Buckfast

Cavalier

Saw this elsewhere and thought i'd share to see if anyone agreed.
Tried once myself, that was enough...

An American wine connoisseur made the mistake of reviewing buckfast… Here’s their tasting notes:
Buckfast Tonic Wine (No Vintage)
Screw cap, took it off about 30 minutes before to bring in some air. Apparently made by monks in England. Decided to try while cooking dinner. Poured into a glass, first glance has a very inky almost brownish colour that you see in older wines. Very syrupy, liquid clings to the side of the glass when swirled. Almost 15% ABV.
Stuck my nose in and was hit with something I’ve never experienced before. Barnyardy funk (in a bad way) almost like a dead animal in a bird’s nest. A mix of flat Coca Cola and caramel with a whiff of gun metal.
On the palate, overwhelming sweetness and sugar. Cherry Cola mixed with Benadryl. Unlike anything I’ve tasted. I’m not sure what this liquid is but it is not wine, I’m actually not sure what it is but it tastes like something a doctor would prescribe. A chemical concoction of the highest degree. Can only compare it to a Four Loko.
Managed to make it through a couple small glasses but not much more. Has absolutely ruined the evening drinking-wise for me as I tried to drink a nice Bordeaux after but the iron-like metallic sweet aftertaste I just couldn’t get out of my mouth even after a few glasses of water. I don’t drink a lot of coffee regularly so I also have mild heart palpitations from the caffeine after just drinking a bit of this and feel a slight migraine.
An ungodly concoction made by seemingly godly men. I believe the Vatican needs to send an exorcist over to Buckfast Abbey as the devil’s works are cleary present there. After tasting this “wine,” the way I feel can only be described as akin to being under a bridge on one’s knees orally pleasing a vagrant while simultaneously drinking liquified meth through a dirty rag.
I’ve drank a lot of wines in my life and will never forget this one.

I've drank Bucky before. It's more like a syrup than a drink.

Pure wreck the hoose juice though.

Auld article but i would imagine nowt much has changed....

Life in the Buckfast Triangle: drunk by noon, handcuffed by midnight.

You won't find the Buckfast Triangle on any official map of Scotland but it's right there between Airdrie, Coatbridge and Bellshill.

According to the BBC, Buckfast tonic wine was mentioned in almost 6,500 Strathclyde Police crime reports between 2010 and 2012.

Now that's brand recognition.

Tried a mouthful of it once on the a bus on the way home from a rugby international at Murrayfield , it's vile sickly shite that I will never drink again

I've only ever bought it once and I think the reviewer guy has pretty much nailed it. Foul stuff that drives folk bammy.

My Mrs is from Coatbridge and is so vehemently anti buckie that she'd throw me out the house if I turned up at home with a bottle of it.

Years ago I was introduced to it drinking it the 1st time was like cough medicine but then you get used to it.
Used to put it in the fridge to chill it.
Never had any forgotten nights with it, I've had more with Scotch.

I agree with the review. It should be reported to the Vatican for the Pope to ban. A blight on the areas where its drunk.

I drank it as a teenager. It's absolute swill, but I'll still have a nostalgic swig if I get the opportunity.

It tastes like a fruity liquorice allsort not wine.

I agree with the review. It should be reported to the Vatican for the Pope to ban. A blight on the areas where its drunk.
I've thought this before. It seems to have no legitimate purpose. It's absolutely vile stuff and is only drunk for one reason.

I've been in places before that had it on the optics. The sign of a place you don't really want to be lol.

There used to be a bottle on the optics down in Porters Bar a few years ago.

Never tried buckie but had thunderbird years ago. It was American pear wine (IIRC) which clocked in at 17.5%. It was drinkable but also fucking lethal.

Once was enough.

I can honestly say I've never tried it sober. I may have had a swig while pissed but I've kinda got a curious attraction to it. I'm a bit like Gollum in L.O.R I know it's not good and things will end badly but....I, I..I'm drawn towards it...somebody help me before I succumb to it. 😱🤮🤮🤮🫥

Never tried buckie but had thunderbird years ago. It was American pear wine (IIRC) which clocked in at 17.5%. It was drinkable but also fucking lethal.

Once was enough.
🎼Should I mourn your decline with some Thunderbird wine and a black handkerchief 🎙
Ian Dury.😇

I've been in places before that had it on the optics. The sign of a place you don't really want to be lol.

There used to be a bottle on the optics down in Porters Bar a few years ago.

I've only ever seen this in England - Blackpool, Leeds and Crewe specifically.

Always assumed it was to accommodate local Scottish or Irish expats.

I must frequent nicer boozers in my homeland than I did when I was living down south.

I've only ever seen this England - Blackpool, Leeds and Crewe specifically.

Always assumed it was to accommodate local Scottish or Irish expats.

I must frequent nicer boozers in my homeland than I did when I was living down south.

