Chris Cadden, not good enough

If we carry the same form this season as we had last season we actually would be.
I don't see why we can't go out and win every game now. Europe is done, the team has shown who they are and what they're about. Why should we be worried about the SPL?
We should be worried about the SPL because the league is so unpredictable and anyone can beat anyone on their day.

Yeah, but the idea is we beat anyone on every given day.
Im not scared of Hearts and Aberdeen the way others are, they're not that good.
Hunco aren't that good.
Celtic have been good, but really don't look good right now.

Hibs look good, tried, tested and proven.

Our form goes back to December. This is a continuation of that.

The way I see it is everyone has played a part in either last seasons record run and getting us to Europe, or played their part in a fantastic European adventure.

They've literally done exactly what's expected of them (and more)
But somehow they still aren't good enough to take us to third and European competition?

Cadden scored the deciding goal a couple weeks ago, in extra time, when he doesn't really get to go more than 70 minutes.
Smith another one who is currently partially considered not good enough, i genuinely couldn't tell you how many points he's won for us with some outrageous goalkeeping.
Rocky was never good enough, Newell was never good enough, O'Hora until about 3 weeks ago wasn't good enough..
Why does there always need to be someone?
There always has to be someone because that’s how football fans are. Fans just cannot take to certain players.

Smith has a clanger in him as we’ve all seen and is maybe 1 or 2 disasters away from losing his place. However on the flip side some of his saves have kept us in games and gotten us over the line.

Cadden has the heart of a lion and his desire can’t and will never be questioned but his attacking play is vital to how we play and move forward but quite frequently his contribution in the final third is awful. Sunday for example , he must’ve been in a great position at least 4 maybe 5 times and failed to pick out a Hibs jersey. That’s simply not good enough.

Rocky since Christmas has turned things around drastically and if he’d left in January would we all have been that bothered ? He was out of contract in the summer and nobody who was bigger or better than Hibs made him an offer to sign. If he’d received one then he would’ve been offski.

Newell in my opinion will never be good enough to play for Hibs. He’s been here for years now and I still do not see what the fuss is about. We’re a better side without him and when he is fit , he’ll struggle to get back in.

O’Hora started last season well but tailed off towards the end. He’s started the season in great form and should be a starter every week.

Yeah, but the idea is we beat anyone on every given day.
Im not scared of Hearts and Aberdeen the way others are, they're not that good.
Hunco aren't that good.
Celtic have been good, but really don't look good right now.

Hibs look good, tried, tested and proven.

Our form goes back to December. This is a continuation of that.
Yeh but the reality is as I’ve said anyone can beat anyone. Christ ,Hibs were 2-0 against killie and we almost ended up beating ourselves come full time.

Both the old firm will get better over the course of the season and end up first and second.

McInnes will get shankland scoring again and his goals will have them challenging for third.

There always has to be someone because that’s how football fans are. Fans just cannot take to certain players.

Smith has a clanger in him as we’ve all seen and is maybe 1 or 2 disasters away from losing his place. However on the flip side some of his saves have kept us in games and gotten us over the line.

Cadden has the heart of a lion and his desire can’t and will never be questioned but his attacking play is vital to how we play and move forward but quite frequently his contribution in the final third is awful. Sunday for example , he must’ve been in a great position at least 4 maybe 5 times and failed to pick out a Hibs jersey. That’s simply not good enough.

Rocky since Christmas has turned things around drastically and if he’d left in January would we all have been that bothered ? He was out of contract in the summer and nobody who was bigger or better than Hibs made him an offer to sign. If he’d received one then he would’ve been offski.

Newell in my opinion will never be good enough to play for Hibs. He’s been here for years now and I still do not see what the fuss is about. We’re a better side without him and when he is fit , he’ll struggle to get back in.

O’Hora started last season well but tailed off towards the end. He’s started the season in great form and should be a starter every week.

Agree apart from Newell. I think he is a good player, and a good leader, but he now has excellent midfielders to replace, he might find it hard.

He’s never been good enough. He’s had far too many disappearing acts over the duration of his time here. Maybe a good leader as you say who knows but on the park I cannot recall a game where I walked away thinking he dominated that game , grabbed it by the scruff of the neck and made it his.

I am sure there are quite a few but my memory isnae the best nowadays.

Yeh but the reality is as I’ve said anyone can beat anyone. Christ ,Hibs were 2-0 against killie and we almost ended up beating ourselves come full time.

Both the old firm will get better over the course of the season and end up first and second.

