Whittaker

GloryGlory

Right i've lost patience with him. I have defended him most of the season but I've had enough. Hopeless at right back, Hopeless at right midfield, Where to now:dunno: I thought he done ok when he started playing in the centre later on but he could no chance get a regular place there. Hasnt developed how we'd of hoped at all.

GloryGlory said:
Right i've lost patience with him. I have defended him most of the season but I've had enough. Hopeless at right back, Hopeless at right midfield, Where to now:dunno: I thought he done ok when he started playing in the centre later on but he could no chance get a regular place there. Hasnt developed how we'd of hoped at all.

i completely disagree with that. People seem to have something against Whittaker. Last season at RB he was exceptional and the first half of this season he was too. So he can be a good RB. Fair enough recently he has been off-form and at fault for goals.

Today at RM I thought he played well. Always driving forward and played no worse than anyone else IMO.

Get off his back and give him some support, he is a fantastic player.:worthy

hibee_shearer said:
i completely disagree with that. People seem to have something against Whittaker. Last season at RB he was exceptional and the first half of this season he was too. So he can be a good RB. Fair enough recently he has been off-form and at fault for goals.

Today at RM I thought he played well. Always driving forward and played no worse than anyone else IMO.

That is utter bollocks. How many times did the ball go out to that left hand side and Whittaker was a mile away. I give him a bit of credit for getting into shooting positons but he wasted everyone so credit gone. Like I said i've defended him all season but i've had enough. Maybe its just he's been found out for what he is this season:dunno:

hibee_shearer said:

So we keep getting told but I agree with GloryGlory, he isnt a right back and last season he was good but not exceptional, as a right back he has a duty to the team to get back into positiion when he has had a wee gallavant up the park but most of the time he doesnt. Maybe time to get another right back on the field and drop him for a while until he learns his position better, dont know if we have a right back we could use and thats the only reason I can see for whitty keeping his place at the moment.

GloryGlory said:
That is utter bollocks. How many times did the ball go out to that left hand side and Whittaker was a mile away. I give him a bit of credit for getting into shooting positons but he wasted everyone so credit gone. Like I said i've defended him all season but i've had enough. Maybe its just he's been found out for what he is this season:dunno:

He has only played poorly the second half of this season. He will come good soon, as he is a good player, and a good RB. He just needs to tweak a few aspects of his game, that's all. There seems to be a lynch mob out for him,

I agree with Glory Glory on this one. Mcnamara would have solved the problem at RB but that looks like it was a non starter.

CadgeMac said:
yeah he is being used as a scapegoat and maybe he knows the fans are on his back and that could be unsettling him:dunno: agree 100% with hibee_shearer:applause:

Why should they be on his back. His performances have been pathetic and when this is coming from someone who has consistently defended him all season that is saying something. How long can we give him to get his finger out:dunno: He is costing us goals and not performing. That I'am afraid is a fact.

GloryGlory said:

Totally disagree with that.

He was our best player!

How many times did he bomb forward and strike at goal???

Would have scored if Gordon hadn'y pulled of a brilliant save.

Whitty was very good today I thought. I like him cos he's not afraid to have a dig, a couple he had today were unlucky not to go in. Done more than what Sproule did today anyway.

1875steve said:
Totally disagree with that.

He was our best player!

How many times did he bomb forward and strike at goal???

Would have scored if Gordon hadn'y pulled of a brilliant save.

I would agree with that. At times he choose the wrong option but at least now and again he took a shot. In Midfield he would IMO get better & better..

Rite, we are all blaming different peole here. But whittaker did do well do drive foward but hardly made an attempt to get back. Anyway i for one am not blaming anyone. We done the best wecould with a make shift team. And it is nt just one individual that cost us the game it was the whole team, But i will say the keeper needs chucked!

Smurf said:
I would agree with that. At times he choose the wrong option but at least now and again he took a shot. In Midfield he would IMO get better & better..

And defensivly how many times was he posted missing as they broke out of defence:hmmm There were massive gaps on that right hand side where Caldwell and Whittaker were both poor imo. Might try and watch it again tonight to have another look but I think he had a poor game.

GloryGlory said:
And defensivly how many times was he posted missing as they broke out of defence:hmmm There were massive gaps on that right hand side where Caldwell and Whittaker were both poor imo. Might try and watch it again tonight to have another look but I think he had a poor game.

You have a point mate but there were a lot worse offenders today..

Whittaker for once was played in his natural position today, and he looked more confident. However having said that the amount of times he tried a shot from about 40 yards out was ridiculous. I wish he had just ran directly at the Hearts defence, there is nothing a defender hates more than when a player runs directly at him in the last third of the pitch.

In a quite appalling overall Hibs performance, I thought Whittaker looked a bit better than he has been.

whitty couldnae hit a cow over the arse wi a banjo the day he had about 5 or 6 shots of which i think 1 was on target . that for me in my opinion for a pro footballer is SHITE end of defender or not .hit the target at the very least

Bring Back The Biff said:
whitty couldnae hit a cow over the arse wi a banjo the day he had about 5 or 6 shots of which i think 1 was on target . that for me in my opinion for a pro footballer is SHITE end of defender or not .hit the target at the very least

Can you remind us of our other shots on or/ off target ?

I thought Whittaker was one of a few who got pass marks (the others being Hogg and Murphy).

He looked as if he had a lot less pressure on him further up the pitch, and I suspect TM asked him to try and compensate for the loss of Scott Brown. His first long range shot was a cracker and he was entitled to feel confident and go for it after that.

I feel a wee bit like I did after the first derby of the season- we kind of shot ourselves in the foot, were a wee bit naive and had a below strength team out there.

My heart sank before the game when I saw Scott Brown arrive, on foot, with Riordan and Boozy, clearly in no state to take part. When a guy nearby said he had heard Killen and Stewart were out aswell, I couldn't help thinking we'd be doing well to get a draw.

In the event, I thought we did ok in the first half, and but for some individual errors, we may have been in with a shout until the end. Still a bit gutted mind :sad

Whittaker is a fantastic player, but I really couldn't tell you where his position is.:dunno: I wouldn't call him a right back or right midfielder or center midfielder.:dunno:

Bring Back The Biff said:

Yep, cows arses all over the world are sleeping safely tonight in the knowledge that they are safe from any banjo, anywhere, in the hands of Whittaker

:rollfloor :rollfloor :rollfloor :rollfloor :rollfloor