Best sandwich

egb_hibs

After condiments, sandwiches are my favourite culinary topic.

Personal favourite is a Philly cheese steak, with best examples being one soaked in molten cheese lava in Vegas and one cut with an acidic salad dressing type counter to the fatty cheese, in Montreal.

Vietnamese baguette based affairs - a legacy of French colonialism - are a fusion based corker.

On a domestic front, a small revelation; American style mustard - even better brown deli style rather than bright yelllow stuff - when spread really thinly on bread rather than dolloped on as with a hotdog, suddenly miraculously goes a long way to recreating the excellence of an American deli sandwich where the big dollops get nowhere near.

I have also recently switched to smoked bacon after decades of unsmoked; it's the way forward.

Morrison's saver white bread with crisps flavor of crisps depends on what mood I'm in, sometimes a wee bit of tomato sauce or Worcester

Can't stand the type of cheese they stick on any Philly cheese steak I've ever eaten? Some form of smelly variety? Rotten.

"New York Deli" type sandwiches are good; pastrami, cheese (not so strong though), gherkins, and usually some of that mustard you describe, lovely.

As a guilty pleasure still enjoy a Subway, Italian BMT please, everything on.

Pastrami and Frischkäese on an olive Ciabatta from Strahmans in Frankfurt with added sun dried Tomatoes and Rocket.

The lunch of champions and sadly missed.

Special mention to Friendlys roll shop that used to be in Bread street where I'd drive - 5 miles - to most Saturday mornings for cheese and egg mayo Italian rolls. Pwopa.

Stornoway or a good quality black pudding, goats cheese, chorizo with chilli and tomato jam on a bagel. Sorted.

In terms of easiness & quickness to prepare, it has to be buttered white bread, salt & vinegar crisps and Reggae Reggae Sauce.

You're welcome.

tophat

I love an exotic well filled piece just as much as the next man but sometimes the simplest is the best. I don't eat much white bread but when I do I'm filling it with the mundane but marvellously munchy. Bread has to be fresh that day obv. Hovis white to be precise.

Egg Mayo. Lettuce, butter & toms can bolt. Just the egg mayo packed in so it squashes oot the sides. Mug o' tea. Braw

Butter, 2 slices of ham..like a cheap buffet at a shite party. Funkin magic! Butter and 2 slices o' haslet! Wowsers Now yer talkin'

Butter, 2 slices o' corned beef....with a layer o' tomato sauce. Viva la Malvinas! mmmm mmmmm

Cheese & Coleslaw with a packet of plain crisps on the side. Glass o' freezin cauld milk. Bliss.

Butter, oven chips ( fried chips postponed due to perpetual expanding waistline) broon sauce..bread not cut but manfully folded over with the chips sitting parallel to the fold. Yeehaw

And finally as I've ran oota bread by noo...a fried egg sarnie. Heaven! There is nothing finer. Especially if you've managed to cook yer egg so perfectly that not only is there any crispy bits but you've also managed to keep the yolk unburst, and it's sitting plop centre in the middle o' yer white bit like a yellow Japanese flag!!! Reeesult!

tophat

This is a tough one for me.

I switched from being a long-term veggie to full blown vegan recently and the biggest challenge has been finding satisfying fillings for sandwiches. Take cheese and eggs away and the options start to seriously thin. Falafel, sweet chilli sauce and humus is tasty, but I'm at a loss after that, other than resorting to Quorn type meat substitutes, which I've never been that keen on. So any suggestions are welcome!

That said, I still get to have what I consider the ultimate hangover sandwich: tattie scone, hash browns a wee dod of beans and hot sauce. I called it the fixer!

This is a tough one for me.

I switched from being a long-term veggie to full blown vegan recently and the biggest challenge has been finding satisfying fillings for sandwiches. Take cheese and eggs away and the options start to seriously thin. Falafel, sweet chilli sauce and humus is tasty, but I'm at a loss after that, other than resorting to Quorn type meat substitutes, which I've never been that keen on. So any suggestions are welcome!

