Alan O'Brien

LEGENDARY RADGE
Lost the ball only once to 10 million Huthun the whole second half and played in some great balls to the non existent centre forwards.

The once he lost it (to a decent tackle from a reasonably good full back - for a hun), he was abused for being 'shite' by one 'know (fcuk) all' 2 seats from me.

I know he ran it out of play one other time, but otherwise I thought he done very well??

Give him the ball for gods sake Hibs.

Lost the ball only once to 10 million Huthun the whole second half and played in some great balls to the non existent centre forwards.

The once he lost it (to a decent tackle from a reasonably good full back - for a hun), he was abused for being 'shite' by one 'know (fcuk) all' 2 seats from me.

I know he ran it out of play one other time, but otherwise I thought he done very well??

Shouldnt he look up to see if theres anybody to cross to? I still think he is pish and we should get shot of him.

No point, there was no one there. His crosses were pinpoint and dangerous, we have nothing up front to stick them away.

Does it look like some players just dinnae want to give him the ball :dunno:

Do you think there might be some resentment on some players part, him being the highest earner but one of the lowest producers. :g:

Mark I've given up with some people at this stage. O'Brien done very well today. No coincedence Murphy wasn't on the pitch and he was passed the ball. he was the only player that crossed the ball today that McGregor didn't get to.

Great player, give him time.

he played good today was a lot more dangerous than some of the players on the park, getting rid off him would be a mistake IMO

O'Brien has had half a season and has not really produced the goods. He nearly always passes the ball back from were it came and today he had a good oppertunity to turn and run at the Rangers but his first touch was poor:banger:
With his pace he should be running past defenders but seems to lack confidence to attempt this, which is a pity because when he gets to the bye line he normally puts in a good cross.

Jury still out on O'Brien as far as I am concerned!!!!

O'Brien has had half a season and has not really produced the goods. He nearly always passes the ball back from were it came and today he had a good oppertunity to turn and run at the Rangers but his first touch was poor:banger:
With his pace he should be running past defenders but seems to lack confidence to attempt this, which is a pity because when he gets to the bye line he normally puts in a good cross.

Jury still out on O'Brien as far as I am concerned!!!!

How much has he played in that "half a season"??????????????

I felt a bit sorry for Alan O'Brien today, he done what he was supposed to do on several occasions, get down the wing and put over a decent cross. The only problem was that we were totally devoid of strikers. I still think Alan will be a very good player for us.

The problems with the team run much deeper than Alan O'Brien.

Bollox. He was the only player today that could put in a decent cross.

IMO some Hibs fans need a scapegoat, SAD, bot Alan is it

What I am saying is that shouldnt he look up? If noones there..then play it back. Whats the point of crossing when CD was not there (when he was on the park)...and nobody there (after he was subbed).

The guy cant beat a player other than pace......complete waste of time IMO. At least Ivan tried to dribble past them/cut inside/shhot...havent seen that at all from AOB

100% correct crossing in to no one:banger:

What I am saying is that shouldnt he look up? If noones there..then play it back. Whats the point of crossing when CD was not there (when he was on the park)...and nobody there (after he was subbed).

The guy cant beat a player other than pace......complete waste of time IMO. At least Ivan tried to dribble past them/cut inside/shhot...havent seen that at all from AOB

Why are you comparing him with Ivan?

Bollox. He was the only player today that could put in a decent cross.

IMO some Hibs fans need a scapegoat, SAD, bot Alan is it

I was going to post much the same thing. Every **** looking around thinking, who can we have a go at this week.

Originally Posted by gragil69

I think you're having a fukking laugh.

I was going to post much the same thing. Every **** looking around thinking, who can we have a go at this week.

I think you're having a fukking laugh.

What? He should cross the ball when theres nobody there? Aye right

Alan O'Brien tells us all just what's wrong with our club at present.

A player with huge potential who has all but been written off by sections of our support. Based on what? How many starts at his new club? How many minutes on as a sub?

