepworths card with me. Rinsed with highly shan trendy clothes. Looking back some of my choices were really grim