Pizza

The edges have a raised lip so that the topping can be deeper more like a quiche or a flan The supermarket ones are called Chicago Style.
I don't mind an occasional pizza but why are they so expensive? Certainly not value for money IMO. The frozen ones are crap with topping pieces the size of sprinkles.
A chippy owner once went on a brilliant rant on this subject to me; fucking cheese on toast, costs fuck all too make, they charge more than us and all the kids go there…. Was the gist. Couldn’t argue with it really :coffee1:

Wow! Gotta be a winner!

On Amwrican pizzas in general, what are the main differences from Italian, European?

Is it really the base or more un-'European' ingredients?
I'd say you can get European style pizzas, no problem....but then higher end pizza places tend to do pizzas that are more experimental as well. For example: https://www.stoneworkpizza.com/menu

Gonna have to mention the best 3 I've ever tasted. Now I like most variations but always run home to the margarita.

1. A wee pizzeria in Barga, Tuscany. 10 euro about 14 inches of sheer heaven (on you go @Doc Shrink)
2. Tiny cafe in a back street in Milano the day after a Scotland defeat.
3. Just off a piazza in Napoli (Cannae mind the name)

p.s. Gon the Mushrooms!

I've been a couple of times to Pizzeria Brandi in Naples where pizza marghereta was invented and it didn't disappoint. You'd imagine that it was aimed at and inhabited by tourists but it's not the case. Like most Italian pizza, presentation was not the strong point but rather the rich, fresh natural flavours. Indeed it was very much typical Neapolitan pizza, thin crispy and with the ingredients looking like they've been thrown at the pizza base. The best I've tasted.

Chicken mushroom seeetcorn and jalapeño 😎😎😎😎

A chippy owner once went on a brilliant rant on this subject to me; fucking cheese on toast, costs fuck all too make, they charge more than us and all the kids go there…. Was the gist. Couldn’t argue with it really :coffee1:
For the ingredients pizza is dear as fuck… not a big lover of them but when in the mood it’s rather delicious

Been going to newish pizza place San Ciros in leith walk close to leith depot recently including before some games with plenty hibs fans in, owner is from Naples and some good Maradona paraphernalia, it’s tidy

Anybody remember their first one?
Marie and Don's restaurant, Bonnington road 1966-ish. A poster appears in the window "coming soon, pizza pie 505"
None of us or our parents had a clue what this mysterious thing was. Marie wouldn't tell us when we asked, she just smiled and said "you"ll love it, be here soon"
Anyway as we now know they were waiting for a pizza oven to be fitted. A couple of days later we're in for our usual juice and ice cream and she hands us each a slice of red hot pizza on greaseproof paper. That was a revelation, I'd never tasted anything like it in my life.
Loved it then and did for many years. Always as plain as possible though with the only addition maybe mushrooms. Since moving to Thailand my tastes have changed enormously and I can take it or leave it. I might have pizza twice a year. If I do it's usually vegetarian with jalapenos and a splash of tabasco.

I like pizza but I’m not a big fan of it that I’d crave it. But I do like noising up people from New York that whine how you can’t get good pizza in LA, which is nonsense. We are spoiled for choice here for pizza. California Pizza Kitchen has a great barbecue chicken pizza. I like a plain, wood fired Margherita pizza.

And who on earth started putting pineapple on pizza? This needs to stop.

I could just look it up cos it's a gap I won't lie but what is a deep pan pizza in your view?
Well firstly the Chicago Pizza Pie Factory ones were nothing like the deep pan piss poor efforts you get in supermarkets.

I've managed to find a photo of one from their long gone Dublin* restaurant and a menu!

You'll see the Pizza is a good 2" or 3" deep. Obviously the crust was thicker than a thin crust but not as thick as you might think. The fillings weren't runny, just thick enough to stay intact from the cast iron pan it was served in to plate.

* The link to Dublin may have been an Irish racing driver who was based in London and was a friend of my Dad's. He was very well known in the London restaurant and could always get a table 😉

Screenshot_20240504_080258_Samsung Internet.jpgScreenshot_20240504_080154_Samsung Internet.jpg

Well firstly the Chicago Pizza Pie Factory ones were nothing like the deep pan piss poor efforts you get in supermarkets.

I've managed to find a photo of one from their long gone Dublin* restaurant and a menu!

You'll see the Pizza is a good 2" or 3" deep. Obviously the crust was thicker than a thin crust but not as thick as you might think. The fillings weren't runny, just thick enough to stay intact from the cast iron pan it was served in to plate.