McInnes will get shankland scoring again and his goals will have them challenging for third.

Hibs took their eye off the ball and started looking at the euro game imo, if they kept playing the way they were there would be no questions about that game. Miles ahead of them until we stopped playing.

Hearts can do what they want, they're no beating Hibs.
I done this all last season too, impose ourselves, stop worrying about Hearts.
Hibs had better form than them, were ahead of them and beating them head to head last season, and the argument was still how they'll catch us.

Not my style. I just don't agree.

And all of them are good enough to be at Hibs.

I agree on Newell now probably being too far behind the curve and struggling to get on the park going forward, if he comes back from injury at all
But he was the core of the squad that turned this thing around.
You might not remember a specific game, but it wasn't about that, it was just good solid consistent performances week in, week out.

We should be looking to always sign better players in every position - that never ends. We've been rudderless for years, with a revolving door of managers and a dodgy recruitment policy bringing us an unprecedented number of substandard players. I'm delighted with the window - yes, could've been better but that's always the case. As someone said, we emptied quantity and brought in quality. We're forever a work in progress - but a work on the up. Thirds not guaranteed but I reckon we're favourites. Us or the gunts. I feel we're stronger than them.

I see a good season ahead.

Hibs took their eye off the ball and started looking at the euro game imo, if they kept playing the way they were there would be no questions about that game. Miles ahead of them until we stopped playing.

Hearts can do what they want, they're no beating Hibs.
I done this all last season too, impose ourselves, stop worrying about Hearts.
Hibs had better form than them, were ahead of them and beating them head to head last season, and the argument was still how they'll catch us.

Not my style. I just don't agree.
It’s shame we stopped playing then isn’t it because it cost us 2 extra points.

Hertz we will have to worry about this season. They are better organised , have better players and have a far better manager than last season. Shankland will be scoring again soon enough and they’ll be in the mix come May.

We should be looking to always sign better players in every position - that never ends.

This is it, always.
Everyone at the club can leave if better is here.
Until then, if they're getting the results then they're good enough.

When we're doing nothing, losing, whatever. Then we can discuss who's holding us back. But from my seat, nothing is holding us back.

It’s shame we stopped playing then isn’t it because it cost us 2 extra points.

Hertz we will have to worry about this season. They are better organised , have better players and have a far better manager than last season. Shankland will be scoring again soon enough and they’ll be in the mix come May.

Good. I said elsewhere I half want a strong Hearts.
We'll be better with something to chase and compete with.
Shite when the pack is chasing us. I'd rather hunt something down.

Come back to haunt you. Think your on the Gray out train naw?

I'm on the Grays done as much as he can train.
I'd rather he got offered a new job and took it than us sacking him. He doesn't deserve to be sacked.

But I don't think he takes us further, I think if he keeps on with his cautious, borderline negative attitude then we'll slip further next season, then everything ends horribly for him.

If he plays the last 5 games of this season in a way that is actually chasing down Motherwell, actually trying to win games I would reassess that.

My issue is I'm 100% convinced the team that started the season, and the MK2 team since January are both capable of much, much more than we're getting to see.

He's not the best manager in our own league, I'm far from convinced anyone that would potentially replace him would automatically be worse. There's thousands of uefa accredited managers in the UK. Thousands more if we cast the net a bit wider afield.

Imagine this team with a Dutch or Scandinavian coach. Or with that mentality.

Smurf was arguing with me over my definition of Motherwell as average. But they've got half the team of the season. That's because of how they play. Not necessarily the individuals. We have better players across the pitch. (Not every player)

We should be doing better.

I'm on the Grays done as much as he can train.
I'd rather he got offered a new job and took it than us sacking him. He doesn't deserve to be sacked.

But I don't think he takes us further, I think if he keeps on with his cautious, borderline negative attitude then we'll slip further next season, then everything ends horribly for him.

If he plays the last 5 games of this season in a way that is actually chasing down Motherwell, actually trying to win games I would reassess that.

My issue is I'm 100% convinced the team that started the season, and the MK2 team since January are both capable of much, much more than we're getting to see.

He's not the best manager in our own league, I'm far from convinced anyone that would potentially replace him would automatically be worse. There's thousands of uefa accredited managers in the UK. Thousands more if we cast the net a bit wider afield.

Imagine this team with a Dutch or Scandinavian coach. Or with that mentality.

Smurf was arguing with me over my definition of Motherwell as average. But they've got half the team of the season. That's because of how they play. Not necessarily the individuals. We have better players across the pitch. (Not every player)

We should be doing better.

