World cup 2026

Face It. We don't deserve to go through. We've stunk out this tournament the same way we did in the last 2 Euros. Other supposed minnows seem happy to have a go. Nothing to lose. We just keep trying not to get beat, with a defence that can't defend and an attack that doesn't score goals. Like Hibs, but worse.

After watching Ecuador beating Germany, I'd rather a team like that go through ahead of us. Even after they took the lead, they still pressed forward. The way we play and style is absolutely brutal to watch.

Agreed.

Despite the new contract, Steve Clarke needs to go - a complete lack of tactics, purpose or ambition, leading to a failure to get anything out of our best players in three successive tournaments.

He deserves massive praise for getting Scotland back to being a nation that knows how to reach major tournaments, but that’s his limit. He’s no idea how to approach tournament football, despite having three go’s at it. This is the easiest World Cup in history to progress out of the groups, yet he settled for a 1-0 win V Haiti and simply tried to avoid a pumping from the other two teams… we deserve to be one of the teams heading that, that’s simply pathetic.

SFA should either being going ambitious for someone like Ange, or find a Scottish manager who knows how the get the best out of underdogs and actually play something close to resembling football from the this century… someone like John McGlynn

Just back fi Miami.
Wasn’t quite the same vibe as Boston mainly due to the intense heat and humidity.
Cream crackered just walking 5 mins doon the street.
Tartan Army battles thru and the march on Ocean Blvd was worth the heat.
The stadium logistics were 100% better than Boston and no issues to or from the game.
Well done Miami. Loads of free transport options and impeccable execution.
Big Scottish contingent as per, but absolutely zillions o brazillians who added their own flavour and noise to a fantastic atmosphere in the ground.
Scotland as we all saw were too afraid to lose and as us Hibs fans know, hoping for a wee nil-nil usually ends in tragedy.
Anyway, what a fuckin great experience.
Spent a fortune, laughed a lot, sung my heart oot and loved every second.
Memories are made of this.
I’d do it all again.

Just back fi Miami.
Wasn’t quite the same vibe as Boston mainly due to the intense heat and humidity.
Cream crackered just walking 5 mins doon the street.
Tartan Army battles thru and the march on Ocean Blvd was worth the heat.
The stadium logistics were 100% better than Boston and no issues to or from the game.
Well done Miami. Loads of free transport options and impeccable execution.
Big Scottish contingent as per, but absolutely zillions o brazillians who added their own flavour and noise to a fantastic atmosphere in the ground.
Scotland as we all saw were too afraid to lose and as us Hibs fans know, hoping for a wee nil-nil usually ends in tragedy.
Anyway, what a fuckin great experience.
Spent a fortune, laughed a lot, sung my heart oot and loved every second.
Memories are made of this.
I’d do it all again.

Tournament fitba as a fan is the dugs danglies.

Agreed.

Despite the new contract, Steve Clarke needs to go - a complete lack of tactics, purpose or ambition, leading to a failure to get anything out of our best players in three successive tournaments.

He deserves massive praise for getting Scotland back to being a nation that knows how to reach major tournaments, but that’s his limit. He’s no idea how to approach tournament football, despite having three go’s at it. This is the easiest World Cup in history to progress out of the groups, yet he settled for a 1-0 win V Haiti and simply tried to avoid a pumping from the other two teams… we deserve to be one of the teams heading that, that’s simply pathetic.

SFA should either being going ambitious for someone like Ange, or find a Scottish manager who knows how the get the best out of underdogs and actually play something close to resembling football from the this century… someone like John McGlynn

Interesting listening to the radio Clyde moon howlers phone in, and I think the general thrust was we’ve been appalling in two major tournaments

I’d be for a change, the euros and now the World Cup have a been painful watch

Well, Cape Verde, a debutant to the World Cup finals has advanced on three points after three draws. Unbeaten I suppose.

Puts Scotland into perspective. Cape Verde.............

The SFA and SPL management should have a rocket put up their bums really. I know we don't expect the world but every time I have ever seen Scotland post the Brazil game in 1998 they have been scared. I think it is a combination of lifestyle, coaching and culture that has not moved on since the 70s and pure incompetence consistently at the top of the game allowing this to develop.

Small country? I give you Holland, Croatia, Belgium as a few examples. Even Iceland when they got to a tournament actually had a go, none of this anti football sitting back terrified of a forward pass. And did quite well, as England discovered.......

Clarke needs to go after this. Ha has offered nothing when it actually matters. Not the defeats, but the performances.

This is easily the most corrupt World Cup there has ever been.

Iran just fucked over big time.

There too many obvious mistakes...to suit certain teams.

Messi shouldn't even be back from his 3 match ban for Violent conduct yet...

Not quite terminated but very nearly.

It’s virtually certain we never would have qualified with 3 points and one goal scored. It makes his management of the three games ridiculous.
I think the team accepted they were never beating Morocco or Brazil even as the draw was made. The plan was to try and beat Haiti, carve out a draw with Morocco and park the bus against Brazil to keep the score down. The minute they started the Pep style fucking around in defence trying to play out - see also Hibs for this pish, was where they shat the bed.

Puts Scotland into perspective. Cape Verde.........

The SFA and SPL management should have a rocket put up their bums really. I know we don't expect the world but every time I have ever seen Scotland post the Brazil game in 1998 they have been scared. I think it is a combination of lifestyle, coaching and culture that has not moved on since the 70s and pure incompetence consistently at the top of the game allowing this to develop.

