Benn reportedly phoning around Shadow Cabinet ministers this weekend organising a coup. All very predictable. The irony of course is not Corbyn's approach to the referendum campaign, though any excuse will do for Blairites , but their complete misunderstood the nature of the vote. This was to a large extent a vote against the political establishment - the very same political establishment that right-wing Labour MPs represent. Treacherous bassa deserves it.
I didnt think Benn was either right wing or a Blairite, he does appear sleakit though?
It's not about 'Blairites'. The soft left of Labour can see and internal Labour Party polling confirms Labour is on course to lose a third of its support in any forthcoming GE. Corbyn is no leader. He has got to go.
That's a bit of a jump smurf [emoji848]
I'm struggling to see how these shenanigans against a democratically elected leader is going to make them more electable.
Murray resigned too
Corbyn fan Emily Thornberry on the telly defending Corbyn. Her who knocks white van man with an English flag. Up there with Diane Abbott she's a loathsome character on the Corbyn hard left that are total hypocrites.
I'm not massively into politics but can someone explain why Corbyn was elected as party leader if most of his colleagues dinnae like him?![]()
Could David milliband sort this?
No way will the membership accept him. Regarded too much as a Blairite. It needs a soft left candidate to emerge and I think preferably a woman. I could see Lisa Nandy emerging...
That's the kind of identity politics thinking that is part of the problem K. It should be the best candidate and their gender is what it is.
I agree. However, the reality is for Labour to be listened to it needs a completely different face and it really isn't acceptable that Labour the part of equality has never had a female leader.
I wonder if Tom Watson will seize the moment...
Corbyn fan Emily Thornberry on the telly defending Corbyn. Her who knocks white van man with an English flag. Up there with Diane Abbott she's a loathsome character on the Corbyn hard left that are total hypocrites.
I agree. However, the reality is for Labour to be listened to it needs a completely different face and it really isn't acceptable that Labour the part of equality has never had a female leader.
I wonder if Tom Watson will seize the moment...

10 shadow ministers appointed by Corbyn now resigned. Andy Burnham again showing he has less spine than a jellyfish.
what has he done, K?what has he done, K?
Andy Burnham had the spine to take on the establishment for Hillsborough families when nobody else would and persuaded Gordon Brown of the merits of it. Never thought of him as spineless. Has something happened today?
10 shadow ministers appointed by Corbyn now resigned. Andy Burnham again showing he has less spine than a jellyfish.
For Hillsborough absolutely. His shadow cabinet colleagues are furious with him tonight on what he has tweeted. Seems he's determined to not upset anyone in his determination to get the Manchester mayor candidacy.
I'm a fairly simple man, how can 63% remain from Labour supporters be a sign of weak leadership but the exact same % of SNP voters be an unqualified success?
Is there anything more sleekit than anti Corbyn Labour supporters?
I'll tell you what's bad BIG G and that's Labour Party members trying to pretend that Labour is a party of the hard left. That that's what it always was and Corbyn etc are somehow returning Labour back to what it was. Labour has never succeeded when it has gone introspective speaking to itself about itself becoming a party of protest. All Corbyn has done his entire career is protest. Labour has only ever changed the fortunes of those it represents by being in Government and to get into Government it needs to appeal beyond its core vote. This idea that the failed politics and policies that failed in 1983 will work now is unreal. To continue with Corbyn and allow a right wing Tory party get a landslide in the next GE would be an absolute betrayal of the people the party represents. Only when Labour has been soft left/social democratic has it won.
M when I reported on here about arch Blairite careerist Jim Murphy's orchestration against the only Jewish candidate for Labour's National Executive Committee a month ago.
http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/politics/only-jewish-candidate-for-labours-ruling-nec-blocked-after-intervention-by-jim-murphy-blairites-a7059486.html
many reading this must have seen it as utterly surreal. It was nothing to do with her being Jewish and antisemitism but all about the fact she supports Corbyn.
The NEC is finely balanced and Murphy was doing his masters bidding as the NEC could play a pivotal role in the witch hunt against Corbyn and the left in general. Sleekit isnae the word for them.
Momentum are a party within a party just like Militant was. Labour needs to boot out every one of them.
Momentum-backed Rhea Wolfson Fails In Bid To Stand For Labour's NEC
Momentum are a party within a party just like Militant was. Labour needs to boot out every one of them.
Momentum-backed Rhea Wolfson Fails In Bid To Stand For Labour's NEC
I take it that you would also boot out the Progress organisation too. Financial backing from Lord Sainsbury and other big business backers, own members, full time officials conference etc. Have you heard of this Blairite party within a party?
http://www.socialist.net/progress-under-attack.htm
Does that principle apply to trade unions also then?
As you'll know back in the 80's right wingers like John Smith and Roy Hattersley were in the manifesto group. Soft left like Neil Kinnock and John Prescott in the tribune group and hard left like Tony Benn and Dennis Skinner in the campaign group. Progress in effect replaced the manifesto lot but Momentum is a completely different beast that campaigns and calls for good MP's like Stella Creasy to be unseated.
Well Labour was set up by them to be their political voice? Hardly a party within a party?
Bryant gone now; says Corbyn could go down in history as man who broke Labour Party.
There's some stuff in this article which explains why, other than the obvious, the knives are out. Internal labour polling reveals that 29% of those who vote for them in 2015 would vote for another party now. Based on last week that's probably UKIP in most cases. You can see why they're panicking - off the top of my head that would make UKIP as big a party as labour by vote share.
http://www.theguardian.com/politics...corbyn-labour-leadership-eu-referendum-brexit
You dinnae get it K. These horrors in Progress and the PLP have been trying very publicly to unseat the Leader of the Labour party from day one. This could spectacularly backfire in so many ways.
Haha, am I the only one who is thinking that you and Smurf are like a latter day Uriah Heep and his ma wringing hands.
As you'll know back in the 80's right wingers like John Smith and Roy Hattersley were in the manifesto group. Soft left like Neil Kinnock and John Prescott in the tribune group and hard left like Tony Benn and Dennis Skinner in the campaign group. Progress in effect replaced the manifesto lot but Momentum is a completely different beast that campaigns and calls for good MP's like Stella Creasy to be unseated.
Well Labour was set up by them to be their political voice? Hardly a party within a party?