Artists you thought were cool, but then....

It’s a bit of an irrational bugbear of mine, but it has been since that time.

The Mondays were more authentic than the Roses and maybe this is why they are still the same. The Mondays were straight off the football terraces where the Stone Roses were fashion hos.

For example compare happy mondays photo from 86 and Stone Roses in 85

View attachment 13680

View attachment 13681

Your pictures tell a story, with the Mondays one hinting at the chaos that would destroy them with Shaun Ryder looking a right scrote. Think you may have the year for the photograph wrong as they recorded their debut album in December 1986 and Bez wasn't in the band at that point although he was no doubt attending their gigs. So your photo is from a time when they had a recording contract, had an image and had a style.

The timeline is different for each band with The Mondays a couple of years ahead of The Roses.
Your Roses picture is 4 years before they released their 1st album and 2 years before they started getting a sound and image together. It's so early that the photo contains two guys that are not in the band we know.
So you are comparing a photo of the fully fledged Mondays with a fledgling Roses photo. A band with a recording contract usually has an image and that includes a look, clothing etc whereas a band that doesn't have one is usually still experimenting and trying to work out those things.

Incidentally, Paul Ryder (right of your photo) died at the age of 58 in July 2022, 12 days after his ex wife finished recording a massive podcast about his life and his time in Happy Mondays. It's called The Paul Ryder Tapes and has been on youtube for about 9 months ago. There are about 20 episodes plus bonus episodes.
The main story episodes are a great listen and Paul comes across as talented and a great, if a little fucked up, guy who finally has his shit together. Shaun sounds a nasty, self centred guy but it is Paul telling the story.

Shaun Ryder is thick as shit. So is Bez.... Mani just wanted tae play, man, Squires was/ is an artist, Reni was always a bit of a knob, and Brown always had his shit together. I loved both as a kid and saw both many times.

Youre trying tae paint some working class hero/middle class uni divide which is a bag o shite. Its wasnae a thing back in the day so no sure how its warped into that in your mind 35yrs later. Yer twistin ma fuckin melons here man.

Sorry i cannae go farther into it, im busy at work, putting some time in maintaining the health of the people of Scotland and helping save lives. Hallelujah !!;))
Bez and Shaun are far from "thick as shit". I completely disagree

Tim Burgess is another one.

When Some Friendly came out he was a belter of a frontman - the hair, the attitude and plenty of Manc swagger in the Only One I know video and those appearances on The Word.

Then years later he decides to take up residency at The Bates Motel?

1712373579759.png

Contrast with Johnny Marr, who I actually think looks cooler now in his 50s/60s than in his heyday with The Smiths

1712373382539.png

Brian Ferry always had a suave personna and image but nevertheless, the way he moved on stage was always distinctly awkward. His dancing did not equate to his coolness in other ways!
I get that, and admit its probably harsh to highlight the Ferry fellaes awkward moves. His tunes were and are still quality.

Just interesting to compare how him and his image has dated terribly, compared with the likes of the Madchester era frontmen who IMO still look cool to this day and carry it off (exception current Burgess which I have already commented on). Between Avalon era Roxy and Madchester was only about 5 years but in reality absolute worlds apart.

I get that, and admit its probably harsh to highlight the Ferry fellaes awkward moves. His tunes were and are still quality.

Just interesting to compare how him and his image has dated terribly, compared with the likes of the Madchester era frontmen who IMO still look cool to this day and carry it off (exception current Burgess which I have already commented on). Between Avalon era Roxy and Madchester was only about 5 years but in reality absolute worlds apart.
I would never in many lifetimes equate how a man dances to "cool"
Watching men dancing gives me the dry boak 🤢

I'd agree, except for the likes of Madness, the Specials, etc. I wouldn't call it cool but definitely a real plus for the atmosphere.