I've watched Hibs for a number of years and Im no convinced we'll get better manager wise. Being top six two seasons in a row is good for Hibs. Only questions for me is cup competitions. Playing a weaker team at Dunfermline was criminal and shouldn't be repeated. I say stick purely on the unknown.

But my point was getting your wish could backfire again. Could go the other way but knowing Hibs I doubt it. BTW if Gray did go I think we'd look in-house and appoint McGregor.

I've watched Hibs for a number of years and Im no convinced we'll get better manager wise. Being top six two seasons in a row is good for Hibs. Only questions for me is cup competitions. Playing a weaker team at Dunfermline was criminal and shouldn't be repeated. I say stick purely on the unknown.

But my point was getting your wish could backfire again. Could go the other way but knowing Hibs I doubt it. BTW if Gray did go I think we'd look in-house and appoint McGregor.

History has zero bearing on any new appointments going forward though?
We've hired good managers in the past too.

Being top 6 two seasons in a row is expected for Hibs. Bare minimum I'd argue. Anyone using the fact that we hardly ever do it, is accepting that we're not a top 6 side. And that's dire.

Cup competitions are a problem, cost us a chunk of money that we obviously need. I'd also argue last season's defeat to Kelty (often brought up, even still) had no bearing on that competition as Celtic put us out.
Dunfermline was a massive cock up, and they're now in the final I believe? I'd fancy them to do Celtic and cost us Europe now. (If we don't take Motherwell)

I don't think Daz can manage us yet? Not sure he's got all those badges already.

My opinion on Gray isn't knee jerk, or even related to Hearts league position. There's a full seasons worth of evidence that he's too rigid in his ways. I just want us to play positive football. I want us to look like we're trying to win rather than avoiding defeat.
Playing it safe will never get long term success. Not in this league. You have to be brave and bold. You need to bring out the best in the players you have and I don't see it. You can't draw as many as you win, (I think we'll draw more than we win this season)

I want him to succeed, I was all in on him last year and fought with 90% of this place over it. Because there was evidence that we were getting better every single week. I can't say that this year, at all.

Last year we over achieved on my 3 year plan, this year we've fell short. There's nothing to blame that on.
Bowie left, but he wasn't exactly getting to set the world on fire. He was being held back.
Mulligan was the best player on the park every week, and we were still making a total chunt of games. Playing him at wing back and crippling the midfield.

I'm not even convinced he knows what the best 11 is even now.

If he stays on next year, which I largely expect him to. He has to change, he has to learn from everything that's gone on this season and he needs to come at it with a completely different outlook.
Hunco and Celtic will be stronger. They won't accept another season like this season.
Hearts won't slow down.
Motherwell could improve. Aberdeen will improve. The bottom 6 are alot closer to us in performance than we are to any other side in the top 6.

This season's been a total let down, and the football on display the last couple of months has been brutal. Boring and a chore to go watch.
Where are we getting better?

Best analysis of the situation I’ve read

Best analysis of the issue I’ve read on here.

On your last paragraph, I mentioned a while ago that a coach at the club, who I was speaking to, said that it was generally known that Daz is the best coach on the staff and unless the club fuck it up he’d be the manager at some point.

Being top 6 two seasons in a row is expected for Hibs. Bare minimum I'd argue. Anyone using the fact that we hardly ever do it, is accepting that we're not a top 6 side. And that's dire.

Cup competitions are a problem, cost us a chunk of money that we obviously need. I'd also argue last season's defeat to Kelty (often brought up, even still) had no bearing on that competition as Celtic put us out.
Dunfermline was a massive cock up, and they're now in the final I believe? I'd fancy them to do Celtic and cost us Europe now. (If we don't take Motherwell)

I don't think Daz can manage us yet? Not sure he's got all those badges already.

My opinion on Gray isn't knee jerk, or even related to Hearts league position. There's a full seasons worth of evidence that he's too rigid in his ways. I just want us to play positive football. I want us to look like we're trying to win rather than avoiding defeat.
Playing it safe will never get long term success. Not in this league. You have to be brave and bold. You need to bring out the best in the players you have and I don't see it. You can't draw as many as you win, (I think we'll draw more than we win this season)

I want him to succeed, I was all in on him last year and fought with 90% of this place over it. Because there was evidence that we were getting better every single week. I can't say that this year, at all.

Last year we over achieved on my 3 year plan, this year we've fell short. There's nothing to blame that on.
Bowie left, but he wasn't exactly getting to set the world on fire. He was being held back.
Mulligan was the best player on the park every week, and we were still making a total chunt of games. Playing him at wing back and crippling the midfield.

