As anyone on here done it?
I'm genuinely considering packing work to train in nursing. It would also mean the possibility of becoming a student in my actual workplace atm.
Thoughts? Mid life crisis?
Thanks mate. And glad you are happy you done so.I did at around the same time. Went from field service engineer into facilities management. I'm now the FM of a large building in Edinburgh and love it, been at it 15 years now.
Glad I did it![]()
Didn't change my career even though I had the chance to work for UCATT as a full time official.As anyone on here done it?
I'm genuinely considering packing work to train in nursing. It would also mean the possibility of becoming a student in my actual workplace atm.
I did at around the same time. Went from field service engineer into facilities management. I'm now the FM of a large building in Edinburgh and love it, been at it 15 years now.
Glad I did it![]()
As anyone on here done it?
I mind when your job went tits up Stu. Was that when you worked with DocI got made redundant at 45, weeks before i was going on holiday to Turkey, nightmare as left job without a bolt due to them going out the box. Would get my redundancy money through govt but that was months later.
Got a chance at a mature apprenticeship as a painter and decorator, so it was all set up for me when i came back my holibobs.
A 3 year mature apprenticeship, but which as i knew because i had all the details, i was going to be skint for a couple of years as wages for an apprentice was not great, not as low as a youngster but still…i had a mortgage and kids.
Part of the apprenticeship involved a lot of college as well as on job… but daunting going back to college at 45 years old
But so glad i did it as i felt more in control of my life due to having a trade and not being a sucker to arsehole bosses, as it gave me so much more opportunities.
Started and stayed with that firm for 8 years, got good experience, then moved on for better money and better opportunities.
Moral of the story for me was it gave me the chance to earn better money, more freedom and in the end allowed me through hard work a better life and to go some amazing holidays, which as a family man, is always a good thing.
So, although it’s not all about the money, if it’s what you want then go for it, nothing worse than Groundhog Day in something you see as being endlessly at a dead end.
Hope you get what you are looking for![]()
Good man, glad it worked it well for you too, S. Thank you.I got made redundant at 45, weeks before i was going on holiday to Turkey, nightmare as left job without a bolt due to them going out the box. Would get my redundancy money through govt but that was months later.
Got a chance at a mature apprenticeship as a painter and decorator, so it was all set up for me when i came back my holibobs.
A 3 year mature apprenticeship, but which as i knew because i had all the details, i was going to be skint for a couple of years as wages for an apprentice was not great, not as low as a youngster but still…i had a mortgage and kids.
Part of the apprenticeship involved a lot of college as well as on job… but daunting going back to college at 45 years old
But so glad i did it as i felt more in control of my life due to having a trade and not being a sucker to arsehole bosses, as it gave me so much more opportunities.
Started and stayed with that firm for 8 years, got good experience, then moved on for better money and better opportunities.
Moral of the story for me was it gave me the chance to earn better money, more freedom and in the end allowed me through hard work a better life and to go some amazing holidays, which as a family man, is always a good thing.
So, although it’s not all about the money, if it’s what you want then go for it, nothing worse than Groundhog Day in something you see as being endlessly at a dead end.
Sort of changed path at a similar age having been with the same institution for around 20 years. It was a lot to give up especially as there was nothing wrong with that job (other than the travel becoming a bit of a bind when I had two young kids) however I felt I needed to try something new and test myself somewhere else. I joined a much smaller business, really enjoyed it but ended up going back where I was around 18months later.As anyone on here done it?
Yeah mateI mind when your job went tits up Stu. Was that when you worked with Doc
Thanks Buddy. Appreciate it.Sort of changed path at a similar age having been with the same institution for around 20 years. It was a lot to give up especially as there was nothing wrong with that job (other than the travel becoming a bit of a bind when I had two young kids) however I felt I needed to try something new and test myself somewhere else. I joined a much smaller business, really enjoyed it but ended up going back where I was around 18months later.
I don’t regret moving for one minute and I returned to the old employer all the better for the experience.
I guess the morale is, as others have said, life’s to short to wonder what if but equally don’t burn your bridges and do things the right way; you never know what the future brings and remember the worlds a small place!
Best of luck whatever you end up doing; got to do what’s right for you and your family first and foremost mate.
Didn't know you were a janitor.I did at around the same time. Went from field service engineer into facilities management. I'm now the FM of a large building in Edinburgh and love it, been at it 15 years now.
Glad I did it![]()
Didn't know you were a janitor.
What does the FM stand for?
Facilities Manager , the one in my place is a right twat . Loud voice and big words like that bloke who used to be on the good old daysDidn't know you were a janitor.
What does the FM stand for?
Lucky you didn't want a real trade....I got made redundant at 45, weeks before i was going on holiday to Turkey, nightmare as left job without a bolt due to them going out the box. Would get my redundancy money through govt but that was months later.
Known on here as EGBFacilities Manager , the one in my place is a right twat . Loud voice and big words like that bloke who used to be on the good old days
Hey…. Van gogh was a painterLucky you didn't want a real trade....
Facilities Manager , the one in my place is a right twat . Loud voice and big words like that bloke who used to be on the good old days
nah much worseKnown on here as EGB![]()
Cheers buddy and congratulations to your daughter. I'm due you a pint btw. Let me know where.Funnily enough my youngest lassie, after being in the same job since she left school 25 years ago, was talking of doing just that. The hospital she's at is shutting soon and she didnae fancy being transferred tae the Royal. She went for a job interview this morning, she only went and got it.
She's 42 Bambino, so I guess the answer tae yer question is go for it mate.
We used to wind up our painters constantly.Hey…. Van gogh was a painter
But he didn’t have to make every other trades fuck ups look good![]()
Some trades think they are the bees knees, platerersExactly Stu. Last man frees all.
Try hanging £1000 a roll wallpaper into ingoes and around fireplaces… around shocking fitting sockets and switches from sparksWe used to wind up our painters constantly.
We called them 'slap dabbers'( not sure if that terminology transfers to your area?).
That is ship painters.
Having tried hanging paper I know the skill involved in it.( and its not a skill that I possess!)
Cutting in is even worse!
Exactly, you should never ever have to do anything but paint new plaster, absolutely not the case.. outrageous what they get away with.I never used to repair new plaster. Working with Stevie Mart** he would say fix it and I'd say naw
And without sounding too proleterate in the building trade our bodies eventually say that's enough.I’ve just changed jobs mate and I’m 59. I was in the building trade , making pre fab concrete stairs, balconies , walls etc. I would make the form and cast the concrete. I had been doing it for around 20 years. It was heavy work and my body started to feel the effects after so many years. I applied for a technician post with our local council, fixing electric wheelchairs and all kinds of assistance equipment used by handicapped people / elderly people. I really enjoy it, took a small hit wage wise, but it gives me a secure job up to when I can stop working , the sore, aching joints from the building industry are slowly disappearing and the hours are normal instead of 0600-1400 with tight deadlines having to be met every week.
You’ve took that too farStarting to like daytime telly as well.
Nowt wrong with a loose women at some points mateYou’ve took that too far
But i can see you watching and liking loose women![]()
You’ve took that too far
But i can see you watching and liking loose women![]()