Wimbledon 2016

Hibee Kev

Djokovic oot!

Murray a set up in his 3rd round match. Could the best year of sport ever be about to get even better?

So glad Novak is oot. Dinnae like him... he just disnae sweat.

In fact, he is a robot.

I've never trusted robots. And neither should youz :fyi:

You must've posted this as I was typing

Lol great minds eh! Murray looks home and hosed in this match now. Who do you think is biggest threat now to winning another Wimbledon title? Federer?

Murray's biggest obstacle to winning Wimbledon is his own complacency. Be too easy to think it's done and dusted with Novak out of the way. I'm sure Lendl won't allow his focus to slip this time.

Yeah federer still a huge threat, but not really looked at the draw yet, I'm sure wawrinka is out as well, which is another big player gone

Ha ha!

You think all week about starting a Wimbers thread, you don't, then 2 come along at once!

The prick interviewing Andy Murray asks the stupid question, you've won this now pal eh? and Andy gives a very diplomatic and respectful to his fellow professionals as you can imagine reply. Interviewer must have been gutted!

As Andy recognised Djokovics stats in the competitions, that count, over the last 18 months are stunning, his own route to the final still has to be overcome before he can think of winning the final.

I'm thinking though it's as good an opportunity to win a major final as he's had in the last 18 months! ;-)

Murray has either Kyrgios or Lopez in the next round with a potential 1/4 final against the winner of Tsonga/Isner and Gasquet/Ramos-Vinolas. Every one of those players are more than capable of beating AM on grass if he takes them lightly.

Wawrinka going out has probably made it an easier Semi but there is a lot of tennis to be played yet before we get to next Sunday, although if I was to put a bet on the finalists I would say it will be Fed v Andy.

Murray has either Kyrgios or Lopez in the next round with a potential 1/4 final against the winner of Tsonga/Isner and Gasquet/Ramos-Vinolas. Every one of those players are more than capable of beating AM on grass if he takes them lightly.

Wawrinka going out has probably made it an easier Semi but there is a lot of tennis to be played yet before we get to next Sunday, although if I was to put a bet on the finalists I would say it will be Fed v Andy.
IF he takes them lightly, which certainly won't happen, Murray on form would destroy them all

Demolished them all, apart from taking his foot off the gas against at tsonga at 2-0, but stepped up to demolish him in the 5th set... Lost 2 sets in the whole tournament to get to the final.
Brilliant from he Hibs man

Andy was clinical but the other semi was more entertaining. In my humble (2 weeks a year tennis expert :-) opinion.

Both had their moments Jack but unlike the previous round for AM it was a routine match, the other semi definitely had more of an ebb and flow about it with the outcome in doubt until the last game. Andy, IMO, disposed of Berdych {sp} in a clinical manner although each set was in the balance until the break of server.

It should be a good game on Sunday, especially if you take into account the recent Queens Club meeting between the 2. Personally I think Raonic has improved more between the 2 contests than AM BUT I think this will be a close 4 to 5 setter with I hope AM taking his second Wimbledon title. But no matter the result it is good to see a finalist from outside of the top 4 make to a GS final, it may well signal the end of both Fed and Rafa as serious threats in Grand Slams.

Watched the finale of the final in the concourse of the East. Great to see.

Well done, Andy!

Scottish Cup for Hibs. Wimbers for Muz. 2016, I salute you.

Andy is a magnificent sportsman and athlete. His determination to succeed in an era dominated by Federer, Nadal and Djokovic, and his ability to recover from major defeats is inspirational.

Congratulations Andy Murray

Five British winners in all categories, never happened before.

Two Scottish winners.

Anyone on the Bounce a member of a tennis club?

I nearly joined one as a teenager and then again to join my first wife at her club but neither really caught my imagination. Really good BBQs though it has to be said.

Five British winners in all categories, never happened before.Two Scottish winners.Anyone on the Bounce a member of a tennis club?I nearly joined one as a teenager and then again to join my first wife at her club but neither really caught my imagination. Really good BBQs though it has to be said.
Been a member of two in Lweds and considering joining one in Wakefield having has a game against some on who plays there . Only picked up a racket at 45 wish I'd started 39 years earlier but it just wasn't /isn't something kids in inner cities get to play.Still play at least once a week through all seasons.