I always thought Ferry was just a greasy poser. Like his music though

Don't spend time watching men dance, but love to myself whatever I look like 😁

I don’t think Johnny Kash is throwing his nickers on stage if a male singer has got sufficiently cool moves. I think his point is more an observation akin to that made - again and again and again - in this brilliant (if racist :tuttut: ) internet genre:

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

Men in general can't dance. They don't have the natural instinctive rhythm and movement that women have.
Unless they are trained professionals like on Strictly. They are fantastic.

Men in general can't dance. They don't have the natural instinctive rhythm and movement that women have.
The overly dramatic, and to my eyes ridiculous movements on strictly, would increase my dry boak to throwing up in a bucket.

Nah.

Now James Brown is obviously exceptional, but you probably would have been laughed out of the Wigan Casino with that comment GM. 🤣

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

The Who. Cool for a bit but then came the sneaking suspicion that Daltrey was a fucking dick followed later by the nasty and persistent rumours about Townsend. Keith Moon did the decent thing checking out early and if you’re going to go you might as well buy the farm like Entwhistle who had a heart attack while on a massive coke and viagra session with a bunch of hookers (allegedly). Turns out the suspicions about Daltrey were correct anaw. Tory c***

I was a teenage Morrissey obsessive and it lasted way too long (well into my 20s).

I still like a lot of the songs but when I think about how important I thought Moz was in comparison to pretty much every other songwriter it brings a lot of retrospective cringe. His lyrics, on the whole, are great but probably not as vital as I thought they were during the peak of my fandom.

I've seen him live an embarrassing amount of times. I never grew a quiff or cut about with gladioli in the arse pocket of my jeans but between 1994 and 2008 the chances of you seeing my stick thin frame in a skin-tight Moz or Smiths t-shirt was highly likely. I was also a typical indie-kid hipster smart arse when I was younger which definitely bore a Moz influence. I'll also put my vegetarianism and subsequent veganism largely down to him too... I wonder if falling out of love with all things Morrissey is the reason I've started eating seafood again?

His politics do not chime with mine, and likely never did, but I was happy to make excuses about double meanings and context when that was uncomfortable back in the day.

I think this classic meme sums it up:

View attachment 13682
That meme fits with how I feel about Hibs right now as well

Never been a fan of stone roses,but I see the clone roses are coming to the 02 (corn exchange) £27.50 a ticket.

I once met a pretty blonde called Lola :grinning-smiley-045:
In around the mid 60s I was on a stag night in Soho and well pished, waiting in a cafe for a taxi. There was only 2 of us left as we needed 2 taxis. A female overheard us talking and came over to ask if she could share the taxi as she lived near to our destination. She looked fine and I was chatting her up and getting on well and we got invited into her flat for coffee. Just before we arrived the taxi pulled up at traffic lights in Lewisham High Street and as the shop lights lit up the interior of the taxi I got a proper look and began to sober up immediately. I noticed a faint 5 oclock shadow on "her" chin. I gave her a closer look and I had a "road to Damascus" moment. As we got out of the taxi my pal smirked at me and leapt out of the taxi straight after our guest and put his arm around her shoulder. I was about to to issue a discreet warning but the smug look on his face convinced me otherwise. I stayed in the cab and went home, my pal thinking I had took the huff!
Got to the pub early the next day (Sunday lunchtime) and told everyone there about the previous night's developments and we all waited patiently for him to arrive. When the guy came in looking a bit shame faced the whole pub erupted. He called me some names that would make a docker blush and I discovered that things had got to the groping stage and when his hand went upskirt he encountered a bit more than he was expecting! He told me that the speed in which he vacated the flat was only beatable if you were using steroids. Years later this was still being brought up at every stag night and he's probably still having nightmares.