That said, I still get to have what I consider the ultimate hangover sandwich: tattie scone, hash browns a wee dod of beans and hot sauce. I called it the fixer!
Harsh regime fella. I honestly can't see the need for veganism. I'm not a vegetarian but get the point of that, but I can't see why organically farmed dairy produce is a moral problem for people. Especially as aw the animals would get killed without it. In short, gie yersel a break fella.

But if not; tough challenge. Allow me to offer a partial help though this will still be badly lacking a cheese element!

Get some baby tomatoes, quarter them, put that in a bowl and season. Add dried oregano, garlic powder and lots of chilli flakes. Cover the toms in a mix of one part white wine vinegar (balsamic works if you want to go posh) to three parts olive oil. Put in the fridge to steep for a minimum of a couple of hours, but the longer the better - it will be much better on day two or three.

Get some hard crusty bread and toast it. Slop on the toms mix. Eat.

Or you could try egb jr's sriracha sandwich. He just gets bits of bread, coats them with sriracha and scoffs them. If no bread available, water biscuits / cheese crackers are employed, Wee radge.

Generic artery hardening tip - sadly unavailable to 2HB. In any situation where you were about to apply butter, use cheese spread instead. I commend laughing cow as a superior choice to yon dairylea.

Harsh regime fella. I honestly can't see the need for veganism. I'm not a vegetarian but get the point of that, but I can't see why organically farmed dairy produce is a moral problem for people. Especially as aw the animals would get killed without it. In short, gie yersel a break fella.

There were more concerns than just animal welfare for me (the environmental consequences of meat and dairy farming for example). However, the dairy and meat industry are intrinsically linked organic or not. Male calves are becoming veal regardless of how much space their maw gets to walk around in.

Personally, the more I thought about it, the more I felt like a hypocrite by taking the easy option of being a veggie. Also, I reckon I'm feeling the health benefits too. That's another discussion for a different thread though. Back to Sandwiches...

Get some baby tomatoes, quarter them, put that in a bowl and season. Add dried oregano, garlic powder and lots of chilli flakes. Cover the toms in a mix of one part white wine vinegar (balsamic works if you want to go posh) to three parts olive oil. Put in the fridge to steep for a minimum of a couple of hours, but the longer the better - it will be much better on day two or three.

Get some hard crusty bread and toast it. Slop on the toms mix. Eat.

...this I like the sound of. A raw tomato bruschetta type thing would have a bit of bite to it. As much as I enjoy roast veggies with my dinner, in a sandwich they just make everything a bit gloopy.

I'm a Sriracha fan, but I might give your laddies sandwich a pass.

Generic artery hardening tip - sadly unavailable to 2HB. In any situation where you were about to apply butter, use cheese spread instead. I commend laughing cow as a superior choice to yon dairylea.

I use humous instead of butter alot. Also tried that seriously strong spreadable cheese yesterday, but can't get over the fact it's spreadable cheese which is quite simply wrong.

me too but mix smoked chilli paste in with the humous first

just debating what to make for an early lunch now..

hard to beat a steak baguette Vietnamese style - coriander, chili etc. skirt steak still pink and steamy.

fresh fish and tartar if done right can be mana from Ran (goddess of the sea)

I switched from being a long-term veggie to full blown vegan .... So any suggestions are welcome!

reckon refried beans, tomato and avocado & salad sandwich with chilli sauce & salt on toasted bread is just about as good - make sure you have some sharpness in there - lemon juice in the avocado plus salad - onion, rocket, pickles etc

To me, the kings of sandwiches would be prawn and cream cheese or crab.

Sometime do a ciabatta roll with mozzarella, tomatoes, fesh basil, olive oil, balsamic vinegar, black pepper and salt.

refried beans, tomato and avocado & salad sandwich with chilli sauce & salt on toasted bread is just about as good - make sure you have some sharpness in there - lemon juice in the avocado plus salad - onion, rocket, pickles etc
That's exactly the sort of thing I'd bung in a wrap along with with some three-bean chilli and spicy rice. Now that's a thing of beauty.