I saw Buckie on optic in a Classie establishment in Bargeddie

lovely stuff..well if you like sweet syrupy drinks. Got aquainted with it when I moved through to Airdrie back in the days when the monklands (appropriately named) and Lanarkshire in particular were the area where at that time something like 98% of worldwide sales of Buckfast happened. As you moved further west towards Coatbridge and beyond Eldorado and Lanliq were more prominent though there was plenty of the good stuff too. God points are the taste of course, then the fact there is no bubbles to give you a bloated feeling and a bottle is equivalent of drinking half a dozen fairly strong beers. Back then around 1980 it cost about £2.25, but it was never a cheap drink as if it was cheap you wanted, you could buy British sherry a lot cheaper with the same alcoholic content. And that is why the much vaunted minimum alcohol price had zero effect on this wine. I heard it was actually prescribed as a tonic years ago by doctors in the Monklands but have no idea as the the authenticity of this. Down side is of course that as like many strong drinks, if you are inclined to have moments of anger, Buckfast will certainly help you with that and also I found if you drank a lot I tended to get guts feeling not good.

The daily record was the main propogandist of Buckfast, frequently blaming it for all the ills of the world to the extent where they gave much free advertising and now it is Scotland wide. Football fans also took it to the many towns and cities around the country as they followed their teams and popularity increased.
It used to be very unpopular outside Lanarkshire..and still is with many. I remember coming to a Hibs game and bought a bottle from Haddows (the only place I could get Buckie in Edinburgh in the 80s) and watching the expressions of some Hibs supporters who thought I was some kind of wino in need of a fix. It was also a nice colour when after the drink ban came into place to sneak a half bottle in my trousers and pour into a jubilee (kwenchy cup) and drink it in full view of Police and Stewards who hadn't a clue. Nowadays rum n coke works well in the large cups you get at the stadiums. TBH though I rarely take a drink at games these days..and certainly not advocate it :53:

I also saw a huge amount in Spain at one of the resorts prior to holiday season,

Anyway I don't drink it much at all nowadays, maybe a bottle a year and the last time I did drink it things didn't end well, in fact 2 of the last 3 times didn't but I wouldn't really blame Buckfast, more the company I was around .

I have never been to Buckfast abbey but it is supposed to have a good tour and makes other more normal table wines, though even I question the ethics of Monks brewing firewater. There have been various appeals to the head Monk to cease brewing but they make too much money from it, also I think the bottlers *(Chandlers I think?) also make way too much from it and would not want it stopped. Again though ethics with money made from misery. Meanwhile I will get off subject before I get in the mood for one

No self respecting Buckfast drinker would ever ask for it by name.
IE, gies a bottle of wine.
Eldorado or LD is much better anyway.
Was stopped at traffic lights in Wishaw one day next to a wee offie called the Beer Barrel.
In the window, under the banner of Father's day special was a bottle of 'wine' with 10 Kensitas Club sellotaped to it.

I have a great pal who I have not seen for a fair few years, a Motherwell SS guy, who swore by it. He was fucking mental when on it or indeed on the lash at any time, as big an orange b as I am a fenian one.

I took one slug and swore I would never drink it again, but I was always a wee bitty pleased the dobber drank wine made by Catholic monks.

Never seen the daft *&*^ for years now. He stopped going to big fitba years back, follows Bellshill nowadays, which was alien to me.

I might try and seek him out after reading this.

lovely stuff..well if you like sweet syrupy drinks. Got aquainted with it when I moved through to Airdrie back in the days when the monklands (appropriately named) and Lanarkshire in particular were the area where at that time something like 98% of worldwide sales of Buckfast happened. As you moved further west towards Coatbridge and beyond Eldorado and Lanliq were more prominent though there was plenty of the good stuff too. God points are the taste of course, then the fact there is no bubbles to give you a bloated feeling and a bottle is equivalent of drinking half a dozen fairly strong beers. Back then around 1980 it cost about £2.25, but it was never a cheap drink as if it was cheap you wanted, you could buy British sherry a lot cheaper with the same alcoholic content. And that is why the much vaunted minimum alcohol price had zero effect on this wine. I heard it was actually prescribed as a tonic years ago by doctors in the Monklands but have no idea as the the authenticity of this. Down side is of course that as like many strong drinks, if you are inclined to have moments of anger, Buckfast will certainly help you with that and also I found if you drank a lot I tended to get guts feeling not good.

The daily record was the main propogandist of Buckfast, frequently blaming it for all the ills of the world to the extent where they gave much free advertising and now it is Scotland wide. Football fans also took it to the many towns and cities around the country as they followed their teams and popularity increased.
It used to be very unpopular outside Lanarkshire..and still is with many. I remember coming to a Hibs game and bought a bottle from Haddows (the only place I could get Buckie in Edinburgh in the 80s) and watching the expressions of some Hibs supporters who thought I was some kind of wino in need of a fix. It was also a nice colour when after the drink ban came into place to sneak a half bottle in my trousers and pour into a jubilee (kwenchy cup) and drink it in full view of Police and Stewards who hadn't a clue. Nowadays rum n coke works well in the large cups you get at the stadiums. TBH though I rarely take a drink at games these days..and certainly not advocate it :53:

I also saw a huge amount in Spain at one of the resorts prior to holiday season,

Anyway I don't drink it much at all nowadays, maybe a bottle a year and the last time I did drink it things didn't end well, in fact 2 of the last 3 times didn't but I wouldn't really blame Buckfast, more the company I was around .

