About time

Don’t disagree that charitable status for schools should be removed, I wonder how many folk who had planned on sending their kids to private schools now won’t, maybe putting more pressure on state schools?

Yeah never
Don’t disagree that charitable status for schools should be removed, I wonder how many folk who had planned on sending their kids to private schools now won’t, maybe putting more pressure on state schools?
really thought about it that way. But with the extra cash you would think esp in Scotland, Edinburgh anyway, it would raise a lot of money to put to state schools.. there shouldn’t be any tax savings for private over state

Starmer playing the long game and eliminating socialists from the Labour party for good? I mean that's where they all come from...

I think all private and religious schools should be abolished.
All kids from all backgrounds should have the same start in life.
ok let’s make them all catholic schools. Sorted.

I have the complete opposite view - I think the school system needs as much diversity as possible rather than the mediocrity that uniformity guarantees. That and people shouldn’t be forced into choosing a religion / ideological basis for schooling which is a problem as it is with non denoms (and I do not mean protesantism).

Catholic schools massively outpunch the social level of their intake for results. I suspect that is because they are more socially diverse than postcode sorted non denoms and less susceptible (which is not the same at all as ‘not susceptible’) to the quackery of the day.

One of the most frightening places I’ve been in Edinburgh was one of the poshest state primaries in Edinburgh when my kid was in a show in the school hall. The whole place was like an indoctrination camp with every surface covered in slogans and posters instructing pupils on the dogma of the day (and this before the mentalness of the last ten years) - some times in massive letters dwarfing the tiny inmates. Give me the tatty Catholic school my kids returned to, all day.

Ten best primary schools in Scotland​

1 St Catherine’s Primary School, Renfrewshire
2 Wishaw Academy Primary School, North Lanarkshire
3 St Aidan’s Primary School, North Lanarkshire
4 St Mary’s Primary School, Inverclyde
5 Sacred Heart RC Primary School, Falkirk
6 Dykehead Primary School, North Lanarkshire
7 Caldercuilt Primary School, Glasgow City
8 St Bridget’s Primary School & Nursery Class, Glasgow City
9 St Mark’s RC Primary School, Edinburgh City
10 Hill of Beath Primary School, Fife

Best primary schools in Scotland 2023 revealed

What if anything has a well performing primary school got to do with the catholic faith? Seems there may be a reason, anyone actually know?

Genuinely interested to understand why. Surely nothing to do with being faith schools? Is it?
60% of the Scottish top ten primaries coming from what, 16% of schools (guess based on Catholic population ratio) - the character of the schools is not likely to be coincidence is it? The Edinburgh one on the table is in Oxgangs btw not the new town or Morningside.

What if anything has a well performing primary school got to do with the catholic faith? Seems there may be a reason, anyone actually know?
The ethos of the schools. You can put this down to the catholic faith or the influences that prevail in other schools. I think it’s both.

How many rc schools in top 10

Why faith schools?
Because separating children through religion or wealth is wrong.
A few guys on here saying they got the best start possible through catholic schools, I bet just as many from non denominational schools could say the same

They may do but I’m going off school ratings not my opinion. The large majority of kids in one of my owns kids year group were not catholic btw. Tbf that was a bit of an anomaly and not the same for my other kid, although plenty were still not catholic. Catholic schools are legally obliged to take non Catholics and plenty non RC parents seek them out.

I think we can solve your concern by making all schools catholic.

That's kind of what I was getting at.
In around 1971 many Glasgow workers and their families moved North to work in the newly built aluminium smelter in Invergordon. An approach was made to the council to build a Catholic school. They were basically told to ram it. No religious division up here. That's still spoken about to this day as one of the councils better decisions.

So if that’s the case what is the problem? Faith schools cover all religions. Both state schools so i don’t see a problem

They may do but I’m going off school ratings not my opinion. The large majority of kids in one of my owns kids year group were not catholic btw. Tbf that was a bit of an anomaly and not the same for my other kid, although plenty were still not catholic. Catholic schools are legally obliged to take non Catholics and plenty non RC parents seek them out.

I think we can solve your concern by making all schools catholic.
I couldae gie a fuck about Catholicism, protestantism, islamism or any other ism.
Religious differences are the brain of our country but folk still want tae see religious schools.sheesh,
Things will never change.

That's kind of what I was getting at.
In around 1971 many Glasgow workers and their families moved North to work in the newly built aluminium smelter. An approach was made to the council to build a Catholic school. They were basically told to ram it. No religious division up here. That's still spoken about to this day as one of the councils better decisions.
What problems do you perceive arising from the fact that not all pupils in Scotland can fit into the same school building ?

I am aware of two lines of argument;

- the hun argument, which - with a straight face - blames catholic schools for sectarianism, despite the fact they exist all over the UK with sectarianism only an issue within the orbit of one evil institution and its enormously annoying rival. There will probably be far rightists down south who adhere to a version of this because Catholicism is ‘foreign’.