After condiments, sandwiches are my favourite culinary topic.

Personal favourite is a Philly cheese steak, with best examples being one soaked in molten cheese lava in Vegas and one cut with an acidic salad dressing type counter to the fatty cheese, in Montreal.

Never understood the American habit of chucking cheese over meat. Not a natural pairing to me, although I admit I've added cheese to a Subway and enjoyed it so maybe I'm broadening by culinary tastes as well as my waistline.

On the subject of American sandwiches, my son got married in Las Vegas a few years back and had decided that he would go via Phillipe's in LA - sandwich joint par excellence which had featured in 'Man Versus Food'. His planned visit to Phillipes far outweighed his impending nuptials in terms of importance and he bragged incessantly about how he was going to personally scoff a Phillipe's French Dip sandwich........ :sad

So, a few days before he was due to get his tasty gravy soaked snack, I made my way to Los Angeles, found Phillipe's and then sent a pic to son of me scoffing said delicacy in front of the famous sandwich shop.

It ruined him.

Your children are never too old to be abused and bullied you know.
One of the few joys of parenthood.

went for cheese, ham and spinach omelette on two morning rolls with plenty sriracha, big mug of tea and a couple of chocolate digestives.

no bad lunch

anyone tried the tattie scone breakfast wraps at leith market?

Another alternative is Nduja - spreadable hot salami. Recommended.

spreadable may be my least favourite food related adjective but despite that I was interested enough to google - pleasantly surprised to say that sounds really good. where do you get it and is it industrial or artisan?

Nothing beats a New Orleans Po Boy sandwich for me. Parkway poboys is rated as the best in new orleans so I had to try it. I think even obama took his family there.

I got 2 half length sandwiches, one with Fried shrimp and hot sauce and the other one i got was the roast beef debris po boy. Unbelievably good.

If I ever had to choose a death row style last meal then this place would be right up there.

Home | Parkway Bakery and Tavern | Poor Boy

This thread has made me super hungry now.

spreadable may be my least favourite food related adjective but despite that I was interested enough to google - pleasantly surprised to say that sounds really good. where do you get it and is it industrial or artisan?

Fear not - while spreadable salami sounds mental, once you see it, it's not. It's not like a paste, if you imagine salami as it's being prepared, ie meat, fat, spices inside a sausage skin...it's like whatever they do to 'solidify' that hasn't been done, so it's like a thick soft ultra fine minced meat. In fact it's a bit like you could spread haggis if you wanted.

Hard stuff to get, and to be honest I get it through Amazon these days (i.e. Through the wee delis that use Amazon as a channel). If you browse around you'll find artisanal and industrial productions... I don't have a preferred brand I can recommend.

Had a couple of Gua Bao buns outa Ninja Kitchen recently that were delish. Not exactly a sandwich but hot steamed buns that are similar yet not.

Had 2 as they are quite wee. One with ASIAN MARINATED PULLED PORK SHOULDER, HOISIN, HOUSE PICKLES, LIME SPRING ONIONS, CORIANDER, PEANUT POWDER and tother had SLOW COOKED BEEF BRISKET, WASABI-HORSERADISH MAYO, PICKLED MUSHROOMS, KIMCHI, LIME SPRING ONIONS, CRISPY FRIED SHALLOTS.

Sorry for caps but just copied and pasted from website. Pork one was the tastiest. The peanut slaw that came with them was the dugs danglies. Yummage.

White bread, margarine, tomato sauce.

What. The. Fcuk.

I love an exotic well filled piece just as much as the next man but sometimes the simplest is the best. I don't eat much white bread but when I do I'm filling it with the mundane but marvellously munchy. Bread has to be fresh that day obv. Hovis white to be precise.

