Books

Sancho Panza

One of my favourite things about the Bounce is getting recs for music, TV, food & drink etc. Haven't seen a thread for ages on what Bouncers are reading. I'm terrible for having multiple books on the go at the same time, a habit I inherited from my dear departed mum. Currently I am reading:
Blue Mars by Kim Stanley Robinson
Testament of Youth by Vera Brittain
1st volume of Martin Gilbert's History of the 20th Century and
Moonraker by Ian Fleming.
Have probably got more books on my Kindle and bookshelves than I'll be able to read for the rest of my life but yet still looking for recommendations.
So what are Bouncers reading at the moment and what do you recommend? 🤔

I've never done the multiple books thing but I generally binge whatever book I'm reading.

I'm actually reading the 2nd (I think) Colin Dexter Morse book. I first read it it years ago but they're always a good shout if you don't have anything new you want to start but just fancy something "safe" (for want of a better term).

Read a lot pre internet, FIL was always reading and used tae pass doon loads of books. Cannae mind the last book I read but its over 20 years ago since.

The Cut - Chris Brookmyre (currently 99p on kindle and I like his books)
How to be a Liberal - Ian Dunt (a weighty tome I've been ploughing through gradually for years)
Quantum Physics for Beginners ‐ Carl Pratt (included with free trial of Kindle Unlimited which I've cancelled before paying for it as there are very few books in it and the ones that are are normally cheap or free anyway)
A Decade in Tory - Russ Jones (which I need to move to another room as it's in my bedside reading pile at the moment and it's far too rage inducing for bedtime reading)
One about the Falklands War, can't remember what it's called and too lazy to get up to check. It's interesting though as it's just thousands of verbatim accounts from the troops involved pieced together into a sort of narrative.

Currently reading The Institute by Stephen King and listening to Killer of Men by Christian Cameron on my dog walks (read this before, cracking series).

Not an avid book reader to be honest.
I tend to read biographies and autobiographies of people I admire or are interested in.
Currently reading Jimmy Page's biography by Chris Salewicz.
Next book to be read will be My Turn, Johan Cruyff's autobiography.
I have also read loads of Hibs books, books on football in general, books on music, basically factual stuff of things I am interested in.
I am very interested in true crime and (yes...I know ! ) serial killers.

Never managed to get into reading because of attention issues so listen to audiobooks instead, currently on 'A Canticle for Liebowitz'. It's a 3 part story at various points far into the future detailing the Catholic church's role in preserving the remnants of humanity's knowledge after total nuclear annihilation, as society recovers over thousands of years. Very interesting take on the post-apocalyptic setting, I'm about 30 mins from finishing it and highly recommend

I've just finished "To Kill a Mocking Bird" by Harper Lee. Don't know what all the fuss was about. Thought it was very average where nothing really happens. Cover states over 30 million sold. Not entirely sure why, maybe a book of it's time perhaps. Having recently read "Oliver Twist, A Christmas Carol and Uncle Tom's Cabin" all are vastly superior. Little wonder then that Lee only produced 2 novels and understand her second "Go Set a Watchman" was rank. Give me Charles Dickens, HG Wells or Stephen King any day.

Booth. Karen Joy Fowler.
Interesting take on JWBooth and his family.
Bought it for going on our summer cruise, but thought I'd have a quick look.
Ended up finishing it PDQ.

I've just finished "To Kill a Mocking Bird" by Harper Lee. Don't know what all the fuss was about. Thought it was very average where nothing really happens. Cover states over 30 million sold. Not entirely sure why, maybe a book of it's time perhaps. Having recently read "Oliver Twist, A Christmas Carol and Uncle Tom's Cabin" all are vastly superior. Little wonder then that Lee only produced 2 novels and understand her second "Go Set a Watchman" was rank. Give me Charles Dickens, HG Wells or Stephen King any day.
Over the years there have been books it's fashionable to say you've read. I remember some programme which showed you inside Tony Blair's house and on the bedside table was prominently displayed "a brief history of time". "Catch 22" and "war and peace" fall into the same category. Not saying they're shit but deffo fashionable. Same goes for saying "Shawshank redemption" is the best film ever.

Shawshank Redemption the film is seriously embellished!
The book is only 123 pages.

War and Peace is still a great read but if i was to read that again, i'd be tempted to do the audiobook.

Didn't enjoy Catch 22 myself.

I haven't read War and Peace. I quite enjoyed Catch 22 (knocking on 30 years ago!). Like most people I've read the first 30-50% of A Brief History of Time about 5-6 times before giving up.

A friend just gave me Indian Creek Chronicles by Peter Fromm. It's not the sort of thing I normally read but she says it's excellent so I'll give it a bash.

In other news I just bought the entire Inspector Morse collection 2nd hand for 5€. I've probably got most of them scattered about, but it's handy to have a nice box set.

IMG_20230313_104920.jpg

Never managed to get into reading because of attention issues so listen to audiobooks instead, currently on 'A Canticle for Liebowitz'. It's a 3 part story at various points far into the future detailing the Catholic church's role in preserving the remnants of humanity's knowledge after total nuclear annihilation, as society recovers over thousands of years. Very interesting take on the post-apocalyptic setting, I'm about 30 mins from finishing it and highly recommend
Canticle for Leibowitz is great. You might also like A Case of Conscience by James Blish which touches on similar themes of Catholic Theology. In this case when it comes into contact with an alien civilisation. Likewise The Book of Strange New Things by Michel Faber. Should be able to get both as audiobooks.

