Buying a hoose with 'suspected' asbestos

MSG_07

Looking at a lovely place just outside Edinburgh which I'm considering bidding for however it's noted on the home report that from a visual inspection the kitchen ceiling may contain asbestos fibres however as long as they are not disturbed it should be safe.

If you were on my shoes would this put you off buying the place??

Looking at a lovely place just outside Edinburgh which I'm considering bidding for however it's noted on the home report that from a visual inspection the kitchen ceiling may contain asbestos fibres however as long as they are not disturbed it should be safe.

No, go for it and get it either removed or properly enclosed/ protected factoring in cash to do that when calculating the cost of purchase. Does it say where specifically they think the asbestos is, ceiling tiles, panels, around pipework??

I'd like to know a bit more specifics, but no, broadly, it wouldn't put me off.

Might be helpful to get a quote for removal for peace of mind.

Thanks all. I didn't know about covering with paint, that's interesting. I don't think it's that costly to have room sorted. Be different if it was the entire building. It's one of these textured ceilings in the kitchen. The rest of the place is plain plasterboard.

Id advocate factoring in the additional costs incurred getting it completely removed from the building..... if it wasnt endemic in the property, it wouldnt put me off buying the house.

Nope.
There‘s thousands of houses with ‘artex’ type ceiling/wall coverings. A layer of paint makes it safe enough. Just don’t try and sand it down smooth!
I've not often seen home reports document asbestos and thought it odd that the surveyor has highlighted this when their own terms state they don't assess asbestos. I think that's what worried me a little.

Can't see anything on the paint and artex? Seeing suggestions like steaming and replacing/doubling up on the plasterboard.

I wouldn't recommend fixing plasterboard to it as when you're drilling for your fixings you're potenially disturbing the asbestos which is when it can become active and dangerous to you. As above don't let it put you off buying as it can be dealt with if required.

Visual inspection.
Typical Home report. Not worth the money it costs.
If it is as Doc says an artex ceiling, then get it covered over (plasterboarded)and forget about it.
Dont let it put you off buying.

Feeling a little better about it now having read the advice and comments. I believe it is just an Artex ceiling (property built in 60's). Will see what happens as alot of people looking at properties at the moment.

I wouldn't recommend fixing plasterboard to it as when you're drilling for your fixings you're potenially disturbing the asbestos which is when it can become active and dangerous to you. As above don't let it put you off buying as it can be dealt with if required.
There are applications which prevent any shenanigans with the asbestos.
And if it comes to it the ceiling can be skimmed by a plasterer.

My house has 'artex' ceilings throughout. I had one skimmed, a false ceiling with lights fitted in another room, and the rest have a few coats of paint on them.
No worries.

It's the guys who worked with asbestos for years inhaling microfibers that suffered, as long as the stuff is not disturbed then there's negligible risk. Sometimes it's better to leave well alone.

Having said that, my garage roof had to be replaced and that was concrete/asbestos tiles - needed guys in space suits to take that off!

My house has 'artex' ceilings throughout. I had one skimmed, a false ceiling with lights fitted in another room, and the rest have a few coats of paint on them.
No worries.

It's the guys who worked with asbestos for years inhaling microfibers that suffered, as long as the stuff is not disturbed then there's negligible risk. Sometimes it's better to leave well alone.

Having said that, my garage roof had to be replaced and that was concrete/asbestos tiles - needed guys in space suits to take that off!
As an apprentice we used to do maintenance/repairs at the local Academy.
I vividly remember breaking off asbestos lagging with a hammer to repair a leaking central heating pipe.
Thought nothing of it. This was about 1973/4 and asbestos was still being used.
Later on I fitted combi boilers onto asbestos SE Duct in flats locally.
Crazy.

As an apprentice we used to do maintenance/repairs at the local Academy.
I vividly remember breaking off asbestos lagging with a hammer to repair a leaking central heating pipe.
Thought nothing of it. This was about 1973/4 and asbestos was still being used.
Later on I fitted combi boilers onto asbestos SE Duct in flats locally.
Crazy.
A mate I worked with was a plumber who died from Asbestosis. It’s obviously not as bad now in the plumbing trade but I widnae be buying a hoose that’s got asbestos in it without getting it checked oot, professionally.

There are applications which prevent any shenanigans with the asbestos.
And if it comes to it the ceiling can be skimmed by a plasterer.
I've been told 3mm max for the sticky out bits for skimming.

Ask the professionals.

But it’s much more fun to get advice from the Bounce. I’m sure Ryan69 could give us quality advice along the lines that fears over asbestos is just some snowflakes trying to divert our attention so some billionaires can organise child rape parties in the basement bar of The Phoenix.

Just be wary in future years incase your missus wants down lighters in the ceiling and you forget about the asbestos.
It wouldn’t put me off buying it.

Asbestos in artex was applied up into mid 80s. Easy to remove if you're careful.

Never, ever listen to ANYONE who says the risks are minimal. Minimal does not mean "no risk". Risk of any kind involving asbestos can kill. My brother was 53 and died two years ago from mesothelioma. He was a mechanic and likely ingested fibres cleaning out brake linings. Many people get asbestosis having worked in schools, colleges and offices. Not working with it but being in the vicinity of the "low risk" brigade ripping down old ceiling tiles, drilling through asbestos sheeting, ripping up vinyl floor tiles (there's also fibres in the adhesive)....... Ive witnessed it myself in a local college and my concerns cost me my job via redundancy. I was offered £1200 to sign a non disclosure agreement and refused. That was a lot of money when your facing unemployment but draw your own conclusions as to what they have to hide.

It's well known that there's many in my generation who could lose their retirement years to this terrible disease. The government don't pay out over £100,000 in compensation out the goodness of their hearts. Its a killer.

Sorry for the rant but it's a subject I feel strongly about. Seal it in then there's no risk. I've removed my artexed ceilings and replaced with new boards. Some I've pva'd and plastered. Any good plasterer will give you advice. Remember if you remove it yourself you can't put the artexed boards in a skip. They'll need double bagged and picked up by a licensed contractor.

So to answer your question? If the artex is painted its safe. If not and it looks clean its likely fairly new (post 80's) If it's not been painted from new (80's) it will be streaked with discolouration from heating. If your unsure just get a damp sponge and wet a small area. If unpainted it will turn darker.

If you love the house buy it. If you can afford it, plaster them. If not, paint them and enjoy your new home.