Small country? I give you Holland, Croatia, Belgium as a few examples. Even Iceland when they got to a tournament actually had a go, none of this anti football sitting back terrified of a forward pass. And did quite well, as England discovered.....

Clarke needs to go after this. Ha has offered nothing when it actually matters. Not the defeats, but the performances.
That about sums the situation up. Constantly bringing pressure on ourselves by having everyone 35 yds from our goal. No movement and only try to score when the game is gone. Its draining constantly defending and we dont have the athleticism of the ghanas to do it anyway. Two strikers, one who stays on the halfway life to tie up one or two of their defenders. Its not rocket science. We are behind skills wise and we will always be dealing in scraps. Will anything change in the next 4 years. We know it wont and 70s attitudes will continue. Lets be honest.The standard in the spl is the worst for decades and is reflected in the national team. Ralston.dykes etc are miles off international standard. To think guys like shades and blackley struggled to get into the scotland team way back. Its really depressing watching us at tournaments. I hope it changes but this shambles will soon be forgotten and we will qualify for the euros and disappoint a fantastic support yet again. Most scotland fans love the craic of the tartan army but just accept we are sheeite. Sad really.

Play the way did and you don't deserve to qualify, we were shite. Wouldn't fancy our chances against any of the possible opponents. Same old story just not good enough.
Changing development methods has been spoken about for as long as I can remember. Loads of other small and very small nations have at least produced teams capable of giving the big countries a game but we just accept defeat.

His after dinner speeches are pretty funny. He’s the uncle of a good friend of mine (registered here I’m sure - but not sure of his username).

One thing about following Hibs all my life, is I am very resilient when it comes to disappointing results.
If Hibs lose a Derby or cup tie for example, it brings me down for days.
5 mins after the Brazil game I had moved on and wasn't really fussed 😁

Not quite terminated but very nearly.

It’s virtually certain we never would have qualified with 3 points and one goal scored. It makes his management of the three games ridiculous.

His management of the tournament has been abysmal, as it was in Germany. He’s got zero notion of what it takes to get out of the group, despite it being pretty obvious.

His got his team selection in all three games wrong, so an individual match basis he’s made an arse of it. But the bigger picture of the tournament, he’s squandered the easiest chance to get out a group there’s ever been.

His approach to qualifying is to be hard to beat and hope one of our good players produces some magic, that just about works. That same approach doesn’t work in a tournament, yet he’s not deviated from it.

Worst of all for me is his pathetic behaviour in post match interviews, thinks he can treat the reporters like shite and storm off… he’s had so little scrutiny it’s unreal: never been made to answer questions on why we needed 3 right backs; why Lennon Miller and Oli McBurnie were snubbed despite losing Gilmour and not having a real goalscorer in the team (Shankland doesn’t count, he’s miles off international level in terms of speed or movement); why he thought 1-0 was enough in the context of the group; why no Ganon-Doak V Morocco; why bring in the hapless McKenna in the game against the best attackers and why Shankland up front on his own when he can’t even do that role in the league…

SFA need to rid. If the stories around his new contract being driving by the players backing him, the way they’ve spoken since the tournament began sound like that’s not really the case. McGinn, Gunn, McTominay, Robertson… all saying it’s not good enough.

I agree he’s been too boring and got the approach round the wrong way with Morocco and Brazil (did he pick up the wrong team sheet?) 😉.
That said, IF our 2nd game Hendry didn’t wander, Hanley didn’t try to play offside when there was no press (WTAF?). Then in the last game McKenna (twice), Robertson and Paterson do their feckin’ job, maybe, just maybe we’d have made it through.

We have bang average defenders and zero strikers worthy of the name (except maybe the ones he left at home).

Hes resigned according to Twitter
If true, then i'm sorry to hear that to be honest.
IMO he has done the best he can with what is available to him.
He's been let down by his players during this World Cup.
As manager he has to take a part of the resposnsiblity for Scotland's exit, but IMO the blame game has went too far.
He has taken the criticism personally and decided after seven years in charge it's enough.
Might be wrong, but I doubt any new manager will be able to get any more from the current crop of players.
He leaves as Scotland's most successful manager of all time.

Possibly him looking back on the short tournament and studying his selections and tactics he's decided that he managed it all wrong .Where would he have went from here,he knew there would be a backlash back in Scotland so he decided to resign,hopefully to lessen that backlash.
Who is going to be next? And please pick younger players,play them in natural positions so we can successfully go into the next round of a tournament.
I really dont know who would be in the frame?
Davie Moyes?
Do we go foreign coach again? Didn't work well the last time.
The SFA have their work cut out.

Possibly him looking back on the short tournament and studying his selections and tactics he's decided that he managed it all wrong .Where would he have went from here,he knew there would be a backlash back in Scotland so he decided to resign,hopefully to lessen that backlash.
Who is going to be next? And please pick younger players,play them in natural positions so we can successfully go into the next round of a tournament.
I really dont know who would be in the frame?
Davie Moyes?
Do we go foreign coach again? Didn't work well the last time.
The SFA have their work cut out.
Playing players in positions and formations they are used to. Mctominay a second striker at napoli,mcginn free to run into the box at villa as cover behind. We wasted any strengths we had in trying to get bore draws. Time to plan for next world cup. Guys like curtis and milligan. Cant even think who would take the job.

They just can't help themselves with this pish.

• 10261.png
    10261.png
    646.7 KB · Views: 33