CAN YOU DONATE?

Done my bit today. Was back in the house less than an hour from leaving. Piece of cake ( well a biscuit and drink of apple juice for my troubles😄) . Some organisation ( and no doubt cost) is involved in getting a wee bag of blood from somebody’s arm. I think more should be done to convince folk to donate. So, I’m doing my bit.
Get your name down folks, it could be your loved one that needs it one day, and more than likely will be at some point.
The staff are all so positive and thankful as well, obviously passionate about what they do.
Go for it 😜

Done my bit today. Was back in the house less than an hour from leaving. Piece of cake ( well a biscuit and drink of apple juice for my troubles😄) . Some organisation ( and no doubt cost) is involved in getting a wee bag of blood from somebody’s arm. I think more should be done to convince folk to donate. So, I’m doing my bit.
Get your name down folks, it could be your loved one that needs it one day, and more than likely will be at some point.
The staff are all so positive and thankful as well, obviously passionate about what they do.
Go for it 😜
Waiting for my next appointment at the eye pavilion, what a bloody time that is taking :coffee1: , then I will pop next door and donate.

Go for it 😜
Fantastic feedback mate. Really glad the experience was a good one! Aye, the logistics getting the teams out to the community, the donor management/engagement, the correct medical devices and kit etc take a hell of a lot of organisation, spanning multiple teams in Donor Services. Then we pass that bag of lifesaving blood straight to the labs for them to work your magic. Your blood will be tested, pulled and ready for sending to hospital blood banks sometime tomorrow!
Waiting for my next appointment at the eye pavilion, what a bloody time that is taking :coffee1: , then I will pop next door and donate.
Quality Bill. Just to save you a bit of time, make sure you have the all clear from whatever reasons you are at the other clinic mate. We dont collect the whilst folks are seeing other specialists or under investigation.

My old man had given over 100 pints by the time they turned him down. I started donating as soon as I turned 18 and got knocked back once (after surgery IIRC) having given over 100 too. Good cause - and lovely biscuits.
Severity of surgery can prevent further donations, also, if you were given a transfusion yourself, that precludes a person from future donations.

Over 100 donations is simply outstanding BTH! You have potentially saved up to 400 lives! Even crazer amount when you factor in your dad!

I donated in January and scheduled again for next week. For those on the fence, it really is worth doing. It's actually healthy for your body to give blood and some studies have shown it can potentially lower the risks of getting cancer. Best part is knowing you helped someone in a small way.

My only gripe is doing it over here in the States and a financial gripe. Knowing they'll charge someone tens of thousands for a blood transfusion and potentially using my and others "free" blood. I also think they should incentive it here by waving certain medical costs for people who regularly donate.

Fantastic feedback mate. Really glad the experience was a good one! Aye, the logistics getting the teams out to the community, the donor management/engagement, the correct medical devices and kit etc take a hell of a lot of organisation, spanning multiple teams in Donor Services. Then we pass that bag of lifesaving blood straight to the labs for them to work your magic. Your blood will be tested, pulled and ready for sending to hospital blood banks sometime tomorrow!

Quality Bill. Just to save you a bit of time, make sure you have the all clear from whatever reasons you are at the other clinic mate. We dont collect the whilst folks are seeing other specialists or under investigation.
Will do C. 👍

I donated in January and scheduled again for next week. For those on the fence, it really is worth doing. It's actually healthy for your body to give blood and some studies have shown it can potentially lower the risks of getting cancer. Best part is knowing you helped someone in a small way.

My only gripe is doing it over here in the States and a financial gripe. Knowing they'll charge someone tens of thousands for a blood transfusion and potentially using my and others "free" blood. I also think they should incentive it here by waving certain medical costs for people who regularly donate.
were you born after 1980 torto?

re your second para; it was my understanding that in the states they paid folks to give blood?

I was born in 79. They don't pay you here, but sometimes throw in an Amazon gift card for $15 or a T-shirt
They do pay in other states, im sure. Also, there should be a ban of UK folks born before 1980 (at least there used to be, and medically, unsure how thats changed. Mad cow and all that)

No, not your money you tight arses....

Can you spare some time and consider donating some Blood?

Following the holiday period and then the horrific weather, the blood stocks in Scotland have taken a really hefty hit. There is now a pre Amber warning as we are getting low on all of the 8 blood groups, with action required now for SIX of them (O+, A+, B+, AB+ A- and O- )

At this stage hospitals do not need to cancel operations, and usual management of unplanned procedures still stand.

If you are unable to donate, perhaps someone in your family or friends can?

The Blood Transfusion Service can be contacted by calling 0345 90 90 999 or emailing nss.snbtsenquiry@nhs.scot

Thanks very much

(hope this ok admins - just delete if not)
ive donated a few times due to medicines I have to take only the platelets are usable.
Last few times ive donated ive felt horrendous for hours afterwards so I haven't been for a couple of years.
Plus they never have GF biscuits lol

They do pay in other states, im sure. Also, there should be a ban of UK folks born before 1980 (at least there used to be, and medically, unsure how thats changed. Mad cow and all that)

I used to donate regularly but medication has put paid to that unfortunately

its so dependant on the type of meds and perhaps the condition its being taken to alleviate. The recipient of the donation is usually pretty poorly, so there's really strict criteria for donating...and theres some meds which cant be screened out before being pooled.
Also, certain conditions could be adverse to the persons health if they donate, so the first priority is the safety of the person rocking up to donate.

Its a real shame when we loose folks like yourself who were regulars, you're awfy hard to replace!

ive donated a few times due to medicines I have to take only the platelets are usable.
Last few times ive donated ive felt horrendous for hours afterwards so I haven't been for a couple of years.
Plus they never have GF biscuits lol
There should always be GF available after giving blood BC. (sometimes there are supply issues though).

Plateletpheresis has ramped up these last few years, Amazing you used to do them, as not everyone can. Thing is, if you are feeling awful after giving platelets, you are probable right to have a break. You've given up your own free time, and helped an awful lot of complete strangers BC, you should be proud!

Had no clue that there was a ban on folks donating after 1980. I'm always quite happy to donate and actually feel like I have more energy a day later.

Blood donations generally take a dip in the summer; folks on holidays etc. This summer, as well as the usual like Wimbledon, we have the World Cup. Fitba' tourneys and like means blood stocks generally take a hefty hit.
If you are due to donate in june / july / august, try your best to get to your appointment, or if you have never done it and fancy saving peoples lives, log into Scotblood.co.uk. 😎

There's a lot of awfy sick folks in our hospitals that need you.(y)(y)