Your Favourite Ever Year?

No idea but I always look back so fondly on the year 1982. I was 9 and so much from then sticks in my mind. As I type this I'm listening to Mirror Man from Human League as part of some 1982 Top 100 Hits on Spotify. Oh Zoom Fat Larry's Band now...

But 1982 I remember the World Cup and Scotland appeared to have a team full of top top players. The strip was class. And that Brazil team was something else.... I remember the weather being incredible that summer. Gorgeous sunshine.

The Falkland Islands conflict.... Pope John Paul II visiting Scotland. Horrendous unemployment. Michael Fagan breaking into Buckingham Palace. Alex Higgins winning the snooker world championship. IRA bombs going off everywhere. And weirdly my other memory is the launch of the Ford Sierra!

With Hibs Pat Stanton as manager. Gunts in the lower division and us beating them in the Tom Hart Memorial Trophy.

I think it was a better world. What's your favourite year?

I liked being ten which would have been 1980. Can’t mind much of what was going on in the world, it was more that being ten was barry. Goading skinheads into chasey. Climbing about in trees or on roofs for no good reason. Playing football. Unlikely ever to be toppable in adult life.

I think ‘82 would be right up there for music and a cracking wc like you say. I’d say the country was definitely a better place then for sure. Not in all ways of course, but overall.

I don’t know that i have a favourite year mind you. Early 80s, early then late 90s, and a couple of years in the early 20 teens stand out, but all to do with life as it was for me rather than the world per se.

I was 18 and enjoying a magic year where I'd just left high school and worked for a year in a hotel before going to uni. I had a steady income but almost no bills other than the wee bit of dig money I gave my folks.

Probably the most truly free I've been. It was 100% living for the weekend... Which usually lasted Thursday to Sunday

Probably the best Hibs team in my lifetime too.

Only downside would be the music. Nu-metal and post Britpop landfill indie everywhere. All that trance bollocks in the clubs was an earache too (though I do get a wee nostalgia buzz when I hear it these days).

1973. The Blackouts,my grandad puting up shelving by candelight.My dad was in a job he was enjoying as an art technician at Stevenson College,my mum was the sewing teacher at Craigentinny and Craigmiller.They were slightly too old to be hippies but they were certainly cool.My dad took me to see Duke Ellington then Stan Kenton.They were taking us to shows like Joseph.... and Fiddler on the Roof.They took us to London and to Holland including a trip to Amsterdam.We saw stuff like the Night Watchman and the Anne Frank house and the Van Gogh Museum. We saw Billy Liar in London with Michael Crawford and John Gielgood in another play.I was going to Tennis lessons at Meadowbank and to Fencing lessons.I was in my school's Brass Band. We'd go to the Ice Rink on Fridays and to the Fitba' on a Saturday.Hibs were at the best I ever saw them.I'd play fitba' in the street and kerbie,and peevers, and rounders and late evening games of hiddie.Going the messages was running the gauntlet between the Young Craigie Terror, the Young Ressie Terror,the Lochend Shamrock or further afield the Piershill Terror and the YLT.On the telly there was Buster Keaton,Charlie Chaplin,Stan and Ollie,Robinson Crusoe,the Flashing Blade,Belle and Sebastion,Daktari,Jackanory,Crackerjack,Blue Peter,Mission Impossible,and if you were allowed to stay up; the Colditz Story and Monty Python's Flying Circus.Lou Reed had brought out Walk on the Wildside,Dave and Ansell Collins were on Radio 1.Bowie was on TOTP's and Queen were getting to be known.What's not to like?

Great post Findlay. I would have been three in 1973 and for me the early 70s have that hallucinatory feel of very young childhood memories - dislocated snapshot images that don't really form into proper 'stories' until a few years later. As such I find it quite interesting and magical in a way.

Great post, plenty memories in there.

Great post Findlay. I would have been three in 1973 and for me the early 70s have that hallucinatory feel of very young childhood memories - dislocated snapshot images that don't really form into proper 'stories' until a few years later. As such I find it quite interesting and magical in a way.
Oh well hope you enjoyed Mary Mungo and Midge and Bill and Ben and Tales From the Riverbank.

1986/87 if that counts?

I was in my mid twenties and was blasting a stunning 20 year old, 5’9” blue eyed blonde, English girl I’d met at college. That she was a nymphomaniac was the icing on the cake.

⬆️ it isn’t the wife by the way. A couple of years before.

With tin hat firmly in place:

1966 :sm023:

I also have a soft spot for 1066 as it's the only historical date I have never forgotten (no I wasnt there).