In around the mid 60s I was on a stag night in Soho and well pished, waiting in a cafe for a taxi. There was only 2 of us left as we needed 2 taxis. A female overheard us talking and came over to ask if she could share the taxi as she lived near to our destination. She looked fine and I was chatting her up and getting on well and we got invited into her flat for coffee. Just before we arrived the taxi pulled up at traffic lights in Lewisham High Street and as the shop lights lit up the interior of the taxi I got a proper look and began to sober up immediately. I noticed a faint 5 oclock shadow on "her" chin. I gave her a closer look and I had a "road to Damascus" moment. As we got out of the taxi my pal smirked at me and leapt out of the taxi straight after our guest and put his arm around her shoulder. I was about to to issue a discreet warning but the smug look on his face convinced me otherwise. I stayed in the cab and went home, my pal thinking I had took the huff!
Got to the pub early the next day (Sunday lunchtime) and told everyone there about the previous night's developments and we all waited patiently for him to arrive. When the guy came in looking a bit shame faced the whole pub erupted. He called me some names that would make a docker blush and I discovered that things had got to the groping stage and when his hand went upskirt he encountered a bit more than he was expecting! He told me that the speed in which he vacated the flat was only beatable if you were using steroids. Years later this was still being brought up at every stag night and he's probably still having nightmares.
Yer mate wisnae Franco Begbie was he?

Buzzcocks i loved that band growing up but since Pete Shelley and Steve Diggle took over they are woefull

Seen them in Blackpool a few yrs ago and was so dissapointed it was painful to watch they played Scarborough punk festival last weekend and the reports am getting is they havent got any better

there Playing Scotland Calling next month i might just go get chips when there on
You loved a band which brought out Spiral Scratch and after that they were woeful.I take it that includes tracks like Orgasm Addict If you don’t mind and Ever Fallen In Love with Someone you shouldn’t have fallen in love with?It includes Another Music in a different kitchen,Love Bites and the third album whose name escapes me but has great tracks like Everybody’s Happy Nowadays and Raison detre.It’d be kind of hard for Pete Shelley being shite now because he’s been dead for about five years.

Shelley has been dead for more than 5 years. Nae wonder he's no very good now!

Shelley and Diggle were the Buzzcocks. They were the singer the guitarist and the *songwriters.
*Devoto co wrote the 4 tracks on the Spiral Scratch EP and from memory 3 tracks on Side 1 of the first album but he was gone before it was released.

I last saw them live 20 years ago and they very much still had it.
They were touring the album Buzzcocks which was released in 2003. I listened to it before going and it was at least a 4 star album.
So the songwriting and live show was still very much intact after 27 years which I thought was impressive.

You should probably have stopped going to see punks from the original scene about a decade ago. I see the UK Subs are at the Scotland Calling that you are going to, their vocalist Charlie Harper will be 80 a month after it takes place. I can't think of anything less punk than that.
Pensioner performers and hip replacement audiences are not rock and roll and certainly not punk.
I also have Charlie Harper down as a paedo which is another reason to hate the Subs.Strangehold gives the game away.

One person who I had down as the epitome of cool back in the day was John Lydon.He’s now turned into everything he said he hated.

You loved a band which brought out Spiral Scratch and after that they were woeful.I take it that includes tracks like Orgasm Addict If you don’t mind and Ever Fallen In Love with Someone you shouldn’t have fallen in love with?It includes Another Music in a different kitchen,Love Bites and the third album whose name escapes me but has great tracks like Everybody’s Happy Nowadays and Raison detre.It’d be kind of hard for Pete Shelley being shite now because he’s been dead for about five years.
Am meaning since Shelley passed away the stuff they are bringing out now is not a patch on the stuff before he died

And I get Diggle trying to keep the band going but he's isn't a front man

Talking of retired professors - Tom Lehrer is fantastic, not cool perhaps but well worth listening to.
Still on the go.
He will be 96 tomorrow.
So,
Genuflect, genuflect, genuflect.

Reactions: Dub
One person who I had down as the epitome of cool back in the day was John Lydon.He’s now turned into everything he said he hated.
I think he's the opposite. He was a anti establishment then and he still is today, unlike virtually all pop stars including former punks.