A Photographic History Of Hibernian Football Club

PerfectlyFranck

Post any old photos of Hibs; images of fans, players, matches, etc.

Include some relevant information about the photo, if you can.

Here is an excellent photo, posted by The Guardian website:

939fJoA.jpg

Hibernian’s Lawrie Reilly striking/scoring at Easter Road.

Going by Fitbastats.com, this could be from 28 April 1951; Hibernian beat Rangers 4-1 in front of a crowd of >40000. Hibs went on to win the league by ten points.

4-1 Vs Rangers in Scottish League (28/04/1951)

CompetitionScottish League (Division One (old) / 29)
Date28/04/1951 (Saturday) (Season: 1950/1951)
Attendance40000
ManagerShaw, Hugh
VenueHome
Lineup

Starting Lineup contains 3 changes from the previous game.
Starting Lineup has made 1602 starts and 0 sub appearances between them. (Before this match)
Average age of Starting Lineup is 24 Years 344 Days. (From 7 players).
PlayerGoalsCards
Younger, Tommy
Howie, Hugh
Cairns, Jimmy
Gallacher, Michael
Paterson, Jock
Buchanan, Archie
Smith, Gordonscoredscored
Johnstone, Bobbyscored
Reilly, Lawriescored
Turnbull, Eddie
Combe, Bobby

Hibs fielded four of ‘The Famous Five’, with Bobby Combe in place of Willie Ormond.

Fantastic photograph...imagine what it must have been like rolling up to Easter Road back in those days.
My auld man and his mates will very likely have been among that crowd.
My dad would have been there as well also he never wore a scarf but always had his hibs tie on great supporter he was went with him to Leeds Liverpool and Juventus and many other away trips but those were the most memorable

939fJoA.jpg

Going by Fitbastats.com, this could be from 28 April 1951; Hibernian beat Rangers 4-1 in front of a crowd of >40000. Hibs went on to win the league by ten points.

Attendance40000
ManagerShaw, Hugh
VenueHome
Lineup

PlayerGoalsCards
Starting Lineup has made 1602 starts and 0 sub appearances between them. (Before this match)
Younger, Tommy
Howie, Hugh
Cairns, Jimmy
Gallacher, Michael
Paterson, Jock
Buchanan, Archie
Johnstone, Bobbyscored
Reilly, Lawriescored
Turnbull, Eddie
Combe, Bobby

Hibs fielded four of ‘The Famous Five’, with Bobby Combe in place of Willie Ormond.
Great photo ya radge. Never seen that💚

Couple of pics of the kids at a Hibs Kids Christmas party and an open day .I'll leave the players names out for someone to guess

• 401.jpg
    401.jpg
    219.9 KB · Views: 62
  • 409.jpg
    409.jpg
    240.4 KB · Views: 65

939fJoA.jpg

Attendance40000
ManagerShaw, Hugh
VenueHome
Lineup

PlayerGoalsCards
Younger, Tommy
Howie, Hugh
Cairns, Jimmy
Gallacher, Michael
Paterson, Jock
Buchanan, Archie
Johnstone, Bobbyscored
Reilly, Lawriescored
Turnbull, Eddie
Combe, Bobby

Think that was the only season where any Scottish club, outside the old firm, had a 30,000+ average attendance.

20220101_154739.jpgHere's something you don't often see in these days of multiple subs and keepers on the bench - in the East of Scotland Shield final at Tynie in March 1969 Hibs keeper Willie Wilson had to leave the field injured early in the 2nd half and one of my first Hibs heroes Peter Cormack took his place in goals. He did pretty well too, only beaten once, as shown in the picture, by Rene Moller. I think our own Scandinavian import John Madsen is the other Hibs player in the picture. Final score 1-1, Jimmy O'Rourke with our goal.

The great Puskas at the leith San Siro night before we beat Real Madrid 2-0, my dad was there and my school friends dad scored the first.
Saw photo on Twitter other day
I was in 1st year at secondary school at the time.
A nephew of Ferenc Puskas was a pupil at our school (I did not know this at the time)
His family had fled Hungary as Puskas did during the 1956 Uprising.
Anyway, Puskas popped into the school and signed autographs in the playground at dinner time.
I was at the game,but missed Puskas at the school !!
Puskas is reported to have said after marvelling at the performance of Willie Hamilton,that Willie would not have looked out of place in a Real team. I agree with that

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

Splendid.

Great footage from the Pathe selection. If only we had footage of the FF sides in their prime
On the attendance quoted 75.000.
It looks like you could not turn round without bumping into someone ,yet the Hampden record attendance is 145.000 plus.

My first Hampden was v England 1966 ,4-3 to them and the attendance was around 135.000.

The Celtic v Leeds EC game at Hampden 1971 was around the same.
How did they all fit in when you see how packed it looks from the above footage with 75.000?
Similar with the first post If that was "only" 40.000.
How did our record crowd of 65.000 plus all squeeze in !

Plus all the laddies that got a lift over -)
Just my thoughts. Always amazed me when i see these old photos.

