Your favourite Leith pub?

Brainwrong

Spaktacuradge
I will accept entries from Elm Row down, but apart from that; keep it EH6.

Best old skool Leith pub; the Malt n Hops, down the shore. Excellent honest vibe and they have Adlestons on tap.
Best evening pub; the Port (O Leith).Dancing on the bar and green sambuca? Bangin'.
Best all round pub; Robbies. Probably what could be considered my most frequented local since about 1997. Love this pub the most.
Best Hibs pub; Harp & Castle. Meeting point, scran, pool, football and staff that pour me a sambuca before I even ask.
Best newish pub; Boda. Nice wee pub with almost always a good vibe and often good tunes. Bar maids often rather tasty too.
Best food; the Roseleaf, can describe how fucking excellent this pub is, cocktails in teapots, top notch staff, amazing food and great tunes.
Best crazy random situation enducing pub; Boundary / City Limits. I would have to spend a long time recounting the hilarious and random shit that I've experienced in this fine establishment.
Best beer garden; The Pond. Often great tunes too plus a real live Space Invaders arcade machine!

Thoughts?

Some of my favourites:-

Teuchtar's Landing - Good outdoor patio/decking area next to the water for the summer, and cosy indoors in the winter. Serves Black Isle on draught too. And close to the excellent Mithas restaurant.

Carrier's Quarters - Great wee pub with usually an outstanding selection of beers both bottled and draught

The Iona Bar - My favourite pub for before/after Hibs games, with the H&C a close second :burp:

I'm bit a leither K but is the m&h really old skool? I always associate it with gentrification of the shore but I'm neither old not leith native enough to know what what the score was before that

I use to drinking the boundary at 5am occasionally back in
The day - what a place

Don't like The Port, full of whacky folk trying to be whackier than the rest.Cannae be arsed with that.

Tam O Shanter is reasonable for a quick pint after work or watching the horse racing

Robbies is the best pre/post hibs pub imo

Lioness of Leith has potential to be a regular

Carriers is pretty good

Pond also good, but a wee bit out the way

I'm bit a leither K but is the m&h really old skool? I always associate it with gentrification of the shore but I'm neither old not leith native enough to know what what the score was before that

I use to drinking the boundary at 5am occasionally back in
The day - what a place

Re Malt n Hops & the shore in general, I mind taking my dad down there afew years ago and he was astounded by the change in the area, "This used to all just be bams and hookers" I think were his words. He specifically pointed to the Malt n Hops as a right bam central as was the Pond in it's previous incarnation. The Malt n Hops seems to me to be pure Leith, old skool and Leither frequented & run. But I could be off with that statement. I never drank in Leith when I was an under-ager (drank in the Tap as we moved up to Tollycross when I was about 14) so my mental image and exposure to Leith pubs is from around 1996.

Don't like The Port, full of whacky folk trying to be whackier than the rest.Cannae be arsed with that.

Tam O Shanter is reasonable for a quick pint after work or watching the horse racing

Robbies is the best pre/post hibs pub imo

Lioness of Leith has potential to be a regular

Carriers is pretty good

Pond also good, but a wee bit out the way

The Port can be a total stramash of fandans but for late night tomfoolery, it can't be beaten. But, I'm perhaps more into the jake side ;)

For a more jake-centric old skool Leith experience (rather than Malt n Hops) I'd say; The Central Bar (possibly the most beautiful bar in Leith if not Edinburgh), Wilkies on Great Spunked on Tits (great junction street) was in there for a sneaky morning peeve a couple months ago and it was really welcoming, excellent patter and some crazy as bat shit locals popping in for sly pints and spraffs, will go there more often, I reckon. The one at the bus stop across from Frutin, cannae mind the new name, used to be the Rob Roy, proper jake-tastic although everyone seems to be smoking fags outside rather than actually drinking.

Has to be the Iona due to it be my Hibs local for over 20 years, but The Harp is catching up pretty fast.

Malt and Hopps is also a favourite and tend to meet my mate Jimmy there for a few when he's down from the Shetlands - proper old skool traditional pub with old skool character and the bonus of an old fashioned coal fire for those cold wintry nights.

Then there's the Vine at the foot of Prince Regent Street. Never any bother but rough as fuck patrons. Decent for early morning peeve.

Only ever really go into the Iona or the Coopers, which has become a terrible pub.

For a more jake-centric old skool Leith experience (rather than Malt n Hops) I'd say; The Central Bar (possibly the most beautiful bar in Leith if not Edinburgh), Wilkies on Great Spunked on Tits (great junction street) was in there for a sneaky morning peeve a couple months ago and it was really welcoming, excellent patter and some crazy as bat shit locals popping in for sly pints and spraffs, will go there more often, I reckon. The one at the bus stop across from Frutin, cannae mind the new name, used to be the Rob Roy, proper jake-tastic although everyone seems to be smoking fags outside rather than actually drinking.

Agree about the central,the inside is really lovely.Shame its populated with morons.

the one across the road is the tam o shanter and i like it, never any bother...cannae mind it ever being called the rob roy though?

Agree about the central,the inside is really lovely.Shame its populated with morons.

the one across the road is the tam o shanter and i like it, never any bother...cannae mind it ever being called the rob roy though?

Must have imagined that! When it was white with the old frontage, was sure it was the Rob Roy. Looks pish now but I've never been in since they done it up.

I may well be thinking of the Rob Roy in London for some weird Scottish name connection style reason.

Anyone ever been in The Marksman (next to the foot o' the walk)? Looks rough as fanny stubble!

Robbies,drank in there for 20 years

The Harp is magic for a sing song and all round Hibs daftness

I like the Vicky bar too,plays some decent music and "clientele" is emm nice (unless i'm getting mixed with Boda)

I miss the Dolphin at the bottom of the walk,used to have some mental late night karaokes in there when i was 17/18.

Honourable mentions should also go to the now departed Red Lion and Auld Salt,had some good times when i was a Postie in there.

Anyone ever been in The Marksman (next to the foot o' the walk)? Looks rough as fanny stubble!

A few guys from work pop in there Friday lunchtimes. It's apparently mental. Music blaring and auld boys dancing. On Xmas eve a guy had a snake in a carrier bag!

I can't think of one I've been in that I don't like, however Robbies is the standout(and my favourite pub anywhere) with Tamsons the favourite of my travelling companions, mainly due to the laissez-faire approach to the weights and measures act when pouring out the Macallan.

Start of next season it's the big Five-Oh so we'll be making a weekend of it so looking forward to going all the way to the waterfront and trying out the places mentioned above.

Then there's the Vine at the foot of Prince Regent Street. Never any bother but rough as $#@! patrons. Decent for early morning peeve.

My grandad's local till the day he died. Now, as you rightly say, like something out of Deliverance.

My locals are all Easter Road/Abbeyhill so probably don't qualify. But the Artisan and it's attendant Spanish Armada bar staff is my favourite, Middletons my longest-standing affair, and the Safari Lounge for when I have the night off but can't be fecked going up the town.

My favourite was PRL, which sadly is no longer with us. Probably the only person here not a fan of the H&C, don't see the hype tbh.

My grandad's local till the day he died. Now, as you rightly say, like something out of Deliverance.

My locals are all Easter Road/Abbeyhill so probably don't qualify. But the Artisan and it's attendant Spanish Armada bar staff is my favourite, Middletons my longest-standing affair, and the Safari Lounge for when I have the night off but can't be fecked going up the town.

Frank might have been a smelly auld goat, but he has a terrific eye for barstaff...the Polish ladies prior to the spanish lot were just as lovely.

My favourite was PRL, which sadly is no longer with us. Probably the only person here not a fan of the H&C, don't see the hype tbh.

I tend to go to the Harp after games when the Iona karaoke comes on around 8-9 on match days to catch up with my lads and a catch up with mates that i don't often see at home games.

However, the fact i'm not from Leith and have to get a bus i also prefer it on non match days for the 5.00 game on Sky on a Saturday night.

Big TV screens to watch the fitba, excellent selection of beers, lagers and ciders and a decent pub menu if your feeling peckish.

Also what i like about a pub is the welcoming you get from bar staff and have to say you get that on a regular basis from all staff in the H&C.

Frank might have been a smelly auld goat, but he has a terrific eye for barstaff...the Polish ladies prior to the spanish lot were just as lovely.

Hehe. Frank was also a miserable canute. The new guy is quite sound, albeit he takes his sartorial inspiration from the snooker world. D'you drink in there nowadays?

used to go there every monday night with southfield, hibadelic and others after our fitba at meadowbank until we lost our booking over the winter, quite liked the arty despite franks personal hygiene issues, some highly tidy bar staff over the years..

Pishstain thread Kris, worded all wrong.

Which Leith boozers arenae decent should've been the right format :party40:

Robbies, Tamsons and Harp & Castle top my list for pure barry.

Foot of the Walk for naw.

Used to drink in The Volley a lot, pretty decent.

Swannys from time to time, quiet pub.

Gladstones, only due to family in the aea.

Not sure it's been mentioned here but a place I was introduced to last year is Nobles on Constitution Street. Lovely building, nice atmosphere and great scran as I recall. There are so many though...

Website

nobles.jpg

Robbies,drank in there for 20 years

The Harp is magic for a sing song and all round Hibs daftness

I like the Vicky bar too,plays some decent music and "clientele" is emm nice (unless i'm getting mixed with Boda)

I miss the Dolphin at the bottom of the walk,used to have some mental late night karaokes in there when i was 17/18.

Honourable mentions should also go to the now departed Red Lion and Auld Salt,had some good times when i was a Postie in there.

The Vicky bar is the bigger one on Jameson Place. Boda is the smaller one that used to be the Lorne Bar, that's the one that closed down after someone got knifed, seem to remember there was some CCS connection, could be well off though.

