Car insurance

Hattie

Geezo how has prices rocketed??
We have 11+ years no claims and for fully comprehensive for the 2 of us is getting ridiculous, couple of years ago we were £350 a year, now the firm we have been with for years have upped it to 700 from £500 last year!!! They’ve been told to bolt and looking online it’s coming in about £500 but with some ridiculous excess fees….
I really dont get It with zero claims in over 11 years…. Even then i don’t know how is that Because we have never claimed in over 20 years and have a no claims guarantee in our about to expire policy.. puzzling. Zero points btw.
Anyway Just wondering if anyone knows a good company with decent excess? I know it’s all about context but any tips he handy

go on eg compare the market... you decide all your cover and any excess you wish.... whentheresults come in you can statr tweaking here or there. (you've probs already done that S). That seems an awfy hefty hike over a couple ofyears! They dinnae want your business it seems...

Insurance companies take the piss. I move every year (Though they mostly get 1 renewal as long as it is within reason)
Yeah I’m not seeing any point at all in staying with the same company, it’s getting outrageous

go on eg compare the market... you decide all your cover and any excess you wish.... whentheresults come in you can statr tweaking here or there. (you've probs already done that S). That seems an awfy hefty hike over a couple ofyears! They dinnae want your business it seems...
Yeah, we phoned them and they wouldn’t change it..
we’ve done the Martin Lewis site and that’s where we’re getting about £500 but excess a joke… can get done with £200 excess at £550 a year.. best we’ve found so far but we have a couple of weeks still on policy so will keep looking.. edit
Mrs says she’s checked that mate 👍

I stuck with Direct Line for donkey's years through laziness mainly. When I finally got round to checking I found that I could get the same cover they were charging me £750 for about £250 with Tesco.

There was absolutely no reward for loyalty so shopping around was a must. Having said that, I've a feeling there was a change in the law coming in, and that insurers renewal quotes had to match what they were offering new customers. Maybe that's happened now and we're going to see prices landing somewhere between the two. Good news if you're a lazy bassa like I was, not so good if you were disciplined enough to shop around every year for the best price.

I stuck with Direct Line for donkey's years through laziness mainly. When I finally got round to checking I found that I could get the same cover they were charging me £750 for about £250 with Tesco.

There was absolutely no reward for loyalty so shopping around was a must. Having said that, I've a feeling there was a change in the law coming in, and that insurers renewal quotes had to match what they were offering new customers. Maybe that's happened now and we're going to see prices landing somewhere between the two. Good news if you're a lazy bassa like I was, not so good if you were disciplined enough to shop around every year for the best price.
Loyalty seems to be a waste of time now as you say.
They must think, like you say, us lazy bassas will just keep renewing regardless… no more

I use a comparison website every year. However I have stayed with LV three years in a row as they have beaten everyone on price at renewal time.

Well you’re maybe half right…or maybe totally right as im banned from twitter 🤣
A young lad at work was on about his insurance company wanting 100 quid a month , i said aye it comes down when you hit 25 normally . He said aye but i'm 26 . Obviously changed since my day

It’s puzzling mate, dont make Sense

6466CCD2-D762-4B9A-8FA6-64E98A686A16.png
This is the tweet that they banned me for 🤷‍♂️🥹

My 18 year old daughter recently passed her test. I hardly use my car at the moment so I added her for a very reasonable £320 per year. Not bad for a brand new driver in a 2.2l car.

£320 added to your premium ??? what kind of car is it ??

We have 11+ years no claims and for fully comprehensive for the 2 of us is getting ridiculous, couple of years ago we were £350 a year, now the firm we have been with for years have upped it to 700 from £500 last year!!! They’ve been told to bolt and looking online it’s coming in about £500 but with some ridiculous excess fees….
I really dont get It with zero claims in over 11 years…. Even then i don’t know how is that Because we have never claimed in over 20 years and have a no claims guarantee in our about to expire policy.. puzzling. Zero points btw.
Anyway Just wondering if anyone knows a good company with decent excess? I know it’s all about context but any tips he handy
Is it a ferrari you’ve got 😩

My laddie won’t put me on his insurance as it bumps the premium up by £600.
I was an advanced polis driver for 30 years and he’s 24 driving a 2 litre BMW but it’s me that’s the bigger liability 🤣

I used Confused.com yesterday, Admiral renewal was £480, AA like for like policy £225

I was with saga for years, every year my quote would shoot up. I just phoned them and said I could get it for such and such . With a few alterations I always got it down to maybe 10 or 15 extra . They are all chancers and if you let them they will rip you off 🤷‍♂️

It has.
And an Austin 7 was always cheap to insure......

I have used Carole Nash for years as they shop about for the best deal for me each year. I first started using them as they did agreed value for my Lambretta. They’ve always been brilliant (although this year my insurance went up a bit because of inflation). I usually pay about 270 for me and the Mrs.

I’ve never paid more than £200 for car insurance for me and my wife in forty years . Does it matter where you stay e.g.

It would be interesting to see if it’s postcode related . If you do go on a comparison site like compare the market it would be worthwhile finding out ?
Tbf is quiet round here… very rarely any cars stolen, in fact in my 18 years in this house I’ve never heard of a car stolen in my vicinity

It’s that time again….. and FUCKIN WOW… absolute robbing batards..
To stay with the same company, currently it’s £55 PM
Same car, no claims…
They are now quoting 11 payments of £289 pm!!!!
Absolute no justification in what is clearly robbery… Performance direct… fuck you cvnts

Same car, no claims…
Absolute no justification in what is clearly robbery… Performance direct… fuck you cvnts
Do you live in Kyev perchance???

Same car, no claims…
Stu thats over 3K, has anybody on the policy got points or been banned?
Cannae mind if I posted this before but cvnts wanted just under 3K for a new car we were getting, but the guy that sold us it went on Confused.com and got it for 900. Tell them tae bolt!