On the attendance quoted 75.000.
It looks like you could not turn round without bumping into someone ,yet the Hampden record attendance is 145.000 plus.

My first Hampden was v England 1966 ,4-3 to them and the attendance was around 135.000.

The Celtic v Leeds EC game at Hampden 1971 was around the same.
How did they all fit in when you see how packed it looks from the above footage with 75.000?
Similar with the first post If that was "only" 40.000.
How did our record crowd of 65.000 plus all squeeze in !

Plus all the laddies that got a lift over -)
Just my thoughts. Always amazed me when i see these old photos.
I've heard it suggested that before the welfare state people were generally thinner and therefore you could fit more in to a stadium! Seriously though, I think people forget how unpleasant it could be, packed into a big crowd, especially for youngsters. If you look at pictures and reports of our record crowd at Easter Road, the spectators were spilling over the terracing onto the track around the pitch, and I think I'm right in saying there were at least two fatalities, one at the game and another who died at home afterwards. Plus many minor injuries. I think this was not uncommon in the huge crowds of the postwar years, quite apart from large scale catastrophes like Burnden Park Bolton. Yes the end of standing on terraces has diminished the atmosphere and enjoyment of attending football games in many ways, but given a choice between those days and the all-seater Easter Road of today I think I know which I'd prefer to take my children to.

Last crowds I was in that was actually genuinely scary was crowds trying to get into the Taj Magal..was using my wester weight against western thinner bodies trying to protect some Indian kids almost getting squashed.

I've heard it suggested that before the welfare state people were generally thinner and therefore you could fit more in to a stadium! Seriously though, I think people forget how unpleasant it could be, packed into a big crowd, especially for youngsters. If you look at pictures and reports of our record crowd at Easter Road, the spectators were spilling over the terracing onto the track around the pitch, and I think I'm right in saying there were at least two fatalities, one at the game and another who died at home afterwards. Plus many minor injuries. I think this was not uncommon in the huge crowds of the postwar years, quite apart from large scale catastrophes like Burnden Park Bolton. Yes the end of standing on terraces has diminished the atmosphere and enjoyment of attending football games in many ways, but given a choice between those days and the all-seater Easter Road of today I think I know which I'd prefer to take my children to.
Aye we were a lot thinner ! Nae junk food outlets then, Just the chippie !

Yes ,older fans may remember hardly a big game went by, but the first aiders were in helping folk.
Used to wave yer white hankies above your head to get their attention .

In the heyday of massive crowds,chairmen/owners were happy to "pack them in" with no care.
It was pure greed.
Hibs added what became known as Shaw's Heights to the main terracing to accommodate more fans(and more money)

Easter Road. when i first went, you would describe nowadays as a dump,as were many grounds.
Even the Cave ,which i loved, cost little or nothing to build.
Our chairman then owned a big building firm/plenty leftover concrete. !

And it was ugly, but nice !

Bujt your right ,the crowds then would maked you shudder ,thinking back.
But it was greedy and neglectful owners at fault.

Getting out the Dunbar End when it was full could be dangerous.
As to was the bottleneck school end at Tynie.
People used to lose shoes getting lifted along in the crush.

I laugh sometimes thinking back to ribbing we gave hertz fans about their old wooden stand .
I understand it was getting safety certificate checks weekly or monthly at the finish up.
How some grounds were deemed safe back in the day ,i dont know .

View attachment 7346Here's something you don't often see in these days of multiple subs and keepers on the bench - in the East of Scotland Shield final at Tynie in March 1969 Hibs keeper Willie Wilson had to leave the field injured early in the 2nd half and one of my first Hibs heroes Peter Cormack took his place in goals. He did pretty well too, only beaten once, as shown in the picture, by Rene Moller. I think our own Scandinavian import John Madsen is the other Hibs player in the picture. Final score 1-1, Jimmy O'Rourke with our goal.
Hate to tell you this but on a site on Old Scottish Football Pictures on Facebook a guy called Derek Binnie is claiming it's in 1965.I showed him this quote and picture but he's not having it.

Yes, I've seen those pictures - they are from a different, earlier match, at Easter Road, where coincidentally the same thing happened - Wilson was injured and Cormack took over!

The only EOS Final that went to a replay during the 1960s, was season 68-69

I do recall another game that Peter went in goal against St Mirren at ER
Willie stayed on the park and played outfield.

Would not be allowed now. Concussion
Admin.... hope its ok to attach links bedlow

Reckon the links will be fine, not so sure of the description 👺
Thanks Doc
Am not that great doing this link stuff
I did not know that description would appear

The St Mirren game was a league cup group section tie in 1965
We won the group and progressed to the semi final against Celtic
It was a 2-2 draw
I think (memory, am 70 this month)) Billy McNeill headed a late equaliser
The replay ....we got tanked 4-0
I think (again) Big John McNamee got a red card and it was between these two games that Jock Stein left Hibs.
In later years Jock would say "it was the most embarrassing thing i did in football"

Interesting posts. Standing at games provides a far better atmosphere and the "rather sit" brigade can't deny that. No one can deny that the game against Souness' Rangers was something special. Nothing comes close to being in the east that day.

Today seated fans are far more reserved and I believe that's down to being self conscious being thinned out more. As for the arguments against standing? You telling us you don't stand up when something exciting happens? We didn't need "singing sections" before we were all seated by the way. The cowshed was the only exception but we were sitting crammed together on benches then.

As for big crowds at Hampden and Easter Road the most dangerous time I felt was when we all poured out the grounds at the end but personally I found it was more dangerous being a Hibby in the two hundred or so who stood surrounded by thousands of old firm fans on the old East terracing. In those days they filled half the main stand, Dunbar end and 99.9% of the old east terracing!

Worst occasion on the east was when the Hearts game was cancelled late against Dunfermline so many of them turned up at Hibs v Rangers. They stood under the old TV gantry and tossed bottles down on the Hibs fans on the lower terracing. I still to this day remember a wee black boy carried by a Rangers fan with blood pouring from a head wound. It was utter carnage and I hated Hearts more than ever after that day. I don't know if older Hibs fans remember that day but it's certainly etched on my memory.

Finally you don't need huge crowds to generate crowd sway with scary consequences. There was a cup game at Berwick when the boundary wall collapsed in front of the Hibs support. Gate was about 6 or 7k and must have been about early 80's. I'm sure some of you remember.

Fit out the FF front with high tech safety barriers and produce a proper atmosphere. Get the young team in there and let our players get the support at home they need. The rest of us can sit on our bums and freeze. Two and half thousand all singing, all dancing, flag waving, mental young Hibees. Make it members only and tell them step out of line you lose your place.

Football is meant to be exciting. The more you stand up from your seat your witnessing an exciting game. Its not rocket science fcol.

Lets all be honest now. Easter Road has never been known for its vociferous home support. Only on a few special occasions perhaps. Not unless you count the times Hibees reverberated round the ground when the guys started banging their feet in the old stand 😉

If you read these pages Ron get that FF section kitted out and get our stadium rocking.

Found this: How George Best missed the Hibs team bus and was then subbed off

If you read these pages Ron get that FF section kitted out and get our stadium rocking.

I have read this on here on and off for years. I sit in the west stand lower, quite close to the famous five. When the young team moved to FF Upper, we could barely hear them most games. Now that are back in the East they come over LOUD and clear? I am at a loss why we should have the singing section behind that goal.

Interesting posts. Standing at games provides a far better atmosphere and the "rather sit" brigade can't deny that. No one can deny that the game against Souness' Rangers was something special. Nothing comes close to being in the east that day.

Today seated fans are far more reserved and I believe that's down to being self conscious being thinned out more. As for the arguments against standing? You telling us you don't stand up when something exciting happens? We didn't need "singing sections" before we were all seated by the way. The cowshed was the only exception but we were sitting crammed together on benches then.

As for big crowds at Hampden and Easter Road the most dangerous time I felt was when we all poured out the grounds at the end but personally I found it was more dangerous being a Hibby in the two hundred or so who stood surrounded by thousands of old firm fans on the old East terracing. In those days they filled half the main stand, Dunbar end and 99.9% of the old east terracing!

Worst occasion on the east was when the Hearts game was cancelled late against Dunfermline so many of them turned up at Hibs v Rangers. They stood under the old TV gantry and tossed bottles down on the Hibs fans on the lower terracing. I still to this day remember a wee black boy carried by a Rangers fan with blood pouring from a head wound. It was utter carnage and I hated Hearts more than ever after that day. I don't know if older Hibs fans remember that day but it's certainly etched on my memory.

Finally you don't need huge crowds to generate crowd sway with scary consequences. There was a cup game at Berwick when the boundary wall collapsed in front of the Hibs support. Gate was about 6 or 7k and must have been about early 80's. I'm sure some of you remember.

Fit out the FF front with high tech safety barriers and produce a proper atmosphere. Get the young team in there and let our players get the support at home they need. The rest of us can sit on our bums and freeze. Two and half thousand all singing, all dancing, flag waving, mental young Hibees. Make it members only and tell them step out of line you lose your place.

Football is meant to be exciting. The more you stand up from your seat your witnessing an exciting game. Its not rocket science fcol.

Lets all be honest now. Easter Road has never been known for its vociferous home support. Only on a few special occasions perhaps. Not unless you count the times Hibees reverberated round the ground when the guys started banging their feet in the old stand 😉

Interesting post.
Only spoiled by telling me my opinion.
I’ve done all the standing on the terraces stuff, for a year or two.
I’m perfectly happy to be seated in the FF Upper, and content not to dictate to others what their opinion is.

I have read this on here on and off for years. I sit in the west stand lower, quite close to the famous five. When the young team moved to FF Upper, we could barely hear them most games. Now that are back in the East they come over LOUD and clear? I am at a loss why we should have the singing section behind that goal.

Suppose idea would be that it would be the whole lower section standing rather than that small group in corner of the upper