* The link to Dublin may have been an Irish racing driver who was based in London and was a friend of my Dad's. He was very well known in the London restaurant and could always get a table 😉

View attachment 13854View attachment 13855
Thanks for the explanation, lit. a deep pan as I can now see, wow, doughy or what?

Or what!

I'd say it was well balanced for what it was.

I'd also add, in retrospect, its an entirely different beast from the Italian style thin pizza. Almost the only common factor they're round, bread based and topped with yummy stuff.

Taste pizzeria in Whitburn do a decent Red Dragon pizza that has nduja on it and is done in 1 minute in the wood fired oven.
I had a tasty pepperoni and black olive one out our local chippy last night.
Best I had in Tuscany was at Luna di Saturno restaurant in Colle di Val D’Elsa.

Took me a second to realise that was a link rather than a statement. I was about to doff my cap to a meister!

Haha me too. Was lost for words 😵‍💫

Been going to newish pizza place San Ciros in leith walk close to leith depot recently including before some games with plenty hibs fans in, owner is from Naples and some good Maradona paraphernalia, it’s tidy
Aye, heard about it…………………good reviews.

Best pizza I have ever tasted is Rudy’s Pizza in Manchester.

Best pizza I ever had was at Castel Nuovo in Naples. Nothing comes close. Bought an Ooni pizza oven and have been trying to get it right every since.

Got close, but just not there. Yet.

Pizza, Chinese and Indian takeaway food must have the biggest mark up ingredients v cost. On the few times that I have ventured to Casinos for a late drink after regular hours, to be honest, it was notable that big and I mean biggest, punters were well known Chinese restaurant/takeaway owners.

Best pizza I ever had was at Castel Nuovo in Naples. Nothing comes close. Bought an Ooni pizza oven and have been trying to get it right every since.

Got close, but just not there. Yet.

Rudy’s chefs are from Naples, once you have tried a Rudy’s pizza you won’t look at another pizza again.

The second best pizza I ever had was in Clemmons, North Carolina. Spoke to the chef afterwards and HE was from Naples as well! To call yourself an authentic pizza napoletana maker you have to adhere to a set recipe and technique, so no doubt your boy in Rudy's does the same.

Happy to try it next time I'm in Manchester

Pizza deep fried... fuckin boak.

Love pizza but it don’t love me - hesrtburn central especially when combined with beer ❤️‍🔥 Which it usually is as it’s my “go to” comfort food after a sesh.

Might be the bread. I can only eat pizza with a sourdough base. Worth a try?

Enjoyed a pizza in this place this evening. Top notch stuff.

Might be the bread. I can only eat pizza with a sourdough base. Worth a try?

Me too!

Pizza, Chinese and Indian takeaway food must have the biggest mark up ingredients v cost. On the few times that I have ventured to Casinos for a late drink after regular hours, to be honest, it was notable that big and I mean biggest, punters were well known Chinese restaurant/takeaway owners.

I take it you've not been for a Mexican?

I can do 4 super sized fajitas for about a tenner. 3 teeny weeny ones will cost about £18 out!

Never!

Do you deliver?

Abroad?

A wee suggestion if you make fajitas Jack, and assuming you pan fry your veg for them, something I picked up from a recipe for Philly cheesesteak. Chuck in a splash of white wine vinegar as you are frying said veg. Really ‘brightens’ their flavour. Careful though - vinegar and hot oil can be a bit fizzy!

Do you deliver?

Abroad?
I'm sure we could come to an arrangement.

How much are Superkings where you are 🤣

I'm sure we could come to an arrangement.

How much are Superkings where you are 🤣
€9,000 per carton, contact @ Schiphol?

Do you deliver?

Abroad?
Naw nae liver, just fajitas.

Bawbag.com? Rab Corbett's funny phone calls?
Very weegie but some were very funny.

Bawbag.com? Rab Corbett's funny phone calls?
Very weegie but some were very funny.
Never heard of that/him. I’ll look him up now though😉

As I said some very weegie but a few real funny ones in there. Not sure if bawbag.com even exists anymore but you'll certainly find the phonecalls.

€9,000 per carton, contact @ Schiphol?
I'd be wanting a pallet for that!

Pizza deep fried... fuckin boak.
Agree about the deep fry but many chippies have a pizza oven these days.

This thread has been viewed 1151 times.