- the lefty argument - which is based on dislike of Catholicism specifically but also a wider desire to impose their doctrine on everyone without anyone escaping. I also suspect they don’t like the fact that catholic schools are one remaining working platform for social mobility, when all theirs reliably fail.

I’m sure you don’t share either of these but I’m not aware of any other actual rationales. The one about separating kids is a nonsense outside tiny village schools, as, well, one school can’t fit everyone anyway.

I couldae gie a fuck about Catholicism, protestantism, islamism or any other ism.
Religious differences are the brain of our country but folk still want tae see religious schools.sheesh,
Things will never change.
How? I mean, really, how? Rangers and Celtic fc are the bain of our country.

Are Catholic schools actually Catholic schools?

Admittedly a few years ago now a Catholic school was an option I had for my kids. Didn't look to be overwhelmingly Catholic or even close to it!

And when we're thinking about faith schools it should be borne in mind they are not necessarily Catholic schools, particularly in England.

exactly, putting this in the same context is madness.
I thought it was only the Huns who blamed everything on faith schools… disregarding the fact they have bairns on sectarian marches 🙈
How? I mean, really, how? Rangers and Celtic fc are the bain of our country.

Admittedly a few years ago now a Catholic school was an option I had for my kids. Didn't look to be overwhelmingly Catholic or even close to it!

And when we're thinking about faith schools it should be borne in mind they are not necessarily Catholic schools, particularly in England.
Faith schools? They take in any religion.. so certainly not in any way sectarian

What problems do you perceive arising from the fact that not all pupils in Scotland can fit into the same school building ?

- the hun argument, which - with a straight face - blames catholic schools for sectarianism, despite the fact they exist all over the UK with sectarianism only an issue within the orbit of one evil institution and its enormously annoying rival. There will probably be far rightists down south who adhere to a version of this because Catholicism is ‘foreign’.

- the lefty argument - which is based on dislike of Catholicism specifically but also a wider desire to impose their doctrine on everyone without anyone escaping. I also suspect they don’t like the fact that catholic schools are one remaining working platform for social mobility, when all theirs reliably fail.

I’m sure you don’t share either of these but I’m not aware of any other actual rationales. The one about separating kids is a nonsense outside tiny village schools, as, well, one school can’t fit everyone anyway.

I was Christened protestant in St James church, constitution street Leith and as soon as I could form rational thought I've been an atheist. I object to religion of any flavour being within a million miles of government or education. I was open to the possibility of catholic schools having some secret to good performance that's why I asked.

They are, in terms of ethos, religious education and so on. The church also has a role in the guiding bodies though the the anti catholic left in the political class is trying to end this.

The pupils will be, on average, majority catholic with a large non catholic minority. The schools are open to all and, as above, plenty non Catholics take it up, whether irreligious, Protestant, Muslim etc.

I was Christened protestant in St James church, constitution street Leith and as soon as I could form rational thought I've been an atheist. I object to religion of any flavour being within a million miles of government or education. I was open to the possibility of catholic schools having some secret to good performance that's why I asked.
As before, it’s no secret, it’s Catholicism on one hand, and perhaps the ‘new religion’ on the other. Once again I do not mean Protestantism but the ever branching cultism of which ‘woke’ is one new sect.

You can’t escape schools being belief based, but it’s a real problem that non denoms don’t given parents a choice in this area ; they are absolutely ‘faith’ schools especially these days.

Anyway you are entitled to your beliefs and choices, hopefully you extend the same tolerance to others.

My daughter goes to a Catholic Primary and I would say around half are non Catholic unlike in my day in the 80's when it was all Catholic. Non Catholic kids/parents aren't pressured into doing any church stuff and this change has made Catholic Schools more diverse. Educationally they do seem to punch above their weight which might come down to the ethos of the School. I remember Craig Brown who was a Teacher saying that.

Maybe they should be abolished along with private schools but what really pisses me off when I hear this urban myth that they contribute to bigotry in this country. Half of all hate crimes in Scotland are against Catholics but it's somehow Catholic Schools fault. Huns will continue to Hun and the Orange Order will continue to stomp about the streets probably celebrating they got rid of Catholic Schools.

I suspect the huns least likely to stomp on Catholic's heads are the small number who are actually members of the CoS.

Celtic's main engine room for keeping it all going these days, seem to be the marxist green brigade. That said I believe the Bhoys are less ambivalent towards the catholic side of celtic's identity but only going by what I've read on the Internet.

Sectarianism is barely about religion these days anyway. Its about Ireland.

less susceptible (which is not the same at all as ‘not susceptible’) to the quackery of the day.

😂😂😂

Spot on

I seem to remember a nominally catholic school in glasgow was 91% non catholic as it became the school of choice for the Muslim population

I live in an area which is roughly split 50/50 - that is, for every RC school there is a non denom school.

The worlds changing though, school kids today, their friendships aren’t bound by schools and they openly socialize much more with children who go to other schools regardless of faith.

Schools aren’t the problem, nor are they the driver, and ultimately our politicians don’t want to address the organizations that are. I think there’s a hope that everything intolerant just fades away over time. I think that kind of view is deluded to be honest.