Egg Mayo. Lettuce, butter & toms can bolt. Just the egg mayo packed in so it squashes oot the sides. Mug o' tea. Braw

Butter, 2 slices of ham..like a cheap buffet at a shite party. Funkin magic! Butter and 2 slices o' haslet! Wowsers Now yer talkin'

Butter, 2 slices o' corned beef....with a layer o' tomato sauce. Viva la Malvinas! mmmm mmmmm

Cheese & Coleslaw with a packet of plain crisps on the side. Glass o' freezin cauld milk. Bliss.

Butter, oven chips ( fried chips postponed due to perpetual expanding waistline) broon sauce..bread not cut but manfully folded over with the chips sitting parallel to the fold. Yeehaw

And finally as I've ran oota bread by noo...a fried egg sarnie. Heaven! There is nothing finer. Especially if you've managed to cook yer egg so perfectly that not only is there any crispy bits but you've also managed to keep the yolk unburst, and it's sitting plop centre in the middle o' yer white bit like a yellow Japanese flag!!! Reeesult!

tophat

Wait - are you and [MENTION=11602]Wannabehibee[/MENTION] actually 8 years old?! :giggle:

For me, the daddy of sandwiches is the New York-style Jewish munch: Rye bread with pastrami, brown mustard, and dill pickle. Sensational.

Never understood the American habit of chucking cheese over meat. Not a natural pairing to me, although I admit I've added cheese to a Subway and enjoyed it so maybe I'm broadening by culinary tastes as well as my waistline.

On the subject of American sandwiches, my son got married in Las Vegas a few years back and had decided that he would go via Phillipe's in LA - sandwich joint par excellence which had featured in 'Man Versus Food'. His planned visit to Phillipes far outweighed his impending nuptials in terms of importance and he bragged incessantly about how he was going to personally scoff a Phillipe's French Dip sandwich........ :sad

So, a few days before he was due to get his tasty gravy soaked snack, I made my way to Los Angeles, found Phillipe's and then sent a pic to son of me scoffing said delicacy in front of the famous sandwich shop.

It ruined him.

Your children are never too old to be abused and bullied you know.
One of the few joys of parenthood.
YouTube actually has a video of the world's best sandwich being prepared - the best version of a cheese steak I've had in a wee greasy spoon in Montreal. How can you dispute this magical marriage of cheese and beef Shrink?

[video=youtube_share;Ebl8OpKtX70]https://youtu.be/Ebl8OpKtX70[/video]

Spreadable chorizo is also a tidy munch.

I'm a big fan of New York hero sandwiches. From the right place they can be incredible.

Cold meat (ham, salami, pastrami or even better, all of them), a load of salad, smoked cheese, mayo, mustard, pickles.... hmm, going to be disappointed by what's in my fridge right now...

Spreadable chorizo is also a tidy munch.

I'm a big fan of New York hero sandwiches. From the right place they can be incredible.

Cold meat (ham, salami, pastrami or even better, all of them), a load of salad, smoked cheese, mayo, mustard, pickles.... hmm, going to be disappointed by what's in my fridge right now...

Sounds like the one [MENTION=337]tricky[/MENTION] stupidly left behind when we left NY a few years back. I had sensibly bought some extra munchies for the flight home after a hard fews days on the Don Revvie, but made the school boy error of designating our pal to take care of additional munchies.

Got a text from Jamie thanking us for leaving him his tea as we sat in departures at Newark. Was quite a frosty return flight that one. Yes/No replies and dirty looks all round.

YouTube actually has a video of the world's best sandwich being prepared - the best version of a cheese steak I've had in a wee greasy spoon in Montreal. How can you dispute this magical marriage of cheese and beef Shrink?

[video=youtube_share;Ebl8OpKtX70]https://youtu.be/Ebl8OpKtX70[/video]

The Americans have a lot of culinary habits that should never be copied.
Sprinkling sugar on everything is one........
Having coffee served at the same time as your pudding rather than after is another.

I have to confess though that the video looked well tasty.

I'm just a bit wary of taking your foodie advice seriously though after seeing you extolling the virtues of Arti's Anal Productions that no doubt are delivered in a plain brown wrapper.

Gaia cafe on Leith walk sells it in jars

For me, the daddy of sandwiches is the New York-style Jewish munch: Rye bread with pastrami, brown mustard, and dill pickle. Sensational.

Now we're talking, though i'm more familiar with the Canadian variety. used to get taken to a Jewish deli in north Toronto every time i visited for corned beef sandwiches, hand cut warm salt beef piled about 3 inches thick on rye bread long since having given up any prospect of being able to take the weight, hot hot mustard, gherkins and caraway seeds on top, the absolute nuts. in fact, the only thing apart from my grandparents that i liked about Toronto

The Americans have a lot of culinary habits that should never be copied.
Sprinkling sugar on everything is one........
Having coffee served at the same time as your pudding rather than after is another.

I have to confess though that the video looked well tasty.

I'm just a bit wary of taking your foodie advice seriously though after seeing you extolling the virtues of Arti's Anal Productions that no doubt are delivered in a plain brown wrapper.
Arti's what ?!

You've lost me on that one Shrink. :rollfloor

Edit - got you now ::rollfloor :applause:

Yep, with you there. Truly the king among sannies.

Also once in Napa, California, I had a grilled cheese and ham sandwich that had been sort of deep fried in some way that was truly extraordinary. The kind of thing that killed Elvis.

Now we're talking, though i'm more familiar with the Canadian variety. used to get taken to a Jewish deli in north Toronto every time i visited for corned beef sandwiches, hand cut warm salt beef piled about 3 inches thick on rye bread long since having given up any prospect of being able to take the weight, hot hot mustard, gherkins and caraway seeds on top, the absolute nuts. in fact, the only thing apart from my grandparents that i liked about Toronto
If you're ever in Montreal fire up to Schwartz for a smoked beef sandwich.

That said I do question the Deli tendency to pile the meat on so thick. I think a good sarnie is the sum of its parts and these meat wedges with a slither of bread are out of balance for my tastes.

I usually end up scooping half the meat out to have what I consider a proper sandwich and then just eat the rest of the meat off the plate. Anyway, my sandwich pedantry aside, I think the best form of such sandwiches is the Reuben - can't beat a bit of Russian dressing imho

If you're ever in Montreal fire up to Schwartz for a smoked beef sandwich.

That said I do question the Deli tendency to pile the meat on so thick. I think a good sarnie is the sum of its parts and these meat wedges with a slither of bread are out of balance for my tastes.

I usually end up scooping half the meat out to have what I consider a proper sandwich and then just eat the rest of the meat off the plate. Anyway, my sandwich pedantry aside, I think the best form of such sandwiches is the Reuben - can't beat a bit of Russian dressing imho

Thats the joy of it eeg you joyless ....person. its a sandwich and side dish in one, just the way i used to enjoy a kebab. i've had a reuben but prefer the old school jewish deli variety
when my mum moved to scotland in the 1960s she despaired of scottish sandwiches with their one slice of meat or cheese.

Not sure it's been mentioned, but as far as morning rolls go, I'm a fan of well fired morning rolls with bacon and lorne sausage. Will be having at least one on sunday morning pre-tynie.

Brown sauce obviously.

Thats the joy of it eeg you joyless ....person. its a sandwich and side dish in one, just the way i used to enjoy a kebab. i've had a reuben but prefer the old school jewish deli variety
when my mum moved to scotland in the 1960s she despaired of scottish sandwiches with their one slice of meat or cheese.

Have you been to Katz in NYC? Bit of a tourist destination, but quality all the same. I love the way deli sandwiches are served up, with a pickle, sauerkraut, cherry peppers or whatnot. And proper coleslaw not like the creamy muck that goes by that name in blighty.

My favourite Jewish deli is not one of the most esteemed ones but Dunns, which is dotted around Canada I think. Bloody fabulous; one of my favourite eating places of any kind, although the menu is a lot less Kosher than Katz's where I witnessed some hapless soul nearly killed by a waiter's stare after enquiring after the availability of ham sandwiches :laff: