Book Thread 2015

The__Proclaimer

LEGEND!!
Too many threads contain the word book in the search option to bump old one so here's a fresh start. Read anything decent recently? I just bought a new kindle after old one met a clumsy end so fired thru a few recently.

The Girl On The Train/The Good Girl - as happens with all entertainment a big success comes along and financers rush out to find 'The New...' in this case 'Gone Girl', both follow the formula of multiple viewpoints and timeframes with a missing woman at the heart of the story. I really enjoyed both, kind of page-turn trashy novels I like.

Waiting To Be Heard - can't get this in UK for legal reasons I presume but it's the Amanda Knox memoir. She comes across as weird rather than a killer. Interesting read if you like true-crime/courtroom books.

Auschwitz A Doctor's Eyewitness Account - harrowing but fascinating insight into the holocaust and human psychology. Before this I didn't realise how many people working in the camps for the Nazis as guards, murderers, incinerators, medical experimenters were actually Jews. The fact that they all knew they'd be murdered by the next batch of Jews to be imprisoned in a few months makes this one of the most vital accounts of the human psyche ever put to print.

The Girl Who Saved The King Of Sweden - really funny, well written novel by the guy that wrote the 100 Year Old Man Who Climbed Out The Window. It's more of the same, really good.

Not That Kind Of Girl - Lena Dunham of 'Girls' fame's book. She's the latest feminist darling so it was quite amusing to see all the media outlets and army of article commentators that lap her up try to defend her blatant sexual abuse of her wee sister she admits to in this book. A man would have been arrested on publication this tit still does sold out talks with Caitlin Moran around the country to crowds of gullible fannies.

Pirlo's Autobiography - been meaning to read this for ages. One of the most well written, intelligent and witty football books I've ever read. A classic.

Glue - re-read this in anticipation of starting A Decent Ride soon. It's half an absolutely genius book but the whole portion in Germany and with the American singer is a total cringe fest. Still they are great characters and his way of conjuring up a line that only a few thousand night's would understand is glorious.

Read anything decent recently guys?

Nice thread to start the day :thumbgrin

Im in my not read a book for months zone (always followed by copious bursts of book reading ).

Gonna take in Pirlos autobiography, cheers for headup :thumbgrin

Neglected books for a wee while, picked up Sandy MacNairs book last night, promising start so I'll rattle thru that sharpish I think.

Ned Boultings book about the 2014 Tour De Franceis the last book I read, that's pretty good too.

Most notable thing I've read recently is the kindly ones by Jonathan littel. A truly brutal book that was literally difficult to stomach full of the most horrific violence and wince inducing sexual depravity. Nevertheless it was very thought provoking, being a story about the holocaust from a nazi perspective, with long discourses on everything from the study of language, to gene science, to culture to present things from the nazi point if view where people who believed themselves decent, cultured and thoughtful could justify the most appalling things.

I don't know whether I can recommend it as I never want to see the thing again but certainly a mind expanding read. It's not a spoiler to say that the gross and extended explorations of incest and the like are because it is structured to resemble a Greek tragedy which are full of such stuff. You'd have to be a lot more cultured than me to get that without googles help, but it ties into the books central idea that christian justice - where people's motives and intentions are crucial - is insufficient to judging the holocaust where many participants were insulated by circumstance and industrialised methods. The author prefers the judgement of the Greek gods where motive and mitigation were unimportant and only the deed counted - even if you did something by accident, that you did it was all that mattered. Ironically I think this is not a million miles from the nazi mindset (indeed their efforts to be rid of such christian ideas are discussed) but interesting nonetheless.

Ps the book also picks up the kind of black truths mentioned by proccie in the auschwitz book, while full of such curiotsities - true as far as I can Google - of serious in depth investigations by the ss to get some Jewish groups off the hook as they were 'only' religiously as opposed to racially Jewish.

Since the last one of these threads I also finished war and peace - it was a close run thing versus it finishing me. TBH I would recommend the management summary.

The war bits are good but the peace bits a bit tedious, while interesting threads just disappear. The last passage meanwhile just switches to a philosophical musing on the nature of free will - which is a reminder that the idea of what a novel is is quite new, W&P is more an extended piece of writing, part loose story line, part collection of essays on this topic and that one.

Just bought Football,Violence and Social Identity by Richard Guilianotti (features Hibs)
Next up will be All Involved by Ryan Gattis,set in the LA Riots in 1992

Auschwitz A Doctor's Eyewitness Account - harrowing but fascinating insight into the holocaust and human psychology. Before this I didn't realise how many people working in the camps for the Nazis as guards, murderers, incinerators, medical experimenters were actually Jews. The fact that they all knew they'd be murdered by the next batch of Jews to be imprisoned in a few months makes this one of the most vital accounts of the human psyche ever put to print.