Had some splendid early morning times the Old Salt.

Love the layout of the Artisan, really like the bar. My dad worked there a long time ago, he was also called Frank but didn't stink.

I tend to go to the Harp after games when the Iona karaoke comes on around 8-9 on match days to catch up with my lads and a catch up with mates that i don't often see at home games.

However, the fact i'm not from Leith and have to get a bus i also prefer it on non match days for the 5.00 game on Sky on a Saturday night.

Big TV screens to watch the fitba, excellent selection of beers, lagers and ciders and a decent pub menu if your feeling peckish.

Also what i like about a pub is the welcoming you get from bar staff and have to say you get that on a regular basis from all staff in the H&C.

I reckon that's the appeal of the H&C; the staff are sound and it's a really nice vibe in there, never seems to be any bother. I, personally, find the layout a bit wonky but I like that.

Pishstain thread Kris, worded all wrong.

Which Leith boozers arenae decent should've been the right format :party40:

Robbies, Tamsons and Harp & Castle top my list for pure barry.

Foot of the Walk for naw.

Foot of the walk is indeed rank. They should turn it back into a cinema.

Not sure it's been mentioned here but a place I was introduced to last year is Nobles on Constitution Street. Lovely building, nice atmosphere and great scran as I recall. There are so many though...

Website

nobles.jpg

Good shout! Forgot about Nobles, usually very good live music on in there at the weekends. Aberfeldy have played in there a few times (quality Edinburgh band btw).

A wee Hibs pub fact for ye's,The Lioness in Duke St and Woodland Creatures (Used to be The Balfour)on Leith Walk were both owned by Philip Farmer. When Hibs were away he had the scores wired to the pubs in the 1890s.

Not a big fan of Woodland Creatures,wee fashion dogs in baskets and mincing.I'll stick to Robbies.

Aye,we went in when it 1st opened to see what it was like.
The "lucky" but nameless person who's round it was asked for a receipt from the barman as he was expecting change,My bottle of Innis & Gunn tipped him over the edge.

He was Bokin :-D

Had some splendid early morning times the Old Salt

Some great morning sessions in there after a night on the Jarrod Rebecchis. Same in the Marksman on Duke St, though that was slightly less fun. Was too fucking bright! dunno if its still there?

Probably most visit Robbies when im in Leith nowadays, dunno if the Artisan counts but have always liked that place. Was a bit shocked on my last visit to find that The Elm Bar is now called Jeremiah's Taproom and the Station Bar/safari Lounge was serving now gourmet veggie hotdogs!

The Port can be full of too many self-appointed characters for my liking but is sometimes the best option - I still find myself directing tourists there. Has been the departure point for some quality after hours sessions through the years

A few guys from work pop in there Friday lunchtimes. It's apparently mental. Music blaring and auld boys dancing. On Xmas eve a guy had a snake in a carrier bag!

Remember being in there one morning around 2003 and there was some boy with a snake inside his jacket - he wasn't even presenting it as a novelty.

walked past the four in hand ths morning, its been closed for refurbishment, all the hibs memorabilia in the main bar has been removed.. replaced by ' trendy' flock wallpaper, looks brutal...does kano still own it?

not many pubs in leith i don't like, top three in terms of regularity are prob robbies, carriers and the port.

walked past the four in hand ths morning, its been closed for refurbishment, all the hibs memorabilia in the main bar has been removed.. replaced by ' trendy' flock wallpaper, looks brutal...does kano still own it?

not many pubs in leith i don't like, top three in terms of regularity are prob robbies, carriers and the port.

I'm pretty sure he's got rid.

Always enjoy drinking in leith, like carriers when live music. Used to drink in the pub in Easter road when George Stewart had it. Anyone remember dizzys??

I fancy doing a little crawl from the station to the match and back, if I'm up with a group.

Can anyone suggest a good route of pubs to take up to the game from Waverly? :dunno:
Sorry if it's inappropriate for this thread, but it would include Leith pubs!

I like the Harp & Castle & Robbie's before the game, if I have time!

Always enjoy drinking in leith, like carriers when live music. Used to drink in the pub in Easter road when George Stewart had it. Anyone remember dizzys??
Yip.

:ph34r: <----That's what 3 quarters of the shaky ladies should have been wearing.

What did The Pond used to be called? Sure thays where my grandad used to drink and play dominoes?

Used to work with some guys that drank there - ages ranging from early 20s through to 70 years old. These were the radgiest radges I have ever met and I've met some radges in my time.

What did The Pond used to be called? Sure thays where my grandad used to drink and play dominoes?

Was that Lawrie reilly's pub maybe? I like the Pond - good mix of beers, good music, great fish tanks and when I first moved to the USA I had a crazy leaving party out in the beer garden.

Website

nobles.jpg

Had some great nights in Nobles - good decor and the music and wee booths. I may be wrong but I've a feeling last time I was in edinburgh it had turned into a pub called 'The Constitution" and it was now horrible. Could be mistaken.