If he stays on next year, which I largely expect him to. He has to change, he has to learn from everything that's gone on this season and he needs to come at it with a completely different outlook.
Hunco and Celtic will be stronger. They won't accept another season like this season.
Hearts won't slow down.
Motherwell could improve. Aberdeen will improve. The bottom 6 are alot closer to us in performance than we are to any other side in the top 6.

This season's been a total let down, and the football on display the last couple of months has been brutal. Boring and a chore to go watch.

I'm no bothered on your opinion of Gray I'm just sceptical on us getting better. As for making top 6 "Expected" is very nieve of you.

You do go on to say we over achieved last season. I take those season as good times cos they aren't often or expected. Not by anyone I know anyway.

I've also seen we should be up there in the top half cos of our budget. In that case we're 5th and according to some fans we are 5th in the table of money we have on transfers and such. So then we're on track naw? I know Football doesn't work like that and that's why I don't bang on about financial stuff so much.

No sure on McGregors Badges but could get them done in time for Gray to get sacked or picked up by someone else.

Best analysis of the situation I’ve read

Best analysis of the issue I’ve read on here.

On your last paragraph, I mentioned a while ago that a coach at the club, who I was speaking to, said that it was generally known that Daz is the best coach on the staff and unless the club fuck it up he’d be the manager at some point.

Thats exciting to hear to be honest but like Hammi said not sure if he has his badges.

I'm no bothered on your opinion of Gray I'm just sceptical on us getting better. As for making top 6 "Expected" is very nieve of you.

You do go on to say we over achieved last season. I take those season as good times cos they aren't often or expected. Not by anyone I know anyway.

I've also seen we should be up there in the top half cos of our budget. In that case we're 5th and according to some fans we are 5th in the table of money we have on transfers and such. So then we're on track naw? I know Football doesn't work like that and that's why I don't bang on about financial stuff so much.

No sure on McGregors Badges but could get them done in time for Gray to get sacked or picked up by someone else.

Why is that naive? Aren't we supposed to be in the argument for third biggest club in this country?
Why should we be anything less than a top 6 side? Why should we expect anything different?

We over achieved based on the 3 year plan I laid out when we hired Gray. Nobody expected us to come third first go around. I figured we'd be a top 6 team and pushing on this season. Not going backwards.
Even at my most argumentative what we ended up doing was above and beyond.
We shouldn't be hoping for top 6. But in any managers first season, after picking up the squad he did, third was a stretch. Half a season plus unbeaten, was a pipe dream.
So third in itself isn't an over achievement.

If struggling to finish 5th is on track we've gone backwards. Finances or not, the gulf between us Hearts and Aberdeen for that third highest budget isn't all that massive. We're regularly on the market for the exact same players. Even now, Aberdeen are trying to sign Boyle. We all operate at the same level. So nah, 5th isn't on track for me at all.
5th is fine, if we're in touching distance and we just fall short. We're well short of third this year.

The points we've gifted other teams has cost us those positions. Not the finances. (You'll very rarely see me go on about finances too, it's only relevant to the bigots up here) It's about the players and getting them to perform. Which we aren't doing.

And coming back to who replaces him, whether they're better or not.
What if Sir Dave does get offered another job, is it game over for us? Because we can't hire anyone else? He's gonna leave us at some point, he's gonna need replaced at some point. It's a weak argument, because football moves every day and everyones time is limited one way or another.

I think we've shown enough of the club in the last year to make us an attractive option for up and coming coaches or someone who wants a new project.

At the start of this season world media couldn't get enough of us.
Clips from Brazilian TV showing Bowie's goal and going mental over it, sunshine on Leith was on every Facebook page everywhere. The crowd was everywhere, the away days were everywhere.
We don't have to scrape the barrel, people will come to us.

*I'm not saying we're guaranteed to get someone better, but we shouldn't write off the possibility purely because we've had some shite too.

Hearts won't slow down.

Wouldn’t have got Celtic away so early if we hadn’t lost to Kelty as we’d have been seeded

Why is that naive? Aren't we supposed to be in the argument for third biggest club in this country?
Why should we be anything less than a top 6 side? Why should we expect anything different?

We over achieved based on the 3 year plan I laid out when we hired Gray. Nobody expected us to come third first go around. I figured we'd be a top 6 team and pushing on this season. Not going backwards.
Even at my most argumentative what we ended up doing was above and beyond.
We shouldn't be hoping for top 6. But in any managers first season, after picking up the squad he did, third was a stretch. Half a season plus unbeaten, was a pipe dream.
So third in itself isn't an over achievement.