Then we have his own team mates who IMO nearly always look to the other options rather than pass to him. Why? Because he's apparantly the highest earner?

It can't be that he wastes the ball as he appears to be continually delivering very dangerous balls in the box. Not his fault no-ones on the end of them..

It tells us that we have a squad with too many in our club with other agenda's. It should tell us all that we need a strong manager to come in to sort the dressing room out.

However, when this guy puts down his foot just how long before the Chairman has them round for tea & scones to discuss how tough their manager is?

A player with huge potential who has all but been written off by sections of our support. Based on what? How many starts at his new club? How many minutes on as a sub?

Then we have his own team mates who IMO nearly always look to the other options rather than pass to him. Why? Because he's apparantly the highest earner?

It can't be that he wastes the ball as he appears to be continually delivering very dangerous balls in the box. Not his fault no-ones on the end of them..

It tells us that we have a squad with too many in our club with other agenda's. It should tell us all that we need a strong manager to come in to sort the dressing room out.

However, when this guy puts down his foot just how long before the Chairman has them round for tea & scones to discuss how tough their manager is?

Can I make that my signature :thumbgrin

I thought O'Brien was pish but not cos he was poor with the ball at his feet. Did he know it was Deano and Zemmama who were trying to get on the end of his crosses? If so then why bother slinging crosses in when the Hun had big six foot defenders who dealt with them easy?

Maybe that's being a bit harsh on O'Brien as Craig must have given him instructions. The team tactics are totally fucking inept and the selection/substitute decisions are getting even more surreal each week. Tommy Craig can GTF ASAP. He couldn't pick his own nose.

he cant win. if he passes the ball back he gets moaned at, he gets moaned at now for not passing the ball back

and that is his fault how. a winger has to get to the byline and cross it in. shouldny the other players be bursting into the box to support?

if he beats the man then what the hell does it matter

I thought O'Brien was pish but not cos he was poor with the ball at his feet. Did he know it was Deano and Zemmama who were trying to get on the end of his crosses? If so then why bother slinging crosses in when the Hun had big six foot defenders who dealt with them easy?

Maybe that's being a bit harsh on O'Brien as Craig must have given him instructions. The team tactics are totally fucking inept and the selection/substitute decisions are getting even more surreal each week. Tommy Craig can GTF ASAP. He couldn't pick his own nose.

Got the ball 4 times. Put in 3 great crosses. You're right. He was shit :bye

Now that I have had a coupl eof more drinks in order to finally calm me down after tha 'performance' today....I will agree that the tactics were..how can I put it..not what the should have been today.

What is the point of a winger (and a pacy one at that)..when you have Deano and Zemmama in the middle..and the Aged Giant and his apprentice marking them?

Oh well......back to my beer....tears....frustrations.....:sadwalk:

Agree completely with every word there.

Much better than the master of wit and repartee answer I had in mind :thumbgrin

I have come on here time and time again as someone who has seen a LOT of Alan O'Brien play football. When he signed for Hibs I was over the moon about the first Irishman at Hibs since Colgan. I knew how goot he was and what he was capable of, and so did the Hibees that saw him pre season. But how wrong I was about Hibs fans. O'Brien is a great player that didn't get a proper chance at Hibs. I wonder if he was Scottish would Hibs fans have turned their back on him so quickly, would they fcuk.....

Got the ball 4 times. Put in 3 great crosses. You're right. He was shit :bye

He put in crosses, aye, but to who? What the point of crossing if there's nobody there to get on the end of it? O'Brien seems incapable of cutting infield, working 1-2s, dribbling around defenders, or finding a team mate with the ball. All the basic things you need from a winger. He runs down the line. He crosses. And thats about it. :coffee:

Whats the point in blaming Obrien. If he legged it down the wing, looked up, saw nobody in the box, turned back on himself and lost the ball there would be a good few thousand like you screaming at him. If he does his job and none of our strikers or midfielders can be arsed going into the box in anticipation of a cross why is that his fault :dunno: He did his part, blame the people who didnt run into the box and who therefore made the crosses look stupid instead of blindly leaping on to the new bandwagon.

