Blood of the clans

Hectorhib

Anyone been watching Neil Oliver's series on BBC? I've now watched, on iplayer, the first 3 parts, and it's pretty good, imo.Then again, Highland history is something I've had an interest in, and it probably hasn't been of much interest to a lot of people

There are several good programmes on Zitelli that I would like to watch but I don't have the facility to blank out Neil Oliver's participation in these programmes. If ever there were a turnoff of a presenter, that is he.

As someone with an interest how did you find the representation of the time?

Does anyone know where the unmarked grave is? Or is it so unmarked we know its here [in Leith] but not quite sure where?
[/QUOTE]
Coburg Street, I've read. By all accounts, a bit of a babe, but probably looking after her own interests and putting others lives at risk to do so

Does anyone know where the unmarked grave is? Or is it so unmarked we know its here [in Leith] but not quite sure where?

Coburg Street, I've read. By all accounts, a bit of a babe, but probably looking after her own interests and putting others lives at risk to do so
[/QUOTE]

That sounds like Neil Oliver speaking!

Like many folk, Neil Oliver - his hair and his 'Britishness' in particular, I find to be pretty irritating.
Having said that, I'm quite enjoying the series. I know pretty much sod all about Scottish History*, so I probably accept what I see here as being more or less accurate although others may think it's mince.

*Although my great grandfathers picture hangs in Blair Castle.
:detective:

Genuine question, I googled Neil Oliver and now ken his face, what did he dae tae get *&*^ status?

Should have said:there are no photos of Anne MackIntosh. Nae cameras then..... Sorry Sewer Shrink

Genuine question, I googled Neil Oliver and now ken his face, what did he dae tae get *&*^ status?
Craig Levein, Michael Gove, Jacob Reece-Mogg, Stephen Fry, all have faces that you just want to slap and then when they speak, they are know-alls, and no one can tell them anything. But, annoyingly, and setting him apart from this group, Oliver intones in all the wrong places, and he enjoys his peculiar idiosyncrasy, as it's obvious his mates have had a word in his shell-like.

The 'Peston Effect'.

From the article “Anne is Scotland’s forgotten heroine. She lies in an unmarked grave in Leith. This remarkable woman took up the sword for king and country ..."

I read somewhere that there is a slab marking the grave. I'm going to try look for it on Sunday, will post up my findings.

Like many folk, Neil Oliver - his hair and his 'Britishness' in particular, I find to be pretty irritating.
Having said that, I'm quite enjoying the series. I know pretty much sod all about Scottish History*, so I probably accept what I see here as being more or less accurate although others may think it's mince.

*Although my great grandfathers picture hangs in Blair Castle.
:detective:
is it a picture of himself Doc? or is it a painting of somethin.? :5:

anyhoo, can i be the first to ask pic please? :gigglle:

Aye it's him, rather than his work!
He was Pipe Major to the Duke of Atholl.
The only private army in the country, apart from Jack Ross' Green and White Army of course. :54:
Thats cool.
aye, knew was the only private army, was at the duke castle when i was wee... iirc all white and when you go in the hall has loads of highlanders targes (?) nearly typed tadgers

Blimey. You even dare to talk about archaeologists these days, the knives are out, the shovels heid-ready (tae paraphrase a living politician), the bbq too good tae roast um.

No every idea or thought is worth arguing over. One or two, aye but these days it's like all or nothin every day, every hour, every minute.

Jist sayin like ken :alieny:

Blimey. You even dare to talk about archaeologists these days, the knives are out, the shovels heid-ready (tae paraphrase a living politician), the bbq too good tae roast um.

No every idea or thought is worth arguing over. One or two, aye but these days it's like all or nothin every day, every hour, every minute.

Jist sayin like ken :alieny:
Dinna think he’s that good a cook if we’re bein honest:102: