Best Edinburgh Takeaways & Restaurants

Brainwrong

Spaktacuradge
Any style, just post the best in your experience.

Thai restaurant - Dusit in Thistle Street
Thai takeaway - Silver Bowl on Leith Walk (yes, not just Chinese)
Chinese restaurant - Loon Fung Cannonmills
Chinese takeaway - Loon Fung Cannonmills!
Indian Restaurant - Suruchi Leith (closed, so will have to be Shruchi up south Clark street.
Indian takeaway - Suruchi
Pizza restaurant - La Favorita
Pizza Takeaway - Peirinos on Bernard street. Not only to Peirinos have THE BEST takeaway pizza in Embra but they also deliver booze, fags, chips, juice, anything you're little hungover body could need. And they're a fraction of th price of Papa Johns or La Favorita etc.
Itian restaurant - Dominicos Sandport Street. Proper Italian, nane as that pizza pish.

Thoughts?

Best chippie probably needs another thread. It been some years since I've lived in Edinburgh so a few of these may have closed now:-

Best Indian: Kalpna Veggie one
Best Italian: La Trattoria (that has gone, I know)
Best pizza takeaway: L'alba D' Oro
Best Chippie: Bratisani's

Last restaurant I went to in Edinburgh was The Witchery. 10/10 for atmosphere, 4/10 for the food. My mum's 70th coming up so I'll need a steer on where in Edinburgh does really good food (but not too fancy as it's my mum, you know!!)

Best chippie probably needs another thread. It been some years since I've lived in Edinburgh so a few of these may have closed now:-

Best Indian: Kalpna Veggie one
Best Italian: La Trattoria (that has gone, I know)
Best pizza takeaway: L'alba D' Oro
Best Chippie: Bratisani's

Last restaurant I went to in Edinburgh was The Witchery. 10/10 for atmosphere, 4/10 for the food. My mum's 70th coming up so I'll need a steer on where in Edinburgh does really good food (but not too fancy as it's my mum, you know!!)

Go to Martin Wisharts down the shore. Absolutely phenomenal. I'm veggie, you give them notice and its fine. All my carnivore pals were in heaven. It's Michelin Star, and the service is phenomenal but it doesn't seem wanky.

Thai restaurant - Dusit in Thistle Street :thumbgrin

Indian Restaurant - Guru
Indian takeaway - Shapla on Easter Road only cause the Guru is too far away

Best indian places I know of are Shapla on Easter Road and the Prince Balti on Seafield road.
Also there's a Caribbean place called Spoilt for choice just behind Meadowbank stadium, which btw is fantastic! :worthy

Best chippy is Giovannis at Northfield
Best chinese takeaway is Mr So just along the road
Best pizza place imo is the Jolly at Elm Row
Favourite chinese restaurant is The Orchard Lodge, Castle Street I think, been an age since I was there tbh

Best chippy is Giovannis at Northfield
Best chinese takeaway is Mr So just along the road
Best pizza place imo is the Jolly at Elm Row
Favourite chinese restaurant is The Orchard Lodge, Castle Street I think, been an age since I was there tbh

I've been thinking about trying them, I've tried so many different Chinese places this year because of No 1 on Elm Row getting shit all of a sudden, not found anywhere decent since... :hmmm

You have to check out the Loon Fung. Been there about 40 years now. Excellent, always spot on.

You think they would? Just thought that they would be too far away, Warriston right? :dunno:

I'm not sure. I'm at the Leith end of Ferry Road and was at Balfour Street before that so I've not had a problem. But they're relatively close / central so not much help!

Go for a walk in the botanics and finish off the walk with a sit in visit to the Loon Fung. Love doing that. They don't open til 2pm though.

I'm not sure. I'm at the Leith end of Ferry Road and was at Balfour Street before that so I've not had a problem. But they're relatively close / central so not much help!

Go for a walk in the botanics and finish off the walk with a sit in visit to the Loon Fung. Love doing that. They don't open til 2pm though.

I once phoned Dragon Way for a delivery, they were in Portobello, but I looked online for the number and didn't realise there was another Dragon Way in Port Seton/Preston Pans area, delivery driver eventually turned up raging that he traveled all the way from there :giggle:

So on that, Warriston to me isn't too far.. I'll phone them Monday and see if they will, if not I'll just go along one day. Cheers for the recommendation :thumbgrin

I used to deliver for a Chinese in Livingston and a women paid me 55 to deliver to Harthill as she loved the food so much apparently.

I've been thinking about trying them, I've tried so many different Chinese places this year because of No 1 on Elm Row getting $#@! all of a sudden, not found anywhere decent since... :hmmm

Its worth a bash imo H, never had a bad meal from there mate :thumbgrin

Any style, just post the best in your experience.

Thai restaurant - Dusit in Thistle Street
Thai takeaway - Silver Bowl on Leith Walk (yes, not just Chinese)
Chinese restaurant - Loon Fung Cannonmills
Chinese takeaway - Loon Fung Cannonmills!
Indian Restaurant - Suruchi Leith (closed, so will have to be Shruchi up south Clark street.
Indian takeaway - Suruchi
Pizza restaurant - La Favorita
Pizza Takeaway - Peirinos on Bernard street. Not only to Peirinos have THE BEST takeaway pizza in Embra but they also deliver booze, fags, chips, juice, anything you're little hungover body could need. And they're a fraction of th price of Papa Johns or La Favorita etc.
Itian restaurant - Dominicos Sandport Street. Proper Italian, nane as that pizza pish.

Thoughts?