I remember a long hot summer in the mid 70s (76 or 77), it was brilliant. I’d be 9-10 and the school holiday seemed to last forever. Away down south with my dad in his lorry, fishing at the river, going to the berries, fitbaw in the park. I'm sure it was the same year Scotland beat Wales in Liverpool to qualify for Argentina (that penalty and Dalglishs goal)

I’ve a curious memory from then (well curious for a child), I vividly remember sitting late one evening at the top of the chute in our local park looking down the river Tay at the sun setting. Even for a wee boy, it was beautiful and something I repeated quite often as I grew up.

Brilliant thread BTW, love reading these memories, most of you seem ages wi masel and your posts all resonate.

Aye, it could be scary anaw. But mind you we never died by falling in quicksand, that stuff was a right killer in 70s kids programmes.
You just brought that back. I used to have a fear of the stuff for exactly this reason! No as bad as the last time it came back mind, when I suddenly went in up to my thighs on top of a peak with noone else around.

That was a bit scarey as I wondered at what point the sinking would stop!

You just brought that back. I used to have a fear of the stuff for exactly this reason! No as bad as the last time it came back mind, when I suddenly went in up to my thighs on top of a peak with noone else around.

That was a bit scarey as I wondered at what point the sinking would stop!
Haha, we've all grown up with that fear in the back of our mind. Generations of fully grown men, wary about walking over sand dunes.

Leaving school is a lifetime highlight for me. Took till a few years into my 20s to stop having dreams where I had to go back. Never been so bored in my puff no matter how tedious work has been.
I remember during school summer holidays, you would go into Woolies after a couple of weeks and they already had their Back to School range advertising up. I hated that. When I see the same thing now in Tesco it still irks me even having left school 43 years ago. It scarred me for life. 😆

That night before the return to school must be up there with the most depressing everyday experiences there is. Summer hols were magic. Flashing blade and Zorro in the morning then out till the light went, running about, making up games. Then back shackled to a desk with some useless tedious pish or other being served up.

I thank school for reading, writing and arithmetic, but that was done by primary. Nothing I ever did at secondary has contributed a jot, indeed it took years for me to recover interests in things school turned me off, such as history. I’m sure it suits many people but it didn’t suit me. Maybe it’s just the way it was done back then, I’m sure you can do this stuff without it being so brain shrivellingly tedious, though in the end I’m just not cut out for being cooped up in a class room I expect. I spent much of the last 35 years avoiding the bloody training courses with which IT sorts like to plump their cv.

Haha, we've all grown up with that fear in the back of our mind. Generations of fully grown men, wary about walking over sand dunes.
There's a 'fail' video of an expert giving tips on how to get out of quicksand if you fall in.
Sadly his expertise wasn't as great as he thought and the video shows him slowly sinking.... not his best idea.
But his last.

There's a 'fail' video of an expert giving tips on how to get out of quicksand if you fall in.
Sadly his expertise wasn't as great as he thought and the video shows him slowly sinking.... not his best idea.
But his last.
You're not serious?

Never underestimate human stupidity mate have a wee look at this. This below and much much more on the link....

England | Darren's death was a puzzle. The 33-year-old was found slumped in the hallway of his house, bleeding from stab wounds. Had an assailant attacked him? Police could find no supporting evidence. A year later the Inquest revealed why Darren can take his place among the stars of the Darwin Awards. Left alone in the house while his wife was on holiday, he decided to he decided to 'fork around and find out' if his new jacket was stab-proof...

1982; I was 17 and left school that year. That was a wonderful day indeed. In May of that year in one memorable week-end, I saw the Pope at Murrayfield on the Thursday, the Rolling Stones at the Playhouse on the Friday, and the Pope again at Bellahouston Park in Glasgow on the Sunday. Quite a week-end combo of God and their Satanic Majesties !

1986; I was 21. First proper girlfriend acquired...lasted a year and a half. A lifetime for me. Scotland at the Mexico World Cup, the Souness revolution, Albert Kidd day, and a great holiday with my mates at Playa De las Americas in Tenerife. 80's were magical for me, just thought I would mention two years from that decade at random.

1982; I was 17 and left school that year. That was a wonderful day indeed. In May of that year in one memorable week-end, I saw the Pope at Murrayfield on the Thursday, the Rolling Stones at the Playhouse on the Friday, and the Pope again at Bellahouston Park in Glasgow on the Sunday. Quite a week-end combo of God and their Satanic Majesties !

1986; I was 21. First proper girlfriend acquired...lasted a year and a half. A lifetime for me. Scotland at the Mexico World Cup, the Souness revolution, Albert Kidd day, and a great holiday with my mates at Playa De las Americas in Tenerife. 80's were magical for me, just thought I would mention two years from that decade at random.
Did he play the same set list?