I have come on here time and time again as someone who has seen a LOT of Alan O'Brien play football. When he signed for Hibs I was over the moon about the first Irishman at Hibs since Colgan. I knew how goot he was and what he was capable of, and so did the Hibees that saw him pre season. But how wrong I was about Hibs fans. O'Brien is a great player that didn't get a proper chance at Hibs. I wonder if he was Scottish would Hibs fans have turned their back on him so quickly, would they fcuk.....

Decent post but you ruined it with the daft bit at the end.

FWIW I thought he had a really good game today, and I haven't been a great fan of his so far. If he can keep slinging in the crosses like he did today then that's good enough for me.

Alan O'Brien is a winger, its his job to put in crosses. YOU are blaming him because he put in perfect crosses and no one scored from them :coffee:

Decent post but you ruined it with the daft bit at the end.

FWIW I thought he had a really good game today, and I haven't been a great fan of his so far. If he can keep slinging in the crosses like he did today then that's good enough for me.

Sorry. I respect your opinion. I just can't believe what I read here sometimes

Am I not allowed an opinion then? My mistake.....pleaes let the board know you are available

I think your over reacting here abit mate, can i ask you if he wasn't Irish would you be this bothered about it?

Hibs fans always have done and will continue to slate players, and oppinions will differ all the time, chirst Ive seen some people say Kerr is a good player or even Noubisse done ok today!!!

YOU have seen alot of him play, Hibs fans hadn't so even if he has came on for a minute each game, we can only comment on what we have seen.

Am i wrong in thinking that players in any position on the field should try and win the ball?

I must be because i have yet to see A o'B making a challenge, I've been trying not to join the sphincter brigade these last weeks, but, i'll tell you what i've never been to a game against either of the old firm for fucking years where the team and the fans have not been trying.

Today was pathetic, (on a personal note its my fucking birthday too i've just broke into the final straight of middle agedness (31) can you actually put brackets within brackets?) fans and players confidence at an all time low.....

I usually kick off songs drunk or sober no matter where i am in the stands, and yes i am the repetitive **** in the east that had all the young team singing the green and white army the other week there...

BUT, i am not fucking happy just now, never felt this fucking disjaunted about hibs, we were all over these fucking english shit munchers today and what does TC do? He takes the main threat off the field and leaves us wide open to attack from their (left our right) wing in Morais we had a chance to salvage something from the game the day and he gets hooked!!!! WTF is that all about, and what the fuck is that big streak of pish Whittaker all about he claps the cabbage on for the second half and then proceeds to act like his fellow orange cousins and act like a masonic thug? (Deep Breath)

Morais was ripping they bastards to bits in the first half and was looking sproulesque (SP) and he gets hooked for the fucking hunch back?!?!?

I am really fucked off with JC now he left us at probably the most inoppurtune time he could of in the season IMO we actually now have a mountain to climb to stay up in the top six (IMO) and we face the inversneckies in the cup without a (proper) manager....

Those half breeds shouldn't even be a challenge to the glorious cabbage....

Imagine this, i said this to my bruv (punctuation) and my ex casghuwal mate earlier. A team that hadn't been pillaged by the old firm and TF/RP's business 'acumen' (just close your eyes and imagine TM an JP on the sidelines with this line up:

(I'll go with Maka just for the sake of it):
Maka
Hogg Jones Ghatuessi(probably out of pos but i rate him) Murph

Morais Brown Thompson (I Know he's a wee prick but...) Sproule

O'connor Riordan(or Killen perhaps)

With Benji, Fletch, Zemmama, Boozy or whoever you fancy maybes whittaker or whoever you want on the bench including a keeper....

Thoughts?

Starting a different thread called 'Thoughts' in GHC....:dunno: