things that nip yer heid in general

Ok I realise I'm becoming a moaning faced old git but I am finding a deal of things that really get on my wick big time at the moment.Two in particular involve bus journeys.Number1.The overly polite stand off at the bus stop-'Oh no after you!''No! I Insist !You first!''Oh no I couldn't possibly!'.'But you were here first!''Ah but you were standing in the queue' and so it goes on-just get on the fecking bus!
No.2-This usually involves the number 25,I get on at Gorgie Rd,I'm heading for Lochend.It's Baltic outside,folk are blowing into their hands,they've got on Parkas, scarves and wooly hats-i.e.it's cold.I go upstairs to the top deck.The bus is stowed out with Students.The languages being heard are multicultural,I have no problem with that everyone is welcome here.What's nipping ma heid is every one of the windows is open! What's that all aboot?Are the students doing so much critical thinking their heids are in danger of overheating? I sit their fuming, shivering in the cold as I wait for the students get to their destination.A few get off at Haymarket.Then Princes St.by the foot of the walk they are all off.Then I get out my seat slam shut all the windaes happy in the knowledge that the torture is over.
Anyone else got a gripe?

Idiots that try to get on a bus or lift, before the other people have gotten off. Also absolutely HATE dick heads on a plane that try to shove there way first. It's common courtesy to wait your turn and go isle by isle.

Why do folk (ok, ladies) wait till the bus opens it’s doors to finally decide to locate Fare or card?

And litters and dog owners gtf

The rush to queue up to board a plane. I could maybe see the point if seats were not reserved.

If it's cattle class airlines there's so many folk only going with hand luggage they're rushing to get overhead locker space...

The constant switching of lanes on motorways or people who are turning off leaving it until the last 100 yards then having to brake sharply to pull in killing the flow of traffic for those not turning off.

Erskine bridge and m8 off the city bypass spring to mind.

so.....

The constant switching of lanes on motorways or people who are turning off leaving it until the last 100 yards then having to brake sharply to pull in killing the flow of traffic for those not turning off.

Erskine bridge and m8 off the city bypass spring to mind.

People who drive in the middle lane on the motorway do my head in.

Also bicycle thieves (my bike was nicked last night).

Folk who park on pavements. Inconsiderate in the extreme.

I`d probably find it easier, no tae mention quicker, if i posted a list of things that DON`T nip my heid. grandpa

Folk who burn the grass on kids football pitches on Leith Links with disposable barbecues, does my head in.

Same goes for those responsible for dog shite epidemic in Leith

Scottish folk who support English teams as ‘ Scottish fitba is shite’

absolute plums

Folk who put CDs back in the wrong box.

Scottish folk who support English teams as ‘ Scottish fitba is $#@!e’

absolute plums

Agree totally. There's a few muppets in my work like that.
Almost all of them will have not been to a match in Scotland for decades if ever.

1. Dog owners who allow their dogs to shite on the pavement, a park, a beach, or on a road and don't pick it up.
2. Loud people. People who talk loudly or constantly shout for no other reason rather than to just draw attention to themselves.
3. Folk in pubs (or elsewhere) who think nothing of butting in to your conversation.
4. Folk who assume without asking that you are remotely interested in whatever daft photos or messages they have just been sent on their phone.
5. Brexit..and everything about it.
6. Intolerant types who can't accept you have an opinion or a belief which might be a minority opinion or belief but still should be treated with respect like everybody else's.
7. Football pundits. BBC ones in particular...especially when they try to justify cheating in the game.
8. Ignorant self-opinionated ill-informed tossers who are so egotistical they fully believe the whole world needs to hear what they think and believe on any given subject.
9. Folk who constantly flout the rules in life to their own advantage. It's as if the laws of the land don't apply to them.
10. Comes under no.9 to be honest...people who get pissed either before or during a flight and then proceed to make every other passengers flight a misery. Controversial, but I would not allow anyone on board a plane who is drunk, nor would I allow the sale of alcohol during a flight.

1, Folk who base their political 'opinions' on their football team.
2, The total lack of accountability in local government.
3, That begging on every high street (and more) has become acceptable.
4, Folk who think the NHS is "free" so we should just be grateful despite its poor budget.
5,Flight check-in. Why does it still take as long despite the technology...
6, Not being able to discuss immigration without being labelled racist.
7, That you can't criticise Israel without being labelled anti Semitic.
8, The ridiculous way Scottish football is knocked compared to the hugely overrated English Premiership.
9, The way the modern football player behaves.
10, Corrupt biased media.

I’ve been making a concerted attempt this year to be less bothered about the many things that used to send me off on a rant, think I’m doing ok with it.

A few good shouts on here though. Dog shit, English football etc

1. Folk on their smart phones who dinnae watch where they're going on the pavement
2. Folk who smoke while driving
3. Drivers who dinnae indicate(SUV drivers the worst)
4. Folk who have loud phone conversations on the bus
5. Folk who have hands free conversations while walking

Agree totally. There's a few muppets in my work like that.
Almost all of them will have not been to a match in Scotland for decades if ever.

Always seems to be the case that the biggest critics of Scottish football never ever attend any games.

Scottish football fans who don’t support the national team ie at least want them to win are also a bunch of weirdos.

I'm joining a dual/single carriageway from a slip road, there's a broken white line indicating that you must give-way to traffic on the main carriageway. I then either slow down or stop to allow the traffic to pass before joining the main carriageway. Simple and straightforward? Should be, except that for some reason drivers have got it into their heads that while they're travelling at 60mph on the main carriageway they must slow right down or even fucking stop on that main carriageway to allow me out of the slip road, flashing headlights and waving me out. I get that people think they're being courteous but it boils ma pish big time. It's fucking dangerous and stupid. Also, the number of times I'm doing 60 behind some fucking donut on a main carriageway who pulls this stunt resulting in me having to almost slam on the brakes, so they can allow another motor out of a slip road, whilst THEY (the clown in front of me) have the legal right of way, has me going fucking tonto.
You all know who you are.....

I'm joining a dual/single carriageway from a slip road, there's a broken white line indicating that you must give-way to traffic on the main carriageway. I then either slow down or stop to allow the traffic to pass before joining the main carriageway. Simple and straightforward? Should be, except that for some reason drivers have got it into their heads that while they're travelling at 60mph on the main carriageway they must slow right down or even fucking stop on that main carriageway to allow me out of the slip road, flashing headlights and waving me out. I get that people think they're being courteous but it boils ma pish big time. It's fucking dangerous and stupid. Also, the number of times I'm doing 60 behind some fucking donut on a main carriageway who pulls this stunt resulting in me having to almost slam on the brakes, so they can allow another motor out of a slip road, whilst THEY (the clown in front of me) have the legal right of way, has me going fucking tonto.

Likewise the donut who's coming on to the dual carriageway or motorway thinks that drivers must give way to them!

In my 26 odd years of driving I've never once seen anyone stopping to allow someone to join a main carriageway.

I see it nearly every day when there isn't a big enough gap for them to swerve into outside lane.

I'm using the original poster, travelling at 60mph on dual/single carriageway on the inside lane and coming to a stop to allow folk to enter the traffic flow. Honestly, I've never witnessed that.

Same goes for those responsible for dog shite epidemic in Leith
Hertz play in Gorgie, bud.

But to answer the question:

There's only one I'd like to add, and it's the attitude of cyclists here in the Netherlands. Culturally it's not a big deal, but it is when you're not originally from here; they're protected against motorists to the extent where any incident is treated as the fault of the motorist by default. No matter what.

You've got to be so careful when you see a cyclist.

I'm using the original poster, travelling at 60mph on dual/single carriageway on the inside lane and coming to a stop to allow folk to enter the traffic flow. Honestly, I've never witnessed that.
I see it on the M77, J4 and 5, every day. Those merging are coming out regardless.

Hertz play in Gorgie, bud.

But to answer the question:

There's only one I'd like to add, and it's the attitude of cyclists here in the Netherlands. Culturally it's not a big deal, but it is when you're not originally from here; they're protected against motorists to the extent where any incident is treated as the fault of the motorist by default. No matter what.

You've got to be so careful when you see a cyclist.

As it should be. And when a cyclist hits a pedestrian it should be the fault of the cyclist by default too.

I see it on the M77, J4 and 5, every day. Those merging are coming out regardless.

Drivers on a motorway travelling 60mph come to a stop to allow folk to merge onto the M77? Sorry WG, I just cannae see that being accurate.

See it on the bypass Mark, but only in the rush hour and traffics crawling anyway, never seen it any other time.

Honestly, see when you get caught in a motorway tailback that's moving at a snails pace, if it's moving at all, that's due to this phenomenon where umpteen folk ahead of you are stopping to let traffic merge from slip roads.

As it should be. And when a cyclist hits a pedestrian it should be the fault of the cyclist by default too.
No, it shouldn't.

The provisions for cyclists in this country are exceptional, to the extent that there's absolutely no excuse for not using them and staying 100% safe. But when they choose, in a split-second, to abandon their lane and cut in front of you, the wrong way on a roundabout, they are responsible; not the motorist.

Folk in maroon trainers. They look awful and you just know the owner is a bunt.

Before it gets too busy and traffic is flowing but busy. Some people will slam the brakes on either to avoid the mergers hitting them or they think they have to give way. Happens the next 2 junctions as well but that's a 50 limit.

No, it shouldn't.

The provisions for cyclists in this country are exceptional, to the extent that there's absolutely no excuse for not using them and staying 100% safe. But when they choose, in a split-second, to abandon their lane and cut in front of you, the wrong way on a roundabout, they are responsible; not the motorist.

Exceptional provisions for cyclists is a gigantic exaggeration. Staying 100% safe on a bike on the roads is an even bigger exaggeration. And abandoning lanes would suggest there’s always a dedicated lane to abandon. Every day I see cars taking massive liberties with my safety. Life threatening liberties. The converse isn’t true.

He's not in Scotland though. :dunno:

Think where Z is from, the cyclist is king

It's not an exaggeration.

Cyclists in the Netherlands get lanes on either side of the road (that are very often not on the road at all), their own sets of lights, guidance for moving on and off roundabouts, and a culture that is extremely friendly to them. Yet still, they're protected by law if they choose to utterly ignore the advantages they've got. It's absurd.

Never knew you lived in the Netherlands, crossed wires.

Those coats and worse still wooly hats with goggles attached worn by some folk at the games...

Never knew you lived in the Netherlands, crossed wires.
No probs, bud.

FWIW, I get the issues in Scotland. The problem is that it's not necessarily likely to change, given that it's much harder to change culture than it is to change laws. When I speak to Dutch people about my frustrations, they don't get what I'm complaining about. To them, it's the way things have always been and they're taught to drive with that in mind.

Good luck making it fly in Baillieston or Loanhead.

Folk that walk down a busy street with golf umbrellas up and either poke you in the heid or soak you with the rain pouring off it.

Subway staff that put the sauce in between the salad and meat and leave the bread dry.

The Rangers fans who associate anything to do with Edinburgh to Aids and spoon burners but cry like wee bairns when called A Dirty Hun F**K.

This thread has been viewed 8552 times.