What the actual fuck… back to a10 team league?

Hattie

Title says it all, an absolute disaster if it happens, who wants it, why do they want it, is it the bigot 2 pushing it?
Can’t believe we could go back to the very thing that was the start of the destruction of our game 🙈

I expect it's Rantic in an attempt to reduce fixtures and give them a better chance in Europe.

Title says it all, an absolute disaster if it happens, who wants it, why do they want it, is it the bigot 2 pushing it?
Can’t believe we could go back to the very thing that was the start of the destruction of our game 🙈
You would think the arse cheeks would want to keep the longer format, more games against others.
I'd be very happy to see the end of the split but not this way.

I expect it's Rantic in an attempt to reduce fixtures and give them a better chance in Europe.
It wouldn’t surprise me at all mateme.
It failed for about 30 years, held our game back and created a massively negative league…
A massive step back to suit the bigots is the death knell imo

Could be, I just read fixture congestion is the driver
But the reason for the league to not get made bigger was because of the loss of games?
So clearly to aid the bigots in europe!
Our game admin literally makes me sick

In one breath they claim there’s not enough competition domestically for them to succeed in Europe - then they want domestic fixtures reduced to accommodate their busy European schedules. The pair of them can gtf as far as I’m concerned.

Fuck it, we should move to two leagues of 20, playing each team twice, with something like seven up / seven down.

That big ole relegation zone addresses the dead rubber thing (and what does it matter who Celtic are pummelling anyway), and offers wee clubs the chance to rotate in and out of the money league.

And crucially, would allow someone other than rantic a pop at the title. The likes of us, hearts, Aberdeen should be able, now and again, to produce a team capable of best of the resting it. After that you need to win one home game each against the sisters and you’re in contention.

But no one wants to wean themselves off an extra visit from rantic. Even though with the split it’s often only one additional game for bottom half clubs, who should (but often are not lol) be generally the smaller clubs.

Ten teams is a clown show ; nearly a quarter of points contended would be against the OF. No one is ever breaking the cycle.

The natural split of full time teams in Scotland is around 20 to 22, I think the 12-10 suits that, but I think 16/18/20 playing each other twice is the way forward.

I think there’s clear demarcation between the full time teams, the next 20 part time, and then the 5th tier pyramid and below.

It shouldn’t be hard to set up something more coherent and permanent should it?

In one breath they claim there’s not enough competition domestically for them to succeed in Europe - then they want domestic fixtures reduced to accommodate their busy European schedules. The pair of them can gtf as far as I’m concerned.
The league only exists to act as a vehicle for those 2 heaps of shite to get into Europe , fuck all else matters in Scottish football

The natural split of full time teams in Scotland is around 20 to 22, I think the 12-10 suits that, but I think 16/18/20 playing each other twice is the way forward.

I think there’s clear demarcation between the full time teams, the next 20 part time, and then the 5th tier pyramid and below.

It shouldn’t be hard to set up something more coherent and permanent should it?
We had that B.
It was booted because there were too many meaningless games.
I dont know the answer, but I dont think it's going back to that.

16 team league playing each other twice. Scrap midweek league games. League cup back into section with top 2 going thru to sudden death cup ties.

We had that B.
It was booted because there were too many meaningless games.
I dont know the answer, but I dont think it's going back to that.
And how many meaningless games are there now? The league is decided before a ball is kicked. I’d far rather be winning most weeks like our time in the championship, interspersed with some big games. In fact, within the bounds of what’s possible, that’s close to ideal imo

Hope everyone votes against the stupid idea and the two uglies have a big tantrum.

In the phraseology of Kevin Keegan, I would love it if the ugly sisters fecked off 🤞😜
If that wonderful day ever arrived it would be soured by the fact the SFA would allow their, I'm sure, well funded B teams to carry on poisoning the Scottish leagues and continue giving their, by then, mostly tv fans an outlet for their bile.

And the uglies womder why every other-teams fans ( except Jack K ) want them to lose in Europe 🤣

Hardly, there is a gap, but their reserves would dominate, nae chance .
If the A team sisters were playing in a "better" league what better opportunity than have a B team feeder club playing in Scotland. You can bet your life the wages would very soon match or exceed the rest up here. Within a very few seasons it would be as if they never left.

What do you think a Celtic or rangers b team would look like if they had A teams in, for example, the EPL?

I kinda think they would look much like their main teams today, perhaps better as they’d be rammed full of guys being nurtured for the EPL.
No chance

What do you think a Celtic or rangers b team would look like if they had A teams in, for example, the EPL?

I kinda think they would look much like their main teams today, perhaps better as they’d be rammed full of guys being nurtured for the EPL.
Exactly

If the A team sisters were playing in a "better" league what better opportunity than have a B team feeder club playing in Scotland. You can bet your life the wages would very soon match or exceed the rest up here. Within a very few seasons it would be as if they never left.
Disagree there

No chance
On what basis ? The spfl wouldn’t stop it, they’d still cling to their beloved ‘product’ and the A teams would be nothing to do with them. Only UEFA or FIFA could stop it. But any settlement that allowed them to continue in Scotland would see them dominate.

Exactly. Their A team would be packed full of high cost/earning stars to compete in either the EPL or a European super league. The B team would be packed full of talented SPL players lured to them with the dream of graduating to the A team and the associated riches that brings.

For a start, if they somehow joined the EPL, they would struggle to get into europe, so there would be a drop in revenue right away 👍

If it was the EPL the tv money alone would vastly outweigh what they're earning just now.

Dwarfed by the money they would make in the EPL.

Celtic in particular could become one of the biggest clubs in the world if in the EPL.

You’re missing the part where they put their multi million pound players into their B team to ‘get up to match speed’ with the benefit of boosting the B team into winning the league. The Scottish league champions will still qualify for European competitions so, assuming they aren’t in a position to topple Arsenal, Man City etc they’ll still get to ply their trade in big money competitions. In a few years if their A team does qualify on merit from, say the EPL, they’ll have both A and B raking in the moolah.