Matalan on Seafield Road closing up on February 5th.
Bit of a bummer...I go there quite regularly.
One up at Straiton.Matalan on Seafield Road closing up on February 5th.
Theres even one in Glenrothes , i'm still a bit young for it as yetThink that was the first Matalan in this neck of the woods?
Then the one in Slateford Road.
There's one out in Livi now, if you are missing your Matalan fix.
Think it's just Lee these days or is that a different company ??Wonder if they've got any Lee Cooper jeans?
Trying to empty the place then sell it for more flats?M&S and Tk Maxx also too shut at meadowbank retail park after they failed to agree new leases.
Dunno who owns the shops but seemingly wanted triple for a new lease.
Trivia....Sloop keeps his Scotland caps in a TK Maxx carrier bag.M&S and Tk Maxx also too shut at meadowbank retail park after they failed to agree new leases.
Seems to be the norm at the moment.M&S and Tk Maxx also too shut at meadowbank retail park after they failed to agree new leases.
Hope not, that’s where I park for most games!Trying to empty the place then sell it for more flats?
That entire tranche of land, from the recycling centre/ cat and dog home all the way along Seafield Road to the lights is earmarked for housing, the first part- the garages beside the cat and dog home - has got permission. Maybe the only area to survive will be Hilti/toolstation.Matalan on Seafield Road closing up on February 5th.
Was in there on Friday looking at cars. There’s a few car places there, right along tae Marine Garage. I wonder if its the whole thing?That entire tranche of land, from the recycling centre/ cat and dog home all the way along Seafield Road to the lights is earmarked for housing, the first part- the garages beside the cat and dog home - has got permission. Maybe the only area to survive will be Hilti/toolstation.
Matalan a decent wee shop, especially for kids clothes.
Other side of the recycling centre that was Big W/Carpets etc going to be a big Lidl
It is Bill, maybe even the bus garage too. Dunno where everyone is going to get a doctor or a school mindWas in there on Friday looking at cars. There’s a few car places there, right along tae Marine Garage. I wonder if its the whole thing?
Same all over the south of the city where they have built hundreds of hooses Mark. Only 1 school that I know of. No new medical places that I know of.It is Bill, maybe even the bus garage too. Dunno where everyone is going to get a doctor or a school mind
Its like porty. They keep building flats then complain about congestionThat entire tranche of land, from the recycling centre/ cat and dog home all the way along Seafield Road to the lights is earmarked for housing, the first part- the garages beside the cat and dog home - has got permission. Maybe the only area to survive will be Hilti/toolstation.
They were meant to be building a new primary school on Gilmerton Station Road but believe that's been bumped.Same all over the south of the city where they have built hundreds of hooses Mark. Only 1 school that I know of. No new medical places that I know of.
Aye Kev, lassie stays up there and telt me. Built one up at Frogston but I’ll be surprised if any Burdiehoose bairns will go there.They were meant to be building a new primary school on Gilmerton Station Road but believe that's been bumped.
Aye we stay in one of the new builds off Lasswade Road now, my daughter had to go to St John Vianney's as all the other nearby primary schools are full. A fair trek for a school run every day! I wanted her in GracieAye Kev, lassie stays up there and telt me. Built one up at Frogston but I’ll be surprised if any Burdiehoose bairns will go there.
The Millars hooses on the left? Think there’s a new development starting next tae them. Mare hooses mare bairns, need mare amenities.Aye we stay in one of the new builds off Lasswade Road now, my daughter had to go to St John Vianney's as all the other nearby primary schools are full. A fair trek for a school run every day! I wanted her in Gracie![]()
Aye mate, it's a joke. Not even a wee playpark for the bairns in our development. Obviously the builders aren't going to contribute to these things voluntarily but the cooncil should've had it stipulated. Money talks but eh! Could be worse though, there are new builds on Gilmerton Station Road that aren't even accessible by foot as the builders haven't bothered building footpaths to connect them to Lasswade Rd or Drum St. Basically require a car to go anywhere!The Millars hooses on the left? Think there’s a new development starting next tae them. Mare hooses mare bairns, need mare amenities.
Fuckin mental mate.Aye mate, it's a joke. Not even a wee playpark for the bairns in our development. Obviously the builders aren't going to contribute to these things voluntarily but the cooncil should've had it stipulated. Money talks but eh! Could be worse though, there are new builds on Gilmerton Station Road that aren't even accessible by foot as the builders haven't bothered building footpaths to connect them to Lasswade Rd or Drum St. Basically require a car to go anywhere!![]()
Aye mate, it's a joke. Not even a wee playpark for the bairns in our development. Obviously the builders aren't going to contribute to these things voluntarily but the cooncil should've had it stipulated. Money talks but eh! Could be worse though, there are new builds on Gilmerton Station Road that aren't even accessible by foot as the builders haven't bothered building footpaths to connect them to Lasswade Rd or Drum St. Basically require a car to go anywhere!![]()
It's a different companyThink it's just Lee these days or is that a different company ??
That's bonkers.Aye mate, it's a joke. Not even a wee playpark for the bairns in our development. Obviously the builders aren't going to contribute to these things voluntarily but the cooncil should've had it stipulated. Money talks but eh! Could be worse though, there are new builds on Gilmerton Station Road that aren't even accessible by foot as the builders haven't bothered building footpaths to connect them to Lasswade Rd or Drum St. Basically require a car to go anywhere!![]()
Its like porty. They keep building flats then complain about congestion
Only place I'm aware the builder is being forced to build a school/doctors is the new site behind Milton road, the one that will effectively connect Edinburgh to Mussie. New School, doctors, train station. Entrance runs down the side of the cemetery so that's not ideal.Same all over the south of the city where they have built hundreds of hooses Mark. Only 1 school that I know of. No new medical places that I know of.
Heard before they started building beside me that they were being told tae build so many affordable houses and amenities, no been done much tae my knowledge.Only place I'm aware the builder is being forced to build a school/doctors is the new site behind Milton road, the one that will effectively connect Edinburgh to Mussie. New School, doctors, train station. Entrance runs down the side of the cemetery so that's not ideal.
Think that was the first Matalan in this neck of the woods?
Then the one in Slateford Road.
There's one out in Livi now, if you are missing your Matalan fix.
It was behind Jewsons over from the old Moat Bar.Slateford Road? I used the one in Dalry Road for years before it shut a few years ago. Never saw one in Slateford road and I've lived there for 16 years.
Not trying to point score, just curious. I buy electrical stuff online now but preferred old style shopping where you could also get advice.
Think you mean Maplins mate? The electrical place that was on Dalry RoadSlateford Road? I used the one in Dalry Road for years before it shut a few years ago. Never saw one in Slateford road and I've lived there for 16 years.
Not trying to point score, just curious. I buy electrical stuff online now but preferred old style shopping where you could also get advice.
Think you mean Maplins mate? The electrical place that was on Dalry Road
I certainly was referring to Maplans. Jeezo - is my face red. What a plum! I took my Mrs to Matalan regularly while it was in Slateford Road. Doc, how did I ever doubt you?Think you mean Maplins mate? The electrical place that was on Dalry Road
I certainly was referring to Maplans. Jeezo - is my face red. What a plum! I took my Mrs to Matalan regularly while it was in Slateford Road. Doc, how did I ever doubt you?
Not so easy to forget.Easy mistake to make mate

C'mon now. I often mistake B &M for M &SNot so easy to forget.![]()
I certainly was referring to Maplans. Jeezo - is my face red. What a plum! I took my Mrs to Matalan regularly while it was in Slateford Road. Doc, how did I ever doubt you?

C'mon now. I often mistake B &M for M &S![]()