If struggling to finish 5th is on track we've gone backwards. Finances or not, the gulf between us Hearts and Aberdeen for that third highest budget isn't all that massive. We're regularly on the market for the exact same players. Even now, Aberdeen are trying to sign Boyle. We all operate at the same level. So nah, 5th isn't on track for me at all.
5th is fine, if we're in touching distance and we just fall short. We're well short of third this year.

The points we've gifted other teams has cost us those positions. Not the finances. (You'll very rarely see me go on about finances too, it's only relevant to the bigots up here) It's about the players and getting them to perform. Which we aren't doing.

And coming back to who replaces him, whether they're better or not.
What if Sir Dave does get offered another job, is it game over for us? Because we can't hire anyone else? He's gonna leave us at some point, he's gonna need replaced at some point. It's a weak argument, because football moves every day and everyones time is limited one way or another.

I think we've shown enough of the club in the last year to make us an attractive option for up and coming coaches or someone who wants a new project.

At the start of this season world media couldn't get enough of us.
Clips from Brazilian TV showing Bowie's goal and going mental over it, sunshine on Leith was on every Facebook page everywhere. The crowd was everywhere, the away days were everywhere.
We don't have to scrape the barrel, people will come to us.

*I'm not saying we're guaranteed to get someone better, but we shouldn't write off the possibility purely because we've had some shite too.

Were no continually a top 6 side cos we hardly do it. Thats why I say your naive. Amongst many other Hibs fans mind. I mean is this the first time we've been in top 6 back to back in 18 years?

As for Gray going. Your right he could be snapped up by a championship team or league one in England cos let's face it hes done a decent job. Home form is remarkable tae. Also your right about folk wanting the Hibs job. We could end up with the new Tony Mowbray or the next Lee Johnson. Nothings certain.

We could ding dong all day on the ins and outs of it but I've just never been one to jump on the bandwagon We should always make top 6 or compete for 3rd every season cos I've never seen it.

Were no continually a top 6 side cos we hardly do it. Thats why I say your naive. Amongst many other Hibs fans mind. I mean is this the first time we've been in top 6 back to back in 18 years?

As for Gray going. Your right he could be snapped up by a championship team or league one in England cos let's face it hes done a decent job. Home form is remarkable tae. Also your right about folk wanting the Hibs job. We could end up with the new Tony Mowbray or the next Lee Johnson. Nothings certain.

We could ding dong all day on the ins and outs of it but I've just never been one to jump on the bandwagon We should always make top 6 or compete for 3rd every season cos I've never seen it.

So underachieving for so long, means we shouldn't expect to achieve going forward?

Sleeping giant, heard that all my life.
Waking up starts with the support, if we can't expect better, there's nothing pushing them to get there.

Neil Lennon was right about Hibs.
Always talented, always soft.

So underachieving for so long, means we shouldn't expect to achieve going forward?

Sleeping giant, heard that all my life.
Waking up starts with the support, if we can't expect better, there's nothing pushing them to get there.

Neil Lennon was right about Hibs.
Always talented, always soft.

No saying you can't strive for it I'm just saying I wouldnt hold my breath for it. If it does eventually come I'd be over the moon. BTW if Gray stays and we make top 6 again he'd be one of our most successful managers in modern times. League wise anyway.

I really don't think top 6 minimum is too much to ask for a club like us.
Third should be the goal, if you don't get it, you don't get it. But surely you go for it.
Hearts never started this season looking to win the league. It's out there because they aimed high and the bigots are pish.
The points we've thrown away. Like actual thrown away, 3-3 against Dundee not long ago, we were shite that day, last 10 minutes we managed to get ahead. And still gifted them a 94th minute goal.
How many times have we thrown points in the dying stages of a game? Us and Hearts should be pushing the bigots to third and fourth this year. Imagine the damage that would do to both those clubs.

It's our fault we're not in that conversation.

And yeah, on paper, 3rd and 5th in his first 2 seasons is a good result. But the wider story is a season that started with more promise than any other in recent memory, to end with us bored at the football.

Winning the Scottish cup is everyone's single highlight, but the actual feeling around the club in may and June this season was beyond the may or June following the cup win. Record sales, record revenue, record Hibees in the stadium.... Bawhair away from Europe proper by our own merit and not someone else's cup win.

Top 6 isn't an achievement. Cup wins, third place, European football. Those are achievements.