Not an avid book reader to be honest.
I tend to read biographies and autobiographies of people I admire or are interested in.
Currently reading Jimmy Page's biography by Chris Salewicz.
Next book to be read will be My Turn, Johan Cruyff's autobiography.
I have also read loads of Hibs books, books on football in general, books on music, basically factual stuff of things I am interested in.
I am very interested in true crime and (yes...I know ! ) serial killers.
Cornflakes are already dead?

Read a lot pre internet, FIL was always reading and used tae pass doon loads of books. Cannae mind the last book I read but its over 20 years ago since.
I love passing books on. I have hundreds of (mostly) paperbacks, which Madame Peeve always moans about.

On the odd occasion where we have English speaking visitors I generally let them help themselves. Books I don't want to give away I'll happily loan.

I honestly think it's one of the best gifts that you can make.

Reading Those About To Die.

A history of the Roman 'games'.

Quite interesting reading how the chariot racing teams had their own version of ultras and hoolies.

But the Coliseum was some building wonder.

They could flood the arena and re-enact sea battles.

Saying that the Cirus Maximus wouldn't have been big enough for the merricks.
Screenshot_2023-03-13-21-16-48-14_ad81d25dc5266e3d14f1ba4e6f1feb22.jpgScreenshot_2023-03-13-21-17-29-81_ad81d25dc5266e3d14f1ba4e6f1feb22.jpg

Reading Those About To Die.

A history of the Roman 'games'.

Quite interesting reading how the chariot racing teams had their own version of ultras and hoolies.

But the Coliseum was some building wonder.

They could flood the arena and re-enact sea battles.

Saying that the Cirus Maximus wouldn't have been big enough for the merricks.
View attachment 10604View attachment 10605
All well and good but I bet that astroherba was shíte to die slowly on? 🤨

Finished this yin now, still none the wiser on any of it. If anybody has a recommendation of a Quantum Physics for Slave Dumbfucks book I'd be interested to hear it.
Haven't read it but maybe?

• IMG_20230327_210034.jpg
    IMG_20230327_210034.jpg
    214 KB · Views: 6
Finished this yin now, still none the wiser on any of it. If anybody has a recommendation of a Quantum Physics for Slave Dumbfucks book I'd be interested to hear it.
Go to YT and search Sean Carroll or Jim Al Khalili (sp?) plus quantum lecture and you will get a dizzying array of entry options I reckon.

Hasn't really helped me understand it but at least I now know better what it is I don't get 😵‍💫

Edit: sorry not a book suggestion but with this kind of subject, the books are out of date a coupla months after publication!

Haven't read it but maybe?
Cheers, Amazon reviews seem to suggest it's not easy to read so maybe not dumbfucky enough for me. Could just be that I'm not capable of understanding the subject matter no matter how it's written right enough.

Go to YT and search Sean Carroll or Jim Al Khalili (sp?) plus quantum lecture and you will get a dizzying array of entry options I reckon.

Hasn't really helped me understand it but at least I now know better what it is I don't get 😵‍💫

Edit: sorry not a book suggestion but with this kind of subject, the books are out of date a coupla months after publication!
That could be a good shout, I like that Jim Al Khalili fella.

If you do, mind and select recent ones, hopefully they would be near the top of the results list. These physicists change track at the drop of a hat. Or electron off an atom 🤭
If there's any of them can help me get my napper round this idea that an electron can be paired with another electron on the opposite side of the galaxy and by looking at one of them you can influence whether the other yin is upside down or not then that'll be just dandy!

I've started reading the Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy series again and frankly the science in that makes more sense to me :3:

If there's any of them can help me get my napper round this idea that an electron can be paired with another electron on the opposite side of the galaxy and by looking at one of them you can influence whether the other yin is upside down or not then that'll be just dandy!

I've started reading the Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy series again and frankly the science in that makes more sense to me :3:
😅😅

Look for Al Khalili quantum entanglement, he had a new one out not too long ago on this very topic.

Tip: even when he gets a bit technical, don't drift off to what you are doing later that day 😵‍💫 and only re-focus a minute of mind-wandering later when you've lost the thread completely.

Is what I mostly end up doing...

The books are out of data more like.....

Any of yous read this? A very good read and one of those players who were very flawed geniuses....

The Greatest Footballer You Never Saw: The Robin Friday Story

IMG_20230526_153431.jpg

Any of yous read this? A very good read and one of those players who were very flawed geniuses....

View attachment 10973
Not read that book but have read articles and watched video's on YouTube about him.
The lack of film of the guy playing and the passage of time has no doubt allowed healthy embellishment of events.
Big G knows about him and might have read the book.

View attachment 10973
I've read it...it's really good.
So many great footballers of the 70;s were flawed geniuses...the thing with Friday was that he never played at the top level. Mainly because he was completely unmanageable. A total nutcase.

He was eh? What a talent the laddie had.

Robin Friday's story: The Cardiff City cult hero who kicked Mark Lawrenson in the face and 'defecated in his kit bag'​