I have never been to Buckfast abbey but it is supposed to have a good tour and makes other more normal table wines, though even I question the ethics of Monks brewing firewater. There have been various appeals to the head Monk to cease brewing but they make too much money from it, also I think the bottlers *(Chandlers I think?) also make way too much from it and would not want it stopped. Again though ethics with money made from misery. Meanwhile I will get off subject before I get in the mood for one
I've passed it a few times on the way to Plymouth to get the ferry, usually with the pipe band. We were normally well pished by that stage and it always brought out a rendition of.

It is old and it is beautiful
And its colour it is fine
But it isn't what you think it is
It's Buckfast Tonic Wine..

I've passed it a few times on the way to Plymouth to get the ferry, usually with the pipe band. We were normally well pished by that stage and it always brought out a rendition of.

It is old and it is beautiful
And its colour it is fine
But it isn't what you think it is
It's Buckfast Tonic Wine..
We spent hour upon hour on coaches so we adapted all the singalong favourites -

Wanking on the Banking
(Roamin' in the Gloamin')

The Eastern lights of auld Tehran
(The Northern lights)

An Ayatollah for me
(A Gordon for me)

And plenty more. Don't think they'll ever get published in a songbook though. 🤔

Never have and never will try it
I tried it once when working in the Antiquary. It was an after-hours sesh and I found a bottle in the spirit cupboard all covered in dust so it had been there for a while. I took it through to the bar and poured a nip for everyone there and it was fukking bowfin.

Heathen 🤣 prob nice and thick of it had been lying around

• Haha
Reactions: Dub
We spent hour upon hour on coaches so we adapted all the singalong favourites -

Wanking on the Banking
(Roamin' in the Gloamin')

The Eastern lights of auld Tehran
(The Northern lights)

An Ayatollah for me
(A Gordon for me)

And plenty more. Don't think they'll ever get published in a songbook though. 🤔
Must have been a bastardin long trip mate!

It was and we did it a dozen+ times (between Plymouth & Portsmouth). The way down was always OK because of the adrenalin/massive carry out. The way back we were normally all burst after having a skinful on the ferry and having hardly slept all week.

Tried it once on the train to Edinburgh for a game at ER.
Two fellow Hibees got on at Montrose and duly started swilling it.
They were seated opposite us and we had been conversing about the 90 minutes we were on our way to witness.
'D'ye like this stuff?'
Never tried it we said in unison ( BTH , my laddie and myself)
BTH took the first slug.
After a slight hiatus he said ' Jesus fuckin christ that's fuckin barkin!' And this was a man not known for such outbursts!
Me next.
He was right.
It is fuckin barkin.
Absolute pish o the highest order.

I’ve complained on a couple of beer related threads lately about the needless (as I see it) strengthening of drinks.

Ironic that these days, a nice bottle of new world wine can be as strong as Buckie and less expensive too. Ok it won’t have the heady injection of caffeine but basically you can get a far nicer wine that will do the exact same job for less moolah. So now more than ever, why would anyone choose that gut rot?

I’ve complained on a couple of beer related threads lately about the needless (as I see it) strengthening of drinks.

Ironic that these days, a nice bottle of new world wine can be as strong as Buckie and less expensive too. Ok it won’t have the heady injection of caffeine but basically you can get a far nicer wine that will do the exact same job for less moolah. So now more than ever, why would anyone choose that gut rot?
Well firstly many people try it as teenagers when they still have a sweet tooth. If you have got used to table wines then probably your not going to like it. But the main thing for a lot of people is that it does get you off your face if you drink enough and quick enough, but it is not just about the alcohol content. That is only 15% so contrast that with cheap vodka at 37.5%. It is because of the high caffeine content which is probably another reason for the high illness/death rate associated. Anyway red wine tastes like vinegar, white wine dries your mouth and both give a stinking headache every bit as bad or even worse than that fine wine from Devon :sm127:

@Davy I am lucky in that I don’t get a headache from red wine, which along with beer, is all I drink (in terms of alcohol - I do consume non alcoholic liquids occasionally). It’s a saving grace along with the fact I don’t like spirits. I’m very grateful for the latter tbh.

I'm in the unfortunate position of liking all the things that lead to bad hangovers: whisky, bourbon, rum, red wine, brandy, calvados etc. Fortunately I'm at the point in life where I now prioritise quality over quantity and (normally) know when to stop.