Would you vote for an all British league?

Bob1875

Lets play PKR radge
Now I know there is 99% no chance if this ever being considered but if it were would you vote for or against this? Say we kept the major cups, Scottish & FA and made one league cup. Maybe we could be placed in the leagues with regards to our league positions in the last 10 years. Personally I'd love this as it would generate much more money and the standard would be high every week. Although I think the teams in lower Scottish divisions would suffer.

I would be happy to be in the 2ND Tier. More TV, Revenue and away games.
Newcastle v Hibs!:beer_1_pr

As in Scottish Cup for Scottish team, FA cup for the English sides, and a British Cup for both (in place of the league cups)? Would be an excellent concept.

The financial gain to Hibs, Hearts and Aberdeen would be significant, and in some ways we'd possibly benefit more than the Old Firm. Mainly because the increase in our budget would be a much greater.

We'd end up being a yo-yo side between leagues, the obvious downsides being that we'd miss out on a lot fo derby games and also the horrible feeling of relegation on a frequent basis.

Unfortunatly clubs like Falkirk, Hamilton and Dundee would end up playing Accrington Stanley and the likes.

It,s not going to happen.Plus wouldnt vote for it.We are a scottish team,and all this moaning about the ugly sisters wanting to do it,would be hypocritical to even entertain it.

Can't see any great benefit to it. At best, possible games against the likes of Newcastle or Leeds to replace our encounters with the OF. All very well talking about Hibs V Newcastle but more likely we'd see visits from the likes of S****horpe, Doncaster, Barnsley, Blackpool, MK Dons, Colchester, etc. Not exactly mouthwatering in the first place and once the novelty wears off how is that going to be more exciting than what we have at the moment?

It would also lead to a lot more travelling with the added expense of flights to some games. How many of our fans would regularly travel to these places and how many of their fans would come up to Aberdeen or Dundee for a game?

Add to that the certain demise of the national team and it's a total non-starter for me. Only attraction is the novelty value and as I say that wouldn't last long.

On the other hand, a British Cup has always held some appeal for me. Don't know how feasible it is now as there is such a gulf between the Premiership and the rest that I don't imagine they have much need for it. A knockout cup between the Championship teams plus the SPL could be interesting but again the Scottish teams would have a lot more to benefit from it and it would have to be taken a lot more seriously than the likes of the Anglo-Scottish Cup used to be!

Sure we are a scottish team . Always will be ! But wot a breath o fresh air a ' british cup ' would be . Naw ? New places tae go , new teams tae play ! Where would u rather go . Everton , villa , even fulham , or killhe . St . Middem , hamilton twice a season ? Thoughts ?
(Posted fae ma mobile fone)

No. Scotland is a nation therefore should always have it's league, we're a Scottish club so we should play in it.

It's a shame that a British cup wouldn't even be considered as it would not be profitable to the English clubs. Some field a weakened team in the league cup, imagine what kind of team they'd put out in a 'british cup'

I'd vote feck all for anything British. However, an island of Britain league would be ok, if it was kinda like a champions league format, outwith the national leagues.

Played early and quickly, like the old league cup used to be. (It can infact replace this competition).

Ah so its turned into a home game now :doh . I still can't understand how "good value" makes it affordable :dunno:

I feel its far too expensive for 2 adults and 2 kids to pay 60-70 to watch a game of football which is of poor quality.

If Hibs played in an attractive league with bigger games and more quality on show surely the price would be closer to the mark? 15 adults and 8 kids for any game would be affordable. Would you pay 64 for 2 adults and 2 kids to watch Hibs v St Mirren in a league we will never win!

Hope this explains your questions.

No. Scotland is a nation therefore should always have it's league, we're a Scottish club so we should play in it.

The SPL is dead.

IMHO it would have more life should Rantic GTF but i'd be in favour of some kind of British League/Island of Britain League whilst retaining domestic FA Cups.

I'd be tempted to vote for something different anyway - depending on structure and potential cant help but feel our game is stagnant and needs a review - i'd probably look at a bigger league and summer football first however.

Not down with it tbh I would rather go to Dundee and Perth for away days than down to Liverpool and London twice a year. A cup competition maybe but thats not going to happen. Mind you neither is this league.

I feel its far too expensive for 2 adults and 2 kids to pay 60-70 to watch a game of football which is of poor quality.

If Hibs played in an attractive league with bigger games and more quality on show surely the price would be closer to the mark? 15 adults and 8 kids for any game would be affordable. Would you pay 64 for 2 adults and 2 kids to watch Hibs v St Mirren in a league we will never win!

Hope this explains your questions.

Aye but if you can't afford it why would it matter how attractive the game was ? We'd still be in a league we couldn't win and i'm sure many people pay those prices (i go alone so i can't really answer truthfully)

Nah, no thanks.

Cross-border version of the league cup played over the whole season , now that I would like.:bbb:

Aye but if you can't afford it why would it matter how attractive the game was ? We'd still be in a league we couldn't win and i'm sure many people pay those prices (i go alone so i can't really answer truthfully)

Surely the whole point is attractive, skillful entertaining football. Whether I am there or not doesn't matter. For Hibernian it would be better and the fans.