I visited Auschwitz and Birkenau last year when I was in Krakow. Truly a memorable experience.
I followed it up by reading the Doc's book of his 'experience' - and it made me wonder how I would have behaved in such circumstances.

The recommendation of EGB although on the face of it pretty harrowing sounds like it would further develop my thoughts on how humans behave when faced with inhumanity and I think for once I'll take his advice and have a read.
:wink:

Recent events with governmental abuse scandals brought to mind a novel I used to recommend in early bounce days, the psalm killer by Chris petit. On one hand a superior thriller on the other and incredibly clever novel about the troubles in NI which interweaves (extensively footnoted) real people and events to suggest a conspiracy theory view of NI history which bowled me over at the time (in its plausibility). Kincora boys home abuse is, IIRC, featured as a honey trap used by loyalists to entrap british bigwigs, and at times you wonder if he's trying to hint at unprovable truths through fiction. Recommended, especially to [MENTION=1429]Brainwrong[/MENTION] who at least for me and my personal understanding has helped bring some of this shit to light.

The girl on the train by Paula Hawkins a very good read and cleverly written.

Currently readily Skag boys which is pretty good so far.

Just finished reading a decent ride last week. Thoroughly enjoyed it. Some parts were hilarious. I forgot how good a character juice terry was.

read strumpet city by james plunkett recently, about strikes and life in pre partition dublin. really enjoyed it and pricked more interest in larkin for me

I don't read an awful lot of contemporary novels but have read 2 in the past 2 months that I really enjoyed:

Atticus Lish - Preparation for the Next Life. This is a total page turner following the crazed lives of an traumatised US war vet and an illegal Islamic immigrant from the Uyghur region of China.

http://www.amazon.com/Preparation-Next-Life-Atticus-Lish/dp/0988518333

The other one is Ali Smith's 'How to be both'. Ali was part of that whole new Scottish Lit scene that came along with Irvine Welsh, Laura Hird and Alan Warner back in the 90s. I haven't read anything of hers since Other Stories but this one is great (and a bit complex in the narrative style).

http://www.amazon.com/How-be-both-Ali-Smith/dp/0375424105/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1433517779&sr=1-1&keywords=ali+smith+how+to+be+both

I have been reading a lot of Italian and Spanish Crime Dramas (I Know I know, but its escapism). Currently reading Iain Banks final book, the Quarry, which I am enjoying after a few years of not reading his books.

My next bundle are the SJ Parris Novels set in Elizabethan England, one will come with me on holidays, along with Irvine Welsh's A Good Ride and probably the third book by Michael Dibdin, Cabal or Jason Websters Blood Med, set in Valencia.

I have been reading a lot of Italian and Spanish Crime Dramas (I Know I know, but its escapism). Currently reading Iain Banks final book, the Quarry, which I am enjoying after a few years of not reading his books.

My next bundle are the SJ Parris Novels set in Elizabethan England, one will come with me on holidays, along with Irvine Welsh's A Good Ride and probably the third book by Michael Dibdin, Cabal or Jason Websters Blood Med, set in Valencia.

M, re your first point - check out 'the deliverance of evil', ex neo fascist Italian cop investigating murders against the backdrop of two world cups. One of my favourite books of recent years. I know you travel a lot as I sometimes also do - so I'll also repeat my recommendation of audiobooks on the iPhone or whatever you have. Kept me sane in many a traffic jam, airport lounge, lonely hotel. It's the way I 'read' this particular book and it pulled me in in a way it may not have on the page - I've read some readers found it quite heavy going but zipped by on audio, and I'm the worlds laziest reader.

Duly purchased for a penny on Amazon. Grazie!y ordered on Amazon for 1p! I am a book reader still, cannae do the audiobook thing at all.

I'll have one last go - start with something you don't really care about, and go to sleep to it on the plane. I actually do the opposite and 'read' things I'd never do in print; war and peace is an example. Six months of traffic jams took care of a goal I would have failed at reading normally. I just tune out when it's dull.

Anyway, hope you enjoy the book either way.

I'll have one last go - start with something you don't really care about, and go to sleep to it on the plane. I actually do the opposite and 'read' things I'd never do in print; war and peace is an example. Six months of traffic jams took care of a goal I would have failed at reading normally. I just tune out when it's dull.

Anyway, hope you enjoy the book either way.

Audio book for 1875?
How very dare you sir.

He's a traditionalist.