Thai - Agree on Dusit - miles ahead of any other I've tried and just fantashstico
Chinese - really haven't got a 'traditional chinese' that is a clear winner but I like the china palace in leith and the kweilin in dundas st. for something different, chop chop in leith or hay market
Indian - The Guru up near gunt-land
Pizza - Tony Macaroni in bruntsfield
Italian - Bar Napoli for trattoria, Amerone for ristorante, both in town

Until recently would not have hesitated to recommend Karen Wong's for Chinese but the one time we have had a Chinese takeaway from there in recent months it was decidedly under par. I don't know if it was a one off situation or whether it has gone into a bit of a decline. Not sure. :dunno:

For a posh lunch with the missus, Wedgwood on the High Street is feckin amazing.

Set lunch is 12 for two courses, 16 for three (with the usual supplement for steak and cheese). But phenomenal value for what you get.

For a posh lunch with the missus, Wedgwood on the High Street is feckin amazing.

Set lunch is 12 for two courses, 16 for three (with the usual supplement for steak and cheese). But phenomenal value for what you get.

Sounds good sir, will give that a go

Is the Guru the Indian across from the cinema at Fountainbridge?

Yes - well across and along a wee bit. It's strength is balti - if you're a tandoori buff it's not quite so strong. The curry s are the best in town IMHO - un fancy but lovely. Oh and the naans are as big as an elephants ear

African or Indian ?

I've been it years ago, it's near enough opposite what used to be a pub called Clancy's. It was really good back then.

Cappadocia on forest road near that doctors pub used to be my favourite chippy, they made a lovely falefel and chips for 3.50. It was full of fresh salad humus and chilli and chips were fries type but you got loads. I gave them a christmas card once, haven't been there in ages though.

I like Francos near meadows, they do a good mushroom pizza, which is the only pizza. Also a great traditional chip supper, chippy chips with salt and sauce.

Don't know anything about chinese takeaways I used to go to Good Year and Hung Lam - anywhere that does a good singapore noodles with shredded chicken that are proper hot.

Can't believe no one has mentioned Besties Tatties, second only to Rastatramp as the most legendary thing to be found on Leith Walk.

all within staggering distance of robbies bar.

chippie - the Tailend by the length of leith walk

pizza - Origano I think is even better than favorita which is also tidy

as proc said tatties and sauce from best kebab, oh aye.

honourable mention to mexican takeaway los cardos and the haggis burritos.

prob got a babysitter next week, now suruchi has gone where's a good shout for a sit in curry in leith? the raj?

The Raj is absolutely awful nowadays mate. All the curries are watery and more or less identical. Avoid.

Wee bit up the road from Leith but In-Touch in the middle of Ferry Road is a quality, no nonsense curry house. Extensive curry selection, decent value and a BYOB policy.

chop chop haymarket

I had the 7.50 lunch there the other day, still as good as ever, steamed vegetable dumplings, ribs in green beans, crispy potatoes, rawon noodles in pork sauce, yet there was only half a dozen people in there?

Britannia Spice? Wee bit more expensive than others but has always been good when I've been in.

The Raj is absolutely awful nowadays mate. All the curries are watery and more or less identical. Avoid.

Wee bit up the road from Leith but In-Touch in the middle of Ferry Road is a quality, no nonsense curry house. Extensive curry selection, decent value and a BYOB policy.

I can second In Touch, never sat in but had plenty takeaways and they're always spot on.

The Guru is opposite Victor Paris.

If you mention my name and Hibs then you might get a 10% discount.

I'm struggling to think of a good sit down Indian or Chinese in Leith.

I certainly agree about the Raj, its become bloody awful over the last couple of years. The Britannia Spice is ok but there's something about all aspects, food service surroundings that miss the mark. It's not bad, just not good and its quite expensive for that.

I was in Nandos for the first time last night, a child of mine for his birthday. Maybe the novelty but I liked it and at 70 for 5 of us pretty damned cheap too.

Not strictly Leith however Rivage, the Indian restaurant opposite Middletons is boss. Been there several times and the grub is completely different from usual fare. BYOB and they have this thing going with the boozer that you can buy your pint in Middies and take it across to the restaurant and don't have to take empties back. Very civilized.

These reviews back me up amigo.

http://www.urbanspoon.com/r/342/1437728/restaurant/East/Rivage-Edinburgh

My favorite is..... Anna Purna

http://www.annpurna-edinburgh.co.uk/

Everest:.Tollcross My wife and I love this Nepalese, Indian Restaurant. If you enjoy a night at the theatre, I would recommend your evening meal here. Food perfect and the family who own and run it, wonderful.

Khukuri; West Maitland Street

Great food and friendly staff a must if wanting a meal in that area. Nepalese.

If your taking your girlfriend or wife, may I suggest a bottle of Roger Joanne, indeed. :wink: :thumbgrin

Not one for eating out to be honest but I like Vittorias in Leith Walk and as far as take-away chippies is concerned nothing beats Giovanni's in Northfield Broadway.

China palace in Bernard street is great.

The prince , top o kings road or JASHANS in slateford road for Indian .

Defdo giovannis in Northfield , and javits doon in granton .

China palace in Bernard street is great.

The prince , top o kings road or JASHANS in slateford road for Indian .

Defdo giovannis in Northfield , and javits doon in granton .

Don't go to Javits!! I found bugs in my food about a year ago! Never been back since.

really ! Last time il be there then mate .

Aye mate, last summer, can't mind what I got but I had beans with it. And there was these wee beetles in the beans.
My mate went back and went radge. Might not happen often but once is enough to freak me out.

Sorry for ruining the place for you :sad