How can you colour in an audio book?
:giggle:

He might be a rabid Unionist knob, but I just read Allan Massie's "A Question of Loyalties", which was excellent. It's set in Vichy France, for all youse who enjoy the WWII stuff, and explores the shades of grey involved in being a 'collaborator'.

read more Peppa Pig books than anything else recently, wee girl is obsessed..

will check out the Pirlo book

just got Detroit 67 by Stuart Cosgrove and will start it this week Detroit 67

recently finished 24 Hour Party People about Factory Records by Tony Wilson which was terrific.

read A Decent Ride by IW which had its moments and rattled through Growing Up in Green by Sandy MacNair in a couple of days and enjoyed it.

halfway though Paul Austers autobiographical Winter Journal which is basically ruminations on growing old.

I've just took delivery of Rick Buckler's book - Thats Entertainment: My Life In The Jam.
I've also just placed an order for Detroit 67: The Year that Changed Soul by Stuart Cosgrove, for which is getting a lot of fantastic reviews.

I've just took delivery of Rick Buckler's book - Thats Entertainment: My Life In The Jam.
I've also just placed an order for Detroit 67: The Year that Changed Soul by Stuart Cosgrove, for which is getting a lot of fantastic reviews.

Read Bucklers book last week mate - be interested in your thoughts!

Recent events with governmental abuse scandals brought to mind a novel I used to recommend in early bounce days, the psalm killer by Chris petit. On one hand a superior thriller on the other and incredibly clever novel about the troubles in NI which interweaves (extensively footnoted) real people and events to suggest a conspiracy theory view of NI history which bowled me over at the time (in its plausibility). Kincora boys home abuse is, IIRC, featured as a honey trap used by loyalists to entrap british bigwigs, and at times you wonder if he's trying to hint at unprovable truths through fiction. Recommended, especially to @Brainwrong who at least for me and my personal understanding has helped bring some of this shit to light.

Just ordered this cheery tome off eBay.

read more Peppa Pig books than anything else recently, wee girl is obsessed..

will check out the Pirlo book

just got Detroit 67 by Stuart Cosgrove and will start it this week Detroit 67

recently finished 24 Hour Party People about Factory Records by Tony Wilson which was terrific.

read A Decent Ride by IW which had its moments and rattled through Growing Up in Green by Sandy MacNair in a couple of days and enjoyed it.

halfway though Paul Austers autobiographical Winter Journal which is basically ruminations on growing old.

I'm hearing good things on this. If you don't mind, can you please let us know yer thoughts after you've read it.

I've had this on the bookshelf for a month or so, but haven't started it yet. It seems to have been universally well received though. Worth keeping for my holiday or jumping straight in?

I've never really been a 'holiday book' type cos I like to read for a couple hours at at stretch and wouldn't want to sit still for that length of time on a holiday. Also I'm often quite drunk when on holiday so would lose the thread of the simplest book.

For me its the kinda book that once you start you will just want to keep reading til you finish - although at 400 odd pages that's gonna take a day or 2. Its no a 'happy' book either.

Just finished 'The Calling' by Neil Cross, one of, if not the best crime thriller novel ive ever read. It's a Luther novel, the only one, written by the creator of the tv series. Absolutely immense. Essential if you liked the series or just like reading for entertainment. It's a prequel to the show but not years before, it's the case immediately before episode 1. It's very graphic in places, you guess it's a storyline he fancied but feared the censors would edit it too much. Really was brilliant, going to rewatch the entire series on the back of this.

Anyone read 'I Am Pilgrim'? Just finished it. What an astonishing piece of work. Post 9/11 Bourne/Bond style spy thriller, incredibly long but incredibly well written with really readable short chapters. Phenomenal book.

I have and I agree with you, great read.

If you're left looking for something similar try the tourist by Olen steinhauer. Not as good but then nowhere near as long either, and I managed to finish it which is not the common with me and novels which I usually get bored of. It's also the first in a series if you like it,

Finished and enjoyed Skag boys,just about to start The Third woman by Jonathan Freedland,I've read the books he wrote under the Sam Bourne name,all of which I would recommend to anyone who likes a good thriller.

Just finished Exposed at the Back by former sheepshagger Arild Stavrum. It's a football/crime/thriller set (unsurprisingly) in Norway. Well worth a read for some light entertainment.

Reading God is not Great by Christopher Hitchens.

Great factual read. If your interested in the insanity of Religion and men with beards, I recommend it.

Just bought Football,Violence and Social Identity by Richard Guilianotti (features Hibs)
Next up will be All Involved by Ryan Gattis,set in the LA Riots in 1992

Just finished 'All involved' - great read, thanks again [MENTION=441]PILTONSTANY[/MENTION]